Ratings based on 543 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A fantastic family resort.

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Great food, even better service. Very knowledgeable about the local area and helpful in every way. Some areas seemed a bit dated but they were updating things when we were there, and quietly too. We'd definitely visit again!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom BC, Canada

Excellent choice

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: Bellboy Jeremiah was so helpful for our luggage and questions and taxis. Samantha and Carlos from kids club were great too. All the staff was awesome.
Cons: A little too cold in the rooms but that's about all. Extra blankets were in closet so you could snuggle in those on the couch in the evening.
Location: The location is great and is close to the Jolly Roger and Captain Hook pirate ship adventures. About 10-20 min from locations downtown.
Best all inclusive for the whole family. Kids club starts at 10 am and my daughter loved them. Lots to do and everyone friendly. Any problems or questions are dealt with instantly. I would definitely stay here again for sure.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Winnipeg, Mb.

Posted Feb 21, 2015
There is not one bad or negative thing about this hotel. Staff, food, and facilities are absolutely fabulous
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Savage, MN

Nice looking facility, but a very tip-hungry staff

Posted Feb 18, 2015
Overall, it was a nice looking facility. However, the staff seemed very tip-hungry. In theory, all tips were supposedly included in the all-inclusive package, yet every single one of the staff were visibly upset if you did not give them an "additional tip". Service was slow, you always had to give them your room key (seems unnecessary when you're wearing a resort bracelet), and food/drink orders were forgotten during multiple visits to La Palapa. Oh, and everything closes at 10:00 pm. We did take the free shuttle to the Royal Sands, and that place seemed way better. (They're both a part of the same "Royal Cancun" family.) The staff were very friendly over there, and things just ran smoothly with the restaurant/bar/staff. Sadly, I wouldn't return to the Royal Cancun All Suites resort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Clinton Township, MI

ROYAL CANCUN

Posted Feb 16, 2015
Pros: The staff, our conciere Santiago was very accomodating. He went above and beyond to make sure we were taken care of. Very clean.
Cons: Have more shuttle service back and forth to the other resorts.
Location: The location is great. We would take the local bus almost everywhere. We enjoyed being with the locals and enjoying the fast bus rides.
Had a great experience in Cancun. Was very happy with our accomodations at the Royal Cancun. Very clean and everyone is very friendly. We did the all inclusive and we would highly recommend it. All the restaurants affiliated with the Royal Resorts that we dined at were superb! We will definitely be back next year!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Oregon

Would love to go back one day!

Posted Feb 16, 2015
Pros: Great service from all employees, felt we received great value for all-inclusive and what we paid
Cons: Maybe another restaurant eventually?
Location: You can walk to the ferry to Isla Mujeres, parasail and jet ski
I spent HOURS reading the reviews for each hotel and put a lot of thought into the decision of where to stay. I am so happy we went with The Royal Cancun. If you are looking for an exciting, busy, full-of-entertainment hotel, this isn't the one for you. If you are looking for quiet and relaxation in a less crowded environment, stay here! The beach chairs were never full (the hotel next door had dozens of people each day come try to steal them because their beach was so crowded) and there is a long expanse of sand to use. This was our first all-inclusive experience, and we were very happy with the pool bar and 2 restaurants. We only ate at the Italian restaurant once, as we preferred the beach front La Palapa, but both were great, food and service. The pirate ships that go by in the evenings are noisy and did wake us up (beach front rooms), but it really wasn't a big deal. We also visited The Royal Sands and am happy we chose The Royal Cancun.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 14, 2015
Pros: Relaxing and quiet. Free shuttle to other Royal facilities.
Cons: Less seaweed. Nobody on vacation should be given a highway view room.
Location: We missed the ocean waves. City buses are great and take you anywhere for $1.
Very family oriented with lots of retired couples and their families. Peaceful and relaxing. Lots of seaweed on the beach, but they tried to pick it up daily. Food was excellent. We got assigned to a "lagoon view" room when we arrived, which was actually a "loud and busy highway view". The following day we were given a poolside room on request.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom tennessee

Great family friendly resort

Posted Feb 13, 2015
Nice place to stay with our kids ages 4.5 and 2. Rooms are large and clean and very comfortable for families. We had a great view in B1223 of pool and ocean. Beach is a little small with no real waves or ability to swim more than waist deep. Was not really evening activities if you are looking for that and service and selection for dinner was poor. Pool bar was great, loved angel and felt very safe. Was loud at night with oasis palms next door and party pirate ship that goes by with canons but that ended by 10 pm. Taste of food was good. Overall good experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NEW JERSEY

WE WERE VERY PRESENTLY SURPRISED IT WAS PERFECT

Posted Feb 12, 2015
Pros: LOCATION HOW CLEAN IT WAS
Cons: TIME IT TOOK TO RECEIVE YOUR CHECK
Location: EVERYTHING IS RIGHT THERE
COMPLEX WAS PERFECT STAFF WAS FRIENDLY SO CLEAN/ AND PEACEFUL
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Minnesota

Wonderful for our family

Posted Feb 11, 2015
Location: Hop on the Royal Resorts shuttle and check out Captains Cove that is free with all inclusive option. Yum!
We stayed at the Royal Cancun Resort from February 3-10, 2015. We had one of the 2 bedroom, 2 bath suites that was HUGE compared to what I had been expecting. We had the all inclusive option (the time-share owners don't have this) that we took full advantage of. My family consisted of me, my husband, and 4 kids (10, 8, 5 and not quite 2 year old). This resort was so great for the family, the beach was so calm and shallow that my husband and I were able to relax on the beach chairs and enjoy the view without having to hover over the kids. The staff was absolutely magnificent! They made us feel like royalty, especially Juan at La Palapa (he deserves a huge raise). We did end up having to switch rooms on Saturday (the time-share days are Saturday to Saturday) which was a little inconvenient but they made the process smooth. Excellent food! Excellent room-service (even at midnight)! Excellent cleanliness! Excellent staff everywhere we went! We will definitely be returning soon! Overall great experience