Ratings based on 463 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Happy Hour from CT

Nicest resort !

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Pros: Everything. Can't think of anything that wasn't 100%.
Location: A short $1 bus ride to center of tourist zone , flea market, Aqua-World, and other Riu Palace Hotel where you have same privileges as Peninsula.
Beautiful pools, quiet beach, excellent staff, great room delicious food and drinks. Perfect weather too. (Resort can't take credit for this,though !)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by David &Sandra from Barrington R.I.

very satisfied

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Pros: location newness
Cons: keep up the same tradition
Location: golf walk to town
we have stayed at several Riu resorts I wish I had joined there reward program earlier This was our 5th stay and we are planing our next adventure
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing!!

Posted Apr 21, 2014
This hotel is very modern, clean, and beautiful. The food was great and the atmosphere was pleasant! Staff was very eager to help with anything!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Emily from Illinois

Beautiful hotel and very friendly staff.

Posted Apr 20, 2014
Pros: It is very big and there were lots of options of eating places, pools to lay buy, and bars to go to.
Cons: An outdoor hot tub would be nice!
Location: We did not venture out of the hotel area.
Hotel was always clean. The eating areaa, the rooms, the bathrooms, everything was great. You were waited on while laying out, you didn't have to walk up to the bar. There was always something to eat if you were hungry. The spa was nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chuck from Amsterdam NY

Best vacation ever!!!

Posted Apr 20, 2014
Everything was awesome from the service to the food.Went with 3 other couples. No complaints ; The only and I mean the only thing that could have been better was the ac in our room could have been a little colder that's it.Go there and enjoy your vacation!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Great hotel for stay

Posted Apr 20, 2014
Cons: Food of Japanese restaurant is not traditional Japanese. It's Mexican-Japanese? I don't say it's bad. However, it's different from actual Japanese.
We stayed 4 nights at this hotel. Quality of foods and service is more than expected.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel great location

Posted Apr 19, 2014
It was amazing and we will be back.Food was excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Perfect place to relax!!

Posted Apr 18, 2014
My husband and I just returned from our honeymoon, we stayed at the RIU for a week. We wanted a place to relax & enjoy great food, we got that and so much more!! :) staff was very friendly & the entertainment crew really knew how to stay interacted with the guest. We felt no need to leave the hotel since everything we wanted was on location! Looking forward to going back!!! :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kathy from New Jersey

Excellent hotel, with a variety of pools and beach

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Pros: We had no problem making reservations at any of the restaurants and we were able to have dinner at THE BEST on two nights, the Kulinarium.
Cons: Nothing !!!!
Location: Thought the location was great. A block from the ferry service to the Isle of Mujeres, and a bus stop across the street for the hotel for a short ride
My sister, best friend and I were extremely impressed with this hotel. All the help, front desk, servers, pool attendants and bar servers, and restaurant servers, room service, all went out of their way to make us feel more than special. We had booked April 7-April14
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jy from Maryland

Spring vacation in Cancun

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Pros: Cappuccino bar, buffet meals pool area
Cons: Improve the mixes for the alcohol drinks, they are too sweet. Obtain some better alcohol choices.
Location: We took the bus everywhere we went.
Hotel is very big, very nice, staff are exquisite and friendly. Its all inclusive. I usually so not eat at buffets, but the buffet was delicious breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Lobster night was the best, real lobster tails. Delicious. I did not prefer the specialty restaurants, you could not get a reservation and they only booked two days in advance. That was too much to think about on vacation so we ate at the buffet, the cappuccino bar, and the sports bar.... limited beach, pool was very nice and relaxing. Guzman was the best bartender in the lobby bar. Our room was nice and clean by the 5 day we smelled sewage coming from our tub which was next to out bed. Horrible smelled they corrected the problem immediately. Hotel is very busy and lively. The drinks were the only down fall for me, I'm used to drinking top shelf at all times, the hotel has no top shelf alcohol and the drink mixes are too sweet... overall had a great time.