Ratings based on 1,160 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chino, California

Wonderful place to relax!!!!

Posted Jul 2, 2015
Pros: The room was very nice, and the fact that it had a jacuzzi was an A+.
Cons: nothing
Location: Like the fact that if you went to the other RIU Hotels in the area, you received the same customer service..
The hotel and staff were very nice, the food was excellent. The night shows and extra curricular activites in the area were great!!! The restaurants were also very nice and met my expectations. I would definitely stay here or the RIU Hotels.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 1, 2015
From buffets with ocean views, steak and lobster dinner, sushi, barbecue by the pool side, midnight cappuccino and so much more......WOW!!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from inglewood, ca

A true vacation

Posted Jul 1, 2015
The food and service was amazing. From sunrise to sunset every day was incredible.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Amazing resort. Had lots of fun..wish the pool stayed open later
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Mooresville, NC

Very modern, clean, 5* hotel. Excellent food

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Pros: Not overcrowded! 5*! Quality food! Clean! Updated! Modern!
Cons: Better activities for kids
Location: Swimming with Wale sharks and scuba diving trip
This is a fantastic resort! I've read reviews about this being a "cheap Ikea furniture look alike resort", but it's not like it at all! Very modern for sure, and lots of purple! But very impressive! I am from Switzerland, residing in US, and have stayed at Atlantis in Bahamas, Beaches Turks and Caicos, etc, and this resort was 5*! We got greeted with a welcome drink, the hotel entry is very large, open and impressive! The dining options were jaw dropping! The service was more than 5*! Waiters were very friendly, and very quick! The pools are nice! Beach is great! Hotel offered wale shark tours during our stay in June, which we booked separately, and it was amazing!! The rooms were very spaceous, very modern, with an awesome freestanding tub! Alcoholic drinks and soda in room were filled every day! We booked late, and couldn't get oceanfront. Our rooms still overlooked the harbor and other side, so we still got a view of the ocean. The drive from airport was only 30 minutes (although a bit expensive, so try to get it included). We were a bit hesitant about going to Cancun, but were very impressed with the quality, and will be back for sure! Highly recommend!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 28, 2015
Food was good. Lots to choose from. Deserts were great. Stayed in Villas. Pool water was too warm. Not refreshing at all. Staff was nice. Had to call them over at times (in buffet) for whatever i needed even though it wasnt busy. One day we slept in till about 1 pm. Maid service never bothered to take care of our room even though we had our service sign on door. Room was clean. Resort was clean. All together i would definatly stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful location, service is fantastic!

Posted Jun 28, 2015
Great resort, loved the food, service and clean facilities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Nice hotel with an odd style and decor.

Posted Jun 23, 2015
Everyone has a style of their own , but everyone in our party agree the decor and style of the hotel was extremely modern and really ugly. 70's Vegas meets ultra modern (lots of purple and green). Not our thing, but the hotel was super clean and the staff was awesome. Food was ok, we always found something we liked at the buffet. The adults only suites are too close to the entertainment and stages, so you can't go to sleep until they stop at 11:30. Minor issues but we will likely try a new resort next time. PS. Awesome pools and nice views
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Great honeymoon spot!

Posted Jun 23, 2015
Pros: The ambiance, food and very helpful staff.
Cons: More sound barriers in the rooms, fixing the door frames which had the lining falling off. It'd also be nice to have more activities to do on site.
Location: This resort is about 25 mins from the airport and there's not much nearby. You need a cab to go to any shopping. There's a Pirate boat/show nearby.
My husband and I chose this resort for our honeymoon. Neither of us had been to Cancun before and after searching for a while on Expedia, we chose the Riu. We were very pleased upon arrival! They have a separate villa that is adults only, which is where we stayed. The downside was we were on the top of the 3 story place and there was no elevator! Walking up and down 2 flights of stairs multiple times a day was frustrating. They have many options for food, most of which was very tasty and fairly quick service. Alcohol is everywhere, including the bedrooms! The rooms are gorgeous. There was a really nice jetted bathtub inside the room and our balcony had a multi-person jacuzzi which was great! The mini fridge was fully stocked with complimentary soda and water that was replaced daily. Excursions are easy to set up, as they have many agencies who sit in the hotel lobby area to set things up and provide transportation. Word of advice though - if you do anything with sealife, you are NOT allowed to wear your own sunscreen. We were not told that and had no sun protection which SUCKED for our shoulders the next few days after. They sell biodegradable sunscreen that supposedly is ok, but it's only water resistant for 30 mins so be aware. The beach and pool areas are stunning! There is also nightly entertainment. If you stay in the villa area, it can get noisy at night. Very echoey and the noise carries from the night shows.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Buffet

Posted Jun 23, 2015
Pros: Amenities. The guys are great organizing all kind Of activities around the hotel such as fitness classes in the pool, beach party....Love it .
Cons: Noise level outside of our room !
Location: Dont need to go out for anything
Excellent buffet we did not have time To make reservations any where else....You ll find everything YOU are looking for. Desserts not too good but The rest was delicious.