Ratings based on 773 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from pittsburgh, pa

All aspects were awesome.

Posted Jul 20, 2014
The best place I have ever stayed. Staff is so helpful. The event coordinators for the daily pool actives were very funny. Only complaint was we wanted the volleyball to be longer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Highland, NY

Paradise

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Location: Our favorite thing was swimming with the dolphins. We went to Wet and Wild to do this activity. Great place and fun water park.
We absolutely LOVED the Sun Palace! It was complete paradise! The room was beautiful, the staff went above and beyond, and the food was delicious. We will definitely be going back. Everyone should experience this piece of "paradise" sometime in their life!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary

No Privacy

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Pros: The turtles :) the beach, friendly staff, the food
Cons: No smoking designations moved away from eating areas.
Location: Nice restaurant 2 mins (walk) from hotel, "Mexican Fusion Seafood" Great scuba place was 15km away, Scuba Cancun"
The ocean is warm but rough some days, food is good, beach is nice, pools are awesome, service staff friendly. Turtles came to shore and laid eggs right in front of hotel. Dolphins swam past hotel. Con : They try to monitor every movement you make outside the hotel when leaving and returning from day trips by asking for your name and room number. We refused to give them any information. Make sure you put the chain on door when in room and want privacy because they will still walk in when "Do not disturb" sign is on. Spa over priced but with credits, worth it. Would have been nice to have Jacuzzi available, not just for spa clients.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Perfect vacation spot

Posted Jul 16, 2014
My boyfriend and I just returned from Sun Palace and would go back in a heart beat. The hotel staff was great, always working very hard to accommodate you and the food was wonderful. The views of the resort were beautiful, we upgraded to the ocean view and it's definitely worth it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Corona, CA

Nice hotel, great view of the beach and lagoon.

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: Service, amenities, friendly staff. Was near the begining of the Cancun hotel area so noise was at a minimum. Small hotel, was very relaxing.
Cons: Paint was peeling in certain areas of the hotel - this has to be a given due to the heat and humidity. Hotel could use a makeover/renovation.
Location: Aqua World, where numerous excursions can be booked. Bus route 2 takes you to WalMart and Market 28 (local flea market) for $1 one way, $2 round trip.
Went for our 15th anniversary. All staff members were extremely courteous. Being all-inclusive was extremely convenient; just tip the staff for meals, service, etc. Overall condition and amenities included are far superior compared to other hotels. Mexican restaurant - really nice. Serves buffet breakfast, buffet lunch and sit down dinner. Casual attire. Italian restaurant - best service ever. Since it's somewhat formal, meaning gentlemen have to wear jeans, there was really never a wait. Food is great. Oriental restaurant - being asian myself, I did expect a little too much. Ordered Pad Thai - wow was so yucky. Avoid if possible, try once to say you tried it. Outdoor steak restaurant - good cuts of steak. Buffet style and I enjoyed a few different cuts of beef. Spa - very nice. Waiting area comfortable. Steam room, sauna and jacuzzi very private and friendly. A few tips. 1) at airport when you leave the security checkpoint - through three sliding doors, either get your car rental or make a beeline towards the door. Avoid contact with people there as they will try to sell you some sort of time share. 2) $1500 resort "credit" at Palace resorts have terms and conditions but if you adhere to them, you can save a lot of money as opposed to booking trips via other vendors. Avoid the "free courtesy" shuttle to their sister hotels as this is where you'll get a time share type tour. (even though they don't call it a time share, they go by vacation ownership) 3)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Alberta, Canada

Excellent hotel, above and beyond service!

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: Beautiful beach! Excellent service! hotel credits for excursions and spa treatments! evening entertainment! close to airport
Cons: no shopping near by, hotel shuttle for shopping
Location: parasailing and jet skis rental on the beach many day trips- chichen itza - isla mujerles- swim with dolphins snorkeling
Amazing ocean view-room, in room hot tub, stocked fridge, kingsized bed, sitting area on balcony and in room, 24 hour room service, excellent lunch and breakfast buffet. ala carte dinners, dinner on the beach options. Can not express the quality of service, the staff here go above and beyond! Very enjoyable, we will be going back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Pros: The staff, the room, the beach.
Cons: More food variety
Staff was amazing, food was what you would expect for an all inclusive, beach was beautiful and the room was a wonderful junior suite. Would definitely come back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LOs angeles

perfect

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Pros: the staff attention to detail
Cons: too much restriction in the use of the earned credit
Location: you better rent a car most everithing is far and taxis are expensive
just fantastic everything you can have to do with your woman is in the resort
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Colorado

great stay

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: its small and very cozy. The staff was awesome and very attentive
Cons: nightly entertainment was a little weak and don't eat the steak:-)
very comfortable hotel with friendly staff, great beach and awesome beds
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Tulsa, OK

Amazing honeymoon experience

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: We loved the service, food, hot tub, spa, events, view, location, housekeeping, bed, room, and price.
Cons: Our experience with Sun Palace was so good, and any problems we had were promptly resolved by the happy staff.
Location: We really enjoyed visiting Isla Mujeres and Chichen Itza, doing the Jungle Tour and Aquatwister, snorkeling in the ocean, and walking along the beach.
My wife and I had an amazing experience at this resort. The view is beautiful, the food delicious, but most impressively, the customer service is simply the best. From walking up to the hotel until leaving, we were greeted non-stop with friendly, helpful representatives. The resort is just the perfect size and feel for couples, and housekeeping cleans your room twice a day, sometimes leaving little treats. Sun Palace gets the big picture and the small details just right.