Ratings based on 177 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Basic for a resort

Posted Jul 24, 2014
After many rave reviews I booked this hotel for our final night in Mexico before flying out. The hotel overall is a bit dated and the room itself, while good size and with nice views of the pool and sea, was really basic and sterile. The furniture and beddings seemed industrial strength and not very appealing. There was also none of the typical amenities like shampoo, coffee/tea or even bottled drinking water like most hotels of this rating provide. While the beach and pool were nice, the room and common areas left something to be desired.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mundelein, Il.

Quiet retreat with an awesome beach!

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Pros: The large room and huge balcony overlooking the ocean were awesome! We enjoyed the pool, many times we were the only ones in it!
Cons: no room switches! update the rooms/shower more food choices include family friendly activities/entertainment improve shuttle
Location: Royal Islander is in the hotel zone and not close to anything but other hotels. You have to take a taxi or public bus unless it is a tour.
We were very happy with the size of the room and the ocean view. We had a one bedroom suite for 2 adults and an 8 year old child. It had a very large balcony. We were always amazed that the pool was not crowded and you could always find a good spot around the pool in the shade. Turns out this facility has mostly adults of the senior set. There were no activities or shows to take part in except bingo and a cook out. The worst part was the move! This is a time share facility and the member stay runs Saturday to Saturday. Unless you arrive on that schedule, you will have to change rooms! I was not told this when I booked only when we checked in and it was a big inconvenience no matter what they say. We had a tour scheduled and had to wake up extra early and pack before our day trip. All of our belongings and valuables had to be trusted to the hotel. We could not take them with us on a dolphin swim. When we got back, it was late and we were tired and definitely did not want to unpack to be able to shower and change and go to bed. The employees were generally friendly and helpful and most spoke decent English. The food was OK and not a great variety and pricey for what you get.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 14, 2014
It was one amazing vacation in an outstanding hotel with some exceptions, the fact that it isn't all inclusive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Anaheim, CA

Great Vacation!

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: I loved the beach!
Cons: Maid service could have been improved. Also, I believe a business center should be provided!
Location: The location was a bit far from Downtown but you can walk to the road and take a bus for only 9 pesos into town.
We had a very nice time at the hotel. The room view was great on both sides. The beach was super clean. It was a very relaxing hotel compared to others I have been in Cancun. The room cleanliness was just ok as the maid service didn't really clean up other than a fresh set of towels and pick up the trash. Overall great experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Missouri

Pleasant resort with great views.

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Pros: This is a place I would take my family to.
Cons: Be more forthright when telling you what you will receive with your presentation. We were never informed we would have to purchase anything to receive
Location: The facility was located at the end of the hotel zone in a quite area. City buses where easily obtained to go where you wanted. Loved the beach.
Time passed to quickly. We did sit through the presentation and was promised a free week stay. We were given a certificate to use when we returned home for one free week at this resort next year. We were informed to give them three weeks to activate the certificate, at this time it still has not been activated. I would tell others to not believe them when they tell you what you will receive for attending their presentations. That was the only disappointment we had with this resort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Nice Hotel close to beach!!

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Friendly staff.. Beautiful views to beach & lagoon. Clean pool and beach. Restaurant staff where awsome!!! Will stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Back Again

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: I would say the quietness, but that did not happen on this trip.
Cons: More Security
Location: Great and everything
Fights, late night yelling, drunks. The worst time I have ever had at the Royal Islander, will go back. This hotel is our home away from home, even family fights too.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Back in Cancun

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: On All the hotel is one of the best to stay at in Cancun,
Cons: Bring back the part that you feel like family when you visit
Location: Great, Everything
The Royal Islander is our home away from home. We stay at least 9 weeks a year here or next door, this trip was sad, the staff is not allowed to talk to the guest anymore except for main staff, we have stayed with the royal group hotels for many years and were treated like family, this has changed. Every time we talked to other guest we got the same answer from everyone. The hotel needs to be fixed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 7, 2014
service and food are good, close to the town. overall is great place to relax
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Would deff go back to this place

Posted Jul 6, 2014
I was really pleased with the service, the staff is very friendly and the rooms are very clean! Didn't like the fact that they changed our rooms within our first day there, but it was only once and they advised us on our next booking to make sure we request for keeping our room. Overall, we had a great experience, staff is not bothering you with time share meetings, they offer but are not persistent like other places. I would deff return to this hotel, very pleasant!