Ratings based on 164 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Glad I picked the resort

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Nice property, good beach location and great beach staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Mari from Falls Church,Va

Pleasant surprise.

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: Very friendly staff, and the luxuries of the villas
Cons: Kitchen a bit updated
Location: Great restaurants within walking distance. Beautiful beach!!!
If you want a quiet vacation this is the place to be. Very family oriented. Close to downtown but far enough away from the noise and partying that goes on there. All rooms have beautiful ocean views. The one and two bedroom suites have a large balcony to relax on after the beach. The villas are immaculately clean and beds are very comfortable. Kitchen is a bit outdated but then again we were on vacation. The ocean is paradise. Beautiful clear blue caribbean water.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice location , friendly service , great pool

Posted Apr 5, 2014
Had a wonderful time -great rooms-great pools-beautiful beach-friendly staff!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jen

Would recommend to others

Posted Apr 2, 2014
Pros: grocery store on site
Cons: hot tub is needed
Location: very convenient to all activities and restaurants
We rented a 1 bedroom villa. It was very spacious. It's slightly older, but well maintained. Pool is very nice. Room view was beautiful. There is a small grocery store on site that made it very convenient. We only went to Walmart once. The only thing missing at this resort is a hot tub. Overall our experience was great!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Melissa from British Columbia

perfect for the everyday family

Posted Apr 2, 2014
Pros: The usage of the sailboats at this resort and the sister resort The Royal Cancun. My son had never sailed before and thought that this was the best.
Cons: The fact that we stayed 2 weeks and had to move rooms, but the managers accomodated our specific requests.
Location: Beautiful beach, on main bus route, far from party area, swimming, sailing, boating, on site artists to help with crafts.
The resort is beautiful. Every room has a view of the pool/courtyard and most rooms have a view of the ocean. The suite had everything that we needed for the 2 weeks there, full kitchen, sleeping for 4, comfortable beds, dining area, balcony. The resort offered activities daily, crafts, kayak and sailboat usage. All the staff we encountered were extremely friendly and the management were very accomodating to our personal requests. Beautiful beach/sand area and palapas to hide from the sun under.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Place

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Second time to visit and want to go back! Pool and beach are fabulous.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from illinois

Great hotel, family friendly

Posted Mar 28, 2014
Had a great time. Great beach, great hotel, great service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Melissa from Long Grove, IL

Excellent!!

Posted Mar 28, 2014
Pros: Free snorkeling equipment rentals and free bike rentals as well. Very useful especially for quick visits to local restaurants.
Location: Restaurants near by and also a small shop to buy quick snacks.
First time visit to Cancun the hotel staff was very friendly and also very helpful. The ocean view from out suite was beautiful and much more than we expected. Pool water was very clean and did not sting eyes like other pools that have way too much chlorine. The prices for food within the resort are expensive but other than that we were very satisfied with the experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by ET from New York

Great stay and location for a good price

Posted Mar 26, 2014
Pros: Location, wifi access, quiet beach, pools
Cons: Shower pressure, variety of food
Location: Hotel is right behind a Mayan Museum. We were hoping to check it out but ended up not having time.
My boyfriend and I just stayed 4 days and 3 nights at The Royal Caribbean and enjoyed our time very much! It was my first time in Cancun and I would definitely stay there next time. Crowd is mostly older (senior citizens) and families, which was nice. Location - great location. 10-minute ride to the happening part of Cancun - easy via bus (bus stop right in front of hotel) or taxi ride that the hotel staff can arrange. Also a great beach - quiet and private, away from the Spring Breakers crowd. Facilities - building and grounds are clean and well-kept. Our room was very comfortable - gorgeous view of the ocean! Only two small complaints: hairdryer unit was not attached firmly to the wall and fell off with the slightest touch, and the shower was CRAZY STRONG - the pressure was really high and the bathtub drainage was slow so the water would accumulate in the tub. But other than that, we had no complaints with our room. Staff/service - love the staff! Especially the pool bar staff. Great service, friendly, super helpful. The only thing was we didn't realize there was no maid service on Sundays so we were surprised when we came back from a daytrip and our room was not made. Not a big deal but more of a heads-up would have been nice. Food - we only had breakfasts at the hotel. The buffet was the same every day but not bad - the eggs/pancakes station was good. We also ordered some food from the pool bar - the complimentary chips and salsa during happy hour was a great touch
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mike from Indy

Definitely worth the price except the 2-ft balcony

Posted Mar 25, 2014
Pros: Very nice Pools, Beach Bar was awesome for food and drinks. Inside bar was nice for chil'n and reasonably priced food. Well kept hotel. Good WiFi..!!
Cons: I would like to pay cash or card without running a room tab.
Location: Liquor store and restaurant across the main road. Away from the party scene but still close enough to enjoy by bus. Tons of excursions everywhere!
For my very first trip to Mexico, this was an awesome experience. Right at the peak of spring break, the Royal Caribbean was perfect for people my age (40's), because it wasn't a party fest. I love to drink and enjoy the experience but when I'm ready to chill, the Royal Caribbean was mellow enough to do just that. Plenty of seating around the pool or the beach especially in the evening. And no lines to wait in for drinks or food. Oh, and the drinks and food were very tasty. Just expensive. I stayed for 7 nights so the first day was taking a bus to Walmart to stock up on the essentials. This was a great plan as I quickly learned the bus system and the monetary system (pesos). The Royal has a store and everything else for creature comforts but everything has a price! If you want to hit the party scene it is very accessible w/in about 10-15 minutes using the bus...and that was the one cheap thing (about one dollar). If you don't party it's still fun for shopping and culture. I never eat mexican food at home but it was very tasty there. I hit a couple different authentic restaurants & totally enjoyed. Every room pretty much has an ocean view and it's to die for. Simply beautiful beach (fine white sand) and blue/green water. Exactly as the pictures show. Now the rooms aren't 5-Star but for the price it definitely works and in this part of the world you're not staying in your room much anyway. Totally worth it. I'll stay at the RC again but with a big balcony.