Ratings based on 90 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Charlie from Ottawa

As close as you`ll ever sleep to the ocean.

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Being rated a 2 star hotel, we were not expecting much but it had many positive reviews. Could not agree more with all the reviews. Beautiful setting maybe 15 feet from the ocean facing east from your balcony seeing all the sunsets and full moon shining on the ocean. Coffee in the morning and wine at night. Staff were very quiet but efficient. Our room was cleaned thoroughly every day. Make sure you are sharing the room with someone you are comfortable with as the bathroom is completely walled in by glass. Although there was a type of shower curtain you could pull to give you more privacy, it wasn`t totally hidden. Very minor detail and I would return anytime. It was very close to all the action of Hidalgo street and Playa Norta.If you expect room service and a gym and all the amenities of a large hotel, you`ll be disapointed but if you want to sleep well in a clean comfortable room for a decent price... you`ll be very pleased.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Allen and Lynn from Tennessee

reasonable, clean, well-placed hotel on east side

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: location, price, and staff
Location: supermarket 1 block away, dining up and down Calle Hidalgo, close local flavor breakfast
Hotel easy to locate almost straight out from Puerto Juarez ferry on east side of island just far enough from playa norte's beach/touristy areas to be fairly quiet. Extremely helpful staff, helps to know a bit of Spanish. Hotel and room was kept clean daily. Plumbing requires no paper in toilet. Room was #24, king bed, with ocean view top (3rd) floor. Spartan but comfortable. Very reasonable rates. Rocamar also offers larger rooms and adjacent houses for rent, hotel staff services include assistance with all the island tours, golf cart rentals, scooters, and prebooked transportation to Cancun Airport.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Roberta from Moncton NB

Very nice location

Posted Apr 11, 2014
Cons: Would be nice if there was a bar so we could get drinks by the pool.
Location: Right on the ocean. Not a swimming beach but very pretty view. Walking path goes right next to hotel. Close to beach and all other amenities.
Nice hotel, very good location. Close to all amenities such as restaurants, shopping, clubs and beach while still being far enough away to be very quiet. Beautiful views of ocean. Easy walk to and from ferry, even dragging luggage.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by linda from halifax, NS, CanadA

Great location. Close to beaches and restaurants

Posted Mar 30, 2014
Pros: Location
Location: Rent a moped to tour the Island. Go on an excursion like Xel-Ha through Island Tours. Have a crepe at Cafe Hildago.
Lots of activities available in the town. Quiet and very relaxing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ivana from St. Catharines, ON

boutique style

Posted Mar 23, 2014
Pros: Clean, affordable & friendly
Cons: Change plastic curtain in bathroom. Change doors to a nicer wood door instead of grey. Coffee makers in room.
Location: You are located behind the church, across from church grocery store, shops and restaurants.
We had a great stay at this hotel. The ocean view is spectacular but it is very windy and the ocean is loud from the balconies. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Jesse was great at the front desk. The rooms were cleaned very day by very nice housekeeping staff. The location is great. Lots of places to eat and shop about a 5 minute walk. The beach is one of the best we have been to. We can not wait to go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sue from Minnesota

Wonderful experience.

Posted Mar 10, 2014
Cons: The only thing I could say that could be improved was the internet/phone service in our bungalow - it was fine near the reservation desk.
Location: It's right on the ocean, near the plaza and Hidalgo street which is the hub for shopping and eating establishments. Blocks from beautiful beaches.
Rocamar staff and facilities were awesome! They were very accommodating. We had reserved 2 rooms and had asked to have them adjoining if possible. When we got to the hotel (before check in) our first room was ready and they said the 2nd one would be ready by 3. When we came back for our 2nd room - they asked if we'd like a 2 bedroom bungalow instead. It worked out perfectly as it also had a kitchen and a private patio. The location and facility was great and very clean. I would stay there again and would recommend it to others.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Emma from California

Lovely hotel!

Posted Feb 20, 2014
Pros: Very walkable/great location, clean and comfortable, safe.
Cons: The bathroom offers little privacy, so make sure you are comfortable with your mate :) No English TV channels. Coffee was nice, but no breakfast.
Location: Walk in om the ferry. Walk to town for shopping, small eateries and nice restaurants. 10 minute walk to Playa Norte, an amazing beach!
Close to all the action of the small downtown but also quiet and right on the water. Listen to the waves crashing outside your window or enjoy the hammock on the balcony.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel on the ocean

Posted Feb 18, 2014
Location: Close to everything.
Nice hotel. Good location. Negative: They do not honor request for specific rooms. I called and faxed request months before going, but did not get what I asked for. Very hard to communicate with....no one speaks English well. The hotel has no real bells or whistles, but I enjoyed my stay and would stay there again. Lovely island with lots to do.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel and not more than

Posted Feb 17, 2014
Pros: Quiet, clean, beautiful view.
Cons: Adds meals
Location: Although in the center but far from North Beach just 10 minutes walking.
Very nice hotel and more. The hotel staff was nice, beautiful view to the ocean (although the less beautiful) Overall a nice hotel and recommended.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Al from Silverton, Or.

Caribbean Paradise

Posted Feb 13, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: The chairs could be upgraded and the channel selection is limited on the TV in the room
Location: Shopping and restaurants within minutes from your room
We stayed for 16 nights. Jan 24 - Feb 9. Hotel was fabulous, staff were great, location couldn't have been better. we will be back next year for our 6th trip