Ratings based on 839 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NJ

Royal Sands Cancun

Posted Mar 29, 2015
We stayed at the Royal Sands this March and last March and it is the best resort we have ever been to. The resort, food and staff are first class. The beach and pools are awesome. We will definitely return again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Week at the Royal Sands

Posted Mar 29, 2015
Pros: All-Inclusive, rooms, staff, options
Cons: confusing levels of service
Location: great location, walk to shopping, bars
Great week at Royal Sands. Staff were great, except for Veronica she was not very helpful. Very Clean all around. Great Family Resort. Food was great, not Michelin 4 star, but very good. A little confusing at times because of the shared hotel / condo rules. A quick note is that there are many different levels of service at the hotel. You are only offered the lowest level of food / beverage package on expedia. If you want a resort were you have 5-8 different dining options on site, this is not it. The resort has a shuttle bus system to get you to the other resorts and restaurants. Captains Cove was fantastic, but beware, if you book through expedia your level of service only allows reservations at 5pm and 9pm. This applies to all of the restaurants that require reservations. Its a great resort, once you figure out the way things work. Its a bargain, keep that in mind.....
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Spring Break Trip

Posted Mar 26, 2015
Pros: Everything
Cons: More to do int he evenings Sports Bar had a couple of theme nights that were fun but otherwise very quiet after dark.
Location: We did a 2 &1/2 hr jet ski/snorkel trip that was fun
Beautiful resort, super staff, good food and restaurant choices.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago, IL

Excellent hotel on water, good location

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Pros: Beautiful interior and exterior decor. Very well maintained. Great food with diverse selection and different themes almost daily.Two large pool areas.
Cons: Biggest complaint was about the room. Room manual missing. Had trouble getting refrig stocked properly. Confusing thermosat. Insufficient hall signs.
Location: Located on the beach in the "hotel zone". Convenient accessibility to public as well as private transportation.
Overall this was a relaxing and enjoyable time during our 6-day stay. Only a few negatives including the two single beds in the room. They are "hard as a rock".
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Dallas, TX

great time!

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Very pleased with our stay. Staff was very pleasant and the food was great. Right on the beach!!!! A little far from downtown so taxi rides were around $15US each way. Some of the Taxi's would charge less if you pay in pesos.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Olathe, KS

Great staff, great location, beautiful pool/beach

Posted Mar 22, 2015
Had a wonderful time. The staff was amazing! Clean hotel, food was good, and beach was amazing.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom ks

Posted Mar 22, 2015
Suites are the best ---great size. Furniture weathered. Breakfast was the best. Dinner was ok. Beach amazing. Location great. People put towels on chairs so impossible to get unless you go down early. Great security staff. Most guests were 50+ years
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 26, 2015 by Cristóbal Galindo., Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time to post about our resort. We have a policy of beach chairs which clearly states that putting stuff on them to avoid other guest to use them is forbidden. We will continue to enforce this policy to ensure this perception won't be shared by any of our future guests. Warm Regards.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Austin, Tx

Great hotel- here's a few tips!

Posted Mar 21, 2015
Great hotel, right on beach. A few tips. Get up early and claim a beach spot. First arrivers are 5:30 am for front row. By 7am beach chairs are usually claimed. . If all inclusive, bring about 100 usd in 1's. The all inclusive bracelets tend to have the waiters put you last. If you tip them, they remember you and take better care of you.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Vancouver, BC

Not all inclusive hotel.

Posted Mar 20, 2015
You must read the hotel's description carefully before booking, the hotel was clean and comfort, Only one restaurant within the hotel, the other three must be booked and scheduled shuttle bus and seating is limited,many foods have an additional charge in the restaurant even had all-inclusive.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 26, 2015 by Cristóbal Galindo., Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time to post about our resort. We are sorry to learn we did not achieve the goal of providing you with the highest satisfaction standards. Within the premises we have one main restaurant and also the Char-Hut. Plus: two pool bars (one for each pool) and the lobby bar. All of them serving dishes and included in your REFINE Package. Just next to the parking lot you will find Hacienda Sisal, which may not be inside the premises but is fairly close, not more than 50 yards away from the main lobby. In our restaurants, the vast majority of dishes are included with the REFINE All Inclusive program. For instance: in La Veranda, Royal Sands' main restaurant, we serve 54 different dishes from which only 5 have a surcharge. In the particular case of lobster, you have lobster included during Lobster Fest one night a week. We are sure this information should be delivered by you firsthand, we are reviewing or procedures to ensure our future guests can take advantage of all the benefits their REFINE All Inclusive Program include. We hope to have the chance of receiving you again during your next visit to Mexican Caribbean. Warm Regards.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Madrid, NY

Nice hotel but primarily a timeshare.

Posted Mar 20, 2015
Just an fyi, this is primarily a timeshare hotel, so if you book across a weekend like we did, Wednesday to Monday, there's a 50-50 chance you will have to change rooms on Saturday morning. 4 couples went, 2 had to move. However, this is a beautiful hotel, great service, food was ok, but there is a resort bus that will take you to its sister hotels as well as Captain's Cove.