Ratings based on 779 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Nice Hotel, personel, beach, everithing was perfec

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Pros: No Kids, Personnel and Service
Cons: More entertainments!
Location: Close to Shopping center and Clubs.
Best vacation Ever! I will come back! Nice people, close to everything.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Amazing beach !

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Stunning beach - brightest turquoise ever (and pelicans to watch thrown in). Lovely hotel . Brilliant service - loads of opportunities to have fresh drinks on the beach which was great for us! You can pull your sunbed to where you want it and have an uninterrupted view of the beautiful sea (or actually, staff will move the beds - they work hard in the heat!). food was great (limited in vegetarian sometimes, surprisingly in the evening Mexican restaurant but as long as you'll eat what's offered, that's good). Lovely to have good table service when on all-inc rather than buffet. Pool bar was great - good service again. Shame sun goes off beach area at tea time (we like evening sun). Room was lovely. Optics in the room bar is an amazing thing ( though strangely didn't use it since drank plenty at the beach). Bingo by pool in the afternoon was a bit annoying but you could easily avoid it. Would return if went again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Lovely vacation!

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Pros: Good service, adults-only, 24-hour room service, great beach; Resort credits are worth it if you plan to do the activities or purchases anyway.
Cons: Stale bread at some restaurants, later turn-down service (we often missed ours because we were still in the room), later bar hours, all-day shuttle
Location: The Moon Palace is worth checking out, but it was WAY too big for our liking. It's also 30-40 dollars to travel one way by taxi.
I have very few complaints about the Sun Palace. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and found everything to be very nice. I was pleased that we were able to find chairs by the pool everyday, as I had feared the worst from reading others' reviews. The room was kept clean and the view was great, even though it was described to me as a "partial" ocean view. All staff we encountered were pleasant and helpful. The food was mostly very good, and room service was very prompt and convenient no matter what time you called. The best part of the resort for us was the fact it was adults only. I was disappointed with a lack of available nightlife (the lobby bar closes around midnight) as well as limited transportation to the other Palace resorts (only two shuttles per day). We did not like that there was no enclosed "bathroom" (the toilet is separated from the rest of the room by a glass door, as is the shower). While the beach and ocean were the nicest I've experienced in Cancun, the pool area could stand to be much larger (although it was never overly crowded.) I would suggest reserving an ocean view room upon booking, as it is more expensive to upgrade at check-in. It should also be noted that the rooms and balconies on floors 7-8 are smaller than others, but the view from the high floor was worth it for us. These "issues" were very minor and in no way spoiled our vacation! I would definitely recommend the Sun Palace for couples looking for a beach hotel with a quiet, romantic atmosphere.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york

Never again to Sun Palace

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Pros: He brought the dessert over. 2days in a row we went to the spa to make some changes and the 2 guys working there ignored us like we were not there.
Cons: Service and more activites and entertainment
Location: Alot more stuff sun palace dont offer. Continuation from above- service at hotel was horrible and we would never go back there.
Hello all My husband and i stayed at this resort July 13-july 18th 2014. First and foremost this was our first visit to mexico and it was great except the hotel. As soon as we arrived we were greated with a cold compresss and a flower and a glass of champagne which were nice. Remind you we went to celebrate our 4th wedding anniversary and the expedia rep said the hotel was aware of the occassion. When we went to check in nothing was said and when we asked to get a higher floor they told us we have to pay more which we didnt want. Also as soon as we got there they pulled us to a corner trying to sell us a timeshare which was RIDICULOUS. After the check in we went to our room expecting some special preparation but there was NOTHING. The workers did not even give us a tour of the resort. We didnt even know there were certain amenities on the resort. There was no activities and the entertainment SUCKED. We ende hanging out at Moon palace, beach palace the whole week. One night we went to the ocean ballroom and was greeted and seated. I believe that was the manager that came over to us and took our order and then just dissappeared. All of sudden there was a group of people about 8 that came in and sat next to us. The manager showed up giving them 24 hour service and making sure everything was right. He never came back to our table to see if we needed anything else. The waiter which was nice asked us if we were celebrating something and we said yes our anniversary.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Paradise!

Posted Jul 23, 2014
From the moment we arrived at Sun Palace the staff was extremely friendly and attentive. Our ocean view room was gorgeous, clean and comfortable. The dining options were great. The pool and beach were very nice. We are planning to go back again. During our stay we went over to the Moon Palace and there is definitely more todo there, but we found it almost overwhelming. Sun palace is a great choice for a quiet vacation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NC

Perfect getaway

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: Staff consistency in service
Cons: The beer glasses...Do not use soda glasses for adults
Location: Too much to do in one visit
Pros- Location, peaceful,service, staff teamwork, Jorge, manager of the patio restaurant (steak and mexican) Cons- Oriental restaurant's food tastes ordinary with no Asian flair Beer is served in soda glasses..not what one would expect for an adult only resort Just returned from a week's vacation, my husband and I had the best holiday ever. Cannot wait to return. The couples only concept is an excellent idea. Do not waste money on taxis as the busses run about every 10 mins for 1 USD and are safe. Don't be put off by reviews complaining about the condition of the building...it's literally on the ocean and mother nature reminds us who is in charge. Those complaining about watered down drinks. Not true. If you request your brand in order, you'll get it. Was amazed at so many who left the hard working staff, sweating their butts off to keep them happy...NO TIPS!!! If you eat at the Steak restaurant, ask for Jorge
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from pittsburgh, pa

All aspects were awesome.

Posted Jul 20, 2014
The best place I have ever stayed. Staff is so helpful. The event coordinators for the daily pool actives were very funny. Only complaint was we wanted the volleyball to be longer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Highland, NY

Paradise

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Location: Our favorite thing was swimming with the dolphins. We went to Wet and Wild to do this activity. Great place and fun water park.
We absolutely LOVED the Sun Palace! It was complete paradise! The room was beautiful, the staff went above and beyond, and the food was delicious. We will definitely be going back. Everyone should experience this piece of "paradise" sometime in their life!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary

No Privacy

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Pros: The turtles :) the beach, friendly staff, the food
Cons: No smoking designations moved away from eating areas.
Location: Nice restaurant 2 mins (walk) from hotel, "Mexican Fusion Seafood" Great scuba place was 15km away, Scuba Cancun"
The ocean is warm but rough some days, food is good, beach is nice, pools are awesome, service staff friendly. Turtles came to shore and laid eggs right in front of hotel. Dolphins swam past hotel. Con : They try to monitor every movement you make outside the hotel when leaving and returning from day trips by asking for your name and room number. We refused to give them any information. Make sure you put the chain on door when in room and want privacy because they will still walk in when "Do not disturb" sign is on. Spa over priced but with credits, worth it. Would have been nice to have Jacuzzi available, not just for spa clients.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Perfect vacation spot

Posted Jul 16, 2014
My boyfriend and I just returned from Sun Palace and would go back in a heart beat. The hotel staff was great, always working very hard to accommodate you and the food was wonderful. The views of the resort were beautiful, we upgraded to the ocean view and it's definitely worth it.