Ratings based on 437 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Exactly what you would expect for the RItz!

Posted Oct 19, 2014
Pros: Staff, room, bed, cleanliness. Lots of couples with kids, families, and just couples. Very laid back, quite. Not the party scene.
Cons: Decor could be updated a bit, but then it would not look like a Ritz. Really no complaint overall, it was beautiful.
Location: Walking distance to La Isla mall, and one of the other malls. Short walk down the hill to the main strip where you can catch the Bus.
The hotel presents itself in all of the allure and classical fashion that is expected for a Ritz. The marble floors were pristine, the room very spacious, pool area was well maintained. Everything was very clean, bed was extremly comfortable. Staff was very nice, courteous, polite. TV picture quality could have been a little better, sometimes snowy in our room, but could get used to it, and over it as not there to sit in the room. Workout facility was also really nice, could have used a few more pieces of weight equipment for variety, but got what i wanted with the dumbbells. Beach spot was great, could walk out into the water at least a good 30 to 40 yd before loosing my footing. There was a life guard present all times on the beach, felt safe, even from the jet skiers. There is nothing to see in the water for say snorkleing off the beach, just pretty blue water.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

October 2014

Posted Oct 16, 2014
Pros: The staff was wonderful, the room was lovely with a fantastic view of the ocean, and the restaurants were excellent!
Location: The hotel is right on the beach, with a fantastic view of the water. There is fantastic shopping and many restaurants are nearby.
We had a fantastic visit. We arrived early (9:00 AM) and the car from the hotel was waiting for us at the airport. Our driver offered us water for the ride, and we had a very pleasant ride from the airport to the Hotel. When we arrived, our room was not ready yet, so the concierge offered us a complimentary cocktail. We were upgraded to Club Level (!!!!!) and checked in before 11:00 AM. Wonderful experience, we will be going back.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from pa

Birthday getaway

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Felt like the hotel was a haunted mansion. Furnishing were very outdated. Pool chairs did not match etc. But the service was fantastic. The restaurants were dated also but the food was very good. A little disappointed with this hotel it's getting tired.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England, UK

High quality hotel located on beach.

Posted Oct 12, 2014
Pros: Quality of staff, room and food.
Location: Malls with lots of restaurants, bars and shops. Central Cancun is a 25 minute bus ride away.
High quality hotel located on a white sand beach. Hotel provides beach chairs, towels and drinks/food service to the beach and pool areas. Staff are super nice and helpful, they'll try and do anything you ask for. The sea can be a bit rough in this area of the hotel zone and not suitable for casual sun bathers. The pools are open till 11pm however which is good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

First class but needs a little more convenience.

Posted Oct 12, 2014
Best service. Needs a little more convenience dining options. Staff went out of way to make thing right. Tennis courts were under repair and they drove us to neighboring hotel to play. Sent flowers and champagne to room as apology. Not a lot of night life. But overall good. Food is expensive but very good. Nice health club. Easy to get places on bus or by taxi. I would recommend. Breakfast buffet was excellent but at $32 per person it should be. Front desk excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

AMAZING, World Class Service!

Posted Oct 5, 2014
Pros: The personal attention from every staff member, every one of them knew us by name. Impressive!
Cons: Use of card to enter rooms and not a key.
Location: Chichenitza,
World Class Service from every Staff member, Ricardo, Victor, Marcos, Jose, Rangel, Rasario, Edwardo and the Doorman, The Fantino Restaurant was a perfect place to celebrate our Anniversary, we forgot our Camera but the waiter emailed us a picture he had taken on his own device. We went back 2 days later!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Hotel and Location

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Pros: Luxury and guest care
Cons: Perfecto
Location: Lorenzo Seafood
Fantastic and Great! For quiet settled guests... Great people and staff Good Sauna and exercise facilities
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Front Royal, Virginia

EXCELLENT AND DIDN'T WANT TO LEAVE!!

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Pros: Everything. Literally, no complaints.
Cons: The gift shops were VERY expensive but that was to be expected at an upscale place such at the Ritz.
Location: The location is perfect and they have so many things offered at the hotel that there is little need to go elsewhere. The is a local bus for $1.
The entire place was spotless at all times. The staff was just over the top and always went above and beyond at all times to make you feel very important. They always remembered your name. You pay a little more for this hotel but the free perks you get save you money in the end. For instance, the lounge chairs, umbrellas and towels (all of which they laid out for you) were free whereas they cost money elsewhere. They had waiters by the pool and on the beach to make sure you have food or drink any time you wanted it. The room was huge and a lot more space than we needed which was very nice. The view from our balcony was beautiful or the ocean and the pool. The room was always cleaned and out clothes folded at all times. The rooms were quiet and you never heard other guests. The hotel has many restaurants that were just excellent. The beach was private. The chef personally came out and thanked us several times and made sure the food was to our liking. You just do not get the customer service that we experienced here at other hotels anymore. Its was customer service is all about and these people are models of service to their guests! I would pay the extra money and return in a heartbeat!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Anniversary trip

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff
Cons: Transportation
Location: The staff offered us alo, but it rained.
Awful! I thought thè hotel would be better. We had a pillow top mattress. That's what it was pillows! The hotel really needed a shuttle. We rented a car but only used it going there. Then they offered us a van for $20 going back. Terrible getting out of airport .we were sick. The trip was just terrible!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 26, 2014 by Dir Quality, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit to Cancun. While the hotel does not provide a shuttle service, we do offer private transportation options to- and from- the airport through our Concierge team. I’m sorry that there were some rainy days during your visit and we will look forward to your return in the future. Thank you
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect Vacation in every way.

Posted Sep 14, 2014
I would not change one thing about our perfect vacation. Our stay was without a doubt the BEST service I have ever received on a vacation in my life. FABULOUS!!!!!!