Ratings based on 646 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 21, 2014
Great staff. Don't put your room key by your cell phone, it will disable it
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from boston,MA

Beautiful hotel with good food and friendly staff

Posted Oct 19, 2014
Pros: Beautiful hotel, staff was super friendly, property spotless.
Cons: Better nighttime entertainment. The show the staff put on was great, the rest of the nights..not so much.
Location: Took ferry which was only a 5-10 min walk to Isla Mujeres. Wonderful day trip! Island beaches are beautiful.
Stayed in the adult only villas. No view of the beach from our villa, there was another villa in front of us. So ask for a view of beach if that's important to you. Rooms were very nice and adult only pool was great. Staff all around was super friendly, and the property well maintained. Food was great, no complaints there. Drinks seemed to be watered down, but not the end of the world. Wasn't really a party hotel, it was more on the classy side. Special kudos to Max from the main dining wait staff, and Juan from the entertainment crew. They provided us with lots of laughs and happiness:) Would definitely go back without hesitation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Beautiful hotel on a white sandy beach

Posted Oct 18, 2014
Pros: Just about everything. High-end finishes, incredibly nice and courteous staff, spa services, white sand beaches, warm water and more!
Cons: The beds themselves could be more luxurious. Perhaps pillow top, or any type of foam instead of spring.
Location: About a 25-minute drive to CancĂșn Airport. You'll pass an entire strip of shopping malls, flea markets and an all-in-one outlet called Mexican Outlet.
This hotel is a gorgeous experience located steps away from a white sand beach with clear, warm water and direct access to the island of Isla Mujeres, located about an hour away by ferry/boat. Isla Mujeres itself allows for a slew of activities, including swimming with dolphins, private pools, beaches, shopping, zip lining, snorkeling and so much more. It's all added cost, and not included in the price or package the hotel offers, but it's all quite affordable and as accessible as can be. The hotel restaurants are great, and I'd highly recommend Tamales, the in-house Mexican option, whose staff are quite funny and engaging. The manager will even personally pour you complimentary shots of tequila. The hotel also includes spa services, and the staff from top to bottom are as courteous and accommodating as I've come across. Any questions you have, including about the surrounding areas, they're more than happy and able to answer, and even the smallest concerns or questions you'd have about the hotel itself they can speak to and do everything in their power to get right by you. I'd highly recommend this hotel for anyone, be you the adventurous type who wants the water activities, or the lay-back type who just wants to kick back with endless cocktails on a beach, soaking up the sun. Riu Palace Peninsula can give you either... or both!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel was amazing!

Posted Oct 17, 2014
You will not be disappointed with the hotel! We have no complaints!!! I know this rating is supposed to be solely about the hotel but I feel that I need to explain for future travelers what the worst part of our trip was. It was picking a shuttle to and from the airport. We were quoted everything from $60-$90 just to take us to our hotel (1 way). Ridiculous!!!! Until we found Super Shuttle which we payed $50 that was for 2 passengers to and from the airport. Good Luck!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Belize

Excellent hotel amenities ,total satisfaction.

Posted Oct 16, 2014
Pros: loved everything
Cons: A shuttle service from the airport or bus terminal
Location: close to shopping
we had a marvelous time , we were celebrating our 43rd wedding anniversary and we woke up to Champagne and chocolate covered strawberries that morning, the staff was wonderful, the entertainment was very good, good location good beach. Just delightful
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Loved the View!!!

Posted Oct 15, 2014
The hotel was great. The food was about the same every day. The weather was beautiful. The timeshare sells was to much for us and also the people asking for tips. I wanted a nice vacation, not to be hassled and followed around the stores, like cattle. If you go to Cancun, please book a good hotel and make sure it has lots of amenities, so you can stay at the hotel. We did go to the Island, which was beautiful and to Xplor the Xcaret experiences- the underground river and zip line, which we did enjoy and the food was better. I just felt out of place. It was good to get back to the USA. This was just my experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose, CA

Great service. Great location

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Amazing!!! Had a blast! Great place for honeymooners. Can't beat the view. This is a place where dreams come true!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Naperville, IL

First time in All Inclusive

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Pros: Great entainment. Excellant kids club.
Cons: Long lines at check in. Very few of staff speak good English.
Location: Never left hotel.
An all inclusive revolves around food and drink. Food was just ok, same thing everyday. Speciality restraunants very good but getting reservations not an easy task.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Amazing Hotel and View

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Pros: I liked everything about this hotel! We enjoyed our stay so much that we are considering a trip within the next six months.
Cons: Nothing. This hotel is paradise.
Location: The resort is near shopping and night clubs. There is a spa in the resort. There are catamaran tours, zip lining, fishing, parasailing and much more.
This was our third year visiting Cancun. Each year we've stayed at a different resort. Riu Palace Peninsula was the best by far. It had everything we were looking for: free wifi, nightly entertainment superior service, and oceanview suites.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Staff was great

Posted Oct 12, 2014
Second time and know regrets. We had a group of 8 between 35-47 years of age. Awesome!!!!!