Ratings based on 2,837 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Average- rating is for GR Solaris

Posted Oct 17, 2014
We booked Royal Solaris for a friends wedding and the hotel over booked. The entire wedding party was put in to their 3 different resorts making it very complicated to coordinate anything. While this was a slight annoyance it did not ruin the trip and they accommodated us by allowing the parties to use all 3 resorts, not generally the case. We were moved to GR Solaris which is supposed to be an upgrade, we were told we were getting a free upgrade or we could get less of a room to stay in the original resort. We took the upgrade which ended up not really being an upgrade at all as our balcony faced in to the next door resorts front door. (No changing in front of the window!). I stayed at this resort before and it is nice the staff is incredible! The spa is nice! But resteraunts are always closed. Others offer way more options including the less expensive Royal Solaris. I strongly believe when choosing an all-inclusive look at how many dining options and read reviews eating the same thing everyday can be rough. The room service option and the brick oven pizza save it though. If your looking for an in-expensive, last minute get away this will more than do but if you want something special spend a little more and you will get what you paid for.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, California

Nice hotel

Posted Oct 16, 2014
My family and I had a great experience at this hotel. Upon our arrival we were greeted with drinks. The staff was very nice and helpful, especially Diane. Diane coordinated my sister's wedding and did a great job. I noticed there was a leak coming from the bathroom as soon as I walked in the door and it was taken care of within minutes :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Okahoma

We were upgraded to the GR Solaris - loved it!

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Love this place- so wonderful, the staff was super! Room Service excellant! I would go back tomorrow if I could! The GR Solaris was one of the best hotels I have been in!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Experience!

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Pros: Very clean and hotel staff was very accommodating and friendly!
We had a wonderful relaxing couple of days. Lots to do on site, wonderful food and accommodations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bonilla

Posted Oct 14, 2014
The hotel is very nice the employes nice restaurants clean and the food is exelent
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Cons: Few more staff outside.
Staff a little slow but very friendly. Beach could have been a little cleaner. Over all an enjoyable stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fort Worth, Texas

Friendly staff, worth the money.

Posted Oct 12, 2014
Hotel was very nice, staff was excellent and very attentive. We booked with 5 friends & they upgraded 2 of our rooms for free so we could all be in the same building. Rooms were large only issue was sometimes when we ran the shower you would have a slight sewage smell in other room by the sinks. But I've read that in reviews for a lot of hotels in Cancun. Water in the restaurants was filtered & they stocked the room with extra bottles when requested. Food was good, wish they had served more Mexican food being that we were in Mexico, a lot of American style cuisine. But, they gave you as much as you wanted. We had a night when we ate steak & a friend asked for 2 filets (since sometimes their portions could be a bit small) & they gave him a double all at once with no issues. Tipping was appreciated but never expected. Sometimes we tipped sometimes we didn't we got the same good service either way. We went in October so it wouldn't be crazy crowded which allowed for better staff attention. Overall great experience & I would definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles CA

Nice hotel, great pool, awesome beach

Posted Oct 12, 2014
We stayed 6 nights there and it was a really good experience for us, we had a blast! The pool is big and so pretty. Our Ocean view was amazing! They give you any drink you want, even at the beach. the food was really good, and the beach is soo beautiful, the have a bar in the pool and a restaurant so you can be there the whole day eating, drinking, and relaxing. we have the experience of see baby turtles hatched, and we released them to the sea at night, it was an amazing experience. They have shows everynight, activities in the pool, kids club, and a bar with a really great music. We also went to seƱor frogs compliment dinner from the hotel, and we had a blast there as well, you only need to pay for the drinks. On the dark side, they charge internet really expensive, they dont have 24 hours restaurant or room services, or mini bar at the room. So you need to eat before 10 because they close the restaurant, and after 11 you only can have snacks, and no really good ones. But in general I totally recommend this hotel and we definitely can book it again in the future!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago

All inclusive resort by the beach

Posted Oct 10, 2014
Staff is friendly, food and drinks are good. Only disappointments were that there wasnt much of English channels on TV and there wi-fi was not great, it was working for like 3 hrs and then it wasn't. Which you have to pay for, so it was a waste of money to pay for that WiFi.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kennesaw, Georgia

Nice family friendly all-inclusive resort

Posted Oct 10, 2014
Pros: Everyone with the staff was extremely friendly and helped make the stay even more enjoyable. The room was nice modern and very clean.
Cons: The only complaint my wife and I have is the charges for wi-fi and use of room phone (even local calls).
Location: The location of the hotel is close to the airport but further away from the city activities.
First time in Cancun and we enjoyed the nice modern clean room and very friendly staff of Royal Solaris. The hotel is one of the first resort coming into cancun from the airport so it puts you a little further away from the city shops and action. The only complaint we had was having to pay for wi-fi and being charged for using the room phone even local calls.