Ratings based on 605 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Aliso Viejo, CA

Excellent in every way

Posted Aug 31, 2014
We chose the hotel based on the review "wonderful" and it turned out to be wonderful. Very clean room (and I usually dislike any hotel including expensive chain hotel). One little down side: acoustic! Because of the architecture you can hear people in the hallways and above you, but not from the room next to you. Very friendly stuff and excellent food selections and drinks. Wonderful for families and couples only.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible. Not luxury at all!!

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Party hotel- not luxury! Service is terrible, doors slam all night long, people yelling in the halls, didn't get any sleep. Should not have been rated so highly. We love cancun but will never stay at a Riu again!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Just add some budget upgrade to another hotel.

Posted Aug 30, 2014
Cons: food, room service, front desk, activity.
Food is the worst - almost all the food are from main buffet restaurant, no matter you order from room service, in snake bar, in coffee shop, in bar. Be aware, all the A-la-carte restaurants must be booked two days in advance when you arrived and which is only offer dinner. That means if you stay three days (two nights), you might have no chance to get in those restaurants because you might not stay till the third day night (you have to check out at 12:00 pm). One more important thing, the hotel advertise that there are 6 restaurants in hotel, but actually some of these is just different names in same place, pretty hilarious. So you should not have the fancy that you have a lot of choice for food. The beach was a second disappointment - The beach is small, rocky and dirty. They even have no any service at the beach, and the water sport which include in all-inclusive package is also second hilarious things. When we ask the front desk how can we do windsurf and kayaking (which these two are included in all-inclusive package), they just told us bring our room key to another hotel to do these activities. Be careful, the water sport is not on site! All these are not declare when you are booking. Service - Some staff are great, some depend on how you tips. Overall, please just add some budget like $30 something or more per night in order to upgrade to anther all-inclusive hotel and you will have the great vocation along with the beautiful sea and weather in Cancun.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from gatlinburg,tn

excellent hotel on ocean with balcony

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: location of the hotel and excellent staff and service
Cons: none
Location: location is excellent and it is in center if town
excellent hotel with private balcony on ocean, excellent staff, very spacious room with mini bar
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice New Hotel

Posted Aug 25, 2014
This time I traveled with my family (wife and year and half daughter). Hotel is nice and very busy, has a lot of pools and soft white sand on the beach. Nice sport activities and entertaining "beach parties". Don't waste your time taking pictures with hotel photographer, unless you are willing to pay $20/picture of a below average quality. Service on the another hand, was very disappointing. This was our 3rd visit to cancun and all three times we stayed at Riu Hotels, so we had something to compare to. Also, food was plain and boring, lacking flavors. Table cloths at times were dirty and the set-up had dirty silverware. Buffett staff was ignorant when we entered with our baby, they were not happy to assist. Upon check out, we were charged $15 for being an hour late. We were given two options to pay pesos or credit card. When I offered USA dollars I was lectured about how federal law restricts use of US dollars at the hotel. At the end, reception staff named Danko accepted $20 US dollars ( broke Mexican federal law). I think it is hypocritical to accept tips in US dollars but lecture about the law at check out. Good job Danko, you broke the law and ruined my experience with Riu. We had a lot better experience at Riu Cancun and Riu Palace than we did at the Riu Peninsula. The staff was nice enough at the check-in but definitely didn't care about us when wen were checking out.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Perfect Destination for vacation

Posted Aug 23, 2014
Pros: Food, Hotel Staff, Amenities,
Cons: Club/ Disco in the resort.
Location: Market 28 for shopping souvenir, Chichan Itza .
it was great experience..! hotel was clean. room was nice and had everything you need. Staff was amazing!!! I appreciated the reviews previous member put because of that I chose this resort and I really enjoyed staying at this resort. food was good. everything was close- all restaurants that resort has, beach. It was pleasant and wonderful experience. I would definitely recommend this resort to every one- all adults, kids, families. There was something for every one. 5 STAR***** experience
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Everything was amazing but need more drink options
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, Ny

Posted Aug 19, 2014
We loved our stay!! We stayed in the Villa Jr suite five days/ four nights. My husband and I were greeted with champagne during check in which was a breeze. We had access to a private adult only pool and speciality restaurant. We loved the VIP treatment. As far as the speciality restaurants we tried the Japanese, gourmet, Caribbean, and steakhouse. The steakhouse was our favorite! The steaks were cooked to perfection and the lobster was amazing. Even the buffet was great. One night they offered lobster and caviar. Staff at the buffet was amazing even better than the speciality restaurant staff. We spent a lot of time at the pool swim up bar. The only critique I can offer is the resort needed a little more beach space and attendants to serve drinks on the beach. Overall great stay and would recommend it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Loved this hotel! Paradise!

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: Everything! No complaints.
Cons: There were a few communication problems, but with patience and asking questions, we worked everything out.
Location: You can catch the public bus right across the street for $1 USD an it will take you all over the city.
My husband and I absolutely loved the RIU Palace Peninsula. The hotel is situated on a peninsula so you get a nice private sandy beach and beautiful rocky beach. The rooms are very nice with great views and super comfortable beds and all have Jacuzzi's. You can also request a room with a two person hot tub on the balcony. They offer adult only villas for those that want a quiet area and it has it's own adult only pool and restaurant. We enjoyed all of the food on the buffet and the steakhouse was delicious. Our staff experiences were awesome and we came to love a few choice staff. If you want a paradise, stay at this place. It was truly awesome.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oxnard

Everything well kept

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Loved this place.. Still feels brand new even after 2 years. Some of the staff were excellent and talked to you but others ignored you a bit. Didn't like the mixers they used in the drinks but overall the experience and location was awesome