Ratings based on 1,053 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Tupelo, MS

Very Very nice, great views

Posted Apr 23, 2015
Pros: all inclusive, no worries about anything. staff was friendly and helpful
Location: Hotel located on the beautiful beach. Was close to lots of things, they also had travel people to help setup excursions if you wanted to sightsee.
We were there for our daughters wedding. The hotel staff was very helpful with anything. Was beyond pleased with everything about it. Our room was at the top and ocean view which were outstanding. They had evening entertainment which I enjoyed. Food was fairly good, but was never a shortage of most any type you wanted. First time at an all inclusive and with Riu, will do it again and use this company again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 22, 2015
This is our 3rd time staying at a Riu resort.. First time at the Palace Penninsula.. Everything about this hotel is amazing. Staff is so friendly and fun! Buffet food is ok and restaurant food very good. We did the Xplor Fuego excursion and it was so such an amazing experience.. We can't stop talking about it! Will def be staying at this hotel again in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Bayonne, NJ

Riu was fabulous

Posted Apr 22, 2015
I enjoyed my stay very much, the cleanest hotel i have ever seen. AMAZING STAFF!! Food was very good especially steak house and duck at Kulinarium. Two things i would improve is coffee at the buffet was very weak and watered down but i waited till 10 am and got the nice capuccino at the loby. The quality of the drinks was also not so good. Overall great vacation and i would recommend to a friend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom California

Great hotel, great staff.

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Pros: Rooms were clean and well-supplied. Buffets were fantastic. Staff was extremely friendly.
Cons: Pre-mixed drinks are very sweet. Restaurants could use more vegetarian options.
My wife and I really enjoyed our week-long adventure. The location is fantastic, the staff was wonderful, and we couldn't have been more happy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Boston, Ma - USA

Beautiful location with wonderful ocean view.

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Pros: Location, ocean view, staff, cleanliness, food especially the buffet!
Cons: I would like more privacy for the bath area (no door) in our room I would suggest rooms with queen size beds if possible.
Location: We were able to walk to the riu next door and the place where we got the ferry for Isle of mugere We were close to lot of water activities
We had a very enjoyable vacation and felt extremely comfortable with the staff at the riu ppeninsula.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Kentucky

Fantastic Choice

Posted Apr 19, 2015
Pros: Hot tub, shower and balcony jacuzzi; infinity pool in the adults section, staff, cleanliness, view and architecture.
Cons: The main shower head didn't function properly (but there was a basic shower head also) and the hair dryer had to be replaced. Preferred the buffet.
Location: This resort is not located within walking distance of the party bars (you can take the taxi or bus). Highly recommend the catamaran to Isla Mujeres.
This was our first time to Cancun and didn't know much about Riu except for the reviews. We stayed in the Adults only VIP Villas section, and were amazed by the amenities, accommodations but far above all else was the staff. By far the friendliest staff I have ever seen at hotels in the US and Caribbean islands. They really made the trip even more enjoyable than the resort itself. I would highly recommend this resort for any adult couple who seeks the all inclusive benefits. Aside from mainly the spa, everything was included. The staff constantly brings your choice of drinks to you at any pool or the beach. There is a swim up bar, but we didn't find it necessary since the staff were constantly making rounds. Tip them a couple of dollars after the first order and you'll get even better service for the entire day (but not required). Despite other reviews, the dollar was accepted at any place I went, also Visa/Mastercard. You do have to make reservations for the various restaurants 1-2 days in advance, which was a little troublesome. Personally we enjoyed the buffet for breakfast and dinner over the more formal restaurants. Each day there is a lunch cookout at the pools that had hamburger, steak, chicken, pork, salad, etc. which was convenient and filling. The other guests were more diverse than I anticipated, which was great. We met many couples from Europe, South America, Central America and the US.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom shawnee, ks

The rooms were very loud

Posted Apr 19, 2015
We had to change rooms because they put us right above the nightly show, which starts at 9:45 & goes on till 11:00. We have a 5 yr old so that didn't work. But even in the second room, you could hear everything out in the hall & adjoining rooms. Plus the second room smelled like urine...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Columbus, Ohio

Beautiful Resort

Posted Apr 16, 2015
This resort is beautiful. The staff works very hard. Everything is always clean. Nothing complain about. Would recommend to everyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Austin, Texas

Riu All Inclusive never disappoints

Posted Apr 14, 2015
First time to Cancun but we've stayed at the Cabo location before. Beautiful hotel, great location and ease of local transit was a plus. Ferry to Isla Mujeres was very close. My only negative was the toilet area. The pipes made an awful sound all night!!! Not pleasant for those of us who have issues sleeping already.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Connecticut

Excellent resort !!

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Pros: Actually, we loved everything about it. We are repeat guests there.
Cons: Can't think of anything. Maybe have Dunkin' Donuts coffee available. (just kidding)
Location: Beautiful beach, sailboats to sign out, kayaks, Jet skis to rent. Running / walking path, shopping is a $1 bus ride away.
Beautiful facility, couldn't be cleaner, food is delicious, staff is fantastic and friendly. Very, very kid friendly too.