Ratings based on 589 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Delaware

First Time in Cancun

Posted Oct 26, 2014
Pros: Almost everything!
Cons: We were disappointed with La Veranda's "pool-side" BBQ...not what we expected and don't waste your time unless they improve it.
Location: Excellent Location!!!
My husband and I had never been to Cancun (although we have traveled extensively) and wanted to take a getaway for our anniversary without our child. We were very happy with our choice of the Royal Sands. The grounds were beautiful! The pictures of this resort are truly what it looks like. You know how sometimes the pictures can look better than when you actually get there....that is not the case with this resort. It's beautiful! Our one-bedroom villa was very clean. The staff at the Royal Sands was excellent. Our personal concierge, Heidi, was very helpful. We had excellent service and food at Captain's Cove, Hacienda Sisal and El Conquistador. La Veranda was good for breakfast or lunch. Keep in mind this is a family resort so if you are a single person or couple looking for a little more "wild" time then this isn't the resort for you. That being said we still found the pool bars and bartenders lots of fun. We definitely plan to return and will bring our son the next time. The all-inclusive option worked well for us but I do understand why some reviewers complained about having to show the room key all the time (although that didn't bother us). We also didn't mind taking the shuttle to the other resorts for additional dinner options. Also, keep in mind this is a time-share property so they will try to sell to you but we didn't find them to be overly pushy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago

Best trip

Posted Oct 25, 2014
Are stay was amazing! Food and everyone at the resort were so welcoming. Our service was great in la veranda .Especially from martin!! Beach was well kept and clean through out the resort. We will be back again!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great experience!!

Posted Oct 25, 2014
Everything about our stay was perfect!! Luis at the pool at was an amazing bartender!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis, IN

Wonderful resort! Best vacation of my entire life!

Posted Oct 25, 2014
I highly recommend this resort and plan on going back again as soon as I can! I was so sad to leave.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Pablo, CA

Great resort in Cancun

Posted Oct 24, 2014
One of the best vacation we've ever had. Staff and employees were the best. Resort was very clean and comfortable. Can't wait to come back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Pros and cons

Posted Oct 23, 2014
Pros: Excellent and extremely friendly wait staff Large rooms with great views Clean Quality of food was great Cons: Only a couple of dining options onsite - had to take shuttle to other royal resorts for best dinner options Had to change rooms mid week since members weeks go from Sat to Sat, we were there Wed-Wed. And the first room we were in was booked by a member. Recommend taking shuttle to El Conquistador and Captains Cove for dinner definitely worth the shuttle ride.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stockton, CA

Nice hotel. Close to beach. The staff was awesome.

Posted Oct 23, 2014
My husband and I had the best time. Beside the rain which held us up at the resort just for a couple of days .It was our first time in Cancun and we can't wait to come back. The beach and sand were breath taking.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Honeymoon !!!

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Very clean and friendly staff here !!! Wonderful time and memories were created here !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Omaha, NE

Beautiful view from hotel room

Posted Oct 19, 2014
Our hotel room was lovely and the view was breathtaking. Being able to wake up to watch the colors change in the sky and across the Carribean. It was amazing! The spa cost was steep so we didn't partake. And what they don't tell you is there is a $300 deposit for when you check in. It pays for the surcharges if you were to order something from the menu that includes one. It's also used for the store and the gift shop. But we met awesome people and amazing food, romantic dinners, it was overall an amazing honeymoon. We loved it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 24, 2014 by Juan Galindo, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for taking time to post about your experience at our resort. We are glad to learn you've enjoyed the view from the room. We are currently reviewing the information at our website and also our partner's website to ensure that this misunderstanding won't happen again. We're glad to know you've enjoyed your honeymoon at out resort and look forward to welcoming you again during your next visit to Mexican Caribbean. Warm Regards.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis, IN

Fun Fall Break

Posted Oct 19, 2014
We liked the Villa setup. Had separate room for kids. Had turn down service at night. Only downfall was not all the restaurants included in all inclusive were not on property.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 23, 2014 by Juan Galindo, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time to post about our resort. We offer a free trolley from our resort to the restaurants that are not located within the premises. Hopefully during your next visit we will improve this service to make your experience even better. Warm Regards.