Ratings based on 923 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom SP

Muito bom , e mar próximo

Posted May 25, 2015
Hotel está de parabéns pela ótima recepção , não tenho que desabone! Estão de parabéns !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Pasadena, TX

1st Time in Cancun

Posted May 23, 2015
Pros: Everything
Cons: More comfortable beds, cooler elevators
Excellent service, friendly waiters, great food, spacious rooms, great amenities, nice location, great accomodiations, clean rooms, good ocean view from balcony, love the room service, nice lobby, great hotel overall
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Fort Lauderdale

It was a wonderful experience

Posted May 23, 2015
The Royal Sands is one of the best resort in Cancun. The staff is very courtesy, the foods are excellent, the room and pool are excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom california

our stay at the Royal Sands Hotel

Posted May 22, 2015
Pros: the staff
Cons: food and room service
Location: we left the hotel once and went downtown and it was a scary experience
The hotel staff were great. The pool was nice. The food was cold. The room service was horrible. other then that our stay was ok.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles

Very nice beach front hotel

Posted May 21, 2015
I celebrated my birthday with my family in Royal Sand Resort. It is a beautiful beach front Hotel. The food is great and the staff are very polite and helpful. The only thing that I don't like about this resort is that they change your room during the weekend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The kind of place you are fortunate to visit!

Posted May 21, 2015
Pros: There is a very nice shop, convenience store, and Starbucks on the property. Wi-Fi is free. Landscaping is impressive.
Cons: Food. And the lifeguards will blow whistles at you when you get to water about 3' deep. If you want to go in deeper water, walk to the next door beach
Location: We like to visit the Isle of Mujeres and go snorkeling. There is a Downtown casino called Dubai ...don't expect to win any money there! (pesos only)
We booked an ocean view 1 br (condo) and got a free upgrade to oceanfront. Could be coincidence but we seem to get upgraded free, or get an extra good room location, more often with Expedia. The 1 br is about twice as big as a standard room, and the balcony is huge. If affordable, I would strongly suggest a 1 or 2 br oceanfront. This is a prime beach location about 100 feet from the ocean. Would rate oceanfront condos rooms as a solid 4.5 stars. The beach has blazing white sand to show off the famous aqua blue clear water, and a light constant surf produces a southing sound. To get a drink served at the beach just lower the signal flag. The pools are awesome and the staff was excellent. There are shuttle busses for a free ride to other Royal resorts where you dine free (some menu entry's have a small extra charge). Room service is included. We used it twice, and delivery was about 1 hour with some of the food a little disappointing. We were disappointed with the buffet food. To many items were overcooked, not at the proper temperature, or leftovers that should not have been reserved. It really needs a better manager to put in strict quality controls. (To be fair, there were several excellent items...ie. great prime rib at $7 adtl pp). Would like to see plain iceburg lettuce added. And a better selection of hot vegetables. ..The service is good there are lots of options (besides buffet) for good food, grill to order, poolside food, poolside BBQ, and multiple restaurants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom DC

Be aware of Time share deal

Posted May 21, 2015
Pros: cleanness, location, food
Cons: they should keep the promise with the customers.
Location: the location is reasonable.
I just came back from The royal sands and spa. Over all, hotel is good except the time share tricky deals. When you go to vacation, the time is limited and very precious. However, because of the sales person's unlimited efforts, I and my husband decided to take the time share seminar and the sales person promised us to give us $100 credit and Xcaret basic ticket for $49.50 per person. So basically, we will get the basic ticket for Xcaret free. When we checked out, the front desk is saying there is $100 credit but our basic ticket for Xcaret is $89.50 per each person. Please make sure that you get the all the benefit for your own vacation time share... Also I am having food poisoning now. I do not know why.... hives neck to face, swollen face, diarrhea..etc..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Family friendly..must visit!

Posted May 20, 2015
Pros: food, choice of restaurants, facilities, cleanliness, room
Location: walking distance from couple of shopping malls, bus stand close by - went to flea market, aquatic center not too far.
It was a good experience overall. Lot of activities, good food, very clean, kid friendly, friendly and courteous staff. Overall, we had a great experience. Except for the team that tries to sell the time share is very rude if you don't decide to buy. Stay away from them. We wanted to know all about it but then after finding out the details, we realized we would need this as we have the RCI membership.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Clean Resort

Posted May 20, 2015
The rooms, the pool area and beach were all very clean. The food is ok, it whats expected with and all inclusive. Although the eggs at the morning buffet were horrible. I enjoyed everything except the long time share meeting. I was in the meeting from 8:30am to 11:30am ! I would not recommend this resort for a group of young people or a young couple. There are no late night bars on the resort. The lobby sports bar closes at 11pm. The pool bars even close way too early. Its clean and relaxing more for seniors or families.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom los angeles

Nice hotel close to beach ~!not enough activitie

Posted May 20, 2015
We enjoyed our clean large room but since we were traveling with a toddler we were bored quickly at this hotel as there are not many activities at the result that are kid friendly. We were expecting more things to do at the resort like movies by the pool or themed parties by the pool like we've experienced at other hotels. If you're traveling with adults this is probably not a problem but this isnt a very kid friendly hotel.