Ratings based on 2,802 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Great hotel for the price. Definetly not a 5 star like they advertise but had a pleasnt stay. Staff was very friendly and very helpfull. Rooms could use little updating. Managment and front desk should take it easy on telling guests to submit great reviews on TripAdvisors. Everywere you look there are signs "If you like your stay, please recomend us on TripAdvisor". Wifi should be either free or much cheaper than it is. Will recomend for couples or families traveling on a budget.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA.

Awesome affordable hotel on beach!

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: Resort is great for families, friends or couples.
Cons: Food could be improved.
Location: Tours
Hotel pools were amazing. Right on beach and very convenient transportation. Rooms were gorgeous with ocean views and balconies. Staff was very attentive and so nice! Tour guides were extra helpful at the lobby. Even though check-in is at 3, you can leave your baggage downstairs with the bellboys if you arrive early. Food is not that great since it's an all-inclusive, but the Marco Polo restaurant downstairs had superb food. All drinks and alcohol were free! Swim-up bar is fantastic!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Beautiful, friendly hardworking staff.

Posted Aug 21, 2014
We just came back from our honeymoon 08/19/14. We did the all inclusive 7day stay. The Solaris is a family-friendly hotel that means that there are a lot of kids everywhere! This was not an issue for us, but you need to know. The service staff are amazing! We felt loved! The only exception were the staff at the pool bar, who barely look at you. My wife and i felt that they were cold--even when the bar was slow. Anyway, men please listen to me, if you are going with your partner and/or family, you have to bring nice collar shirts nice pants and shoes so you can dine at Marco Polos.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Nice Hotel Close to the Beach

Posted Aug 19, 2014
When we got to our hotel, we were surprised to learn that we got a free upgrade to the GR Solaris down the street. As soon as we walked in, we were welcomed with fresh juice. The staff was always polite, the hotel was clean and the environment was fun!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

GR Caribe excellent

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Excellent hotel, staff, and food. Loved the place. If you stay at the GR caribe u can use the other facility the royal Solaris
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles, ca

Decent hotel with a great view!

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Stayed here 5 nights 6 days at a ocean view jacuzzi room! This view from our room was amazing and the jacuzzi was a nice touch! Food at buffet wasnt very good but snack bar at the pool was good! Pizza by the pool was excellent! Employees were friendly and helped with questions! Overall a decent hotel for the price, food does need improvement!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Great hotel

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: Beach and food
Cons: Free wifi.
I had good experiences such as great beach, food, and weather, but I could not use free internet. Other things were great!!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Royal Solaris

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: Nightly shows
Cons: Hotel renovations
Okay vacation. Older resort. Got very sick and spent 2 1/2 days out of 5 in the room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rostraver, PA

Beautiful beach

Posted Aug 15, 2014
The best thing by far is the views of the beach and beach it's self. The last time we were in Cancun the beach was rocky and water wasn't very nice, but where the resort is located, the beach is beautiful. The staff was amazing. Everyone was very friendly and the entertainment staff was great. My daughter is two and really enjoyed Ellie during the shows. Ellie caught on to this and after every show when bend down to pick her up, give her a big hug, and let her take pictures with her. I really appreciated this because my daughter was thrilled! She would look for her every night. The food is what you'd expect from an all inclusive. I wouldn't recommend the buffet for dinner, but breakfast and lunch were good. There is a buffet outside that does more of an authentic Mexican lunch. We really enjoyed that. So many times, you come to an all inclusive and all the food is very Americanized--fried food, burgers, etc. this resort has those as options, but they aren't the only options. We liked that because we didn't go to Mexico to eat chicken nuggets everyday. Lastly, something unique about this place is the kids pool. The big boat with all of the slides was very cool. My daughter loved it. They have an option of leaving your kids there and then coming back to get them if that's for you. It's gated and locked, and no one can get in that isn't with a child. We enjoyed our stay. I would definitely recommend this place for families with young children.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Horrible Customer Service

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: The Pool and Beach
Cons: The Entire Staff
Location: The Senor Frog about 20 mins away was amazing. They offered real food and really went out of there way to entertain while serving great food.
The Hotel is beautiful and Pool is amazing. The beach is literally right behind the pool area so it was perfect. The Staff was rude and always seemed bothered when ordering anything. I am a big believer in tipping for service but this was just the worst service I have ever experienced in a resort. The food was not great. Some of it was not edible such as their hamburgers (not Beef). They don't offer room service so if you were awake during late hours and wanted to eat you couldn't. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.