Ratings based on 675 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Missouri

Nice hotel with helpful staff & nice beach access

Posted Jul 28, 2015
Pros: Great food and clean rooms.
Cons: Quicker steps access for some rooms to the beach.
Location: Not a lot of shopping options nearby. Took the shuttle to the sister hotels by the shops.
Great hotel for families with activities for both adults and children. Good food options and beach access.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Staff

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Pros: The staff were very welcoming
Location: Everything was close to downtown, shopping and nightlife were great
We had a great time, very restful and was great having everything onsite
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from p

Nice hotel and close to the beach

Posted Jul 12, 2015
Nice place to spend a week, service is good somehow the Itatian restaurant doesn't meet my expectation, overall it is a nice hotel
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 16, 2015 by Cristobal Galindo, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time to post about your experience at The Royal Cancun. La Trattoria is Royal Resorts' newest restaurant. We're sorry to learn it didn't meet your expectation and we'll review our procedures to ensure none of our future guests shares this perception. Nevertheless, we're glad to learn you've had an overall good experience at The Royal Cancun and we look forward to welcoming you again on your next vacation at the Mexican Caribbean. Warm Regards.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from california

Stay Away!Awful ... Rude staff waste of your money

Posted Jul 7, 2015
This hotel was one bad experience after another .... Check in started with a 2 hour staff and a rude receptionist ... Rooms are dated , filled with Mosquitos .... THE CLEANING staff left a dirty brush on our bed ... We tried numerous times to contact the manager of the facility and she was careless and gave us the run around ... She said she would call us back and never did and everyone we did they said she was " in a meeting " . The waiters are really rude and don't serve you properly, when we asked for a few minutes to review our menu that was not issued until an hour & a half of being seated and waited he walked off fustrated and slammed his menus down. It is a time share hotel ... They give priority to the time share people and try to move u out of your room at their convenience.... They asked my sister to leave her room because the "owner " was coming and wait in a room that had not been cleaned yet . They sell u an all inclusive package yet everything has an up charge that's not disclosed: food , certain alcohol etc . I booked an excursion and need to print a ticket ... When I asked the front desk for help they made me buy a internet card and Even buy paper .... After doing so their computers were down and no one available or interested in helping you . This hotel was the biggest disappointment and I urge everyone to stay away and not waste your money ... I waited so long for my vacation and this hotel ruined it ! We tip well I just don't understand!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 9, 2015 by Cristobal Galindo., Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time to post about our resort. We always strive to provide our customers with the highest satisfaction rates and we regret not achieving this goal with you. We're sorry for what it seems to be an honest mistake by our maid staff. We are currently reviewing the data to ensure this won't happen again. Guest Services Manager has been informed of your experience and she will be in charge to take all the countermeasures required to ensure none of our future guests share this perception of us. Please accept a sincere apology. Warm Regards.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Posted Jul 6, 2015
Pros: clean..
Cons: Should add more varieties of foods to buffet such as seafood, oriental cuisine..
The personal concierge should advise guest that if they want to eat a restaurant outside, they should be responsible for their own transportation and it is not hard by taking a bus and how much they should pay for each trip. Should show guest how to make a call from a hotel to make a reservation for certain restaurant and phone number for each restaurant, also do not print the restaurant who are not affiliated with the hotel to avoid the confusion which restaurant guest can dine and which can not..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Family with Teens

Posted Jul 6, 2015
Pros: Excellent staff; everyone very friendly and helpful. Smaller resort with a smaller, calmer beach which would be perfect for younger kids.
Cons: More amenities in the main resort building. A larger number of paddle boards; the reservations often filled up days in advance.
Location: Kayaking, paddle-boarding, and sailing available at resort. Parasailing & jet skis are available to rent on beach. Tourist attractions next door.
We really enjoyed the Royal Cancun. There was enough variety of restaurants as long as we visited those that were at the Royal Sands and Royal Caribean for dinner. The beach at the Royal Cancun is sheltered, calm, and relaxing. Our kids were able to sail, paddle board, kayak and parasail without us leaving the resort. We did travel to the beach at the Royal Sands on two different days; this gave us bigger surf and a different beach experience. We debated the benefits of the smaller, quieter resort versus the bigger, more vibrant pool and beach. Even with our 3 teenagers (ages 19,18 & 13) we preferred staying at the quieter resort and traveling to the more crowded. We were there during sea turtle season and got to see some turtles come to shore to lay eggs on an evening where we stayed later at the royal sands (doesn't happen at the royal cancun).
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 8, 2015 by Cristobal Galindo., Hotel Management
Dear Sam, Thank you for taking time to post about our resort. We are glad to learn you took the advantage and visited the other facilites included with your Royal Resorts Reservation. It is true, The Royal Cancun is located within a privileged area protected by Isla Mujeres which gives it a calm and shallow beach, while at The Royal Sands there's many more waves. We are sure that both kinds of beach are enjoyable and we're glad to learn you did enjoy both of them. Turtle nesting season is one of favorite times of the year. Watching turtles come and nest is a marvel that we encourage our visitors to enjoy within a respectful environment. We're glad to learn you and your family enjoyed this experience. We look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit to Mexican Caribbean. Warm Regards.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Gabriel, CA

Best Baby Beach

Posted Jul 6, 2015
If you have little ones, this is the hotel for you. The baby beach has no waves and is very shallow so your kids can play in the water safely. Food is excellent, especially you can go to their sister hotels (free shuttle) and be able to eat and use the facility there. The 2 bedroom villa with full kitchen sleeps comfortably for 6. We love the staffs here. They are very nice and friendly. There were 14 (7-68 in age) of us and we had a blast at Royal Cancun. We will definitely come back!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 9, 2015 by Cristobal Galindo., Hotel Management
Dear TMV, Thank you for taking time to post about our resort. We're glad to learn you and your family enjoyed your most recent visit to The Royal Cancun. It is true: The Royal Cancun is nested in a privileged area of Isla Mujeres' bay which give us a calm and shallow beaches which is perfect for little kits and surely enjoyed equally by adults. We look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit to Mexican Caribbean. Warm Regards.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointed

Posted Jul 6, 2015
First of all, the location, grounds and resort are in immaculate condition and I was very pleased with the property itself. The disappointment arises with the "all-inclusive" portion. We were given a wristband which is fine and you would think that would be enough to identify us as resort goers with all inclusive rights. They make you show your room key for every meal, drink, etc on resort property. You can't do anything without that so the wristband means nothing. They give you a credit limit when you check in of $300 and once that is used up you have to go back to the front desk and swipe your card again as it is not on file. I bring this up because you are issued a paper receipt or check for every meal item and drink you order for additional tips that are not included in your package. Any tours/excursions you charge to your room eat into that credit limit. If you are over, you have to "settle up" before you can even eat a meal or have a drink. The concept of all-inclusive is completely lost to these people.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Staff was great, hotel not so much.

Posted Jul 4, 2015
Pros: Best part of our stay was the hotel employees (front desk, cleaning staff, room service staff, phone staff, pool area waiters).
Cons: Hotel rooms need updating. Mattresses smelled. We had all-inclusive package; unfortunately, the restaurants were average and waiters not too friendly.
Location: We would highly recommend visiting Captain's Cove (restaurant included with all-inclusive). We would also recommend visiting the Royal Sands.
Stayed at Royal Cancun for 8 days. Hotel rooms need updating. Mattresses smelled. We had the all-inclusive package; unfortunately, the restaurants were average and waiters not too friendly. Best part of our stay was the hotel employees (front desk, cleaning staff, room service staff, phone staff, pool area waiters). We would highly recommend visiting Captain's Cove (restaurant included with the all-inclusive). Food was terrific, although some dishes required surcharge. We would also recommend visiting the Royal Sands (sister hotel) via the hotel shuttle - the beach there was beautiful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2015 by Cristobal Galindo., Hotel Management
Dear Emma, Thank you for taking time to post about our resort. We always strive to provide our customers with the highest satisfaction levels available and we regret not achieving this goal with you. We're glad to learn you've enjoyed dining at Captain's Cove as part of your REFINE All Inclusive program. We hope that you've enjoyed the most out of your vacation in Cancun. Warm Regards.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 2, 2015
Cons: only 1 out of 4 kayaks was available and was always booked. Too much weeds in the water.
We enjoyed it a lot. Great place to rest. Very friendly staff. The food was very good. Concierge was very willing to help. You can take a free shuttle to go and use other partner hotels facilities and restaurants. We will come again.We enjoyed it a lot. Great place to rest. Very friendly staff. The food was very good. Concierge was very willing to help. You can take a free shuttle to go and use other partner hotels facilities and restaurants. We will come again. We enjoyed it a lot. Great place to rest. Very friendly staff. The food was very good. Concierge was very willing to help. You can take a free shuttle to go and use other partner hotels facilities and restaurants. We will come again.We enjoyed it a lot. Great place to rest. Very friendly staff. The food was very good. Concierge was very willing to help. You can take a free shuttle to go and use other partner hotels facilities and restaurants. We will come again.We enjoyed it a lot. Great place to rest. Very friendly staff. The food was very good. Concierge was very willing to help. You can take a free shuttle to go and use other partner hotels facilities and restaurants. We will come again.