Ratings based on 218 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Rancho Belago, CA

Incredible ocean view!

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: Ocean view from room and large balcony, filtered water available on every floor, helpful staff, relaxing pool area with view, small and quaint.
Cons: Rooms could be updated, but not really realistic to expect at such an affordable rate.
Location: Plenty of local shopping, restaurants, street vendors,beaches and ferry within walking distance. Golf cart and moped rentals for exploring further.
It's all about the view! This is not a 4 star resort, so if you're looking for luxury accommodations with all the perks, look elsewhere. But, if you can appreciate the charm of an older hotel with limited service options, Rocamar could be a great option for you. I LOVED the incredible ocean view & the sound of crashing surf. My room had 2 walls of sliding glass doors which optimized the ocean view & a long balcony with hammock & chairs to hang out & relax. Victor at the front desk was very helpful & even offered to have someone help me bring my luggage upstairs. (after reading other reviews I expected to carry it myself, which was fine - but it was a nice surprise to receive help without having to ask.) There was a walking/jogging path right in front of the hotel & I enjoyed taking a long walk along the ocean every morning and most afternoons. A market, restaurants, shopping, street vendors, & beaches are within easy walking distance. This area of Isla Mujeres is not fully developed so you get the feeling of authentic Mexico more than the over-developed areas of the Cancun hotel zone. However, I always felt safe, even when walking alone. No coffee maker in room, but good, strong, free coffee each a.m. downstairs in reception area. No phone in room, but didn't need one. (& no time share sales calls here.) I had a wonderful, relaxing experience at Rocamar, will recommend it to friends (except the most high maintenance ones...), & look forward to returning soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Dallas TX

Relaxing with the rhythm of the waves

Posted Feb 21, 2015
Pros: sound of waves breaking on the rocks below. Good sleeping !
Cons: no elevators. A tad inconvenient but only 3 floors. We all can use a little exercise
Location: good location. Beaches, Restaurants and Shopping all nearby. Easy walking distance to everything on the north end of the island
Good experience overall. I would rate Rocamar as a typical Caribbean 3 star
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Minnesota

great location

Posted Feb 5, 2015
Pros: Small, local feel. Friendly guests !
Cons: pool area could be updated. I would not recommend this hotel for families with small kids, many open areas that they could take a fall.
Location: Great food at most restaurants. Branch out the island has great things to do!!! don't just stay at North Beach. 5th year on the island, still love it.
We stayed two weeks, the place grows on you after a few days. We had many family members join us during our stay, all were guest at the hotel. We had a problem with my manager thinking my nephew wasn't a guest and she was rude on more than one occasion. The rooms are clean and beds are great. The pool area could use an update. It is not a resort feel, it is small Mexican hotel. 5th time on Isla, we still love it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom dickinson, north dakota

Great location

Posted Feb 4, 2015
Pros: The location, bed and the rain shower.
Cons: Putting the lobby/common area in a different place so it's not next to some of the rooms.
Location: It's in a great spot just walking distance from the downtown area.
Room was very clean and simple which is what we wanted. The only thing I would complain about is how load it is by the front desk which our room was located next to. We tired to move but they said nothing was available but the place never looked busy. Other than that the hotel is in a great location near downtown and right next to the waves on the Caribbean side. That's a great sound to fall asleep to.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 28, 2015
Pros: The view!
We had a lovely stay at the Rocamar Hotel. The view is wonderful and relaxing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location. Close to restaurants grocery

Posted Jan 19, 2015
Had a great time. Very clean rooms. The pool is nice with lots of pool chairs. They have sun screens over the chairs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago

Loved this hotel

Posted Jan 7, 2015
The view from the balconies on the 2nd and 3rd floors is stunning. Location on the sea wall side of town is beautiful and quieter than being among the crowds. The rooms are stark but comfortable. The staff is friendly and very helpful. I agree with what everyone else says: the glass walled bathrooms are wierd. There are curtains, but they don't cover everything. You just have to learn to respect each other's privacy! We had three rooms for a four day family trip, and everyone was happy. I felt the hotel was a very good value, and I certainly would stay there again and recommend it to others.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Oregon

Love the place

Posted Dec 24, 2014
Pros: Pretty much everything
Cons: Water pressure was a little low but not a problem. The cable TV in the room is Spanish stations only but the big TV in the commons area does receive U
Location: All the restaurants are close by and you are very close to the ferry which is nice if you are packing luggage around.
This is the third time we have stayed at Rocamar and its the best deal for the money on the island. we will be coming back here again soon! This hotel is close to everything you need on the island. The staff are great and the bed is comfortable too. The view of the Caribbean is unbelievable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 18, 2014
Fantastic.! Awesome view,easy access to main restaurant area and beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto, On.

Sight and Sound in Their Best!

Posted Dec 18, 2014
Pros: The staff is friendly and helpful.
Cons: The swimming pool could be re-painted
If you like the pictures of the hotel posted, you will love the place when you get there. It is clean and every bit of space is well utilized . The rising sun,the sea breeze, the ever changing seascape and the sound of the breaking waves are seldom experienced elsewhere , Your peaceful destination is only five minutes' walk from the ferry,.