Ratings based on 377 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Jewel on the beach!

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Just got back and have only good things to say about the Royal Islander! I had read all of the previous reviews, most were spot on! This is a beautiful, quieter and more relaxing hotel. We actually checked out the two sister hotels, Carribean and Sands, and felt the Islander was the perfect fit for my family. All of the concierges were helpful and friendly. Every employee said hello to us. The place is constantly being cleaned and is immaculate! The room are spacious (4533-third fl), have everything you need to cook in (except dishwashing soap, which everyone said and I forgot!) and a huge balcony that faces the pool. Plus you can see the ocean, too! The Market on the premises was fairly priced (name brands tend to be pricey) . We got bread, milk and eggs for $2 each, However Florida Natural OJ was like $9. They have absolutely everything you could possibly need! We went to both Paco Tacos and Caya Largo and enjoyed all of the food! Prices were decent, service was excellent! The location is perfect for catching the local buses which run constantly and are so cheap (42 pesos for a fam of 4=$3) They will pick you up at the bus stop or along the road! Traffic moves very fast, lots of speed bumps...I am so glad we did not rent a car! We went up and down Kuklucan Blvd always by bus! Captains Cove restaurant was delicious, has outdoor dining and the sunset is amazing! Plenty of shopping to be found everywhere! Used the premises travel company to go to Tulum for the day (about 1.5 h
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Good place to stay

Posted Jul 22, 2015
Pros: Enjoyed the pool and its staff.
Cons: More staff around the pool area.
Location: With Thomas Moore Travel on site you can arrange to go on different excursions in the area. Great access to the beach and pool areas.
The Royal Islander is a great location for beach and pool resort. Their services of having the Royal Market and Thomas Moore Travel on site is a great asset.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

hotel muy agradable

Posted Jul 8, 2015
el unico problema q encontramos, fue que el dia sabado te asignan una nueva habtacion y por lo tanto tienes q volver a empaquetar todas la ropa para que te la trasladen a la proxima habitacion.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 9, 2015 by Cristóbal Galindo., Hotel Management
Estimado Huésped, Agradecemos que se haya tomado la molestia de escribir acerca de nuestro desarrollo. Nuestros departamentos de Inventario y Servicio a Huéspedes trabajan hombro a hombro para evitar en medida de nuestras posibilidades la mudanza de habitación pero esto no siempre es posible. Esta política está estipulada en la carta de confirmación que usted recibe al momento de hacer su reservación. Por favor acepte una sincera disculpa por los inconvenientes. De cualquier modo, esperamos que haya disfrutado sus vacaciones y que en su próxima visita nos de la oportunidad de recibirle. Nos esforzaremos aún más para recibir una reseña de 5 estrelllas en lugar de una de 4. Reciba un cordial saludo, esperamos verla de nuevo pronto.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland OR

Posted Jun 28, 2015
Small Hotel Feel. Big hotel options. Close to everything. Look forward to our next stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Posted Jun 26, 2015
Pros: Great location - right on the beach!
Cons: Facilities could be updated.
Location: Great trips to the ruins and snorkeling.
Great, helpful staff, especially Jorge at the Alamo desk!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from D

Best first family vacation experience.

Posted Jun 13, 2015
Loved it! A first for my girls to Mexico. Suite was awesome! Great family hotel & villa. Helpful staff. Perfect weather for us. Easy getting around in shuttles and great bus rides. Cancun hotel zone had everything we needed. Clean everywhere we went. Amazing tours.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fort Wayne IN

Very nice and quiet resort on the beach

Posted Jun 13, 2015
Pros: Very peaceful
I arrived four hours before check-in but the courteous staff checked me in anyway. My room was clean and looked very nice upon arrival. Beautiful view of the ocean. The ac worked very well and the shower had excellent water pressure. We stayed here for a week and it was always quiet and peaceful around the resort which is exactly what we wanted. When going to the pool and beach we never had a problem with finding available lounge chairs with umbrellas. There were plenty of restaurants in the resort to eat at although they are a little expensive. The staff were always nice and polite.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from los angeles

Deceptive and cold staff

Posted May 30, 2015
Near the beach. Quiet. Decent pools. Clean rooms. No room service. No food optoons after 10pm. Few restaurants. Must pay everything with room card. Staff is not accommodating, friendly, welcoming or honest. They are not helpful. They asked that I put a credit card down for a deposit in case of incidentals and I was REASSURED that once everything has been paid off and room cleared then I would be refunded the money. Not only did they not put a hold on the card, they charged it. When I checked out, they said they would have to charge me a small fee to refund the money that was taken from the card. I've stayed in many hotels with the deposit policy and I have NEVER been charged a cent.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

so so.....

Posted May 27, 2015
Pros: the availability to go to the beach straight from the hotel and the way the rooms are set up to have the beach view wherever you stay.
Cons: the attitude from the staff
Location: downtown wasn't a bad bus drive... used the bus quite a few times.
The hotel over all was nice... loved the room and view. Though the staff was horrible specially a guy that was at the reception area I believe his name was George. The bell boy we used when arriving and departing was awesome.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from NY

This hotel is awesome

Posted May 22, 2015
Pros: The view
Cons: All the expenses in the hotel come to room fee derectly in USD
Location: coco bongo
It's a good experience. The size, the view, the beach are all fantastic! Just this hotel does not accept pesos, which means u have to pay for the low exchange rate.