Ratings based on 154 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Aziz from New York

Vacation in Cancun

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: Big clean rooms, nice pool, great stuff.
Cons: The rule about changing room on Saturday is very bad. No one wants to change their room once they are in a vacation.
Great hotel, big space, nice location, great stuff. Pricing is very good too. The only thing that needs improving is the food in the restaurants inside the hotel. Other then that very pleasant experience.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It's a timeshare

Posted Apr 11, 2014
I didn't like we had to check out on Saturday and check back in into another room. They need to advertise it's a time share and rent out rooms for open time share rooms. The pool and rooms were nice and clean. Everything was charged to the room which you prepay with a credit card or cash.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Emmy from Colorado

Nice hotel on the beach

Posted Apr 10, 2014
Everything about the hotel was great! The hotel staff throughout the resort were super helpful and friendly!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sue from CT

Royal Islander: An Oasis of Calm from Spring Break

Posted Apr 9, 2014
Pros: I liked the beach atmosphere - soothing. The staff and food at the Caya Largo was excellent. Be sure to try the Sopa de Lima!
Cons: A large shaded are at the beach would be great for younger kids, or morning exercises.
Location: Amenities at all Royal resorts can be used. Massages, spa, gym, tennis, restaurants. Shuttle bus to town. Staff will arrange other activities.
I found the Royal Islander to be an excellent resort for a restful vacation. There was no Spring Break craziness to inconvenience the other visitors, for which I was thankful. The staff was excellent, ready to lend a hand, to teach you some Spanish, and make your stay as enjoyable as possible. Check in and check out was easy and painless. I loved the beach umbrellas with lounges, with beach waiters ready to take your order. The sound of the waves was soothing and the breeze refreshing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel away from the main drag

Posted Mar 26, 2014
Pros: The staff was friendly, hotel was clean and the amenities were all very close by.
Cons: I would say easy beach access would be my only improvement. You have to take a long staircase to get down and the stone they use is really slippery.
Location: You can go to the resort restaurants, or restaurants on the strip, the mayan museum or the ruinas of el rey!
Overall a great experience. We went during the holidays and to escape the cold winter. My wife was 6 months pregnant so it was convenient for us. They have a market within the hotel along with a few different restaurants, so you don't really need to leave the resort. The airport was close by, we could use the pool or go down to the beach. The mayan museum was a short walk away and el rey ruins were a short bus ride away.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dusty from Austin, Texas

Family Spring Break Vacation

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Pros: I liked the size of the room and the view of the pool and beach. Everything on the property looked to be well maintained.
Cons: The front desk was regularly understaffed so they were slow to address people. Be prepared to be place on hold if you call down to the desk.
Location: The beach in that area is outstanding. Access to city bus is a 5 minute walk. Closest offsite restaurant is at least a 15 min walk.
Awesome view of the pool and beach from the large outdoor patio. The space was ample in the living room and bed room. The two twin size murphy beds in the living room worked out perfectly for our teenage kids. The kitchen had all the basics we needed during our stay. We stayed Monday through Friday so we didn't run into the mandatory room change that apparently happens during the weekend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Tropical Resort Overlooking The Ocean

Posted Mar 15, 2014
Pros: Our hotel offers everything you want or need. The view from our villa overlooked the ocean, beach and pool area, breathtaking!
Cons: I can't think of anything to improve.
Location: We have gone snorkeling at a coral reef a few times which we loved and easily arranged at our resort. There are many great restaurants also.
My husband and I had an extremely relaxing vacation due to the great staff at our comfortable, beautiful resort. We spent our days enjoying the beach and the awesome pools.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Just ok

Posted Mar 13, 2014
Pros: Staff are helpful.
Cons: Should be better if had all-inclusive. Should be better if modify the changning room process.
Just got what you pay. Everthing is fine but just fine.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by hiro from ca

Good hotel for family.

Posted Mar 9, 2014
Pros: Quite and free wifi
Cons: For suttle bus to other group hotel, it is only every hour or more (late night). We want have more suttle bus frequently.
Location: The location is a little bit far from center location but its OK (meaning far from noizy and messy location.
This hotel is very good location and good for family. But walk in closet light has been flickkaring whatever after house cleaning. But room was clean and very confortable for everthihg.
Comment from
Jan 11, 2014
Dear Guest: Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Warm regards.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Karla from Iowa

Most beautiful beach and hotel stay

Posted Mar 3, 2014
Pros: The staff, the location, the beach, everything!
Cons: Shuttle to main road . . .it can be a long walk and steep hill for elderly
Location: Great restaurants near by, bars just a bus ride away, or you don't have to leave the resort as it provides great food, bars and traditional Mayan show
Expedia hit this one out of the park. Our room at this resort was located in the best area with the best view! We had better rooms than the timeshare owners! The drinks and food were tasty, the staff went out of their way to make us feel at home! We have been going here for 17 years! Plan on returning next ear if not sooner!
Comment from
Jan 11, 2014
Dear Guest: Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Warm regards.