Ratings based on 963 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 28, 2015
Nice hotel the staff is very friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and colorful as well as the rest of the hotel is very colorful!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Mexico

新しいホテル

Posted Feb 27, 2015
Cons: 夜遅くまでステージのショーがあり、音が大きくて眠れない。
Location: 周囲には何もなく、出かけるにはバス又はタクシーが必要。
ホテルは新しく清潔感がある。アメリカの雰囲気で、とても開放的である。バイキングの食事も美味しく頂くことができた。部屋はやはり湿気が多く感じ、エアコンも湿気独特の匂いがある。
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The best place we've stayed in Cancun

Posted Feb 27, 2015
From the minute we got there the staff was very accommodating and courteous. The pool, fitness center, and restaurants were clean and beautiful. We loved our stay and would go again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom k

Lovely stay

Posted Feb 26, 2015
In love with this hotel, very nice customer service. The manager of the hotel is very friendly as well as all the stuff. The food was delicious, rooms are pretty clean
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Texas

Awesome

Posted Feb 25, 2015
Pros: Great pool.
Cons: More Mexican food at the buffet.
Location: Take ferry to Isla Mujeres and rent a golf cart.
Such a great hotel. You get access to all other Riu hotels as well. It was fun to check out the other hotels and still be able to drink and eat at them. The Palace Peninsula had excellent service. Not once did we encounter an unfriendly hotel employee. The food was ok, but it's what you would expect at your neighborhood buffet restaurant. Lots of selection. If you don't like something you can always try something different. Evening entertainment was fun.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom las vegas, NV

Nice Hotel with great food and service

Posted Feb 25, 2015
I really enjoyed my stay at the Riu. The staff was friendly and always offering food and drink. The facility was clean although I did notice some cracks in the walls in ceiling that could use maitanence, nothing too major though. The process of getting reservations was a little tedious because I did a lot of excursions during the day and by the time I got back the customer service lady was gone for the day. But the buffet is great to eat everyday and has so many different types of food with certain theme nights 3 nights a week. When I did actually eat at the steak house restaurant I actually just whished I would have ate at the buffet. Overall I would come back best 8 days I've spent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom West Chester, PA

Relaxing vacation

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Pros: Everything was wonderful.
Cons: Pillows were exceptionally lumpy and the noise level at night was over the top!!
I always ask myself, would I return to this hotel? In this case, the answer is definitely yes. There are so many positive aspects of the resort: staff, food and overall accommodations were tops in my book. We have been to all of the Riu resorts in Cancun but Riu Caribe, and this is by far the best one. There were only 2 small complaints: the pillows were terrible, very very lumpy and the noise level at night. Unfortunately, my husband I am enjoy our days and retire usually by 10pm. Our room was right above the outdoor entertainment area and there was no escaping the music until it stopped at about 1130pm. Needless to say, until I used earplugs, I did not get the much needed rest for 2 nights. Again, I would highly recommend this resort. Just make sure you bring earplugs if you are a light sleeper and go early to bed!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Overall an excellent choice. Only downside was that it was difficult to get reservations at the specialty restaurants. The buffet always had a good selection and was presented well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice new facilities, good food, and clean

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: New modern hotel with very nice and clean accommodations. Very large and nice lobby area, lots of room and seating at various locations throughout
Cons: Lunch cooked outside was very good, but only one line and very slow moving.
Very nice and new resort. Very clean and modern with great food, drinks and friendly staff. Would definitely recommend to others and would like to stay there if I go back to Cancun
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Boston,MA

Very nice hotel.

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: Everything
Location: The hotel location was approximately 1/2 hour from downtown Cancun which we enjoyed but can be pretty funky at times. The vendors were a bit much!
Very nice hotel but a certain section of the beach has rocks "hidden" in the sand which was a bit dangerous - other sections of the beach were perfect.