Ratings based on 602 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from gatlinburg,tn

excellent hotel on ocean with balcony

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: location of the hotel and excellent staff and service
Cons: none
Location: location is excellent and it is in center if town
excellent hotel with private balcony on ocean, excellent staff, very spacious room with mini bar
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice New Hotel

Posted Aug 25, 2014
This time I traveled with my family (wife and year and half daughter). Hotel is nice and very busy, has a lot of pools and soft white sand on the beach. Nice sport activities and entertaining "beach parties". Don't waste your time taking pictures with hotel photographer, unless you are willing to pay $20/picture of a below average quality. Service on the another hand, was very disappointing. This was our 3rd visit to cancun and all three times we stayed at Riu Hotels, so we had something to compare to. Also, food was plain and boring, lacking flavors. Table cloths at times were dirty and the set-up had dirty silverware. Buffett staff was ignorant when we entered with our baby, they were not happy to assist. Upon check out, we were charged $15 for being an hour late. We were given two options to pay pesos or credit card. When I offered USA dollars I was lectured about how federal law restricts use of US dollars at the hotel. At the end, reception staff named Danko accepted $20 US dollars ( broke Mexican federal law). I think it is hypocritical to accept tips in US dollars but lecture about the law at check out. Good job Danko, you broke the law and ruined my experience with Riu. We had a lot better experience at Riu Cancun and Riu Palace than we did at the Riu Peninsula. The staff was nice enough at the check-in but definitely didn't care about us when wen were checking out.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Perfect Destination for vacation

Posted Aug 23, 2014
Pros: Food, Hotel Staff, Amenities,
Cons: Club/ Disco in the resort.
Location: Market 28 for shopping souvenir, Chichan Itza .
it was great experience..! hotel was clean. room was nice and had everything you need. Staff was amazing!!! I appreciated the reviews previous member put because of that I chose this resort and I really enjoyed staying at this resort. food was good. everything was close- all restaurants that resort has, beach. It was pleasant and wonderful experience. I would definitely recommend this resort to every one- all adults, kids, families. There was something for every one. 5 STAR***** experience
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Everything was amazing but need more drink options
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, Ny

Posted Aug 19, 2014
We loved our stay!! We stayed in the Villa Jr suite five days/ four nights. My husband and I were greeted with champagne during check in which was a breeze. We had access to a private adult only pool and speciality restaurant. We loved the VIP treatment. As far as the speciality restaurants we tried the Japanese, gourmet, Caribbean, and steakhouse. The steakhouse was our favorite! The steaks were cooked to perfection and the lobster was amazing. Even the buffet was great. One night they offered lobster and caviar. Staff at the buffet was amazing even better than the speciality restaurant staff. We spent a lot of time at the pool swim up bar. The only critique I can offer is the resort needed a little more beach space and attendants to serve drinks on the beach. Overall great stay and would recommend it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Loved this hotel! Paradise!

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: Everything! No complaints.
Cons: There were a few communication problems, but with patience and asking questions, we worked everything out.
Location: You can catch the public bus right across the street for $1 USD an it will take you all over the city.
My husband and I absolutely loved the RIU Palace Peninsula. The hotel is situated on a peninsula so you get a nice private sandy beach and beautiful rocky beach. The rooms are very nice with great views and super comfortable beds and all have Jacuzzi's. You can also request a room with a two person hot tub on the balcony. They offer adult only villas for those that want a quiet area and it has it's own adult only pool and restaurant. We enjoyed all of the food on the buffet and the steakhouse was delicious. Our staff experiences were awesome and we came to love a few choice staff. If you want a paradise, stay at this place. It was truly awesome.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oxnard

Everything well kept

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Loved this place.. Still feels brand new even after 2 years. Some of the staff were excellent and talked to you but others ignored you a bit. Didn't like the mixers they used in the drinks but overall the experience and location was awesome
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Book this hotel right now!

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: The rooms were very new and clean, four bottles of liquor and a stocked mini fridge everyday. Amazing buffets and restaurants, multiple bars on site
Cons: Not a huge deal, but it would have been nice to have an elevator in the villa, only three levels but may be troubling to some
Location: I would recommend going to Dolphinarus,Xel Ha,Xplor Park,Tulum (if you like history) wouldn't recommend the resorts snorkeling adventure or wet n wild
My girlfriend and I took our first trip out of the U.S. to the Riu Palace Peninsula and it exceeded our expectations. We had read some reviews online about the rooms smelling from the ocean and trouble with booking dinner reservations. This was not the case for us! The rooms didn't smell at all, the grounds were lovely and kept trimmed the entire week we were there. (August 4-10) I don't even know where to begin about how impressed we were with the staff, the food, the service, the beach, the entertainment. It was incredible. First off, the moment we arrived, the hotel allowed us to upgrade our room for free to any location we desired. We chose the Villa section because it was more secluded and quiet, had a private pool, private restaurant, private bar, didn't allow children, had a king size bed, and hot tub on the balcony. I would definitely recommend doing this , because the normal area can get a bit crowded if your trying to relax. In fact, the private pool has its own bar with staff that comes to take your drink order, you never have to leave the pool! The normal pool area also had an amazing pool bar, hammocks for lounging, 3 or so additional pools, etc. The beach area was the perfect setting for picture taking, and you had access to the hotel next door (Riu Caribbe I believe) At night the hotel provides entertainment with different shows, including Michael Jackson, Rock of Ages, Live Music (Spanish and American) mayan theme, crowd interaction etc
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: Service at this hotel was amazing staff very friendly and of good caliber, room and facilities were always clean. Nice view.
Cons: Buffet food was not very good.
Location: Ferry to Isle Mujeres nearby and was a good trip. Can rent jetski's, go pairisailing, snorkeling, tours all pretty much within few minutes to hr away.
service was fantastic, very friendly staff. Plenty of stuff to do around the hotel. Ferry nearby that will take you to Isle Mujeres which is worth the trip. Only really bad thing about the trip was the buffet food, restaurant food was good, however, had to book the reservation two days in advance. Have a show every evening and games by the pool throughout the day. View from our room was very good as well. A lot of families stayed here so if you dont like kids probably not place for you, but overall was a very relaxing and enjoyable stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to everything!!

Posted Aug 9, 2014
I stayed at this hotel with a friend and our experience was great, the staff was excellent and amenities were amazing I will definitely come back again