Ratings based on 1,019 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Edmonton, Canada

Nice hotel, very clean

Posted May 26, 2015
Pros: Cleanness, comfort, nice staff
Cons: Entertainment program
We stayed here for 7 nights. My recommendation would be to work on their entertainment programs. Our room was not facing the ocean but it was still ok. Some minor construction was being done just in front of our room in the yard which was a little bit annoying. We did not upgrade as we thought we won't be staying in the room too much. Front desk refused to give us an upper level room and claimed that all booked. One more thing was sea weeds in the beach. Some days those were being cleaned; some days not. Anyway, I think it is a very nice resort and I would stay there again for sure.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cottondale FLORIDA

Very nice hotel close to the beach

Posted May 26, 2015
Very nice and relaxing and the staff is really friendly
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ohio

Recommendation however with warnings

Posted May 25, 2015
Pros: Pools and beach. Service of servers on beach and pools. The shower
Cons: Clear accurate transparency on the whole time-share high pressure sales gimmick and the actual investment of TIME by a VACATIONER & the bathrooms.
Location: Go to Fred's restaurant.
Not going to go into a long thing. Warning- the guest reps want to meet you and schedule a way to sell you what comes to a hybrid-time share in the resort properties. It is not a 10 minute meeting. It is not a 90 minute meeting. It run at 4 hours. This info gathered from first hand experience and conversations with other travellers when we were there. Lots of "credits" thrown at you to use on things. Warning - they charge you something around 16% for the credits you use. This quickly adds up. Food is average. On the whole it is eatable but nothing to rave about. Food service on the whole is quite good. Lobby overall service - quite poor. But if your willing to buy into their spiel they go out of their way to APPEAR friendly. The beach area and pools are tremendous. So if you want an all-inclusive and can navigate the attempts to increase your overall expense - it is good place. BTW - a pretty good restaurant was enjoyed one evening at our own expense, it is called Fred's. It is more than seafood. Best meal we had on our trip. Review is from experience in May 2015 at the Sun Palace. BTW we were able to not spend more than originally booked in our package via Expedia. What we experienced may be the norm for all-inclusive resorts, this was our first experience with such a thing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Edmonton

Way better than the rest.

Posted May 23, 2015
The Sun Palace set a new standard for our travel accommodations. While the resort is beautiful (marble, stone, glass, etc...), it was the service that really stood out. The front desk staff, room service attendenants, entertainment staff, servers, managers, and even the cleaning staff worked tirelessly to provide excellent service. There was a good variety of restaurants (BBQ, Italian, Thai, etc...), so there was no shortage of good food. The first night, we had a problem with a shouting individual and a small group partying outside. We thought forsure that our week would be unpleasant, but one call to the front desk, and the problem folks were dealt with swiftly. The rest of the week was quiet. Yet another example of great service. The Sun Palace is really spectacular!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom USA

Great hotel to relax and unwind, perfect! No kids!

Posted May 21, 2015
Pros: clean, simple, great food, good service, relaxing, and fun!
Cons: communication about room credit usage,original explanation wasn't clear about "per room" usage
Location: great location, easy access to other properties and Cancun night-life
The mixed crowd ranged in age and diversity. We met people from all over the world which made for nice,interesting conversation. The hotel is clean and simple without much "fluff". We had a great time relaxing in pool, which had entertainment, but the activities weren't too much to ruin ones tranquility. Food and service was great!Views from room are beautiful! We visited other property for dinner, excellent experience and look forward to checking out other properties in future!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom A

Highly Recommend

Posted May 18, 2015
We travel frequently around the World and have to say this was our most favorite vacation ever. The Sun Palace resort is awesome. Staff was excellent, food and accommodations are first class. Can't wait to plan our trip there next year.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom N

Excellent hotel for Honeymooner!

Posted May 16, 2015
Everything was perfect! Food, room, emerald ocean views, and more. Thanks to all staffs at hotel!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Complete Relaxation

Posted May 16, 2015
Excellent experience and perfect place for complete relaxation! We had the best time in the pool meeting other couples and the plethora of drink options. The White Coral shot and the Bumblebee shots are the best...a must have!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Courbevoie

Bel hôtel avec une grande qualité de service

Posted May 12, 2015
Pros: L'internet gratuit qui fonctionne bien est appréciable.
Cons: Plus de matelas sur la plage ?
Location: Le temple Maya de Chichen Itza (classé dans les 7 nouvelles merveilles du monde ;-) est à proximité (2h).
Le SUN PALACE est un bel hôtel - original avec sa forme en W - offrant une vue magnifique sur la mer des Caraïbes. Nous avons été automatique upgradés au niveau concierge en ayant réservé une Grand Room, 1 King Bed - Europe Special Up to $2500 Resort Credit, via Expedia. Un départ tardif à 15h (late check-out) nous a été accordé facilement par le manager. La chambre spacieuse est bien entretenue, avec son jacuzzi pour 2 au milieu de la partie salon, en contrebas, près de la baie vitrée (qui va du sol au plafond) : superbe vue plongeante sur la mer ! Le niveau concierge donne notamment accès à un espace réservé à la plage. Les beachs boys sont très serviables, de même que le reste du personnel d'une manière générale, qui est respectueux et dévoué. Les nombreuses parois vitrées des espaces publics sont constamment nettoyées. L'internet gratuit qui fonctionne bien est appréciable. Conseil : prendr une chambre niveau concierge pour étage élevé et zone plage réservée
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Louisiana

Quiet place to relax

Posted May 9, 2015
This place was great for a relaxing vacation. It was a little further away from the action, which was fine for us. The hotel staff was friendly and the spa was very nice. Loved having breakfast delivered to the room. The resort credits were nice but we weren't there long enough to fully use them and everything booked up quickly. Very nice beach and swimming pools. Tourists should definitely heed the swimming warnings for the ocean.