Ratings based on 432 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Essex UK

Great location

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Brilliant hotel, great location by the sea and shopping .. If your not a member and you want to book an excursion it's worth doing the timeshare presentation for 90 mins and then say no so you get the full discount for trips like xplore and chichen itza ( highly recommend this) finally Jeremiah from the fun team was excellent and will make sure your entertained during the day..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from houston, texas

Excellent hotel

Posted Aug 20, 2014
This hotel itself is absolutely beautiful. The hotel staff is super nice and they help you with anything you need . This hotels staff only has smiling faces. The rooms are beautiful , the view is amazing , the service is just the best! They're food is delicious . The only thing we were disappointed about at first was when we found out that this hotel didn't have all inclusive so we had to pay seperately for our food , but that wasn't a big deal because they have restaurants within the hotel and the food is simply delicious. (There's also a shopping mall exactly across the hotel that has great restaurants as well). They also have a photo studio where you can set appointments for taking family pictures and they do an amazing job!!!! Our experience at this hotel was just excellent. My family would recommend this to all our friends and we will be going back for sure l.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Oklahoma

Wonderful Resort!

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: Spa, pools, water slide, beach, employees, rooms, amenities, gyms, and gas grills.
Cons: An earlier check in time would be nice. The hotel is great and will hold your bags until the 4 PM check in.
Location: There is a large high end mall across the street with a McDonalds and Starbucks. The Oxxo is also down the street. Great location.
This is a great hotel! The staff were very helpful, nice, and kind. The grounds were immaculate and the 3 large swimming pools were awesome. The pool decks were spacious, clean, and had ample poolside seating. The beach was very clean with pristine Caribbean water. Westin hotels are among the best and this one ranks at the top. I especially appreciated Juan the lifeguard and Rafael the concierge. The prices in the restaurants are pricy, however I would recommend preparing your own meals. Each room has everything needed including a washer/dryer, cooktop, fridge, and microwave. The local grocery store is nice but pricey as well. The hotel has an agreement with the cab agency for trips to the local grocery store Superama which is similar to a small Walmart in the states. The cabs will take you there, wait, and return you to the hotel for a fixed rate which will save a lot of money in food. The gas grills are plentiful and high end. The villa rooms give you a home away from home with a great view of the Caribbean. The spa is also wonderful and clean. The staff really cares for the guests and provides a wonderful spa experience. The two gyms were typical for the Westin Workout brand and clean. The hotel is very child friendly as well.ma place for a great beach vacation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Great location! Close to everything!

Posted Aug 18, 2014
My family had a blast! Hotel location was perfect and convenient. Will definitely come back to this hotel. Staff was very professional and polite. Will request a floor above the 4th floor for a better view of the ocean!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from MERIDA, YUCATAN

ROOM NOT READY FOR CHECK IN

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: BEACH VIEW
Cons: BREAKFAST. BUT AS ALL HOTELS IN CANCUN THE BREAKFAST IS EXPENSIVE AND THE QUALITY IS ALWAYS LOWER.
Location: SHOP AT THE ISLA.
GOT THERE AT 4:30PM AND THE ROOMS WERE NOT READY. TOOK 30 MIN TO GET A ROOM CHANGE. MIND YOU THIS A HOTEL THAT MAKES YOU LEAVE AT 10:00AM. A NOTE TO EXPEDIA IS THAT THE EARLY CHECK OUT TIME WAS NOT CLEARLY STATED IN THE CONDITIONS.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

What a wonderful experience at Westin

Posted Aug 10, 2014
What a great experience at the hotel. Excellent location in the beach and in front of the mall. Everybody are very friendly and willing to help you right away with any problem you may have. Loved the location. I would go back to the hotel. What a wonderful experience. The building is very well distributed with different pools and restaurants.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 17, 2014 by Susana, Hotel Management
Dear guest, We are delighted to read your review, is very important to us to hear and read opinions of any kind from our valuable guests, thank you for choosing The Westin Lagunamar for your vacation and please come back soon! Warm Regards, The Westin Lagunamar Management Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Geo Je City, KOREA

Wonderful facility including cleaning facility

Posted Aug 8, 2014
It was very good because it has even more drying machine in the room, so that we can experience very comfortable with clean and dry condition every day.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 16, 2014 by Susana, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your amazing stay at The Westin Lagunamar, we are proud of our selves by reading this nice review and that you enjoyed our facilities and amenities so much, we hope to welcome you back very soon! Warm Regards, The Westin Lagunamar Management Team.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Campbell

Wonderful Retreat in Cancun!

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: Very clean!! Helpful staff!! Pools are beautiful, clean, large (not over crowded). Nice beach access. Rooms with great natural light, and views!
Cons: Later check out time. Regular check out is 10:30am...you can request a late check out which is 11:30am max.
Location: Beach access is great! The shopping center is directly across the street, a quick walk for shopping, dining and movies.
We are Starwood Vacation Owners in Ka Ľanapali, Maui, and stayed at the Westin Lagunamar last year in October for a week, and loved it. This time in Cancun, we attended a wedding, and stayed at an all-inclusive property, and for only a night at the Westin Lagunamar. When we walked through the lobby doors, it was like coming home!!! Everything about the Westin feels clean, fresh, and beautiful from the main building to the pools that lead out to the beach, the rooms are excellent. Many people like to stay at an all-inclusive, which is probably perfect for those that consume a lot of alcohol. There is a nice kitchen, BBQ near pool areas, great restaurants, jacuzzi tub, sep shower, dual sinks....the rooms are wonderful!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 29, 2014 by Susana, Hotel Management
We would like to say thank you for your comments about our nice and friendly staff and for choosing The Westin Lagunamar. Thank you for your loyalty to Starwood Hotels and Resorts as a Platinum SPG member It is very important to us the feedback you wrote in this review. We hope to welcome you near future so you can experience the enhancements. Sincerely, The Westin Lagunamar Management Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA Boston

Fabulous experience !

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Loved the stay... Its in short.. Look forward to another stay here
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, Tx

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Hotel was awesome, hostess and all personnel where so friendly and ready to help with anything.