Ratings based on 1,118 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Francisco

Beach Paradise Resort

Posted May 26, 2015
This all-inclusive hotel is worth the price you paid for. The food is excellent and staff very friendly and polite. The beach is breathtaking. There are five pools and plenty of activities going on every day. I definitely recommend this resort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Indiana

Nice hotel, close to the beach and well maintained

Posted May 24, 2015
Pros: Great service, great food, very clean and in an excellent location.
Cons: I have a gluten allergy and it would be helpful if the hotel prepared more gluten free menu items on a routine basis.
Location: Very close to the Isla Mujeres ferry boats and flew market.
We have stayed at the Riu Caribe Cancun since 2003 and watched the Riu Palace Peninsula being built. Last year we decided to stay at the Riu Palace Peninsula and fell in love with the hotel and staff. Repeated it this year and it was just as great a experience. All of the pool and entertainment crew are outstanding; especially Carlos, Chris and Itsy. The restaurant staff are excellent. The beach isn't the long expanse people like to run on, but there is plenty of beach and the mix of rock, sand and the sea make for beautiful pictures and memories. The food and drink are top notch and the bar staff do a great job; especially Tony in the 7/24 Sports Bar. The view from the 10th floor was outstanding.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom USA

Ok Hotel...An honest review

Posted May 23, 2015
Pros: The beach was great, the pool and outdoor area. The service (except for room service) and the staff are very hardworking and wonderful.
Cons: Room service time, the ac and fridge in the hotel room need to be cooler. The food at the restaurants need to be improved.
Location: Close to the bus stop to get downtown, very close to parasailing
When we first arrived, we really liked the look of the hotel. When we went to check in we were informed that they only had a 2 queen size bed room available (we booked a King sized room through Expedia). They said the king was an option that was there if there were any left when we got there. I showed them the reservation we had for the king size bed and they disregarded it. I then asked for a room on a higher floor so we could be away from the loud music and stage. They said the only room they had was on the first floor directly in front of the stage. So for the second time during checkin we got the shaft. When we got to the room, I immediately went to the fridge to get a beer. I was looking forward to having beer stocked in the room and ready to drink. Unfortunately, the refrigerator did not work. I called the receptionist and they sent someone up. The guy pulled the fridge out and turned the temperature to the coldest level (which the gauge is on the back of the fridge). I thought that fixed the problem but the next morning I checked the fridge and still no cold beer or water at that. It was a hair under room temperature which was not acceptable. The room was nice and clean but the air conditioning was not as cool as I preferred. This was like this for our entire 5 night stay. Room service takes forever and it's just average food at best. As for the restaurants, they are not that great. We actually prefer the buffet over any of the restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great beach and hotel

Posted May 20, 2015
Pros: View was super as we had ocean side rooms with a nice patio. I recommend the buffet. It outdoes the restaurants even though they we are nice.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Lovers' lobster cruise was fun. Much see Chincen Itza. Snorkeling was about a 8 out of ten.
Wonderful hotel and very attentive staff. Food was great and we enjoyed it very much.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ga

1st Visit.

Posted May 20, 2015
Had a great trip. We stayed in the private villas. Room was very nice and updated. AC did not get real cool, but it was Ok. The drinks were awesome, but the food not so much. Great view all around!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom brooklyn, NY

Truly a Palace

Posted May 20, 2015
I traveled with my boyfriend here. We are in our late 20's. We stayed for 5 days and it was nothing short of amazing. Great service and great pride taken in cleaning the property. The staff is very friendly and will do anything to go above and beyond your expectations. If you have an hesitation about staying here please go for it. You will not regret it. Fabulous pool and beach. Awesome drinks and wonderful food. I do not have one bad thing to say about this resort. I love it and I'll be back whenever I'm in cancun again !
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I loved the way the hotel looked from the balcony

Posted May 19, 2015
The wait staff were very helpful and very nice. Our room was always very well taken care of. I loved looking out from our balcony and watching the ocean roll in. However where our resort was located was off of the main strip so that was aggravating. From the rating prior I expected more than what was there. And you had to make reservations with every restaurant except the buffet. Not somewhere I would go again. We expected it to be more fancy and more amenities then what there were.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom TX

Posted May 19, 2015
Great hotel, friendly staff and amazing food selections. Will return soon
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome! Right on the beach and relaxing n fun.

Posted May 17, 2015
Planning on going back next year! My second time there. Stayed @ the RIU next to it also. Both places r fun n relaxing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Worth the money

Posted May 17, 2015
Hotel quality good. restaurants quality,staff and food is no complaints. activities decent. bars plenty. pools are neat. Only complaint we have is dinner reservations are tight and couldn't get o e for 13 people until last day. And lastly. Make sure you have pesos handy.no exchange facility in hotel. Overall great a d would go again if we have to.