Ratings based on 953 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Winnipeg, Canada

Fantastic Hotel

Posted Mar 31, 2015
Pros: Everything was great, service on the beach was excellent, all restaurants were great. Overall this is a terrific place to stay.
Cons: None
Location: Good location within the hotel zone, 10 minutes from airport and downtown Cancun and Isla Mall were easily accessible by bus or taxi
We had a great vacation at Sun Palace. The staff is very helpful and friendly, couldn't have asked for anymore from them. The beach is well maintained and the service was outstanding. There was nothing better than getting a beach bed and umbrella and having great service of food and drinks brought to you on the beach throughout the day. There were lots of activities going on as well if you wanted to do them. The food at this hotel is fantastic. Before going to Mexico lots of people told me about how you need to be careful about the food and water in Mexico but I can safely say at this hotel you have nothing to worry about. The buffet is open 7am until 430pm, and then you have the choice of four specialty restaurants at night which do not need a reservation. All four were great. Be sure to use your hotel credits for the romantic dinner on the beach, it is well worth it. Overall the food was excellent and the staff always used bottled water and had lots of bottled water in your room so you don't need to worry about that. Last thing I'll mention is we originally booked a resort view room but asked to see an ocean view room … trust me on this and spend the extra money for an ocean view room. It is absolutely worth it. Overall this is a fantastic resort and I would go back in a heart beat, there is a reason the expedia rating is so high, it really did exceed my expectations on everything.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Crestwood, New York

Not disappointed at all!

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Pros: Everything!
Cons: One more restaurant added to the selection.
Location: Never left because it was just that good.
From the minute we arrived to check in until we checked out the service was impeccable. You are greeted with a glass of champagne and given a small bouquet of flowers. The lobby has this unbelievable scent that smells so so good. We were asked if we were celebrating anything special, which we were, and were immediately given an upgrade at no additional charge. Room was beautiful overlooking ocean, bed very comfortable, shower, toilet and vanities all modern and clean. Jacuzzi in room near balcony. Staff are all so pleasant and accommodating. Food was good with the Italian restaurant being the best. Entertainment was good and numerous areas to enjoy a drink. Also had a couples massage and that was wonderful as well. Beach lounge chairs best of all the places I've been to.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Cleveland, OH

Awesome Couples only Hotel!!

Posted Mar 30, 2015
The Sun Palace surpassed our expectations in every way!!! This was the Best trip we have ever taken!..We were there in Mid March 2015 and the weather was Sunny 85 and blue skies and the bluest water; just beautiful, carbon copy every day....down to 76-79 at night....nice to sleep with patio doors open to listen to the waves! We had great room service breakfast on our patio each morning....with fresh squeezed grapefruit juice and omelets...the food arrived in 30 min and was hot and fresh and very tasty!....We loved all of the pools... and the room was so clean, the towels large and fluffy, the large shower and in room 2 person jacuzzi tub were divine! We loved laying on the comfy chaise loungers on the beach under an umbrella...my hubby took a nap there twice. the service was prompt and fast and very pleasant. The Alamo and Thai dinners were great. The Chef dinner is a must...use resort credits...Dinner on the Beach was romantic. Went snorkeling on Isla Mujeres, We took the free shuttle to Moon Palace and it was so crowded with families and kids you waited in line for everthing....not at the Palace. The nightly entertainment was fun.....Every room has an awesome view...Guillermo and Rubi were the best!! Bring your own sunscreen....Just loved this place! cant wait to go back!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Brasil

Hotel na praia isto e bem localizado otimas

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Pros: a estrutura do quarto maravilhosa
Cons: aquecer a piscina interna
Location: super tranquilo e facil acesso ao centro da cidade
otima mar maravilhoso um pouco fria a agua e a piscina interna do hotel nao e aquecida outras acomodacoes do quarto maravilhosa
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom indianapolis

Amazing pools and food!

Posted Mar 27, 2015
It was the best vacation we have had! The service was great and the food, drinks, and pools were incredible! The rooms were very comfortable and clean with great views!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Long Island

Absolutely fantastic trip!

Posted Mar 25, 2015
Pros: Everything ... except leaving! After checkout you can still eat, drink and enjoy the beach/pool/facilities until your ride to the airport arrives.
Cons: I guess check-in. We arrived early and could not get into our room till 3. We were able to enjoy the facility until 3 though.
Location: Never really left since we were only there four nights, but there are plenty of excursions.
Everything about this vacation at Sun Palace was pretty much perfect. The staff, the food, the hotel, the beach, the pool... all fantastic! The entire resort is super clean, the room was fantastic, the food at all the restaurants was really delicious (lots of variety), the beach was pristine and the water, turquoise and crystal clear. The staff makes sure you have everything you need to be happy, and they are all very friendly. Nothing to find fault in here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Texas

Ran with Excellence, suburb people.

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: The people.
Cons: The only thing I would improve on (and I must confess that I do not know how) but it the noise level of people in the halls late at night.
This is the third time my wife and I have stayed at the Sun Palace and we will return. The people who work at the resort are what makes the difference for us and is the driving force for us to return! The Palace resorts, of course, do an excellent job at all of the obvious requirements... a great hotel that is well kept, maintaining great food and beverages, excellent location, etc. but the "icing on the cake" is the people and their hospitality!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom St. Louis

Sun Palace

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Pros: The cleanliness
Cons: The staff
Location: beach
My husband and I went for our honeymoon/babymoon and had a fantastic time! The hotel and rooms were so clean and the staff was friendly. The food was good for all inclusive food. I cant stress enough the cleanliness of the hotel!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Milwaukee

Transparency an Issue, But Overall Good

Posted Mar 22, 2015
Pros: LOVED the room and room service, was excellent and relaxing. NO KIDS either :)
Cons: The variety of excursions offered at this particular hotel. You cannot use resort credits at other Palace Resorts that have more options.
Location: There is a mall, Cancun Museum, El Ray Ruins, etc all down the Hotel Zone bus lines (R1 and R2). We didn't venture out much though.
To begin, transparency was a bit of an issue. Before purchasing I would ask for more information about how the resort credits worked (online does not give you the full picture of how to use them and how limited your options might be) The hotel room was AWESOME, ocean view, sunrise every morning, a little noisy down by the deck (music and pool were below us and we only on the third floor). Room service, all inclusive food/drinks, restaurant quality, and staff were great. We had a few issues with non-resort excursion, specifically the underwater museum tour was not transparent on the length of the time you get to scuba to the museum, length of time for the class plus the trip and back, additional costs while on the excursion were different than what was told at the hotel. Just be careful and ask plenty of questions before doing them. Overall, we had a pleasurable experience at the hotel itself. Rooms were cleaned and restocked promptly, food and drinks were great, and we never got sick! Chichen Itza tour (something you CAN use resort credit for, along with the additional 16% fee) was good on an air conditioned bus tour with stops for bathroom and lunch. We overall enjoyed ourselves, the view, the tours and the food/drinks.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Z

This is what a couple needs.

Posted Mar 21, 2015
At first I thought the hotel is just a normal one but then I saw the bathtub for couple! It's really amazing. I love the ocean view. I enjoy the time being with my bf here.