Ratings based on 788 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Great hotel with great food. Was not aware that we would be charged a tax fee when spending the resort credit. Wish this would have been made known before booking but it was still a memorable experience overall.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Charleston, SC

Great facility with a excellent staff and price

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: Staff and facility are great. Provides for a relaxing trip. The price paired with the credit on site made for a great trip.
Cons: Only improvement would be the excursions with aqua world. The submarine / snorkling trip and tour of Cancun were packed to the limited.
Location: Close to down town with several options for transportation. Shopping nightlife and excursions are a bus trip away.
My second trip to the Sun Palace. The facility is top notch and always very clean. The overall staff was very friendly and makes you feel like you are very important as a guest. Don't bother with the room upgrade, you don't pick up that much extra. If you feel the need don't pay the first offered price, the will offer a discount. The pools, bars and overall facility rivals most 4-5 star resorts. The beach is cleaned up every day (excellent). The location is removed from the busy strip area, so you have peace and quite, but have a short bus/cab ride to get to the nightlife, shopping and tours.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Canada

Lovely hotel close to the beach

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: The staff were great. Our room was cleaned every day and the mini bar stocked
Just back from a week at the Sun Palace. Very clean hotel staff were excellent and very attentive. Great choice of restaurants and the food was of very high quality . Would definitely recommend Sun Palace for a relaxing sun holiday.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Raleigh, NC

Incedible Vacation

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: Everything...the staff, the extremely clean rooms, the excellent food, and the daily activities.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: From day trips to short activities. We took a two hour boat ride which started on the lagoon side, through the jungle, and circled the entire Cancun
The staff and food were excellent. The view and color of the water were incredible. This is the second time that I have stayed at the Sun Palace and the service is consistantly great! I have been to Cancun eight times, always at the Palace Resorts.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from washington,dc

Unreal hospitality

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Will be making this a yearly trip. Loved everything about it
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Couples Hotel

Posted Aug 2, 2014
Clean rooms. Great pool. Awesome beach. Good food. Good entertainment. By the way, no kids!!! 5 star for me
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Nice Hotel, personel, beach, everithing was perfec

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Pros: No Kids, Personnel and Service
Cons: More entertainments!
Location: Close to Shopping center and Clubs.
Best vacation Ever! I will come back! Nice people, close to everything.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Amazing beach !

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Stunning beach - brightest turquoise ever (and pelicans to watch thrown in). Lovely hotel . Brilliant service - loads of opportunities to have fresh drinks on the beach which was great for us! You can pull your sunbed to where you want it and have an uninterrupted view of the beautiful sea (or actually, staff will move the beds - they work hard in the heat!). food was great (limited in vegetarian sometimes, surprisingly in the evening Mexican restaurant but as long as you'll eat what's offered, that's good). Lovely to have good table service when on all-inc rather than buffet. Pool bar was great - good service again. Shame sun goes off beach area at tea time (we like evening sun). Room was lovely. Optics in the room bar is an amazing thing ( though strangely didn't use it since drank plenty at the beach). Bingo by pool in the afternoon was a bit annoying but you could easily avoid it. Would return if went again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Lovely vacation!

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Pros: Good service, adults-only, 24-hour room service, great beach; Resort credits are worth it if you plan to do the activities or purchases anyway.
Cons: Stale bread at some restaurants, later turn-down service (we often missed ours because we were still in the room), later bar hours, all-day shuttle
Location: The Moon Palace is worth checking out, but it was WAY too big for our liking. It's also 30-40 dollars to travel one way by taxi.
I have very few complaints about the Sun Palace. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and found everything to be very nice. I was pleased that we were able to find chairs by the pool everyday, as I had feared the worst from reading others' reviews. The room was kept clean and the view was great, even though it was described to me as a "partial" ocean view. All staff we encountered were pleasant and helpful. The food was mostly very good, and room service was very prompt and convenient no matter what time you called. The best part of the resort for us was the fact it was adults only. I was disappointed with a lack of available nightlife (the lobby bar closes around midnight) as well as limited transportation to the other Palace resorts (only two shuttles per day). We did not like that there was no enclosed "bathroom" (the toilet is separated from the rest of the room by a glass door, as is the shower). While the beach and ocean were the nicest I've experienced in Cancun, the pool area could stand to be much larger (although it was never overly crowded.) I would suggest reserving an ocean view room upon booking, as it is more expensive to upgrade at check-in. It should also be noted that the rooms and balconies on floors 7-8 are smaller than others, but the view from the high floor was worth it for us. These "issues" were very minor and in no way spoiled our vacation! I would definitely recommend the Sun Palace for couples looking for a beach hotel with a quiet, romantic atmosphere.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york

Never again to Sun Palace

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Pros: He brought the dessert over. 2days in a row we went to the spa to make some changes and the 2 guys working there ignored us like we were not there.
Cons: Service and more activites and entertainment
Location: Alot more stuff sun palace dont offer. Continuation from above- service at hotel was horrible and we would never go back there.
Hello all My husband and i stayed at this resort July 13-july 18th 2014. First and foremost this was our first visit to mexico and it was great except the hotel. As soon as we arrived we were greated with a cold compresss and a flower and a glass of champagne which were nice. Remind you we went to celebrate our 4th wedding anniversary and the expedia rep said the hotel was aware of the occassion. When we went to check in nothing was said and when we asked to get a higher floor they told us we have to pay more which we didnt want. Also as soon as we got there they pulled us to a corner trying to sell us a timeshare which was RIDICULOUS. After the check in we went to our room expecting some special preparation but there was NOTHING. The workers did not even give us a tour of the resort. We didnt even know there were certain amenities on the resort. There was no activities and the entertainment SUCKED. We ende hanging out at Moon palace, beach palace the whole week. One night we went to the ocean ballroom and was greeted and seated. I believe that was the manager that came over to us and took our order and then just dissappeared. All of sudden there was a group of people about 8 that came in and sat next to us. The manager showed up giving them 24 hour service and making sure everything was right. He never came back to our table to see if we needed anything else. The waiter which was nice asked us if we were celebrating something and we said yes our anniversary.