Ratings based on 798 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Family friendly, enjoyable hotel property

Posted Mar 2, 2015
Our week stay at the Royal Sands was wonderful. Our two bedroom villa was spacious and clean. The hotel staff was very helpful and even able to find us accommodations when our flight was cancelled and we needed to stay two additional nights during a very busy week. The all-inclusive feature worked very well for our family. The food was delicious and there was something each night and at every venue that appealed to each of us. We especially enjoyed the music and friendly staff at Sisal. The whole family enjoyed the pools and the beach, both were clean, well-maintained and well-staffed. This is a family-oriented hotel. There are children of all ages in the pools and throughout the property. There are kid-friendly and family activites. The evenings are quiet and relaxing. We would definitely stay at the Royal Sands again when in Cancun.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Jersey

Cancun Vacation

Posted Mar 1, 2015
Pros: Everything!!!
Cons: There was no Jacuzzi tub in the room. There should be some adult entertainment, dancing, music...in the evening hours after dinner.
Location: Location has parasailing, jet skis in walking distance-A water park close by. About an hour there is horseback riding, ziplining, ATV, scuba, snorkel.
The airline lost a piece of our luggage and we got held up at the airport for over an hour. There were five of us and we feared the Royal Sands Resort Shuttle would no longer be outside waiting for us since we were so late. After we finally got our luggage, went through customs and got outside the resort shuttle was still there waiting for us. We stayed 5 nights at Royal Sands in the 1 bedroom suite. The room was perfect and exceptionally clean as was the entire resort. The food and location of the resort were great and the staff was extremely helpful and always friendly. Even room service was quick and efficient. During the days there were games played by the pool and always a waiter waiting to bring you food or drinks on the beach. It was a perfect vacation and we can't wait to go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Boston

Great Experience at Royal Sands

Posted Mar 1, 2015
Pros: Service, pools, beach, food
Cons: Not having to sign for every food transaction/drinks...
Location: Dolphin Discovery was awesome...
After having the first few days of our vacation cancelled due to plane cancellation, we were ready from some stress free time and Royal Sands delivered. Easy and quick check-in and even got us to our room a few hours early. Probably because it was sitting there for 2 days empty! Service, beach, pools all very clean and well maintained. Little disappointed only 1 restaurant on the site, but there are 4 other properties under the Royal umbrella you could visit and several more restaurants a quick walk or cab ride away so there were plenty of options, and 24 hr room service. All the food was very good. Drinks were very weak at pool and restaurant so to cure that, just get a shot on the side and dump it in. 2 bedroom suite was a great surprise as the 2nd bedroom was actually a separate room with adjoining door. This gave our 16 year old daughter a lot of privacy which they NEED at that age. Lots of room, could really have 5 people comfortable in the 2 bedroom suite. Servers were all extremely friendly and attentive. A few things were not perfect, such as having to sign for every drink/meal and the fact if you have a Saturday night stay over, good chance you will have to change rooms. So you have to pack it all up and move bags, which they did someone to help but an inconvenience for sure. They did upgrade us to a beachfront room on ground floor but would have preferred to just stay in the original room for the last night. But they mention it in room description so they do warn u.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 28, 2015
Brilliant location, awesome beach and facilities. Worth a week of lazy vacation
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Heated pool with beautiful views of the ocean

Posted Feb 26, 2015
Pros: Heated pool, Captain’s Cove restaurant, friendly staff
Cons: Maid service showed up to clean at 4:30 everyday when we were getting the family ready for dinner and again at 8:30 pm when getting the kids to bed.
We had such a great experience with Expedia as well as the hotel. The one reason that I chose this hotel was because it had a heated pool, and it certainly did not disappoint. My three kids had a fabulous time in the pool and it was warm enough for mom to join them whenever they asked. We had the full suite (both A and B) and had plenty of room for the five of us. I was a bit concerned after reading a few reviews about the high pressure for buying a time share, but no one bothered us at all. A comment card was left in our room telling us we had a complementary spa treatment as well as a discount on an excursion, but we never took them up on the offer. That may have been the reason they left us alone, or the fact that we checked in at the smaller front desk on the quiet side by the smaller pool. People did save seats at the pool and by the beach, but if your up by 8am you will be fine. The beach lifeguards were wonderful and kept us safe while playing in the huge waves. Food was good, not great, and would highly recommend a dinner reservation at Captain’s Cove for the sunset. You need to call for a reservation at 8 am, but we didn’t have any problems getting in the two nights we wanted to dine there. Our fridge was stocked every day with whatever we needed, and room service was a huge bonus. Tips were not expected, but we opted to tip $5 for most things. Staff was helpful and friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Pennsylvania

Nice hotel with friendly and accomodating staff

Posted Feb 26, 2015
Pros: Zeus was an amazing concierge. Very pleasant and so helpful. See him if you need anything. The food was outstanding at all of the restaurants.
Cons: We followed the eco friendly rule about the towels being hung to use again but housekeeping kept giving us fresh ones. Not a problem but not necessary
Our last stay in Cancun was 2 years ago at a smaller resort. This year felt like we were in Disney. I can't imagine there being more families with small children in Orlando. Our bad. Now we know adults only resorts for us moving forward. Once we figured things out we were able to make things work for us. The rooms are quite spacious. Amazing ocean views. All restaurants, including off-site, were excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Clean and people very cute ! All inclusive it s very nice . Family : 2 adult and 2 children !! Top top top Thanks so much
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego

Very Rude employees

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Pros: When I was checking online, the price was nice, the "all inclusive" had me. The swimming pool and beach is nice too
Cons: the attitude of the employees
Location: the hotel is located in the main street of Cancun, everything is near but there are so many hotels in the same street I would never recommend this one
I went with my friends for my bachelorette party and treated us like if we did not pay for the room. Some of my friends were not included in the package but paid the 500 dollars they were asking for to have the "all inclusive" bracelete and to be able to sleep in the hotel with out any problems. The employees were calling very early morning at 8am to find out how many people were staying in the room. Also, when we asked for room service they refused to take us some items that were in the menu, limited us the alcoholic beverages and even the extra towels!!! Worst place ever to go with a group of people for a special celebration
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Nice Hotel for Families

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Pros: Family oriented. Plenty activities for the kids.
Cons: Room Service was terrilble had to wait for more that 20 mins. Drinks limited (Wine and beer). The Wine was horrible (Cheap WIne). Took one sip.
Location: Eating and Shopping
I went here for my Honey Moon. Had a good Time. but for a honey Moon it is not a good idea. Not adult activities. Pool bar closes early. At the bar there is not enternainmet at all.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Union City, TN

Wonderful hotel!!

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: Everything!!
Hotel was kept immaculate. We had wonderful service also. Views were beautiful. We enjoyed ourselves very much and will definitely be back, I would highly recommend this resort!