Ratings based on 868 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Home away from home

Posted Apr 24, 2015
We have been renters there since right after they opened and have continued to return. The resort is top notch and the staff is exceptional!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom a

nice hotel

Posted Apr 21, 2015
very close to the beach very clean, staff are great, restaurants are clean food was delicious, we stay there for a whole week, this resort its amazing the view from room are simple the best, a place to must come back, next year
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful villas, very spacious, wonderful staff!

Posted Apr 21, 2015
We had a fabulous time at The Royal Sands, the staff was very helpful with planning our day trips, the maid was wonderful, the all inclusive is definitely the way to go! We had several options for eating at our resort and the sister resorts, Captain's Cove is a must for dinner! We will definitely return!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Minnesota

Posted Apr 17, 2015
Moving on Saturday was a HUGE hassle and I got the run around from the hotel staff. Checking in took over an hour and room service couldn't really understand English! The rooms and facilities were clean, aside from those 3 negatives we had a pleasant stay
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom California

Great place to stay!

Posted Apr 16, 2015
Was a little hesitant when booking because of a few negative reviews I had read - but I would not hesitate to stay here again. Check in was fast, the location is beautiful, just a 5 minute drive from the party area of Cancun. There's no jacuzzi, but the pools are large, and warm. The place is exceptionally clean. The staff is very helpful and professional. Some reviews said the food wasn't that good. We stuck to the casual restaurant the whole time since the other restaurants require reservations and have a dress code. I don't really care for all inclusive packages since I like to eat at a variety of places, but this hotel changes the main dishes each night of the week just in their main buffet / restaurant, and that was enough to satisfy me. I'm picky with food, but don't mind eating non gourmet meals. Some things had sat out too long in the buffet warmer and were getting stale, but most of the food was good. It wasn't bad enough for me to complain since there were plenty of options. There were also roughly 10 other restaurants that were part of the all inclusive package, some were at other resorts. My only gripe was the fact that Saturday stayovers may require a room change. I knew about this from reviews, and was told this upon check in. But it is an inconvenience. The place is a timeshare that fills rooms with hotel guests. Not sure why room changes need to take place, but that's really my only complaint.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great food!

Posted Apr 16, 2015
Good location, excellent services, great food, and wonderful swimming pool bar.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Wisconsin

Great All Inclusive in Wonderful Spot

Posted Apr 14, 2015
Pros: Well Run, Pleasant, helpful staff. Our whole group, parents and kids alike, enjoyed their stay
Location: Enjoyed going to several nearby restaurants and the Market 29 Flea Market
We went to The Royal Sands for a senior trip with parents and kids and really enjoyed our stay. The staff was attentive and friendly. There was something for everyone to have enjoy. The food was great. There were a number of good restaurants to choose from or room service if so inclined. Service was wonderful at all levels. We will go again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Beautiful location, beautiful beach

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Pros: Very clean, friendly staff,
Cons: Update rooms. Allow all inclusive residents to make reservations to restaurants ahead of time.
We had a great time with our family of 6 at the Royal Sands. The 2 bedroom villa worked well for our family. Staff was very nice. Do not go to their presentation to encourage you to buy a time share....waste of time. My biggest frustration was trying to make reservations at the restaurants within the royal resorts. We never got to eat at Captain's Coves because we could not get a reservation....even though our concierge promised we would get in. When I tried to call myself, I could not get through to anyone and by the time I actually was able to talk to a person, no reservation times were available. Other than the restaurant issue...loved our stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Pros: The best thing about the hotel was the size of the rooms. We are a family of 5 and find it very difficult to sleep us all comfortably at a hotel.
Cons: One thing to improve would be to eliminate the signing of a bill ($0) each time you eat or drink when you are on an all inclusive package.
Location: The location was great. It was not too far from the airport and it was in close walking distance to the mall.
Our stay at the Royal Sands was wonderful. The rooms were spacious, the staff was very friendly, and the resort was a good size (not too big, but big enough that it was over crowded).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom WI

Beautiful hotel

Posted Apr 11, 2015
Hotel in great condition. Right on the beach. 2 large pool areas. Rooms were spacious and very clean (had the 2 bedroom suite for family of 5). Family friendly. Food very good--had access to offsite restaurants as well. Staff very helpful and attentive--checked in with us daily to assist with restaurant or activity reservations.