Ratings based on 198 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

ok

Posted Nov 16, 2014
Not what I had in mind, but it was my fault for booking it. The hotel is good for families. NOt much to do. Very quiet ,, good for relaxation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 14, 2014
Only bad thing was that we didn't get treated that well cause we are not members here and we booked through a third party.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Probably better for time shares than hotel stays.

Posted Nov 11, 2014
Go somewhere else. Beach is okay, one pool, rooms are old but clean. However, no-cash policy (you have to put a credit card on file at the front desk) is obnoxious, atmosphere is terrible, and feels a little outdated and depressing. Might be a better choice for time shares where you make your own meals, etc. but as a hotel, it's worth it to spring for something a little newer/more updated/less depressing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ellensburg, WA

Beautiful beach even though the red flag was up!

Posted Nov 10, 2014
We had a good stay at the Royal Islander. It is pretty much your typical time share resort with a lot of "over 50" people there. Considering my husband and I are also in that category we were fine with it. Quiet and uncomplicated. The restaurants were pretty spendy but the food was good. (We would recommend the Blue Gekko that is just a little ways north and across the road for a cheaper alternative for lunch or dinner.) There is a very nice pool with a swim up bar. Pool towels were provided and were replicable everyday. The weather was a little blustery. The red flag was up at the beach every day we were there. People still went out in small groups and we had a great time. The beach is entirely sand- no coral or rock. Beautiful! Not a personal, cozy place but it is very nice for a time share location. Drinkable water from tap, toilet paper flushable (which is not so many other places!)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Maryland

Nice hotel for an excelent price

Posted Oct 31, 2014
I stayed with two other friends. The room was very nice and comfortable, the view was amazing. If you are young and are looking for parties at the hotel, maybe that's not your best option, the public were most families and seniors. The location is not the best either, it's a bit far from the night life of Cancun or dowtown, but there's taxis and public bus, so that's not such a big deal. The room change on Saturday didn't ruined our day, we just went to the reception and changed the rooms keys. Our second room wasn't so good as the first one, but since we're leaving the next morning it didn't matter. The staff was always helpfull. The pool was awesome and the beach just beautiful! I totally recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Brentwood, CA

Amazing hotel with super friendly staff

Posted Oct 11, 2014
I was a bit reluctant booking this hotel since I wasn't able to do an all inclusive with my package but this was the only place that had a one bedroom suite available during the period we were planning our vacation. But to my surprise, it was amazing. They charged everything directly to our room and we never had to use cash or our credit card while lounging on the beach or just chilling by the pool. We were able to use the same keycard in all the sister hotels as well as the restaurants on the strip. The service was incredible. It was as though we were all inclusive. Our maid was Raul and he was so much fun. He would lay out the pillows on the sofa into faces and such and made the kids laugh everytime we returned from our day on the beach. He always made sure we got what we needed. Maintenance was quick and efficient. We will absolutely book this place again on our next visit.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 26, 2014
It's a pretty decent hotel - not amazing but all I needed for the night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by steve chubinfrom colorado

Posted Aug 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
excellent;beautiful place. wonderful service
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom seattle Washington

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Nice ,,i love it because not so many rules us other hotels
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Ceciliafrom Boston, USA

EXPENSIVE food!!

Posted Aug 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel can be ok but I can't belive how expensive and simple the food is in the restaurants and this is not a luxury hotel. They have a small supermarket and you can't pay cash, has to be charched to your hotel bill. Long line to get towels and to bring them back at the pool area, you have to sign when you return them if you don't, they will be charged to your check. No coffee in the room but they have coffee maker so you have to buy the coffee in their super market if you want to have a cup of coffee in your room. No shampoo in the bathroom, all hotels provide it, not this one. If you want to go out walking you can't, you need to pay a taxi to get to the street, there is no way you can walk the long distance to get to the side walk. A good thing that I can say is that the room was very clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 25, 2014 by Juan Galindo, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time to post about our resort. We always strive to provide our customers the highest satisfaction levels available and we're sorry to learn we did not achieve this goal with you. We consider that our prices are competitive with the other restaurants in the surroundings, this also applies to the prices in The Royal Market. We have a serious commitment with the communication of all our services' limitations reason why we provide the information flyer at the checkin. We will revise our processes and make sure this misunderstanding won't happen ever again. Management is currently reviewing your comments so that our service may improve. Warm Regards.