Ratings based on 727 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by NYC from New York, NY

Nice hotel with great pools

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: The ocean view and the pools were excellent!
Cons: Almost all staffs were nice but when some speaks their language and giggle each other made me feel not to pleasant.
Location: We've enjoyed jet skiing near the ocean.
Overall we've satisfied with the hotel. It's a couples only hotel so we've enjoyed the atmosphere. Pools were beautiful and the view from our room was excellent! But not too many quality restaurants to choose from. The room service, the food was not too great either. We've tried both breakfast and lunch and both made us disappointed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jessie from Philadelphia

Lovely Resort for Adult Relaxation

Posted Apr 12, 2014
Pros: friendly staff, beautiful rooms, great beach, clean, awesome breakfasts
Cons: Not enough activities at night- no shows, comedians, activities etc.
Location: great location- 15 min from airport- cab rides to tourist locations
We decided we needed a break last minute and we found an ocean view room at Sun Palace. This was the perfect place for a relaxing get-away. The property is beautiful and clean and the staff is extermely polite and accomodating. The room was wonderful and the view was awesome! My only criticisms are that the property is small so if you aren't at the pool or on the beach there aren't really any other places to hang out or things to do. Of course you can hit the bars and restaurants but that is the extent. Especially at night. After dinner, there isn't anything to see or shows to go to or activities etc. But we went for 4 days to escape the stresses of our daily lives so it was perfect. If we were there longer, we would have wanted more to do.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Peter from NJ

Great food and excellent service.

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Pros: We loved everything about it.
We had a fantastic time at the Sun Palace. They anticipate your every need and everyone is very nice to you. The restaurants are all fantastic. We will definitely be going back. The first time we ever liked a hotel so much that we wanted to go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by The Samedi's

Our Honneymoon!!!

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Pros: The customer service was beyond excellent!!!
Cons: more on site excursion activities.
My fiancee and I stayed at Sun Palace Couples Only for 5 days, we loved every minute of our honeymoon. We were very skeptical about this trip because of all the reviews we read, but PEOPLE do not pay too much attention to the negative comments because this place is truly HEAVEN ON EARTH! They are very attentive, greets everyone with a smile following HOLA! Sun Palace was breath taking, we look foward to going back!!!!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Keith from Atlanta

Nice Hotel..but...

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: Size, room was nice , beach was good.
Cons: Service...less selling and "bait and Switch", we were given $1500 in resort credits, they want you to pay 16% on the credits used. NO Thanks!
Location: Good Location...can take a bus to town and walk the strip..
Nice, small, limited pool area, seating at a premium, goo beach,,,spotty service. Need a better ON SITE restaurant selection. The offerings at the outside STEAK Restaurant was almost the same as the lunch buffet offerings. Italian Restaurant was excellent. Service and Attentiveness could be improved, this is clearly not a true top of line place. Will only stay at the Excellence Hotels from now on. We went to Excellence Playa Mujeures in September and perhaps we were comparing the properties, no comparison Spend the extra and go Excellence...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by gary from san francisco

Excellent relaxing getaway, food was excellent.

Posted Apr 5, 2014
Pros: Overall Hotel design and cleanliness, the room design worked well for us we enjoyed the tub, balcony, and the pools swim bars and overall food.
Cons: We would not change a thing.......Sun Palace is great
Location: Talum was worth seeing a bit touristy but interesting.
Everything was great, staff seem to really enjoy their job and make you comfortable. The food was great and the all inclusive aspect made it very enjoyable. The resort is the perfect size not to large , and the location is great........we really enjoyed the Sun Palace and would definitely return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by McNick from Chicago

Great get-away for couples.

Posted Apr 2, 2014
Location: Take Ferry to Isla Mujeres Palace hotel, rent a bike or golf cart once you get on Isla Mujeres. Beautiful and quiet/peaceful hotel.
Food and drinks were great. Hotel clean and friendly staff. Nice work out room. Great runnng path south of hotel. Sister hotel Isla Mujeres was a beautiful day trip. Plenty to do for a 4-5 day trip.
2 out of 5
by R from Sao Paulo

Idyllic seafront but mixed hotel

Posted Mar 30, 2014
Beautiful beach and nice rooms, but mixed staff and questionable food hygiene
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

More interested in selling you a time share?

Posted Mar 29, 2014
For the most part we had an excellent vacation, staff were friendly, room was clean, great view. We found there to be some inconsistency in customer service. To much focus on a time share purchase, and not enough on ensuring the guest experience was outstanding, it's definitely in need of some renovations too..oh and the VIP car service don't bother to much $$ and nothing offered with the service was provided, I did email my contact at Sun Palace after returning home, but after a week of not receiving an email back, I decided she didn't care...again inconsistent.. We aren't that picky, and are understanding when things are not in the control of the hotel, but for the most part it's their management team and structure business wise that turned us off, At best a 4 star... I didn't go to buy a time share, I went to relax!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by The Thompsons from London, ON, Canada

Beautiful, relaxing & romantic getaway

Posted Mar 29, 2014
Pros: The incredible scent as you enter, our gorgeous room, the impeccable service, delicious food, and the cleanliness inside and outside the hotel.
Cons: The night life at this hotel is low-key.... but it's so easy to find exciting things to do downtown that we didn't mind at all!
Location: The most beautiful hotel on the beach, best beach loungers, and no garbage on the beach. Easy bus trip or taxi to shopping marina rentals, and clubs.
Our Sun Palace vacation was everything we hoped it would be and more! The ocean view room that we booked (330) over-looked the main pool which made it possible to see the sun rise every day. We couldn't wait to wake up and enjoy our day, which was made even better by the ever accommodating staff. The food was unbelievably good in all of the restaurants! We also enjoyed a couples citrus massage using our resort credits. I would like to mention that we never felt pressured to attend their sales presentation and when we booked our Jungle Tour excursion and Night Out at Coco Bongos their representatives were very kind and helpful. We thought it was so awesome that we could visit the other Palace hotels and use their amenities as we explored Cancun and Isla Mujeres. Overall, we couldn't have asked for a better vacation experience! Thank you Sun Palace xoxo