Ratings based on 716 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom troy, mi

A beautiful hotel

Posted Dec 19, 2014
Hotel with all accessories, but need more bars and night life.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom salt lake city

Great pool and beach. Horrid rooms and food.

Posted Dec 18, 2014
Bathroom stunk, was very small. Bed was very uncomfortable. The food was also not good! The pool and beach and staff were great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom OHIO

Great facilities, pools and beach

Posted Dec 17, 2014
Pros: Pools. Room service breakfast is also GREAT!
Cons: Moving process.
Location: Cenacola at Kukulcan Mall is a great restaurant. Also for a great dinner try Lahabichuela Sunset just north of the mall, easy walk.
Can't beat the heated pools and all the beach space with palapas. Pool and beach staff were great especially Mario. Also great to have the store on premise for incidentals, good wine and whatever you need. On Expedia it says you MAY need to change rooms if your stay overlaps a Saturday. I aksed the front desk and they gave me the look that you WILL have to move on Saturday. OK then but I had to call at 11:40 before they showed up and the time frame given was 11:00 to 11:30. Both units were fine and had a south facing balcony which is a great advantage in December. Only other comment is that breakfast, like most all inclusives is the best meal of the day. Ceviche on the beach was very good though. Tip: Use the ATM at Kukulcan mall for pesos but the resort did not provide a "bad" exchange rate.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom d

Great hotel!

Posted Dec 17, 2014
We had a blast! Beautiful beaches with 2 separate swimming pools and 3 swim up bars.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Portland Or

Stay of a lifetime

Posted Dec 16, 2014
Pros: The hotel, the grounds, the amenities were wonderful, and words can't describe how great the staff was. Great restaurants too.
Cons: I can't think of anything to improve. We felt like royalty at the Royal Sands'
Location: Great location. Shopping, eating, touristing all nearby.
Couldn't have had a better place to stay. Beautiful, beautifully maintained, so clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing

Posted Dec 16, 2014
Location: A lot of restaurants near by
Great staff, everyone was really nice. Hotel always kept clean!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great vacation.

Posted Dec 16, 2014
Good: value, clean facilities, friendly staff. Bad: smoking people on the beach are annoying, especially cigars, which take forever and trash the breeze. Food is so-so, abundant, but not so much diversity. No fruits during lunch.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Philadelphia

Beautiful resort!

Posted Dec 15, 2014
Pros: food, cleanliness, staff, bar tenders
Excellent resort! My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon the first weekend in December. Attentive wait staff (both in restaurants and at the pool), knowledgeable concierge (thanks Jose Luis!), and very clean rooms and facilities. We had the Refine all-inclusive package and the food was great and the drinks were too. My only (very minor) complaint is having to sign a receipt for every meal we ordered - it seems excessive. But overall, we had a fantastic time and would come back again in the future!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Lincoln, NE

Great staff, beautiful pool, needs updating

Posted Dec 14, 2014
Pros: Pool, staff, food
Cons: Needs updating, tipping is included but still seems expected, more food options
My wife and our two kids (8 mos. and 4 yrs.) just returned from our stay at The Royal Sands. Overall, this is a fantastic resort. Here's a little breakdown of the highs and lows: Location: Great - close to the airport, great beach. Food: The options on site are limited. There is a sports bar, a poolside grill, and the catch-all restaurant: La Veranda. We ate mostly at La Veranda and were never disappointed. The buffet was great, there was always a cook that would make food to order, ordering off the menu was great as well. I wish there were more options on site, but we were always pleased with our meals. Staff: Excellent in every way. Every person was pleasant and helpful. Kids Club: Excellent staff and my son had fun. The only frustration is that very few children attended (which the hotel can't control) - but there were times where my son would have been the only kid there. Grounds: Beautiful and clean. The pools really are outstanding. Frustrations: They are minor. Timeshare component: The fact that this is a timeshare resort means that many of the people are not on an all-inclusive option. Because of that, there seemed to be a greater pressure to tip at every turn than I have experienced at other resorts. This pressure was probably mostly self-inflicted, but it was there nonetheless. The timeshare piece also adds an odd vibe to the place - I can't really describe it but the fact that some people treat it like home while others see it as a one-off vacation, made
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Araraquara

Altamente recomendável.

Posted Dec 12, 2014
Pros: Do serviço em geral, desde de o atendimento dos pedidos até a limpeza.
Cons: Mais atrações para crianças.
Hotel de muito bom nível, com quartos amplos e confortáveis e todos com vista para o mar. Comida de excelente qualidade e variedade. Serviço de praia muito conveniente com comidas e bebidas levadas até o hóspede conforme o pedido. Equipe muito bem treinada e atenciosa. Apesar de ser um time share, não fomos importunados por vendedores insistentes.