Ratings based on 579 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great family resort

Posted Oct 17, 2014
Pros: Size of rooms, balconies, great beds for Mexico. Nice yoga.
Cons: Signing for everything was a drag. Made all inclusive feel less so.
Location: Beach
Good service, comfortable beds, clean, very good food. Great beach. Nice sports bar. Downer was the weird combo of all inclusive and time share and you had to sign for everything.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago

Very nice hotel accommodations.

Posted Oct 16, 2014
Hotel service was great. Rooms were a little dated, but good size and clean. Food was very good as well. We will definitely be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Will definitely go back

Posted Oct 8, 2014
Been to Cancun 3x and this trip was my first in an all inclusive. I read so many reviews before I picked The Royal Sands. All 7 of us had a great time and all wanted to go back next year at this hotel. The location is amazing, 2 blocks away from the mall and another 10 min walk from another huge mall, 5-10 minutes away from Playa Delfines, which is an amazing beach. The staff was soooo nice, the lobby receptionists were so accommodating, buffet was great, drinks were over flowing non stop from the moment we woke up, the pool was huge and beautiful with pool bars, the beach at the hotel was gorgeous. Can't wait to go back next year
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chula Vista, CA.

Gorgeous view of the beach

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Pros: The view from our room, the great service & the friendly staff.
Cons: The AC was noisy & would go off every 5 minutes, made it difficult to get a good night sleep.
Location: Centrally located in the hotel zone, close to public transporation. Lots of activities to do...jet ski, speed boats, snorkeling.
Friendly & courteous staff. The food was great. They had a different theme each night, so you never get tired of the food. Room was very nice & the housekeeping staff did a great job of cleaning everyday. The pool was great, always kept clean by the staff. I would definitely recommend this hotel to my friends & family.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York city

Royal Sand Vacation

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Pros: Hospitality. I love their staff and they way they treated us while we were there.
Cons: the food. please lower the salt a little bit
Location: Location is perfect and there is a lot to do.
Overall my vacation was good. I really had a pleasure to meet nice people. I specially remember Jose Ruis who helped me a lot. My girlfriend and I enjoyed a lot the beach and their big and nice swimming pool. Their staffs are great they do everything to make you feel good. Heading to the hotel and returning to the airport was perfect too, no delays. My only disappointment was that the food was a little bit salted for my taste. The location of the hotel is also perfect, close to everything.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toledo, Ohio

Great time at the Royal Sands

Posted Oct 5, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff, clean, great beach and food. Drinks were not watered down,
Cons: Not having to sign slips of paper every time you ate or drank something. Rooms were a little outdated, but always very clean.
Location: Malls and clubs, water activities.
First time at the Royal Sands, we (my husband and I) will definitely return. This is a time share resort that did not give us the high pressure come on every time they saw us. The food and service was outstanding. Beach was fabulous, they keep it clean, and many palapas(?) to sit and enjoy the beach. Beautiful pools that are kept very clean. We were there for two weeks.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose, CA

Yes, nice hotel, close the beach, convenience

Posted Oct 5, 2014
Pros: All the staff very nice, except the receptionist when we checked in and out. We want to keep the keys for Souvenirs, but we couldn't have them.
Cons: The B room should have the computer table also.
Location: it is perfect location.
I am proud to stay here for my vacation. I will come back Cancun when we have chance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from t

Luxury hotel at a fraction of the cost

Posted Oct 4, 2014
Everything from the white sandy beaches to the food/drinks to the hotel staff was exceptional. Above and beyond what I expected!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis, IN

Nice family resort

Posted Oct 1, 2014
Pros: Nice, quiet environment. Staff is great. Time share folks are nice. All-inclusive folks are nice. Kiddie pools are separated from adult pools.
Cons: The shuttle service takes forever to get anywhere. Pay a couple extra bucks and get a taxi instead of waiting around and enjoy your vacation.
Location: Visit the firehouse next to the luxury mall and ask for t-shirts. They are $25 each and the money goes to a good cause. EAT OUTSIDE AT CAPTAINS COVE.
Overall, my fiancé and I had a lovely time at the resort. We arrived on a Saturday so we did not need to switch rooms. After reading reviews on Expedia we were a bit concerned with the time share aspect of the resort. All of our fears were unfounded. The resort is lovely. No one was pushy about becoming a member. Everyone made sure we were taken care of at all times. If you want filet mignon and lobster when you are out to dinner at one of the restaurants affiliated with the Royal resorts it may cost you an additional $10 but who cares? The people on here ranting like lunatics from an insane asylum are a bunch of self-entitled pricks because they want to shove all kinds of steaks and lobsters in their pie holes and then complain on the internet because it cost them $10 extra. Seriously? Also, they do not always need your room key and they do not always hold on to your room key. If you just tell them your room number that is sufficient. The staff was great. The time share folks, as you would expect, are an older crowd. No one gave us crap because we were not members and we had an all-inclusive package. Everyone we met was nice. EVERYONE. It was almost disappointing. Beach views from every room. We were very impressed. We went during the rainy season but it did not rain much. Swim up bars are nice. The beach is nice. The ocean is nice. The pools are nice. The resort in general is just a nice place. Highly recommend. Would go again. In fact, we are, next year.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Excellent Service

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Pros: Large pools and clean rooms
Cons: Rooms are slightly dated but nothing major. Pool bar could stay open a little later.
Staff was excellent. Very nice resort with large pools and nice beach. Food was very good compared to other all-inclusive resorts.