Ratings based on 649 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A solid 8 out of 10

Posted May 2, 2015
The Good: -The hotel on a whole had very modern/minimalist decor and the staff did a really good job at keeping all of the common areas clean. -The gym is pretty solid and has pretty much everything you need. -The Bluewater restaurant is really good, but be prepared to wait for a table. -The views from either side of the hotel are simply breathtaking; the higher the floor the better. I booked on Expedia, and since I am a gold member, I received a complimentary room upgrade to a Junior Suite. -The hotel offers complimentary photography services, however you just have to pay for any photos you want; still a good deal. The Bad -The entertainment is lacking; the hotel barely plays any music at the pool. -Some of the staff were not personable at all; however; Carlos (Sea Salt) and Jose (The Market) were very good hosts, and they made our trip more memorable. -The service at some of the restaurants can be very slow, especially at dinner. -The rooms are starting to show a bit of wear and tear. -Some of the meals are hit or miss. Further the room service food is mediocre at best, and the menu leaves a lot to be desired. If you are looking for a young/hip/turn-up spot, this place is not for you; the vibe is more relaxed and serene.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Houston Tx

very nice service, extremely overpriced,

Posted Apr 30, 2015
Pros: service
Cons: food!!!
Location: didnt go out.,
the hotel staff is extremely helpful, by far the best service that I have encounter in cancun, but the hotel is extremely overpriced, the food was terrible. we went to the steak house and those steaks were a color that no steak should be, the sides and pretty much everything else was just plain and simple and not worthy of a 5 star hotel we also tried the italian restaurant nebbiolo and it was even worst! the food in olive garden is probably a little better. We live in houston and we are foodies by nature, we love to try new restaurants and the food here is very high end. For the price that we paid, I was expecting that kind of food as well but I was extremely disappointed. The drinks in general were ok, not great but decent. The hotel cleaniness was ok as well since they had this really bad odor coming from our shower and they couldnt fix, they kept saying that they knew about the problem but there was nothing they could do. Also our first night a very drunk couple keep screaming in the hallway and for like 30 min! at 4am!! it was insane, they guy couldnt walk and the girl kept screaming at him. first time that this happens to me in the probably 10 years that I have been to cancun. I had to call twice to report the problem and after probably 40 min some doctor came to help that drunk guy. The hallways in that hotel are extremely noisy, you can hear everything and that is not good when you are trying to relax! bottom line I would not recommend this hotel!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great vacation at a great resort!

Posted Apr 25, 2015
Pros: We loved everything about this resort. It is definitely a five star resort.
Cons: The nightly entertainment could be expanded a little to offer more of a variety.
Location: We shopped in downtown Cancun and took the ferry to the Isla Murjeres.
My best friend and I wanted to get away and have a relaxing girls vacation together. This resort was first class. The accommodations, food, drinks, and experience was five star. We are already planning our next stay and inviting more of our friends. The entire staff was so warm and gracious.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Hotel and Beach

Posted Apr 24, 2015
Pros: Clean and modern
Cons: Music earlier at the pool. No music at all or after 1pm.
Location: Cancun Crawl and Samba boat tours fun.
Beautiful hotel and beach. Hotel placed on small property. Missing lush foliage and long paths to walk on. Food good, not great. Very modern and clean. Staff very nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom TX,USA

The Best of Exepdia's list

Posted Apr 15, 2015
Honestly,this is one of the best vacation in my life.I really enjoyed everything in the hotel. People are very very kind and helpful. Also service is above expectation and fabulous. I strongly recommend you to experience their overall hotel's package.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 15, 2015
Best place in town with great food, ambience, newer hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Orlando, Florida

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Fantastic hotel on the beach with exceptional customer service, scrumptious food and great drinks!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

GREAT ALL-INCLUSIVE

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Pros: Very nice and new. Both pool and beach were options were very good, lots of nice food options and the service was good.
Cons: They don't take your credit card upon check in and you must check out and get a "pass" to leave the property upon departure. Not well communicated.
Location: Very good location, close to malls and other restaurants if you want to try something off the property.
Our trip was with a large group of family and friends, 8 total so we decided to go the All-Inclusive route and based on the online reviews decided to give Secrets The Vine Cancun a try. Overall we were not disappointed and would go back with a group like this again. Part of us upgraded to the Club level and the rooms and view were certainly nice but if your worried about cutting some expense and willing to give up some of the view from your room I would say your not going to miss anything. The food overall was very good with lots of restaurant selections to choose from and with a little planning you can make a reservation if your willing to commit to pay for a higher quality of wine ($100 or more) Otherwise first come first serve. The food and service/selection was the best we have had ever had at an All-Inclusive. We normally stay at the Ritz in Cancun and its not the Ritz, but of course the Ritz is not All-Inclusive and certainly more expensive. We have also stayed at Live Aqua and years ago at Moon Palace a couple of times and would have to say this is a better All-inclusive experience. There is a sports bar which is nice if you want to watch a game and the night life on the property is not bad. If I were going to go the All-Inclusive route and visit another destination I can say I would look for other "Secrets" properties and trust them to deliver.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto, ON

Paradise on Earth

Posted Apr 11, 2015
Pros: The number of pools and the fact that it was a fairly new hotel.
Cons: The steaks could be cooked better. I ordered medium rare and often got well-done each time.
Location: Mainly just other hotels near by. We took a day trip to Xcaret which was about an hour drive by bus away.
My loving girlfriend and I had a great time. The staff was very welcoming. When we first arrived we were greeted with warm hand towels and complimentary glass of champagne which was a nice touch. The view we had from the honeymoon sweet was amazing, but we would probably not pay the extra money for it a second time. We also arrived on a Sunday and left on a Thursday which was most likely the reason why the hotel was not crowded. On the day before we left, there was a group of about 300 people that had arrived for some company's event. We felt pretty lucky to have been there while the hotel wasn't too full.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Dallas, TX

Excellent hotel with an unbelievable staff.

Posted Apr 9, 2015
Pros: Amazing level of service, friendly staff, beautiful views, immaculate rooms, and it was all inclusive! An incredible value.
Cons: The only thing that could be improved was the food in some of the fancier restaurants. The steaks were always over cooked and the portions were small.
Location: Two large malls within walking distance, snorkeling, scuba diving, parasailing, jet ski rentals, jungle tours, cave tours, swim with the dolphins, etc
When you enter the hotel, you are greeted by 2 or 3 staff members with chilled towels and a cold glass of champagne. They don't just point you in the direction of the front desk, they walk you over and introduce you. We have traveled to a lot of different places in the U.S., and none of them compared with the atmosphere and the level of service here at Secret's. Three weeks before we had traveled to Palm Beach, FL and stayed at the Four Seasons Hotel. It was outrageously expensive and was honestly almost like staying at a motel 6 compared with this resort. If you are looking for the crazy spring break experience, this is not the place for you. This resort is extremely peaceful, and quiet. There are plenty of activities and entertainment, but not the raucous atmosphere that some of the other hotels have during spring break. The only negative here is that the food quality is a little hit or miss in some of the restaurants. The breakfast buffet is amazing, with every kind of fruit you could ever imagine. The outside grill has delicious hamburgers, chicken and more when you are ready for lunch. It is located next to all the pools so you don't have to walk very far. The white sand beach and the turquoise water were beautiful. I can't stress enough about the level of service you receive Secret's. Every staff member is extremely helpful and courteous. And the majority of them speak English very well. A wonderful experience!!