Ratings based on 567 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Been to numerous Riu's, this one had it all. Staff, room, food, amenities, and view were all well above average!!! Only complaint was that I couldn't stay longer!!! Recommend this property highly!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new jersey

This place is the best!!

Posted Jul 15, 2014
My boyfriend and I stayed at the riu caribe back in February and were hoping to stay there again this July but it was sold out. Instead, we booked the riu palace peninsula. After experiencing this hotel the caribe doesn't compare! The hotel is beautifully decorated, so modern! The rooms are beautiful and spotless! The beds are super comfortable! The food at the hotel was the best resort food I've ever had! From lobster to lamb to steak to pasta they really have it all! I was a little skeptical about the beach because it is rocky and almost cliff like, but it ended up being so gorgeous and unique! The ocean was amazin and beautiful and they had staff raking up the seaweed. There were tons of friendly staff members ready to wait on you and bring you a drink or help anyway they could. Highly reccomended!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LA, California

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: The clean, beautiful, air conditioned rooms. The fully stocked and adequately replenished mini bar. The 2 hot tubs in the adult villas.
Cons: The pool water should be kept at cooler temperatures.
Riu Palace Peninsula is definitely top notch. I stayed at the adult only villas which were amazing. A king size bed, 2 shower heads, a jet tub inside, and a hot tub on the patio with a fully stocked mini bar which included cans of dos equis beer, water bottles and sodas that they refill every day. The only down side was that the adult only villas were only 3 stories high, not leaving much of a view of the ocean as the rooms in the main tower of the hotel. There were no elevators so the stairs in the extreme heat was a little inconvenient, but hey you're in paradise so you get over it. The all you can eat buffet is pretty good and they change the theme daily. You can get pretty sick of the food, however so I suggest making reservations to visit the specialty restaurants to change it up a bit. The bars were very adequately stocked and your drinks were made quickly. PLEASE do not forget to tip the staff! Including bartenders, waitresses, bell boys...there were too many people that forgot to tip. Yes, it is all inclusive but these people work very hard for their tips and it is very much deserved. 5 star treatment, 24/7. The pools were large and numerous but the water didn't seem that refreshing. It was too warm for my liking. Another nice thing near the pools was the poolside food that they make. It was very tasty.The beach was nice. One part of the beach was a little rocky but the area to the far left was white and sandy. The ocean was definitely refreshing albeit salty.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Came here for our honeymoon and absolutely loved it! Staff was great, food was awesome as well!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LA Ca usa

Everything is excellent

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Next time I will go back and stay in the hotel you don't need to go to tours. Except dolphins you have everything in the beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from orlando,fl

Excellent Hotel

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Awesome hotel, excellent service, clean, good food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from California

Great Hotel!!

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Riu Palace Peninsula was a great experience for us. it was excellent; good location , great service , great food .. everything was excellent!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Antonio, Tx.

First time at an all inclusive

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Staff and hotel were wonderful. Stayed in the adult section and it was lovely. Our view was of a courtyard but that was ok, the pools and beach were just steps away The ony thing that I felt was sub par was the buffet. The food was bland and same thing over and over.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Anaheim, CA

Great Honeymoon Experience

Posted Jul 11, 2014
We are first timers in Cancun. This resort is very clean and beautiful. Inside and out. We stayed at the adult only Villas which is separate from the main hotel. I recommend the villas if your traveling as adults only. Guests in the villas get a VIP pool and restaurant. The beach is a little rocky, but they have it nicely set up with palm trees all around and clean chairs. Buffet is great. They have a wide variety of foods for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Dont worry about getting bored of the same food. Reserve the special restaurants seats as early as you can. They are worth it. You can reserve dinner for an Italian, Mexican, Steakhouse, or fusion type restaurants for dinner. This is included in the "all inclusive" There is also a Coffee Bar, Cocktail Bar, and Sports Bar. A Bar also by the beach and a Bar in one of the pools. Enjoy
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nj

Awesome

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Pros: Loved the food. The workers are so nice
Cons: More music ! No children at all
Location: Near everything
The all inclusive villa was great but my other couples I traveled with also stayed in the villa . All of our rooms had refrigerator that didn't work. Should get screen should be put on the balcony. To many Mosquitos bites ouch! It lacked music ! More music