Ratings based on 127 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis, MN

Hotel Rocamar - Isla Mujeres Gem

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Pros: Inexpensive and clean!
Cons: COLD water from the water machines not just room temp water.
Location: Easy walk to shops, restaurants, waterfront, golf cart rentals etc.
If you want a nice place to land each night that doesn't kill the budget this is your place. No big formal check-in (no computer) and has a nice pool/lounge area. Rooms has plenty of A/C probably too much (had to turn the thermostat to 90 to make it shut off) I would rather have too much than not enough. Clean rooms serviced daily if you want, good water pressure, shared TV/Microwave/Book Library/Purified Water. We would choose to stay here again!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great little hotel with amazing views

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: Location Cleanliness Decor View
Cons: Nothing for the price!
Location: Great proximity to beach and Main Street with bars and restaurants.
We stayed in this hotel for a couple of days and were a little concerned after reading some of the reviews but we needn't be. We had room 23 which was on the second floor, it was fantastically clean and comfortable. The view was beautiful. This is not a 5 or even 4 star hotel but you haven't paid for one. We found it to be the cleanest place we have stayed in Mexico so far (in that price range) and it was also a short walk to the beach and hidalgo bars and restaurants. We hired a golf buggy for 1 day and they charged the same as the local vendors. Looking at other reviews, it may be work asking for a high level, non smoking, ocean room before you arrive as we did that and had no problems. If you are lucky enough to visit Isla mujueres don't hesitate to book Rocamar!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from jackson hole wy

Great location nice little hotel

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Pros: Location and beds were really comfy
Location: Did the whale shark tour and scuba diving with Mexico divers
Excellent small friendly hotel great location can rent you golf carts
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Quebec City, Canada

Indeed an amazing view!

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Pros: The view. The view. The view.
Cons: Need new air conditioning units.
Location: Right beside the town square, on the malecon, 5 minutes to the Playa Norte, less than 5 min to the ferry, and one corner from Hildago.
I knew the hotel was not expensive, but I was not prepared for the humidity in the room the air conditioning never controlled. Clothes got a bit moldy after 2 weeks of staying there. Also as a result of the poor quality of the ventilation system, there was a faint odor of sewage wafting through the drain openings in the glassed-in bathroom. Also, the pool was not well maintained. I get that it is in the intense sun, but the fact that you could never see your feet because of the cloudiness of the water wasn't great. Despite these downsides, the location is great and the views are spectacular.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with great views

Posted Jul 28, 2014
This is a pretty basic hotel, but has views that are second to none. Rooms were clean and nice, but nothing extravagant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from j

Would recommend

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Beautiful location and outlook. Perfect room for two. Would recommend hiring a cart for your stay to get around and see everything!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from north carolina

Very beautiful and convenient, great staff

Posted Jul 12, 2014
This hotel is nothing fancy, but it is a clean, comfortable place to stay with an AMAZING view of the ocean. It is only a short walk to playa Norte, hidalgo ave, etc. The staff was so kind and helped us out any time we needed it and were very polite even when they had to do something not so pleasant like unclog a toilet. Overall, I would love to stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Adelaide, SA

Basic hotel, great location

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Room was what you'd expect for the price, basic facilites, wouldn't recommend staying here for more than a couple of nights. Good airconditioning (necessary in the heat). Great location if you want to go whaleshark snorkelling, just walk down the wharf and organize it there easily. Room with a nice view of the ocean, not suitable for swimming but swimming beaches are within walking distance, as are lots of restaurants and bars.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis

Great experience, superb value

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: Location, room and hotel amenities, pool, balcony, staff
Cons: The plumbing needs updating, but it was not really a problem.
Location: Near a supermarket, a short walk to the main tourist street, a couple of blocks from the ferry, a few blocks to the north beach: in a word, perfect!
We were in the Cancun area for a week and stayed here for three nights. Virtually everything about this hotel was attractive and pleasurable and staying here was the highlight of our week. Great location on the edge of town, balconies with hammocks overlooking the Caribbean, nice pool, pleasant and helpful staff, all of the amenities expected of a great little beach hotel. We will be back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Alabama, USA

Nice Clean Rooms with Balcony right on Caribbean!!

Posted Jul 5, 2014
Pros: Great hotel for the price
Cons: Air Condition, Shower Water pressure
Location: Location is a perfect for us, close to everything(Ferry, Eating, Shopping, Beach)
You can't go wrong on this! (If you are all inclusive type of person, maybe......) Pros, Nice Clean Room directly facing to Ocean!, Quiet Room(No neighbor noise),Swimming Pool, Beach Towel Provided daily, Bed Mattress was good, Very close to Ferry Terminal, Super Market, etc. Cons, Air Conditioning was very noisy, Shower water pressure was insufficient(Usable) Others: No Breakfast(Just Free Coffee), Attentive Friendly Staffs,