Ratings based on 413 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by gina from chicago

Great hotel, horrible food!

Posted Apr 18, 2014
I love this hotel, the pool the beach view is absolutely amazing. The only down side is that the food is horrible. Some of the food is inedible, I couldn't even force myself to eat it, instead we bought food and cooked. The staff is amazing here it just sucks about the food
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by P from Atlanta

Nice resort with decent All-Inclusive Package.

Posted Apr 18, 2014
Pros: Beach is excellent. Good choice of restaurants and multiple properties.
Cons: keep a bar open past midnight.
Location: If you go to Cancun, see a piece of history, and visit a Ruin. Also, leave the hotel and visit a seaside cafe. Try the ceviche.
Nice clean up to date hotel. This resort is not an All-Inclusive resort however, there are EP visitors alongside ALL-Inclusive visitors, so you have to use your room key to charge things (for $0), and this did slow down service somewhat. We had some complaints, and the staff was very responsive and quickly remedied them.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from minnesota

Posted Apr 17, 2014
Best vacation we've ever been on! Resort was ckean. Wonderful staff. Fantastic food. Cant wait to go back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by CLAA from LA, CA

Beautiful beachfront hotel. All inclusive

Posted Apr 17, 2014
Excellent food at the captain cove, hacienda sisal. The buffet at veranda is average. You have to show your room key And sign receipts even though you have the bracelet for the all inclusive. Overall a very good experience in cancun, loved the white sand and the beautiful views but the beach has rough waters so you can't swim too far. A good place for families and there were no spring breakers. The activity center for kids is for 4-12 years old so I couldn't leave my 2 year old baby. Still, I would come back:)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Julie from Vancouver, BC Canada

Family Vacation

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: The resort was just the right size. It took us 5 minutes to get to the pool or 7 minutes to the beach. Location was the best!
Cons: We were part of the all inclusive, but was approached on the 2nd day to attend a Time Share meeting. We did for 90 minutes to get discounts.
Location: We walked to the Luxury Mall, next door & Isla Shopping Center. With a stroll & 4 year old it took us 15 minutes. We took the local bus into town.
Awesome holiday to celebrate my husband's 40th birthday. We took our 4 yr old & 15 month old boys who had a great time. Our villa was great. 1 BR- large, clean & had a great view of the ocean & pool. We liked having the kitchen but really didn't need it. The only thing I could complain about was the air conditioning system was old & loud when it was on. Service was fantastic. Everyone was friendly & cheery. Room service & the bell boys were punctual. Our maid cleaned our messes & they never pressured us to leave a tip etc. For breakfast La Veranda restuarant served our needs. For lunch we at the pool side bar or ordered on the beach. For dinner we took advantage of eating at Hacienda Sisal & Captains Cove. No problems with making a reservation & the food was delicious. Our servers were hardworking & made our dinning experience comfortable. The all you can drink- was awesome. Large selection to choose from & drinks were delicious!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful resort room key inconvenient

Posted Apr 13, 2014
Awesome resort but a huge pain to hand over room key for every meal, drink, anything and wait for receipt and have to sign. That was a pain. People were awesome.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Al from Michigan

Nearly Perfect

Posted Apr 12, 2014
Pros: Nearly everything.
Cons: Choice of King or Queen bed in the regular rooms.
Location: The market towards Cancun was fun. Going to the "off-sight" restaurants were great yet still included in the all inclusive.
My wife and I had a wonderful Spring Break at the Royal Sands. The weather was great after a very long Michigan winter. Food was fantastic, enough choices on the buffet and the experiences at the Hacienda and the Captain's Cove restaurants were great as well. The beach and pools were more than you could wish for. Yes, there was the typical "saving" of the pool/beach chairs, but we never went without. We were in a regular room, not a suite. This was where we experienced our only disappointment. In that type of room there are two double beds, not an option for one king or one queen. Over-all this place is great with excellent workers who are very kind and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kevin from PEI, Canada

Staff make a difference

Posted Apr 12, 2014
Pros: Service Food Grounds Room
Cons: do away with the practice of making all inclusive guests show their room key and sign the bill for food and bar service.
Location: Shopping malls Excursions to Isla Mujeres.
We just got back from 8 days in Mexico, 3 of which were spent at the Royal Sands. The room was very nice and well maintained. We stayed in Phase 2 which was a bit of a pain because everything is centered at Phase 1, however we found the grounds at Phase 2 more appealing. The decor of La Verandah restaurant was very nice and the meals were excellent. The waiters were fantastic with their service and 1 waiter in particular made our stay. Pfer would always greet us and joke with us and by the 2nd night he remembered our last name and what we drank. My wife wanted to take him to the Royal Haciendas with us. We dined at the Sisal restaurant one evening and the quality of food and the service were superb. The only complaints we had about the hotel was the fact that the wind was so strong every day that you could not go in the water and having to give your room key and sign the bill at every bill was a pain.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jake from Wisconsin

Great hotel, awesome beach

Posted Apr 11, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: More restaurant choices
Location: Great show right next to hotel, great beach, great location.
This place was the best we have been to. Whether we were alone (just my wife and myself) or if we brought friends with us, this place had everything we wanted.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by julie from london

Nice hotel on wonderfully beach

Posted Apr 10, 2014
Pros: Pools and bech
Cons: Bar and more table and chir outside at lunch and bar
Only disappointment bar being a sports bar not nice to sit and have a drink not many outside seats and tables we had to change room both maids not good service did not wash cups and empty bins