Ratings based on 794 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Heated pool with beautiful views of the ocean

Posted Feb 26, 2015
Pros: Heated pool, Captain’s Cove restaurant, friendly staff
Cons: Maid service showed up to clean at 4:30 everyday when we were getting the family ready for dinner and again at 8:30 pm when getting the kids to bed.
We had such a great experience with Expedia as well as the hotel. The one reason that I chose this hotel was because it had a heated pool, and it certainly did not disappoint. My three kids had a fabulous time in the pool and it was warm enough for mom to join them whenever they asked. We had the full suite (both A and B) and had plenty of room for the five of us. I was a bit concerned after reading a few reviews about the high pressure for buying a time share, but no one bothered us at all. A comment card was left in our room telling us we had a complementary spa treatment as well as a discount on an excursion, but we never took them up on the offer. That may have been the reason they left us alone, or the fact that we checked in at the smaller front desk on the quiet side by the smaller pool. People did save seats at the pool and by the beach, but if your up by 8am you will be fine. The beach lifeguards were wonderful and kept us safe while playing in the huge waves. Food was good, not great, and would highly recommend a dinner reservation at Captain’s Cove for the sunset. You need to call for a reservation at 8 am, but we didn’t have any problems getting in the two nights we wanted to dine there. Our fridge was stocked every day with whatever we needed, and room service was a huge bonus. Tips were not expected, but we opted to tip $5 for most things. Staff was helpful and friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Pennsylvania

Nice hotel with friendly and accomodating staff

Posted Feb 26, 2015
Pros: Zeus was an amazing concierge. Very pleasant and so helpful. See him if you need anything. The food was outstanding at all of the restaurants.
Cons: We followed the eco friendly rule about the towels being hung to use again but housekeeping kept giving us fresh ones. Not a problem but not necessary
Our last stay in Cancun was 2 years ago at a smaller resort. This year felt like we were in Disney. I can't imagine there being more families with small children in Orlando. Our bad. Now we know adults only resorts for us moving forward. Once we figured things out we were able to make things work for us. The rooms are quite spacious. Amazing ocean views. All restaurants, including off-site, were excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Clean and people very cute ! All inclusive it s very nice . Family : 2 adult and 2 children !! Top top top Thanks so much
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego

Very Rude employees

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Pros: When I was checking online, the price was nice, the "all inclusive" had me. The swimming pool and beach is nice too
Cons: the attitude of the employees
Location: the hotel is located in the main street of Cancun, everything is near but there are so many hotels in the same street I would never recommend this one
I went with my friends for my bachelorette party and treated us like if we did not pay for the room. Some of my friends were not included in the package but paid the 500 dollars they were asking for to have the "all inclusive" bracelete and to be able to sleep in the hotel with out any problems. The employees were calling very early morning at 8am to find out how many people were staying in the room. Also, when we asked for room service they refused to take us some items that were in the menu, limited us the alcoholic beverages and even the extra towels!!! Worst place ever to go with a group of people for a special celebration
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Nice Hotel for Families

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Pros: Family oriented. Plenty activities for the kids.
Cons: Room Service was terrilble had to wait for more that 20 mins. Drinks limited (Wine and beer). The Wine was horrible (Cheap WIne). Took one sip.
Location: Eating and Shopping
I went here for my Honey Moon. Had a good Time. but for a honey Moon it is not a good idea. Not adult activities. Pool bar closes early. At the bar there is not enternainmet at all.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Union City, TN

Wonderful hotel!!

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: Everything!!
Hotel was kept immaculate. We had wonderful service also. Views were beautiful. We enjoyed ourselves very much and will definitely be back, I would highly recommend this resort!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom south carolinia

Fabulous resort right on the beach

Posted Feb 22, 2015
Had a wonderful time. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Went on a short girls get away this would not be the place I would go back to for that kind of a trip but when I bring my kids and husband this is definitely where we will stay. Great family place!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom long island ny

Posted Feb 22, 2015
we had a great time. It was absolutely wonderful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The best so far

Posted Feb 22, 2015
We were impressed in all regards by our 10 day stay at the Royal Sands, in particular the excellent and friendly service, the outstanding food and the impeccable cleanliness. The beach in one of the best in Cancun and the three rows of huts with nice beach chairs is the best on the long line of resorts in the that area. Perhaps the mix of all-inclusive and time share guests is part of the reason the service is so good and friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Rochester, NY

Great hotel for a relaxing vacation

Posted Feb 22, 2015
Pros: Great service, friendly staff, authentic mexican cuisine was fantastic, great location, clean. Hacienda Sisal brunch and dinner is fantastic.
Cons: Matresses were very hard, not comfortable. International cuisine (buffet dinners) has much room for improvement.
Location: Right on the ocean, daily activities on site, plenty of tours and adventure nearby (ziplining, jungle hike, dolphin swim, etc).
My husband and I stayed at the Royal Sands and had a fabulous time. The staff was outstandingly accommodating and friendly. While the international cuisine was sub-par, we could not get enough of their authentic Mexican cuisine. The hotel is located right on a well kept beach with plenty of chairs and shade if you get out early enough. Most of the guests were either families with young children or retired couples. While we are couple in our late twenties, this did not bother us since we came to relax. There are plenty of daytime activities for those who wish (beach volleyball, Zumba, yoga, etc.) and the workout facilities were nice. There is little nightlife on location if that is what you are looking for, but it is a great place to relax and soak up the sun. All other guests were friendly without being intrusive. If you plan on eating at the other hotel restaurants, make sure you arrive at the shuttle 30 minutes in advance to reserve a spot (something that was not told to us initially). Also be sure to confirm reservations at El Conquistador at the neighboring hotel, as ones made with the concierge can be mixed up (ours was not recorded).