Ratings based on 3,139 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Florida

Top Notch Staff/Building Needs TCL

Posted Jan 27, 2015
Pros: The staff goes out of their way to assist, provide and do anything they can to make you feel great.
Cons: Building and facilities, would also look to improve on longer hours for outside events.
Location: Great area and close enough to use public transportation but far enough away from the noise.
The building needs some work, a lot of the vents are very dirty. Should change the buffet items more often. The staff is OUTSTANDING. Pool area and outside areas should stay staffed longer also inside bar should be open longer as well.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel but it's old!

Posted Jan 27, 2015
Excellent staff but the hotel appearance is old and it has only three restaurants!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago, il

Not bad for the price

Posted Jan 27, 2015
Rooms looked nothing like in the pictures. Food was average at best. Other than that I have no complaints. Staff was very nice and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Colombia

Very good

Posted Jan 27, 2015
Its really good hotel, I expend my holidays there and it was fantastic, its a quiet old and far.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Washington, DC

Royal Solaris- family friendly

Posted Jan 26, 2015
Pros: Beaches and pools
Cons: change the pillows
Location: Great location. Close to activities and not a far drive from airport. Chichen Itza, Ik Kil and Ek Balam were all great places to visit.
Nice moderately priced hotel. Family friendly with a nice kids pool and activity room. Food was okay. There is only one nice sit down restaurant- Marco Polo and the menu changed daily. The other restaurants are buffet or snack shops. The room was somewhat small but we did have 2 double beds and a murphy bed which was a nice surprise. The pillows were very hard and took a night to get used too them.The pools and beaches were beautiful. The staff was very friendly and accommodating with any requests.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pros and Cons

Posted Jan 26, 2015
This hotel had both good and bad. Check in was less than successful. First the bell man took our luggage and we checked in without issue (we thought). We received keys that did not work to the room we were assigned. We returned back to the front desk and our room had to be changed because the first staff who helped us placed us in a king bed (we asked for two doubles). Our bags never arrived to our new room. We had to go back downstairs back outside and ask the bell man to bring them upstairs. The room was clean. The beds were comfortable. The shower leaks on the floor. The walls and doors are terribly thin you can hear anything and everything in the hallways. The TV had few English options. Wifi is not included we paid $47 for 5 days. The connection was spotty & required you to re sign in constantly. The beach was beautiful. Although I didn't go in the pool it appeared clean and well kept. The drinks were adequate but my worst complaint about the hotel was the food. Las Fuentes the buffet was ok for breakfast but dinner was comparable to a college dining hall. The pizza by the pool was quite good. The snacks by the pool were good too. Marco Polo was average. Too few options on the menu. I called earlier in the day and they said no reservations were required. When we showed up they said there was a 30 min wait although the restaurant was nearly empty. We walked down the street to Naivo's which I highly recommend! The spa was lovely for massages kudos to Yuky and Ana!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Dresden, Ohio

Food so-so

Posted Jan 26, 2015
Pros: Staff, service, cleanliness
Cons: Food, especially Marco Polo
Location: Location was not the best, a bit out of town and not much to walk to....but it was easy to get to town by bus or taxi. The beach part was great!
Our first impression was not great but it was late and after a days travel we decided not to judge too soon. After settling in I would recommend everything in this hotel except the food. I didn't expect the best being an all inclusive / buffet type package but it really was bland and not very appealing. I did expect a little better in the "sit-down" restaurant that was also included in the package and it was horrible! Granted we only ate there once, but once was enough! We ordered the filet (dying for a real hearty meal) and it was not even edible. We were not convinced it was really beef filet! Other than the food the staff, the service, and the cleanliness was excellent as all the trips we have made to Cancun have been. This resort area really knows how to make their guests feel appreciated and for that I hope to return soon but not sure but doubtful to this hotel! Nonetheless, thanks Royal Solaris and Mexico for a great vacation!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Medicine Lodge,KS

Royal Solaris

Posted Jan 25, 2015
Pros: The beach area, all the activities, and meals.
Cons: Communication seams to be a problem. The check-in registration desk would tell you one thing, and staff member would tell you something different.
Location: Several things to do by bus reservations.
Very friendly staff. Room was excellent. It was a good experience. This facility is 5.9 miles from the airport. The charge for transportation is $17 per person one way. That is $2.88 per mile in which I feel is excessive. For two people total charges for transportation to and from the airport would be $68. That is the biggest problem along with salespeople trying to sell you time shares.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 25, 2015
Cons: The food
The hotel staff was amazing. The food was very disappointing, the Marco Polo restaurant was the biggest disappointment... The steak tasted old like it was freezer burned. The room was nice although it did have a musty smell. It was a great vacation all in all.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sydney, Australia

good value beach resort

Posted Jan 25, 2015
Pros: Good value package deals available. Fantastic staff were friendly and helpful and made every effort to ensure guests enjoyed their stay.
Cons: Building & facilities could use a little extra TLC.
Location: Mayan ruins and Xplor are a "must-do"
All inclusive package made this great value. One of the oldest resorts in the Cancun "hotel zone", it is showing its age a bit though the place is well maintained and clean. Decent range of facilities and activities. Good buffet style eating. Great staff.