Ratings based on 818 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom vancouver

Nice hotel...

Posted Nov 22, 2014
Nice place, nice view, nice service, will come back for sure^_^
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great resort for couples

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Have more shuttles to your other palaces.
I have traveled and stayed at a lot of places in the past. This by far ranks as my number 1 experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Denver

Balcony overlooking the Mexican Gulf

Posted Nov 12, 2014
Pros: Location, Staff
Cons: Overly persistent to listen to the timeshare pitch.
Location: Chichen Itza day trip, Tulum day trip, Snorkeling day trip, Coba day trip. Also use Best Day for your transportation to and from the airport!
Nice stay at the Sun Palace. The restaurants are acceptable, which made for a good experience being an all inclusive stay. The staff is very friendly, polite and looking to please the guests. English being a second language is understood by most and spoken fairly well by the servers and front desk. Location can't be beat. On the beach ten minutes from the airport. You will be solicited to participate in a timeshare that encompasses all of the Palace Resorts worldwide so don't let that through you. We did not choose to listen to the pitch, which is an option although they are persistent. Overall because of location, friendly staff and food would highly recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom ky

wonderful vacation

Posted Nov 8, 2014
Pros: loved everything about this place
this place is great for couples the entertainment crew was so great shout out to edel marcelo vanessa abby and augustine for all the fun elfega and victor in the lobby bar they make the best mayan coffee great beach nice rooms great food dont pay no attention to negatives reviews unless your a party animal you will love it here lots of fun just not crazy
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Houston

The Staff make it an Exceptional place to stay

Posted Nov 8, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness. Staff. Food. Drinks. Activities.
Cons: Being approached by multiple associates with a hard-sell to plan expeditions when we arrived did not add to our relaxation...
Location: The Museo Maya de Cancun is a short bus ride away. The museum is beautiful and the grounds are well kept. Good way to see history w/out going far.
We had a wonderful time at Sun Palace. The staff were exceptionally friendly and accommodating! Effort was made to meet our every request. We were truly able to relax! Special thanks to activity leads Eddie, Manuel, Vanessa. We loved the beach soccer & volleyball. And perhaps we sang a little too much karaoke. Thanks to our servers Jesus (brunch!), Marvin (cafe flameado!), Lesli (beach-side with a smile!). Thanks to the breakfast cooks for preparing our special orders! Thanks to Yoshwan at the front desk! Special thanks to Daniel the lifeguard who embodied cheerful hard work. At the Moon Palace - Sunrise restaurant, La Gondala, we had the most incredible slow-roasted Beef Ribs of our lives... Special thanks to the chef there, and our attentive staff of waiters lead by Antonio.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NJ

Great hotel

Posted Nov 6, 2014
Second time there. Great experience again. Service and food were great. Really nice beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Utah, US

Good food, good location, good time!

Posted Oct 25, 2014
Location: Hotel staff helped plan excursions, but we hated to leave beautiful beach that was outside our door.
The hotel staff was exceptionally friendly and well qualified. We loved our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Vancouver, BC

Nice & quite hotel

Posted Oct 24, 2014
Pros: Quiet environment, no kids running. You can also enjoy the other facilities of their other resorts, eg. Moon Place, Beach, etc.
Cons: The room cleaning ladies can be less noisy when cleaning the rooms, you can hear them pushing the chairs around and banging the furniture.
Overall experience was good. Had to upgrade the room b/c the first one they gave us was not very nice, facing the street & lagoon and looked quite rundown. I guess this is the room they give you so you would do the upgrade?...The staff was all pleasant and nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom New York

An honest review from start to finish ...

Posted Oct 23, 2014
Pros: I cannot say enough about the wonderful staff and the BEAUTIFUL suites! Restaurants are out of this world good, especially for dinner!
Cons: Really just needs some touch-ups -- some scraping and repainting would make the hotel look new again, not that it looks bad at all.
Location: There are a number of tours included in your stay, affiliated with Aquaworld, a highly reputable tour company -- ruins, diving, snorkeling, etc.
Let me first say, we had such an amazing time on our honeymoon!! STAFF: The staff at Sun Palace is out of this world! They are extremely friendly, very accommodating and honestly make every trip a truly relaxing experience. The entertainment staff is a blast! The waitstaff (whether at the beaches or the restaurants) had impeccable service. ROOMS: We booked a standard non-upgraded room on Expedia. The room was terrible with NO view, other than that of a condo next door (do NOT book a standard room). We upgraded to an oceanview room which wasn't good ei. Nice view but in rough shape, there was a stain on the duvet and an even larger yellow stain on the sheets. I complained to the front desk and they talked to the promotions desk, who upgraded us to a Junior Suite (GORGEOUS!) and thoroughly cleaned the room prior to us moving -- and I do mean, the manager walked through the ENTIRE room with a white glove as they scrubbed it down. Every day we had the same treatment throughout our stay. HOTEL: Always very clean and neat. A little worn, but just needs a little refreshing. A very minimal, clean and elegant style similar to what you'd find in NYC. AMENITIES: Pools were always clean. Bars are fully stocked with quality wines and top shelf liquors. Spa was AMAZING! We had a couples massage that was completely covered by the resort credit (only paid sales tax). AMAZING restaurants! We had some of THE BEST food we have ever had! OVERALL: BOOK A JR. SUITE NOW!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent service

Posted Oct 23, 2014
We loved our stay at Sun Palace. The staff was outstanding. They were very friendly and accommodating. Almost all, but maybe 5 rooms, have ocean view. The Oriental Lounge and La Tratto served excellent food. Our only complaint was you could sometimes here what was going on out in the hall because it echoed. Also, Sun Palace was by far the cleanest hotel! Every time we returned back to the hotel, it smelt so clean and sanitized. And, they also sanitize the gym every night.