Ratings based on 497 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oklahoma

Nice hotel, close to the beach.

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: Access to the beach/ocean. Centralized location. Every single staff member we encountered was polite and helpful. They took very good care of us.
Cons: Nothing as far as I am concerned.
Location: Centralized between airport and downtown. Close to Captain's Cove and up the street from Congo Bongo, Senor Frogs and Marguaritaville.
The hotel exceeded our expectations. We requested an ocean view room and had an amazing view. Walked to the ground floor and right out to the beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Paradise!

Posted Jul 21, 2014
It was a wonderful hotel! The food, staff, shopping, and rooms were magnificent. Take the time to go to the other restaurants- Captain's Cove, El Conquistador- it is a short shuttle ride and well worth it. The staff was amazing- I never pulled out a chair or opened a door. Yes, we did tip everyone but the staff were excellent even before we saw the ticket. The view from our balcony was beautiful, and the balcony itself was huge. Only drawback was there was only one elevator so you almost always waited. Would definitely go back to the Royal Sands!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from s

Well worth it

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Great food drinks sites pool was excelleant, staff friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, Calf.

Great family vacation, pure relaxation!

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Pros: The Cleanliness is beyond.
Cons: Their food selection.
Location: The Royal Sands is very centralized to the hotel district. A lot of places within walking distance.
I highly recommend this hotel to everyone, especially those traveling as families. The Royal Sands is a beautiful property and extremely clean. The staff works very hard to maintain the facility and make everyone feel welcomed. The only thing that I would have to mention is the food. They do not have a big variety of choices in food. On site they only have one restaurant and the selection is minimal. The buffet seemed to be the same everyday. There are 3 restaurants off site that you would have access to that are ok. But other than that, this place is FABULOUS!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

ALL INCLUSIVE IS USELESS

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Pros: Good Location
Cons: SERVICE SERVICE
Service is horrible. Seems being all inclusive staff has no need to provide good service. Staff was rude and seemed all they were interested in was selling time shares. Had to wait hours to get service at the beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Syracuse, NY

This is Paradise

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Pros: Everything was perfect
Cons: Nothing
Location: Shopping in La Isla two bus stops away, Captains Cove for dinner is amazing.
From the moment we walked in until the time we left we felt like royalty. Everything wan clean, maid came twice a day. Did not have a bad meal the entire stay, everything we ate was amazing, all restaurants were excellent, couldn't go wrong with anything. Rooms all have an amazing view. Staff is hard working and cater to every need. No complaints to give.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cleveland, Ohio

Great vacation!

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Everything about this place was great..Food was good,.clean huge room and the staff was really nice.only complaint is that the shuttle bus was not at the airport for me when I got to Cancun airport.i had to catch a cab and pay more then I intended.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nashville, TN

Time Share! Not set up for All-Inclusive Yet!

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: The pool, beach, La Veranda were excellent!
Cons: The rooms should be set up for families and couples.
Location: All the excursions are at least a 45 minute drive!!! I do mean all!
This is a beautiful "time share" resort. All inclusive option is fairly new since last year only. They are still working out a lot of kinks....such as a married couple having to push two beds together to make one. The rooms are set up for time share suites, so since we are only two people, we got the half with two beds. They didn't fix, just pushed beds together for us. Give them a few years understand what a real all inclusive is. Please don't make the same mistake we did. We saw similar reviews to this, but we didn't listen. I even called the resort after I saw the reviews and asked about it being a time share and I was told it wasn't. The resort seemed to bend over backwards for "members" but not for all inclusive "non member" guests. The pool, the beach, the overall scenery is wonderful, though. There is only one restaurant there that is open for bfast, lunch, and dinner. La Veranda was excellent, but there should be more options. The sports bar hold weird hours and seemed mostly used for time share propaganda. There was, also, not enough seating in there. A personal concierge greeted us at our door when we arrived. We thought she was there to help us, but she was there to promoted attending a time share class and conference. This resort would make a great time share! We just weren't prepared for that, and I don't like feeling like someone is trying to pull one over on me. We still had a great time. I would not recommend this resort if you are a married trying to relax.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2014 by Juan Galindo, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Than, you for taking time to post about our resort. As you point out: our resort is a mixed use resort and does lend itself to a few challenges .There are different room setups in our resort and we're sorry to learn we haven't been able to communicate this opportunely in order to give you the room you wanted and would love to use. Our policy dictates that our host must treat equally both our members and visitors and we'll make sure to enface this policy properly so no one of our customers share this experience. There are several restaurants available for you to choose, but they're not in the premises. However: a shuttle that takes you to all of the other resorts and locations is available on request. The schedules are available at front desk. Finally: personal concierge's leitmotif is to provide assistance at our guests. Department in charge is currently reviewing this information since being pushy or rude is not a behavior we encourage nor consent. We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon during your next vacation at Mexican Caribbean. Warm regards.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Right on the beach

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Pros: The beach, the food, the cleanliness and the staff.
Location: Local bus was inexpensive. About a mile to walk to the shopping malls.
Very sandy beach, crystal clear water, waves were very large and powerful and we loved it! The hotel did have a life guard at the beach. We spent most of our time at the beach, but the pools were also very nice. The food was very good. They provided free transportation to thier other "Royal" hotels and approved restaurants.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Garden Grove, CA

Decent hotel, bad service

Posted Jul 13, 2014
This hotel has all-inclusive & non all-inclusive guests therefore the all-inclusive guests will not get good service unless you tip well. Sometimes we have to wait 1 1/2 hours to get food at the pool. For the restaurants not in the hotel, you have to make reservation and you can hardly ask for the time you want even though the restaurant is not crowded at all. I stayed at Royal Solaris before and their buffet was huge but this hotel buffet is small and foods are just ok. There isn't much going on at night here. Having to move on Saturday is also inconvenient, it make you feel like the day is wasted. I came here with my elder parents and they put my parent in phase 2 building and my room in phase 1 building. When I asked the font desk to move us closer, the clerk just said no without even trying. I will not come back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2014 by Juan Galindo, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time to post about our resort. Our resort is a mixed use resort and does lend itself to a few challenges. Due to our resort's nature: attending these request can be hard for us sometimes. Reason why we ask our customers to make this request prior to arrival in order to have a bigger timeframe to fulfill your needs and requirements. We hope you've enjoyed the rest of your vacation at Mexican Caribbean.