Ratings based on 522 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

FUN! FUN! FUN!

Posted Jan 27, 2015
We just came back from a week in the royal resort. We had so much fun. The weather was great and the hotel was very nice and comfy.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Shingle Springs

Great Value, friendly staff.

Posted Jan 26, 2015
Pros: Most of the staff, cleanliness, reasonably prices.
Cons: Not having to sign for everything, No moves if staying over on a Saturday. A bar to gather with friends after dinner, beside the Italian Restaurant
Location: Close to the ferry to go to Isla Mujeras.
Although our party of 8 enjoyed their stay at the Royal Cancun, there were some significant negatives. Overall, we had a wonderful time, but some nuisance prevailed.Even though we were inclusive with wrist bands, we still had to sign for EVERYTHING, food and drink, total nuisance, often waiting for our "card" and bill to sign.. We had to fight to stay in our unit over a Saturday stay, would have been totally inconvenient to move and a loss of most of the day to monitor this, not what you want to do on vacation.. We had two rooms, four in each room. They didn't honor our request to be close together, very inconvenient at times. The party ships cruising by at night can be very loud. Several member of our party decided the liquor was watered down. With that being said, the staff was exceptional, with the exception of Rafael who was very rude upon checkin. The internet is a plus. If you want entertainment, this isn't the place, there isn't any.. It does offer a condo feel, rather than a busy high rise hotel feel. Transportation between other properties is a plus, but timing was every two hours, not always convenient. The towel check out area was tucked away toward the front of the property, would be much more convenient to check out towels at the Sports booth at the beach. Bars close early.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles, CA

Cancun- Jan '15

Posted Jan 26, 2015
Pros: If you do the all inclusive you also have access to “ The Royal Sands” & their private beach is beautiful!
Location: It's located towards the end of the hotel zone it’s a 10 minute bus ride away from the “clubs/ bars”. Go to Mercado 28 or walmart for souvenirs.
Just got back from our 1 week vacation a few days ago, & we loved it!!! The hotel is very clean, the food is great but what stood out most was the awesome customer service! Everyone was so nice & helpful. We did the all inclusive & it was completely worth it, they have two restaurants & a bar/grill located next to one of the pools as well as a sports bar. We had most of our meals at The Palapa Restaurant, they serve breakfast, lunch & dinner, food is set up buffet style & everyday there is a different menu theme (fajitas, tacos, pasta etc.) but you also have the option to order a la carte. The food was always fresh & everything we had was good. The waiters were all so friendly & attentive, always checked on us & made sure we didn’t need anything. The room was huge, felt like we had a whole apartment to ourselves, Housekeeping stopped by every day, stocked our fridge, brought fresh towels & cleaned up if needed. Overall we were extremely satisfied. This was our first visit to Cancun & the royal resorts definitely helped in making it a memorable one. We would stay here again no questions asked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom new jersey

Relaxation

Posted Jan 26, 2015
I read all reviews heard all the complaints. So here it is get the all inclusive it pays for itself just in food alone. The staff is great and friendly. Property is clean and well maintenance. I had room B1213 it had a view of the kids pool and partial ocean view. It was 50 yards from ocean awesome. The only issue I had personally with the room was my bed I got stuck with the 2 double beds and it was a little hard of a mattress for my liking. No other complaints, people were friendly ocean was shallow but clear, beach was clean. If you want quiet and relaxing stay here, this place shuts down at 930 pm. I would defiantly go back again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Fargo, ND

Family friendly, not Adult's Only Friendly

Posted Jan 26, 2015
Pros: Overall service was great. I wish I spoke the language better as to be able to express this to the staff personally at the time.
Cons: If you list things as a bar or Adult's Only, you have to enforce it. I know you don't want to make customers upset, but it effected my stay
Location: My wife and I took 2 very long walks in different directions to the Markets and a Ferry to the island. Many options for all to checkout
We tried a new location for our annual trip and got a great package and rate. The service was great, started with the front desk helping us get a different room to have a view. But some things were a determent to our enjoyment. We were informed prior to booking and when shown to our room there was an Adult's pool and a children's pool. This was not the case, and that was fine except the kids were swimming, snorkeling and eating at the pool bar area. This was marked as to being Adults only, but no staff ever enforced it. The Sports Bar on the resort has only a couple tables, and is mainly a waiting area for people going to the restaurant. Wife and I tried to have a drink after dinner and watch NFL, but all spots filled with young children. These are not huge things that would keep me from recommending this resort, but it was not what we were expecting. The service was great from start to finish in all areas of the resort. The staff worked long hours, but never lost their smile or level of service. This is a huge "Thank You" from someone who grew up in the service industry. It took a little getting used to on giving the room key at meals and bars. But fully understandable as still have the time share people as well as other type guests. Not a hassle as some made it out to be, just something new.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom florida

Trip with kids

Posted Jan 25, 2015
We enjoyed our stay. We were upgraded to a two story villa but a regular room would have been fine. Food was acceptable which is all you can ask for at an all inclusive Kids enjoyed the paddle boards and kayaks and there were plenty of chairs on the beach and by the pool. Staff was friendly and helpful. If they had a hot tub if would have been perfect. Great resort and very clean
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Brasil

Hotel agradável, equipe maravilhosa.

Posted Jan 22, 2015
Cons: variedade da comida, pois o Brasileiro tem dificuldades em se adaptar a comida mexicana.
Location: ótima localização
Recomento o hotel, e gostaria de elogiar a sua equipe, principalmente os garçons, a exemplo do Manuel que nos atendeu com muita presteza.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 22, 2015
Hotel is an older facility with limited restaurants on site. Shuttle was available to go to the other hotels and restaurants. We wanted to just relax and not worry about additional intown travel. It was great time with family :)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom BRASIL

HOTEL AGRADÁVEL PRÓXIMO DA PRAIA, FÁCIL ACESSO

Posted Jan 20, 2015
Pros: PISCINAS BOAS, BARES BONS, ATENDIMENTO EXCELENTE, BOA LOCALIZAÇÃO
Cons: O ATENDIMENTO ALL INCLUSIVE DEIXA DESEJAR VC TEM QUE ESPERAR O CAFÉ ENCERRA PRA SERVI NO BAR, E A NOITE OS RESTAURANTE FECHA 22:00 LÁ NÃO É 24HORAS
Location: LOCALIZAÇÃO BOA É PRÓXIMO AO EMBARQUE PARA O BARCO DOS PIRATAS UM PASSEIO TRADICIONAL PODE IR A PÉ, E TUDO PODE FAZER DE ÔNIBUS PÚBLICO AINDA É SEGURO
LUGAR TRANQUILO, COMIDA GOSTOSA E ATENDIMENTO MUITO BOM, FUNCIONÁRIOS EDUCADOS E COM UM RESTAURANTE QUE FUNCIONA A NOITE "TRATORIA" COM UMA COMIDA DELICIOSA UM CARPACCIO FANTÁSTICO....
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago

Fantastic view

Posted Jan 19, 2015
Pros: Being able to use other Royal resorts in Cancun was a fantastic advantage.
Cons: Eliminate the sea weeds. and have more entertainment for night life.
villa 124 was perfect. Next to cafe with a beach view.