Ratings based on 411 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mary from Detroit, MI

Wonderful vacation!

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Pros: Everything! The atmosphere, the clientele, the courteous employees, the food, the drinks, the pool, the ocean!
Cons: Be nice if the all-inclusive guests didn't have to switch rooms to accommodate the owners but it's understandable that it's sometimes unavoidable.
Location: Mall very close and Hacienda Sisal right next door. Public buses are an easy way to get anywhere in Cancun.
Family of four stayed for 6 nights at the beginning of April. Room was very big and very clean. The huge balcony was great. Kids loved having there own room (and so did we!). Entire resort was beautifully landscaped and spotless. Service at all of the restaurants and bars was great. Fitness Center was one of the best I've seen--it had cardio equipment, free weights, weight machines, and another room with three spinning bikes, mats for yoga, and a heavy bag. Had the all-inclusive package and found no problem with our service compared to the service that the owners received. Lounge chairs were readily available. We stayed mostly in the "Phase I" pool area. The "Phase II" area seemed a little more low key. The food was excellent. We went to the Captain's Cove, Hacienda Sisal, and La Veranda for dinners. Stuck to the Char Hut for lunches. The food there was really good. The burgers, ceviche, and nachos were all really good. A couple of days we sat at the Char Hut and the other days our server brought our food to us while we were on our lounge chairs. We brought our own insulated cups for drinks and they had no problems with putting our beverages in them for us. As for the timeshare pitch--we simply told them we were not interested and they left us alone for the rest of the trip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Chris from DC

Nice resort right at the beach

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Pros: Spacious suite, beautiful beach view, delicious food, free wifi.
Cons: More advice on outside activities.
Location: At the middle of hotel zone, one block to a shopping mall and working distance to another. Bus takes you to nearby museums, restaurants, activities.
We are very happy with the resort. Family-friendly, spacious suite for a family of four or six. Beach is clean, full of activities for people who don't want to go out. Food is good. Only one block to a shopping mall, and within walking distance to another. Staff are helpful in arranging tours.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Gem on the Beach

Posted Apr 21, 2014
The Royal Sands was a fantastic all-inclusive getaway for our family of 5. The staff is hands down the friendliest I have ever encountered and they helped make the stay the best it could be. The pools are spacious and just the right temperature. The beaches were extremely clean and the sand beautiful. The meals were excellent and the drinks were plentiful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kim from Charleston, SC

Resort/Spa located right next to a beautiful beach

Posted Apr 20, 2014
Pros: Great location, beautiful view, nice rooms, great staff, and great food. Offered all inclusive package which included all our meals and drinks.
Cons: Would not change anything, it was perfect for us!
Location: So much to do not enough time. Plenty of shopping, beach access, and lots of different excursions (scuba, jungle, Mayan, dolphins, explore, parasail)
Perfect place for couples or families to go. We went as a family of 5 (2 adults and 3 teenagers) and had a wonderful vacation. Amazing view of the beach from our balcony. Hotel was very clean with maid coming in twice a day. All staff at the resort were extremely friendly and helpful. Resort has a beautiful pool and access to the beach is right outside of the hotel just past pool area. Lounge chairs and cabanas are located on beach for use and drinks and food can be served to you while at the beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by gina from chicago

Great hotel, horrible food!

Posted Apr 18, 2014
I love this hotel, the pool the beach view is absolutely amazing. The only down side is that the food is horrible. Some of the food is inedible, I couldn't even force myself to eat it, instead we bought food and cooked. The staff is amazing here it just sucks about the food
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by P from Atlanta

Nice resort with decent All-Inclusive Package.

Posted Apr 18, 2014
Pros: Beach is excellent. Good choice of restaurants and multiple properties.
Cons: keep a bar open past midnight.
Location: If you go to Cancun, see a piece of history, and visit a Ruin. Also, leave the hotel and visit a seaside cafe. Try the ceviche.
Nice clean up to date hotel. This resort is not an All-Inclusive resort however, there are EP visitors alongside ALL-Inclusive visitors, so you have to use your room key to charge things (for $0), and this did slow down service somewhat. We had some complaints, and the staff was very responsive and quickly remedied them.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from minnesota

Posted Apr 17, 2014
Best vacation we've ever been on! Resort was ckean. Wonderful staff. Fantastic food. Cant wait to go back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by CLAA from LA, CA

Beautiful beachfront hotel. All inclusive

Posted Apr 17, 2014
Excellent food at the captain cove, hacienda sisal. The buffet at veranda is average. You have to show your room key And sign receipts even though you have the bracelet for the all inclusive. Overall a very good experience in cancun, loved the white sand and the beautiful views but the beach has rough waters so you can't swim too far. A good place for families and there were no spring breakers. The activity center for kids is for 4-12 years old so I couldn't leave my 2 year old baby. Still, I would come back:)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Julie from Vancouver, BC Canada

Family Vacation

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: The resort was just the right size. It took us 5 minutes to get to the pool or 7 minutes to the beach. Location was the best!
Cons: We were part of the all inclusive, but was approached on the 2nd day to attend a Time Share meeting. We did for 90 minutes to get discounts.
Location: We walked to the Luxury Mall, next door & Isla Shopping Center. With a stroll & 4 year old it took us 15 minutes. We took the local bus into town.
Awesome holiday to celebrate my husband's 40th birthday. We took our 4 yr old & 15 month old boys who had a great time. Our villa was great. 1 BR- large, clean & had a great view of the ocean & pool. We liked having the kitchen but really didn't need it. The only thing I could complain about was the air conditioning system was old & loud when it was on. Service was fantastic. Everyone was friendly & cheery. Room service & the bell boys were punctual. Our maid cleaned our messes & they never pressured us to leave a tip etc. For breakfast La Veranda restuarant served our needs. For lunch we at the pool side bar or ordered on the beach. For dinner we took advantage of eating at Hacienda Sisal & Captains Cove. No problems with making a reservation & the food was delicious. Our servers were hardworking & made our dinning experience comfortable. The all you can drink- was awesome. Large selection to choose from & drinks were delicious!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful resort room key inconvenient

Posted Apr 13, 2014
Awesome resort but a huge pain to hand over room key for every meal, drink, anything and wait for receipt and have to sign. That was a pain. People were awesome.