Ratings based on 1,008 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom syracuse ny

Awesome hotel, great food and service! Top notch

Posted Mar 25, 2015
Awesome hotel.. Top notch.. Great food and drinks!! Very clean.. Great service!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Grand Forks ND

The Best hotel ever.

Posted Mar 25, 2015
Pros: The staff was the best staff ever. We ask four things and they helped us out wright away.
Cons: The restaurants could use some work. The food was just ok. Nothing special.
Location: Close to downtown and water activities.
We had a great time from the start. Alex was the guy that helped us from the car with are bags and made sure we got them to out room after we checked in. He also helped us when we had questions. Check in was great and fast with Ricardo. We read a lot of reviews about this hotel being good and bad. So we tested out something people said that was wrong with this hotel and nothing was true. We stayed in the Villas and we thought it was well worth it being away from the main building and the adult pool was great even tho there is no gates people stay away from them just because they do read the sign. So we had the pool to ourselves most of the time. Drinks were nice and strong not week at all. You can order champagne to your room just at the concierge during the day. If you want a really great dinner for a couple do the dinner on the beach. It was such a great time and we will never forget the memories we got from it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 24, 2015
great place to stay! great food! try all the restaurant!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom columbia, IL

Wonderful getaway

Posted Mar 22, 2015
We had a wonderful week at the Riu Palace Peninsula. The staff was incredible - very friendly and always ready to help in any way they could.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Lincoln, Ne

Great hotel away from rif-raf!

Posted Mar 22, 2015
Pros: The staff was very pleasent and were never too pushy or overly nice. The staff at the buffet were wonderful, as well as Roger at the breakfast staff.
Cons: Dinner reservations and drinks - Drinks were weak, and often times dinner reservations were full so we ate at the bufftet (which was better anyways!).
Location: The locations was great with a nice quiet beach! Not many things to do unless you take a cab, but there is a great mall nearby (La Isla).
RIU Peninsula was amazing and we will definitely be going back! If you are looking for something away from all the downtown craziness, this is a great stay! The hotel was clean, very open and modern. The staff was always pleasant and the food was great! They also had nightly entertainment for adults (some earlier shows for kids), and even hosted beach parties and pool games during the day. You really never had to leave the hotel! You are a little far away from the malls, entertainment, bars, etc. so you would need to take a cab ride there, but with 5 bars at the hotel, we really didn't see a need to leave. Be careful, cab rides get expensive!! They can charge you whatever you want, so be sure to ask before you start to drive off (we always felt safe though).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great spring break trip!

Posted Mar 22, 2015
Enjoyed this resort with my 15 and 20 year old kids. Great food. Loved eating at the buffet all the time. So much variety. White wine was so so. Beds were so comfy. Beach was smallerish and ocean had a lot of seaweed the week we were there. Staff was great. I would recommend this hotel to a friend. My only complaint is that Expedia didn't notify us that we had been bumped to an hour later flight. We had a 7am flight so we had to get up to come home at 4 am. It would have been nice to sleep another hour. Airline didn't email me either.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cancun's King of the Rius.

Posted Mar 21, 2015
This hote blew myself and my girlfriend away as soon as we walked through the door. Anthing you needed was at your finger tips the beach was beautiful and the service phenominal. The party guy Miguel was the man!! Can't wait to go back won't stay anywhere else.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NY

Nice all inclusive hotel

Posted Mar 21, 2015
Staff was very kind and gentle, food was ok, drings also ok. Amenities, pool very nice. Chekc in was good but they gave a diferente type of room than the one in my reservation (twin instead of king size) and we eneded up with twin beds together. Also air conditioning was very noisy and shower had a leak problem. Maintenace needs to be better.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice beach

Posted Mar 20, 2015
Very good!n!n
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Texas

Wish we didn't have to leave!!

Posted Mar 20, 2015
The All inclusive is AWESOME!!! If there wasn't something you wanted, someone would go out of their way to get it! On one night we even had Champagne delivered to our room. Just be aware if all of your family/friends are not staying at the hotel, it is VERY HARD for them to hang out or even be at the hotel. The staff is trained to look for outsiders that are not staying at the hotel. Half of our family was staying at a near by hotel, and it was almost impossible for them to visit us. It did make the stay a bit stressful, since we wanted to hang out at the resort and with our family. Aside from that, the hotel is beautiful and we had a wonderful experience.