Ratings based on 322 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Auburn, NY

Great time!

Posted Apr 23, 2015
Hotel was very nice. No spring breakers. Staff was always helpful. Beach was excellent, though there was red flags on beach every day. Could only swim in one small area. That was fine though. Would like more dining choices, though the ones they have are very good. Best nachos ever!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Baja California, Mexico

El hotel y la ubicación excelentes.

Posted Apr 21, 2015
Pros: La ubicación y sus instalaciones.
Cons: Creo que todo esta bien, tal vez los precios.
Muy agradable, el único detalle que nos cambiaron de habitación el sábado y ya no fueron a limpiar nuestra habitación ya que el Lunes por la mañana salíamos de las instalaciones.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Michigan

Noisy room, recommended restaurants were not great

Posted Apr 19, 2015
Not too relaxing or refreshing. Restaurants that were recommended were not good. Resort sales push was strong. Room was beautiful and clean. Housekeeper was awesome. Check in was confusing and not helpful. We would recommend traveling elsewhere. Cancun is still extremely commercialized
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago, IL

Nice hotel w/restaurant, bar & grocery store

Posted Apr 15, 2015
Pros: Everything that is needed is there.
Cons: The lobby could use an update.
The Royal Islander is a comfortable hotel that has three restaurants, bar & grocery store on the premises.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Virginia

Great resort, friendly staff

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Pros: The layout was easy to navigate, very friendly staff, tours can be booked right from the lobby.
Cons: On-site restaurant prices were a little steep, but it is a tourist resort, so it was not surprising.
Location: Easy and cheap to get around by local bus at $1 per person. Convenient bus stops and safe. Kids loved the Explor Nightime excursion and snorkeling.
We stayed here Easter week for Spring Break with our two teenaged kids. Felt very safe, everything was conveniently located and the staff was wonderful. Kids enjoyed the beach, the pool, the tennis courts (racquets and balls are available at no charge). Especially liked the free use of beach towels and beach chairs. Kitchen was efficient for our breakfasts and lunches, and the water was safe to use for cooking and drinking.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 10, 2015
A wonderful surprise!!! Highly recommend. Beautiful facility and beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 9, 2015
Pros: 1) access to beach which was beautiful & clean 2) safe area with visible security presence Cons: 1) did not feel the staff were as friendly/welcoming compared to other venues 2) breakfast was very good but the restaurants were otherwise not appealing 3) not walkable but this is likely the nature of the hotel zone! location was somewhat far removed from other restaurants in the area Other: population were largely families with a lot kids....
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Feels like home, away from home

Posted Apr 7, 2015
Pros: Location, accommodations, good family place. Good space in the unit, for four guests. Dont feel cramped like in typical hotel room. Nice big balcony.
Cons: Party on neighbors deck went till 4am one night. Expected security would have closed it down much sooner. Quiet most other nights.
Location: Miles of white sand beach and all the activities that go with the beach life
Arrived Sun morn, room ready by 1p. Our second stay at Royal property, with 4+ family members. Great views of ocean. Nice pool. Great ammenities. They moved us on our 7th and 8th night to a new unit, which was just as nice. Really like the kitchen/dinning features included in the unit for eating in. Like the snorkel, tennis, bikes, etc that are all included at no extra fee.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Madison, WI

Nice hotel- great family vacation.

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Pros: Cleanliness, variety of leisure options, onsite grocery.
Cons: A daily schedule of activities would have been nice. I noticed that I missed pool trivia because I wasn't able to hear the announcement clearly.
Location: The city bus picks you up just down the street and it only costs $1 to take you downtown. Also, there is a very good Mayan museum next door.
We had a great stay at the Royal Islander last week, two adults, two 14 year old boys. I appreciated that the room came with a full kitchen, including all utensils, dishes, cookware, and cleaning supplies. The room was clean, the towels were soft, and we had a gorgeous view of the ocean. I especially appreciated that the hideaway beds for the boys were in the living room, not the master bedroom, so we were able to give them a bit of space at night. I had read about the grocery store being over priced, but I found it quite reasonable. For instance, I purchased turkey bacon, eggs, milk, tortilla chips, salsa, soda, and bread for around $20 USD- the same as I would pay in a grocery store at home. The staff was very friendly and even gave us a welcome bag of lotions that included aloe which was much needed later in the week. I don't have a single complaint- we really enjoyed our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom t

Excellent older hotel, great value

Posted Apr 1, 2015
Room was spacious and clean. Right on the beach. Would absolutely stay there again.