Ratings based on 617 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Vacation in Mexico

Posted Sep 18, 2014
Pros: They always had things to do, kept you busy if you want...otherwise you could just lay and relax all day at the pool or beach.
Awesome Resort! Food at their restaurants was awesome. The beach is rocky- very nice though. We will stay here again in the future! Had no problems.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from moscow

Huge hotel with variety of good restaurants

Posted Sep 15, 2014
A bit too crowded of a hotel and too much of animation. No private space ever. Great hotel otherwise, good food. The staff is ok.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kansas city

very clean, very new, all inclusive nice

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Pros: very up to date
Cons: being able to exchange u.s dollars to paseos
best relaxing vacation ever, everything new, clean and all inclusive. nice location
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jersey City, NJ

Great place, but terrible customer service.

Posted Sep 11, 2014
My wife and I just got back from the Riu Palace Pen. We stayed there for our honeymoon. I was greatly disappointed when we arrived and they did not have a high floor for us. We upgraded to the most expensive room, and called the hotel to put in a request for a high floor. They have over 20 floors, but when we got there we were on the FIRST floor! I was so angry and it basically ruined my mood for the first day. Other than that the place was beautiful. If it wasn't for the terrible customer service I got, I would have been happy. The food at the Buffet was AMAZING. The only other reservation restaurant worth going to was the Steak House. It was also AMAZING. All in all I would recommend going to this place, but don't pay for the upgrades because like us you might get stuck on the first floor.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Hotel was great and staff were kind. Only thing is no real night life the crowd was older.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from l

Excellent

Posted Sep 7, 2014
Fantastic vacations, excellent staff everything perfect, clean rooms and great facilities
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

Excellent resort

Posted Sep 7, 2014
Very clean,food are delicious,all hotel employers are friendly.i absolutely recommend riu hotel peninsula.very good for family.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

I would give it 6 stars

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Pros: Everything especially the cleanliness everywhere and the excellent service
Cons: The entertainment
Location: There were many tours offered by various operators but they were time consuming and quite pricey
From the minute we arrived at the hotel till we had to leave we had a wonderful stay. Even though we purchased the room at a huge discount with the undisclosed deal we were upgraded to an ocean front room- the beds were fantastic , very large room with a whirlpool. The room was spotless the Minibar fully stocked. Service was excellent everywhere, even in the bar by the pool where it was always busy. The food was unbelievable and plentyful,we did not eat in the restaurants for personal reasons But the buffet was very good. If there is one thing to improve it's the entertainment. We will definitely go back you can' get more bang for your buck
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Great stay

Posted Sep 4, 2014
Pros: Staff & clean beach. Staff was incredibly friendly. You can tell they are grateful of working there & work very hard to please you.
Cons: The food during the lunch buffet was not always clearly marked of what's in it. Some staff didn't understand English very well.
Location: Location was great. A bus in either direction can take you anywhere & was easy & cheap, $1 US
We stayed here from Aug. 26 to Sept 3rd. I read all the most recent reviews & based my decision on this hotel primarily because of it. Beach: beautiful w/white sand, not rocky at all. There are a few boulders on the left side of the beach that you just have to walk round, which is no big deal. Anyone that mentioned its rocky is wrong. You will not be stepping on rocks in or out of the water. I spent most of my time on the beach, prefer it over a pool. It was very relaxing & quiet. Waiters will come by all the time to serve you drinks. Pool: there was a lot of activities during the day. Again, I spent most of my time on the beach but the person I went with did a lot of the activities at the pool & liked it. Sometimes the staff didn't follow the schedule of activities on time or missed a few ones on the list. Room: we were on the 9th floor on the theater side. The views were incredible. We were never in the room while the shows was going on which ends @ 11pm, so can't comment if it's loud in the room from the show. Was not a big fan of the layout of the room. There is no separation from the beds to the bathtub & faucets. So no privacy if you wanted to change unless you go into the shower or toilet room. Also, if you wake up in the middle of night, the beds are right next to the faucets so the other person sleeping might wake up. Food: not great, not bad, good variety of choices, very clean. Breakfast was the best! We went to all the restaurants, no problem!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Moundsvilke, WV

Amazing all-inclusive Cancun hotel

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: Everything: beach, decor, food, drinks, activities!
Cons: The only thing I would change is the pools close to early. I like to swim in the evenings when it is cool outside, but they make you get out of the p
Location: In the hotel zone near shopping and nightlife but there is certainly no reason to even leave the hotel.
This was an amazing place to stay. Beautiful, crystal-clear water and white sand beach. I loved taking an afternoon nap on the outdoor queen sized beds and listening to the ocean. We stayed in the villas part of the resort which is adults-only, and it was worth it for us. We were treated like kings and queens at this resort. We ate breakfast, lunch, and dinner at the buffet restaurants and the food was fantastic.....and the booze in the bars was not watered down like other all inclusives we have been to. I would highly recommend to others and we will definitely be returning!