Ratings based on 964 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom ct.

Very nice hotel,highly recommend.

Posted Apr 19, 2015
Pros: We loved the location, the staff and the restaurants. There is plenty of food choices. It is very clean and neat.
Cons: The deck chairs are not comfortable. The Italian restaurant is over rated. It's good but not excellent. Their house wines are good but need improvemen
Location: Location for us is great but I can see where some people wouldn't like it because it's removed from the action.. Nothing to do near by.
It was a great experience from start to finish. The staff can't do enough for you, very pleasant. Initially we were going to request a room change because of the jacuzzi in the middle of the room, not our thing, but we were very happy that w e didn't do that because the room was big and in a good spot for morning sun and afternoon shade. The view was the quiet pool so it worked out perfectly. We used the jacuzzi for our wet clothes or towels. We loved the location because it's in the start of the strip so it was much quieter and managlble. If you like a quiet vacation and a place to relax and read a book, the Sun Palace is the place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Luxury

Posted Apr 18, 2015
Hotel was wonderful. Everything was super clean, comfortable, and beautiful. The only downside was the food. The buffets were good but the sit down meals were okay. The service was extremely slow.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Sun Palace- Its ok!

Posted Apr 15, 2015
Pros: The service was great, the bar staff were great!
With all of the glowing reviews my wife and I for our anniversary choose to visit the Sun Palace. The resort lobby was very nice and well maintained. We found the staff very friendly, helpful and attentive to our needs while we were there. While they will try to get you to go to a presentation, they are very low pressure and will not ask again if you tell them no thank you. The rooms were nice, very clean, but they were really starting to show their age, same is true with a lot of the area’s outside. Be careful if you choose to try to read in bed:-( The beds are not secured to the headboard/wall and have no grip on the floor. The first night my wife and I almost went flying backward as the bed slid forward. We notified Hotel staff, was told that this is just the way they are. Our biggest frustration/complaint with the resort overall would be the food quality, breakfast and lunch lacked any real variety and was basically the same thing every single day. While we understand that it’s a challenging thing to try to cook for a variety of different peoples tastes/requirements, even what was done was done was executed very poorly. We ended up most days paying 4 bucks to take the bus up to the other resort “beach” palace for a lot of our meals, the rest were at the moon palace. The food at both of these resorts was very good overall, the quality in what was prepared was there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great resort!

Posted Apr 15, 2015
Everything in this place was great. Rooms, beach, stuff, food, just excellent!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Minneapolis, MN

Beautiful Property

Posted Apr 9, 2015
Pros: Everything.......
Cons: the food was just average
Location: the bus ride was only a dollar and we went to shopping districts and other great restaurants.
We loved the property, the people, the 'adults only' aspect..........just a wonderful getaway!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NC

Great place for couples

Posted Apr 5, 2015
All facilities were excellent. Love the pools (chairs were filled early, but they can add more to the pool) and plenty of nice chairs for the beach. Staff is exceptional. Could use better food selection for dinner, but you can travel to the other palace resorts with free food there. Unfortunate you can only use 300 credits max for the spa. The ocean has a ton of seaweed which wasn't enjoyable, but this was all along the entire coastline. Perfect place for couples both young and old- had a good mix when I was there. Would definitely go back to Sun Palace if returning to Cancun.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 5, 2015
We had a wonderful time. The service is excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Winnipeg, Canada

Fantastic Hotel

Posted Mar 31, 2015
Pros: Everything was great, service on the beach was excellent, all restaurants were great. Overall this is a terrific place to stay.
Cons: None
Location: Good location within the hotel zone, 10 minutes from airport and downtown Cancun and Isla Mall were easily accessible by bus or taxi
We had a great vacation at Sun Palace. The staff is very helpful and friendly, couldn't have asked for anymore from them. The beach is well maintained and the service was outstanding. There was nothing better than getting a beach bed and umbrella and having great service of food and drinks brought to you on the beach throughout the day. There were lots of activities going on as well if you wanted to do them. The food at this hotel is fantastic. Before going to Mexico lots of people told me about how you need to be careful about the food and water in Mexico but I can safely say at this hotel you have nothing to worry about. The buffet is open 7am until 430pm, and then you have the choice of four specialty restaurants at night which do not need a reservation. All four were great. Be sure to use your hotel credits for the romantic dinner on the beach, it is well worth it. Overall the food was excellent and the staff always used bottled water and had lots of bottled water in your room so you don't need to worry about that. Last thing I'll mention is we originally booked a resort view room but asked to see an ocean view room … trust me on this and spend the extra money for an ocean view room. It is absolutely worth it. Overall this is a fantastic resort and I would go back in a heart beat, there is a reason the expedia rating is so high, it really did exceed my expectations on everything.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Crestwood, New York

Not disappointed at all!

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Pros: Everything!
Cons: One more restaurant added to the selection.
Location: Never left because it was just that good.
From the minute we arrived to check in until we checked out the service was impeccable. You are greeted with a glass of champagne and given a small bouquet of flowers. The lobby has this unbelievable scent that smells so so good. We were asked if we were celebrating anything special, which we were, and were immediately given an upgrade at no additional charge. Room was beautiful overlooking ocean, bed very comfortable, shower, toilet and vanities all modern and clean. Jacuzzi in room near balcony. Staff are all so pleasant and accommodating. Food was good with the Italian restaurant being the best. Entertainment was good and numerous areas to enjoy a drink. Also had a couples massage and that was wonderful as well. Beach lounge chairs best of all the places I've been to.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Cleveland, OH

Awesome Couples only Hotel!!

Posted Mar 30, 2015
The Sun Palace surpassed our expectations in every way!!! This was the Best trip we have ever taken!..We were there in Mid March 2015 and the weather was Sunny 85 and blue skies and the bluest water; just beautiful, carbon copy every day....down to 76-79 at night....nice to sleep with patio doors open to listen to the waves! We had great room service breakfast on our patio each morning....with fresh squeezed grapefruit juice and omelets...the food arrived in 30 min and was hot and fresh and very tasty!....We loved all of the pools... and the room was so clean, the towels large and fluffy, the large shower and in room 2 person jacuzzi tub were divine! We loved laying on the comfy chaise loungers on the beach under an umbrella...my hubby took a nap there twice. the service was prompt and fast and very pleasant. The Alamo and Thai dinners were great. The Chef dinner is a must...use resort credits...Dinner on the Beach was romantic. Went snorkeling on Isla Mujeres, We took the free shuttle to Moon Palace and it was so crowded with families and kids you waited in line for everthing....not at the Palace. The nightly entertainment was fun.....Every room has an awesome view...Guillermo and Rubi were the best!! Bring your own sunscreen....Just loved this place! cant wait to go back!!