Ratings based on 1,152 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Nice hotel with an odd style and decor.

Posted Jun 23, 2015
Everyone has a style of their own , but everyone in our party agree the decor and style of the hotel was extremely modern and really ugly. 70's Vegas meets ultra modern (lots of purple and green). Not our thing, but the hotel was super clean and the staff was awesome. Food was ok, we always found something we liked at the buffet. The adults only suites are too close to the entertainment and stages, so you can't go to sleep until they stop at 11:30. Minor issues but we will likely try a new resort next time. PS. Awesome pools and nice views
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Great honeymoon spot!

Posted Jun 23, 2015
Pros: The ambiance, food and very helpful staff.
Cons: More sound barriers in the rooms, fixing the door frames which had the lining falling off. It'd also be nice to have more activities to do on site.
Location: This resort is about 25 mins from the airport and there's not much nearby. You need a cab to go to any shopping. There's a Pirate boat/show nearby.
My husband and I chose this resort for our honeymoon. Neither of us had been to Cancun before and after searching for a while on Expedia, we chose the Riu. We were very pleased upon arrival! They have a separate villa that is adults only, which is where we stayed. The downside was we were on the top of the 3 story place and there was no elevator! Walking up and down 2 flights of stairs multiple times a day was frustrating. They have many options for food, most of which was very tasty and fairly quick service. Alcohol is everywhere, including the bedrooms! The rooms are gorgeous. There was a really nice jetted bathtub inside the room and our balcony had a multi-person jacuzzi which was great! The mini fridge was fully stocked with complimentary soda and water that was replaced daily. Excursions are easy to set up, as they have many agencies who sit in the hotel lobby area to set things up and provide transportation. Word of advice though - if you do anything with sealife, you are NOT allowed to wear your own sunscreen. We were not told that and had no sun protection which SUCKED for our shoulders the next few days after. They sell biodegradable sunscreen that supposedly is ok, but it's only water resistant for 30 mins so be aware. The beach and pool areas are stunning! There is also nightly entertainment. If you stay in the villa area, it can get noisy at night. Very echoey and the noise carries from the night shows.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Buffet

Posted Jun 23, 2015
Pros: Amenities. The guys are great organizing all kind Of activities around the hotel such as fitness classes in the pool, beach party....Love it .
Cons: Noise level outside of our room !
Location: Dont need to go out for anything
Excellent buffet we did not have time To make reservations any where else....You ll find everything YOU are looking for. Desserts not too good but The rest was delicious.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from g

Nice hotel but staff is terrible

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Long story short front desk basically was kicking us out after checkout even if plane didn't leave till much later the front desk sprvsr was a jerk told us to sorry that'd how is it and was basically laughing at the fact that our flight had been cancelled this was my first vacation ever and wow sad to say this hotel made it a nightmare and put our safety the least of their concerns I will never ever stay at a riu again such a shame such a beautiful hotel has such a mediocre staff I will call their Corp office to file a formal complaint
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel and very clean

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Convinient to book hotel with all inclusive package. The food was sooooo delicious
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Detroit

Nice hotel, food not that great

Posted Jun 21, 2015
Besides the food, it was a great experience. I was disappointed in the food set up and options of food items in the Sports bar. The Japanese restaurant was not great at all. Neither was room service. I was disspleased with room service's menu. However, the breakfast and lunch buffet was great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis, Indiana, US

Excellent Honeymoon

Posted Jun 21, 2015
We loved our one week February stay at the Riu Palace Peninsula! We had a top floor jacuzzi suite with a gorgeous ocean view. We loved the jacuzzi on the balcony! Wish the jacuzzi came with instructions because it took us a little while to fill it on the first night but after that it was fine. We loved ordering chocolate cake and cheesecake and piña coladas to eat and drink while in our jacuzzi. The food was okay but the desserts were so good. There were lots of options in the buffets. The best dinner restaurant they have is the Mexican one! The beach was a little Rocky but we could walk over to the sandy Riu beach hotel next door. LOVED the entertainment staff! Loved the on site photographer we had a photoshoot and bought pictures through. There were always fun activities like parties, live music, karaoke, water polo. Our room was turned every day and if we needed even more towels we just grabbed some from the downstairs spa. The excursions we got through scuba caribe in the hotel were great! The boats and your buses would pick us up right at the hotel. We will def be back! :)
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 20, 2015
Beautiful pool and view. Horrible decor, food, and nighttime entertainment.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, Texas

Superb 15 days stay

Posted Jun 17, 2015
Pros: The attention at the restaurants Mourine at Krystal, Luis at Islas Mujeres, Aron at Kabuki, Juan at Olas, superb.. David a great pianist, amazing.
Cons: Better training to front desk personnel. They will easily go into antagonizing mode if you have a complaint. Need to be reminded that guests pay them.
Location: Xelha and Xcaret are two great places to visit specially if you have children. We also went to Tulum. Be sure to take mosquito repellent.
Great stay, we enjoyed every day at this superb hotel. We had been in other Riu Hotels in Cancun and in Playa del Carmen and the pools at Peninsula are smaller and disconnected, the beach is too narrow and on the one on the right side is full of rocks, need to wear water shoes. The Riu Caribe next door have a much better beach. The front desk personnel needs training about how to solve problems, need to be reminded that guests pay their salaries and that today we have the web to make complaints that will be read by many people. These ladies would antagonize a guest that brings a complaint, instead of sympathizing with the guest and solving the problem. We asked to be moved because the noise at our 2 rooms coming from the stage downstairs would not let us sleep and it took then 8 nights before we were moved. The personnel at each of the restaurants are the opposite, they are always ready to help and to please the guests. The 2 young ladies that entertain the children every day are a great asset to the hotel, they are dedicated and take care of children as if they were their own. Overall I will recommend the hotel, but I would stay at the Riu Rivera Maya at Playa del Carmen next time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Darnestown,MD

evening shows

Posted Jun 17, 2015
Pros: day programs and activities by the pool were great , with a lot of variety.
Cons: the public bathrooms had no ventilation, they very clean but very smelly.we expected the nightly shows to be as good as other Riu's .
Location: we took the bus every where.
we expected the nightly shows to be as good as other Riu's , it was not nearly as good. day programs and activities by the pool were great , with a lot of variety. we had a great time in general. food was great. Rooms were very nice and clean. the public bathrooms had no ventilation, they very clean but very smelly.