Ratings based on 974 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel with friendly staff

Posted May 2, 2015
The hotel was great no complains at all, will definitely be back
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Victoria, BC Canada

The Trip of a Lifetime!!!

Posted May 1, 2015
Pros: Everything!
Cons: The Room Service Food Quality
Location: It's located on the southern tip of the hotel strip in Cancun. There is Seadoing, Parasailing, Daily Entertainment, Snorkeling, Body Surfing and more
My fiancé and I have both experienced all inclusive resorts before but nothing compares to the service and quality at Sun Palace; this place was amazing! From the moment we arrived to the sad reality of leaving, we were never disappointed. We would like to give a shout out to the following staff who made our trip the most memorable experience ever: Alejandro who busted his butt every day wearing the most heart warming smile up and down the beach bringing everyone drinks. Daniel who worked steady in the humid heat dragging beds and setting umbrellas while singing, with a pleasant greeting to everyone who needed his assistance. Marcelo, Jeronimo, Eddy and Chocolate (nickname) were the best entertainment crew a resort could ask for. They greeted us every day by first name and really knew how to get the guests participating in the daily activities (water volleyball, beach volleyball, pool side bingo, karaoke, card games like black jack and many other activities) Stefano is the man you want taking your photo's; the day after we got engaged we had a photo shoot with Stefano and he was able to produce 183 amazingly stunning shots of us all over the premises. We picked one of the photos to be our wedding invitation out of the 13 we decided to purchase. We got engaged on this trip and plan to honeymoon there next year no questions asked. The only recommendation we would make is that 1 week is not enough!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Fin de semana en Cancún

Posted Apr 29, 2015
Pros: Que es solo parejas y la buena atención.
Gracias a las reseñas, ya sabia que iba a un buen hotel. Se encuentra en una zona muy tranquila. Casi todas las habitaciones son vista al mar. Grandes y confortables pero no bien aisladas del ruido del pasillo. Alimentos y bebidas bastante correctos, no excelentes. El personal muy amable. Al no ser un hotel de grandes dimensiones no sufres aglomeraciones ni dentro del recinto ni en la playa. Pero eso si, hay que ir en temporada media-baja. El entorno no es espectacular, ya que Cancún es demasiado yankilandia, y el sitio está bien para unos 3 días, no mas.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Houston

Do not plan on using your resort credits

Posted Apr 29, 2015
Pros: Beach & Palace Resort Staff
Cons: Credits should be clearly disclosed in writing with the photographers. Transportation to the excursions should be included.
Overall we had a great time. Small resort, pool area small, but great beach. Spa services were good. Food was ok, nothing fantastic, steak restaurant -BAD, no flavor to the steaks. The resort credits, not a good deal. You pay a 16% service fee for using them, no transportation provided to the excursions with this, so here's another cost. The worst resort credit was the photography-I would stay away from this one. We wasted about 2 hours with this. They tell you there is no service fee on this, BUT-yes there is. High sales pitch from the photographer staff. They start out with a package of 98 photos for around $1100 dollars, you have to review the photos, then it down to the ones you like. We narrowed ours down, but they were unhappy that we only wanted one photo-would not sell us the one photo without tagging on the "service fee" based on $250...you were paying about $40 extra for the one photo. We were careful, and asked about the service fee when we agreed to the photo session-they said no service fee on the photography(both Palace Resort and the photographers stated this to us), the $250 resort credit paid the photo session-did not appreciate the fact that we were very mislead, and wasted some vacation time on this service. We have been to Palace Resorts in the past & enjoyed using our credits at the photograpy session-Never again. Palace Resorts needs to review this area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom NJ

Amazing getaway

Posted Apr 29, 2015
Pros: Clean, well kept, great staff, great food
Cons: Better entertainment at night. more chairs by the pool
Location: Easy to take the bus into Cancun and easy walk down to the beach. Very close to airport
We had an amazing experience. The staff was kind and helpful. The food was wonderful and great service. The rooms were clean and well kept. We never had an issue getting a chair on the beach. However, it was difficult to find a chair by the pool and after 3pm the pool would feel chilly due to where the sun was. Overall fantastic vacation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom los angeles, ca

Perfect place for honeymoon

Posted Apr 27, 2015
We received excellent service, from the moment we walked in to the moment we left. Made our honeymoon extra special by treating us like royalty! Will definitely go back
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom alberta

Awesome

Posted Apr 27, 2015
Excellent service. Nice staff. Very clean facilities. The food was amazing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom ct.

Very nice hotel,highly recommend.

Posted Apr 19, 2015
Pros: We loved the location, the staff and the restaurants. There is plenty of food choices. It is very clean and neat.
Cons: The deck chairs are not comfortable. The Italian restaurant is over rated. It's good but not excellent. Their house wines are good but need improvemen
Location: Location for us is great but I can see where some people wouldn't like it because it's removed from the action.. Nothing to do near by.
It was a great experience from start to finish. The staff can't do enough for you, very pleasant. Initially we were going to request a room change because of the jacuzzi in the middle of the room, not our thing, but we were very happy that w e didn't do that because the room was big and in a good spot for morning sun and afternoon shade. The view was the quiet pool so it worked out perfectly. We used the jacuzzi for our wet clothes or towels. We loved the location because it's in the start of the strip so it was much quieter and managlble. If you like a quiet vacation and a place to relax and read a book, the Sun Palace is the place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Luxury

Posted Apr 18, 2015
Hotel was wonderful. Everything was super clean, comfortable, and beautiful. The only downside was the food. The buffets were good but the sit down meals were okay. The service was extremely slow.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Sun Palace- Its ok!

Posted Apr 15, 2015
Pros: The service was great, the bar staff were great!
With all of the glowing reviews my wife and I for our anniversary choose to visit the Sun Palace. The resort lobby was very nice and well maintained. We found the staff very friendly, helpful and attentive to our needs while we were there. While they will try to get you to go to a presentation, they are very low pressure and will not ask again if you tell them no thank you. The rooms were nice, very clean, but they were really starting to show their age, same is true with a lot of the area’s outside. Be careful if you choose to try to read in bed:-( The beds are not secured to the headboard/wall and have no grip on the floor. The first night my wife and I almost went flying backward as the bed slid forward. We notified Hotel staff, was told that this is just the way they are. Our biggest frustration/complaint with the resort overall would be the food quality, breakfast and lunch lacked any real variety and was basically the same thing every single day. While we understand that it’s a challenging thing to try to cook for a variety of different peoples tastes/requirements, even what was done was done was executed very poorly. We ended up most days paying 4 bucks to take the bus up to the other resort “beach” palace for a lot of our meals, the rest were at the moon palace. The food at both of these resorts was very good overall, the quality in what was prepared was there.