Ratings based on 333 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom st louis

It's beautiful

Posted Mar 1, 2015
Pros: It is beautiful
Cons: It's a long walk to get to the Busses
Location: Well there is a restaurant and a convenient store but it's a long walk then a sewage plant so take the R 1 bus hold on or sit down
They wouldn't even make a copy of my transportation back to the air port that cost me $30 for a cab. I was low on cash for some reason their ATM wouldn't take my card it I ask theme about it and they said it doesn't take some debit cards and wouldn't help at all so my awesome daughter sent me links to apps for international calls using theyer WIFI I was able to get in Contact with my other bank and it worked fine
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom NY

nice family or retirement atmosphere

Posted Feb 25, 2015
Pros: the heated pool is so nice for northern people who want to swim on cooler days
Cons: the resteraunt on site is a bit overpriced for what it is.
Location: cheap bus fare will take you about anywhere
I read reviews and determined this would be an ideal place for a quiet family vacation. everything was spot on and we could not rave more about the royal resort management. you could stay at any of there places and be very happy. The time share owners are considerate and mostly willing to give you valuable tips on how to navigate and find immenities of your liking. The suites are very large and the kitchen in very functional. The employees due a wonderful job at all of there jobs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom south dakota

right on the beach

Posted Feb 25, 2015
Pros: We like it isn't spread out or have to walk a mile, to get to the room, lobby, beach or pool. City transportation is so easy to access.
Cons: starting to show its age in bathrooms
Location: Captains Cove(great to eat)is across the street, take city bus(1$) toADO station but ride the white commuter bus (7$ for 2,1 way) to Playa DelCarmen
This is the first time at the Royal Caribbean, would stay again, but in a room with larger beds(we had doubles)We never hit the beach, it was red or red and yellow all week. Captains cove has the best stuffed grouper, if you like fish. Don't miss the 1/2 price drinks at the sports bar in the lobby, every one was very friendly and very helpful.!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Whiite Plains, NY

Quiet hotel, beautiful beach

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: It was clean and the staff members were very helpful. Unfortunately, sometimes the phones cut in and out. Dardinell did a great job with aqua-aerobi
Cons: The restaurant could have some more vegetarian entrees.
Location: The Maya Museum is nearby and very interesting. They only take pesos for admission, no credit cards or American money.
The staff members were lovely and very helpful. There was one incident where my husband, sitting by the pool, was hit in the face by some boys tossing around a volleyball. They were rude and unapologetic. Otherwise, the stay was very pleasant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel that invites you to stay in all day!

Posted Feb 22, 2015
We spent one great week in Royal Carribean. You can find anything you need in the hotel, day trips, mini Market, souvenirs etc. The even have a shuttle that connects the hotel with the other brunches od Royal resorts, that helps especially when you are going for dinner to one of their lovely restaurants. Great access to their private beach and to public transport. Would go back any time
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 22, 2015
Very nice resort and we loved visiting the other Royal resorts. Had a great day at the Sands and Hacienda!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Boston MA

An emergency one nighter!

Posted Feb 21, 2015
Pros: The room was clean and comfortable. Lots of room!
I missed my flight out of Boston and needed to stay in Cancun for one night. We arrived past midnight and the staff was wonderful. The room was very clean, even the balcony was super clean. Didn't get to see anything but my room but the staff got us out nice and fast so we could make it to our final destination.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay & play

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Beautiful property, very well maintained, great beach, very attentive and knowledgeable staff, clean, safe, excellent swimming pool, bedding, pillows, televisions & channel selection, great food, staff for scheduling activities, onsite market. Couldn't have been more pleased!
4 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Hamilton

Nice hotel but beware the timeshare pitch.

Posted Feb 16, 2015
Pros: Very nice beach. Food was good and the front line staff was friendly.
Cons: They could be honest about the time share thing. Don't tell people it is 1 1/2 hours when you know it will be closer to 4 hours.
Location: Very close to the airport. Nice beach. You can get on a bus rent a car or call a tour agency to do a bajillion touristy things all over the place.
This is more of a condo style resort. We got a suite with a full kitchen as we had our baby with us and that worked out great. There is a decent supermarket/variety store in the resort and a larger supermarket a short ride away (that also delivers). We though it was clean and great for kids but sometimes felt a bit like we were in a retirement home! The old folks love babies though! My only word of warning would be to avoid the timeshare sales pitch at all costs. We were told 1/2 price off our Chitchen Itza tour if we went to their presentation. We were told it was 1 and 1/2 hours 'no pressure at all'. We thought sure why not, we'll go for the 1 1/2 hours politely say No and be on our way. So we went. First we found that we had to eat breakfast with the sales guy. Nice... He was pitching us the whole time which was weird and uncomfortable. 45 minutes. Then he took us on a tour of the resort. Another 45 minutes. The hour and a half had passed and remember we had two young kids in tow. Then they went in for the hard sell. This was not 'no pressure'. The guy grilled with charts and numbers for another hour and a half I finally got a word in and said 'no we are not interested we want to go'. He brought the manager over. 1/2 hour later we finally got rid of him. Then they brought in a woman trying to sell us this 'voucher' which was exactly the same thing. 3 1/2 brutal hours had passed. We would have gladly paid full price for Chitchen Itza to avoid this.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wheelchair friendly...but not to US standards.

Posted Feb 9, 2015
Wheelchair ramps were somewhat steep. Anyone in a chair will need some assistance. With a little help, we could go anywhere on the property, even the beach.