Ratings based on 234 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego CA

Backyard to Beack

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: Beach
Cons: Rooms and pool
Loved the balconies and that its so close to everything
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom green bay wis

Interesting

Posted Mar 15, 2015
Pros: Close to downtown
Cons: Bathroom
Location: Yes
Front desk was not very pleasant & when indicating hair dryer there was 1 for entire hotec
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 15, 2015
Pros: View
Not a good experience. Very outdated rooms. Water faucet, shower, mirrors, were all not working. Small pool.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom atlanta

The staff was great and the location was super.

Posted Mar 7, 2015
Loved Isla Mujeres and our stay. It was just hard to keep the room cleaned with the shower situation (no curtain) and no dresser. The maid tried her best.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, nice location

Posted Mar 6, 2015
Pros: clean, comfortable, quiet, nice pool, location, almost constant breeze from the Caribbean ocean made sitting on balcony or by pool great on hot days
Cons: shower water pressure
Location: downtown is close and north beach is not too far of a walk
first trip to Isla, hotel and location fit my needs perfectly
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Des Moines IA

we will be back!!!

Posted Mar 5, 2015
Pros: everything!
Location: although you are "away" from the downtown frenzy, you are close to everything you'd need. Restaurants, grocery store, ferry, shopping-LOVE!
The view from the seaside balconies are BEAUTIFUL!!! The pool overlooks the ocean and the breezes and the sound of waves crashing at night lulls you to sleep! Central Air - enuf said! And all of the staff are very helpful and polite. Very clean room, hot water ALL the time, and so close to everything you need. Grocery store, restaurants, ferry AND THE OCEAN!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Rancho Belago, CA

Incredible ocean view!

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: Ocean view from room and large balcony, filtered water available on every floor, helpful staff, relaxing pool area with view, small and quaint.
Cons: Rooms could be updated, but not really realistic to expect at such an affordable rate.
Location: Plenty of local shopping, restaurants, street vendors,beaches and ferry within walking distance. Golf cart and moped rentals for exploring further.
It's all about the view! This is not a 4 star resort, so if you're looking for luxury accommodations with all the perks, look elsewhere. But, if you can appreciate the charm of an older hotel with limited service options, Rocamar could be a great option for you. I LOVED the incredible ocean view & the sound of crashing surf. My room had 2 walls of sliding glass doors which optimized the ocean view & a long balcony with hammock & chairs to hang out & relax. Victor at the front desk was very helpful & even offered to have someone help me bring my luggage upstairs. (after reading other reviews I expected to carry it myself, which was fine - but it was a nice surprise to receive help without having to ask.) There was a walking/jogging path right in front of the hotel & I enjoyed taking a long walk along the ocean every morning and most afternoons. A market, restaurants, shopping, street vendors, & beaches are within easy walking distance. This area of Isla Mujeres is not fully developed so you get the feeling of authentic Mexico more than the over-developed areas of the Cancun hotel zone. However, I always felt safe, even when walking alone. No coffee maker in room, but good, strong, free coffee each a.m. downstairs in reception area. No phone in room, but didn't need one. (& no time share sales calls here.) I had a wonderful, relaxing experience at Rocamar, will recommend it to friends (except the most high maintenance ones...), & look forward to returning soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Dallas TX

Relaxing with the rhythm of the waves

Posted Feb 21, 2015
Pros: sound of waves breaking on the rocks below. Good sleeping !
Cons: no elevators. A tad inconvenient but only 3 floors. We all can use a little exercise
Location: good location. Beaches, Restaurants and Shopping all nearby. Easy walking distance to everything on the north end of the island
Good experience overall. I would rate Rocamar as a typical Caribbean 3 star
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Minnesota

great location

Posted Feb 5, 2015
Pros: Small, local feel. Friendly guests !
Cons: pool area could be updated. I would not recommend this hotel for families with small kids, many open areas that they could take a fall.
Location: Great food at most restaurants. Branch out the island has great things to do!!! don't just stay at North Beach. 5th year on the island, still love it.
We stayed two weeks, the place grows on you after a few days. We had many family members join us during our stay, all were guest at the hotel. We had a problem with my manager thinking my nephew wasn't a guest and she was rude on more than one occasion. The rooms are clean and beds are great. The pool area could use an update. It is not a resort feel, it is small Mexican hotel. 5th time on Isla, we still love it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom dickinson, north dakota

Great location

Posted Feb 4, 2015
Pros: The location, bed and the rain shower.
Cons: Putting the lobby/common area in a different place so it's not next to some of the rooms.
Location: It's in a great spot just walking distance from the downtown area.
Room was very clean and simple which is what we wanted. The only thing I would complain about is how load it is by the front desk which our room was located next to. We tired to move but they said nothing was available but the place never looked busy. Other than that the hotel is in a great location near downtown and right next to the waves on the Caribbean side. That's a great sound to fall asleep to.