Ratings based on 499 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect family vacation

Posted Jul 29, 2014
We visited with my 4 kids and grandson and it was simply Excellent
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oklahoma

Nice hotel, close to the beach.

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: Access to the beach/ocean. Centralized location. Every single staff member we encountered was polite and helpful. They took very good care of us.
Cons: Nothing as far as I am concerned.
Location: Centralized between airport and downtown. Close to Captain's Cove and up the street from Congo Bongo, Senor Frogs and Marguaritaville.
The hotel exceeded our expectations. We requested an ocean view room and had an amazing view. Walked to the ground floor and right out to the beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Very nice hotel,

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Pros: People were friendly and worked hard to make our vacation awesome. It was a beautiful place and the food was good. The workout classes were great!
Cons: More help at the poolside bar. The bartenders seemed very overworked. The workout space for the workout classes could be larger.
Location: The "Jungle Tour" was a lot of fun. You get to drive a small mother boat, two people to a boat, out to the ocean and then go snorkeling on a reef.
We had a one bedroom suite which had a king sized bed, a living room area with a couch and two twin sized Murphy beds, kitchenette, balcony overlooking the pool and with an ocean view. We got an all inclusive deal which included all the food you could eat and all the drinks you wanted. There are two restaurants on site along with poolside bars and grills. There are also really good restaurants off site at the other Royal resorts that are included in the all inclusive package. The restaurant at the hotel that had breakfast, lunch and dinner, served a buffet and also had a menu that could be ordered from. Service and food was good. The water at the Royel resorts is filtered through their own filtering system so it is safe to drink and they also give you bottled water. The other restaurants we were able to go to as part of our package were Mexican, Italian and Seafood. All were really good! The hotel provided shuttles to these restaurants. There are two pools at the resort and tennis courts and there is a large pool for little ones. The beach and water are gorgeous. Our only complaint was the concierge kind of tricked us into going to their new resort in Playa de Carmen. She got us interested in the resort by telling us about the reef there for snorkeling, and the good shopping in town. She then told us that there was free transportation there, but only if we agreed to listen to a 90 minute talk on their time-shares. The talk ended up taking 3 hours of our time all together.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Paradise!

Posted Jul 21, 2014
It was a wonderful hotel! The food, staff, shopping, and rooms were magnificent. Take the time to go to the other restaurants- Captain's Cove, El Conquistador- it is a short shuttle ride and well worth it. The staff was amazing- I never pulled out a chair or opened a door. Yes, we did tip everyone but the staff were excellent even before we saw the ticket. The view from our balcony was beautiful, and the balcony itself was huge. Only drawback was there was only one elevator so you almost always waited. Would definitely go back to the Royal Sands!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from s

Well worth it

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Great food drinks sites pool was excelleant, staff friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, Calf.

Great family vacation, pure relaxation!

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Pros: The Cleanliness is beyond.
Cons: Their food selection.
Location: The Royal Sands is very centralized to the hotel district. A lot of places within walking distance.
I highly recommend this hotel to everyone, especially those traveling as families. The Royal Sands is a beautiful property and extremely clean. The staff works very hard to maintain the facility and make everyone feel welcomed. The only thing that I would have to mention is the food. They do not have a big variety of choices in food. On site they only have one restaurant and the selection is minimal. The buffet seemed to be the same everyday. There are 3 restaurants off site that you would have access to that are ok. But other than that, this place is FABULOUS!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

ALL INCLUSIVE IS USELESS

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Pros: Good Location
Cons: SERVICE SERVICE
Service is horrible. Seems being all inclusive staff has no need to provide good service. Staff was rude and seemed all they were interested in was selling time shares. Had to wait hours to get service at the beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Syracuse, NY

This is Paradise

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Pros: Everything was perfect
Cons: Nothing
Location: Shopping in La Isla two bus stops away, Captains Cove for dinner is amazing.
From the moment we walked in until the time we left we felt like royalty. Everything wan clean, maid came twice a day. Did not have a bad meal the entire stay, everything we ate was amazing, all restaurants were excellent, couldn't go wrong with anything. Rooms all have an amazing view. Staff is hard working and cater to every need. No complaints to give.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cleveland, Ohio

Great vacation!

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Everything about this place was great..Food was good,.clean huge room and the staff was really nice.only complaint is that the shuttle bus was not at the airport for me when I got to Cancun airport.i had to catch a cab and pay more then I intended.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nashville, TN

Time Share! Not set up for All-Inclusive Yet!

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: The pool, beach, La Veranda were excellent!
Cons: The rooms should be set up for families and couples.
Location: All the excursions are at least a 45 minute drive!!! I do mean all!
This is a beautiful "time share" resort. All inclusive option is fairly new since last year only. They are still working out a lot of kinks....such as a married couple having to push two beds together to make one. The rooms are set up for time share suites, so since we are only two people, we got the half with two beds. They didn't fix, just pushed beds together for us. Give them a few years understand what a real all inclusive is. Please don't make the same mistake we did. We saw similar reviews to this, but we didn't listen. I even called the resort after I saw the reviews and asked about it being a time share and I was told it wasn't. The resort seemed to bend over backwards for "members" but not for all inclusive "non member" guests. The pool, the beach, the overall scenery is wonderful, though. There is only one restaurant there that is open for bfast, lunch, and dinner. La Veranda was excellent, but there should be more options. The sports bar hold weird hours and seemed mostly used for time share propaganda. There was, also, not enough seating in there. A personal concierge greeted us at our door when we arrived. We thought she was there to help us, but she was there to promoted attending a time share class and conference. This resort would make a great time share! We just weren't prepared for that, and I don't like feeling like someone is trying to pull one over on me. We still had a great time. I would not recommend this resort if you are a married trying to relax.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2014 by Juan Galindo, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Than, you for taking time to post about our resort. As you point out: our resort is a mixed use resort and does lend itself to a few challenges .There are different room setups in our resort and we're sorry to learn we haven't been able to communicate this opportunely in order to give you the room you wanted and would love to use. Our policy dictates that our host must treat equally both our members and visitors and we'll make sure to enface this policy properly so no one of our customers share this experience. There are several restaurants available for you to choose, but they're not in the premises. However: a shuttle that takes you to all of the other resorts and locations is available on request. The schedules are available at front desk. Finally: personal concierge's leitmotif is to provide assistance at our guests. Department in charge is currently reviewing this information since being pushy or rude is not a behavior we encourage nor consent. We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon during your next vacation at Mexican Caribbean. Warm regards.