Ratings based on 1,480 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles

Far from everything

Posted May 20, 2015
Pros: Beds were comfortable, room was always clean. Beach is right outside.
Cons: Staff that is focused on what is going on not just keeping busy on the computer.
Location: Too far from everything
Smoke smell in our bathroom no one ever came to resolve the issue. They stated they would send someone to freshen the room. Too far from everything in Cancun.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Illinois

Perfect location in Paradise!

Posted May 19, 2015
Pros: The beach set-up. You can enjoy the breakfast buffet (delicious), walk a few steps to the pool and/or beach. It's beautifully done.
Cons: This is NOT a complaint...... the first floor room I recently stayed in had some grout issues in the bathroom. It may need some updating.
Location: The location is PERFECT. Quick ride to/from the airport. Parasailing, jet skiing, etc can be found on the beach or booked in the hotel.
The Westin is as close to the airport as you can get. Once you land, you're at the hotel in about 15 minutes AND you don't have planes flying overhead while you're catching some rays. So convenient! It is more peaceful than further up the beach into the 'hotel zone.' The staff is exceptional and service is outstanding & friendly. Great food, delicious buffets. Most importantly, you cannot top the beach. Because of the way the hotel is situated, you can sit by a pool, a chair on the sand or right on the beach. It's beautifully done. Plenty of chairs & palapas (if you want some shade.) The staff is always around for snacks, drinks, etc. The hotel is clean, both inside and out. A very cool place & I'm definitely going back.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Rochester NY

Last Minute Trip to Cancun

Posted May 18, 2015
Pros: The pool area was not crowded, the bartender was very nice. It seemed quieter than the other hotels.
Cons: Stop upselling so much, check in on the water colors, and bleach the comforters. So gross to see stains that don't belong to you...
Location: Not w/in convenient walking distance to anything. There is an OXXO 15min away, but it is a long walk given the heat/humidity. You have to take the bus
FYIs: The hotel will not exchange dollars for pesos. There is an ATM there where you can get pesos. You need to get a towel card at the front desk. Sometimes the hotel is referred to as “Westin Regina” LOCATION: This hotel is one of the last on the hotel zone. hotel isn’t within convenient walking distance anywhere, so you will always have to take the bus. ROOM: There were some nice stone upgrades, and some Mexican-style accents in the room. The bed was comfortable, however, the comforter had stains on it. The dresser seemed old, it was difficult to open the drawers. The TV was hard to hear, the sound was muffled. There was one day where the water was BROWN. It turned clear after a while, but still… POOL: There is one big heated pool where most people hang out around. There are also a couple of smaller pools off of that one. We didn’t have to fight for chairs, and the pool area wasn’t crowded. FOOD: We went to the breakfast buffet once which was expensive. I went up to the French toast and there were ants crawling around the tongs. To save $ we went to McDonalds for breakfast, had lunch at the hotel, and went out for dinner. We also made our own drinks. PEOPLE: Lots of upselling. The people who you get your towel from work for the watersports group, so they are trying to sell you on that. They have massage folks walking around trying to get you to make an appt. They also tried to get us to sit in on a 90 minute tour/lecture about the Lagunamar (the new resort)…
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NJ

Nice hotel with great pools and beautiful beach

Posted May 18, 2015
Pros: Great pools with choice of sun or shade; nice restaurants and bars, but not crowded and loud as many other hotels
Cons: Leave outdoor playground for kids unlocked after 5pm
Location: Short ride to the airport, a bit far from the main restaurant/shopping area
It is a very nice, though a bit oldish hotel. We stayed 11 nights in early May at the Royal Beach Club part of the hotel. Service was excellent across the board, especially at the restaurant at the Royal club. My only issue was with the kids’ club. First, we went to the kids club during business hours (9am-5pm) several times only to find that the attendant was not there and the club was locked. Second, the air conditioned kids club is located in a beautiful garden with a very nice outdoor playground. It is too hot to use the outdoor playground during the club business hours but it would have been a great play place for kids in late afternoon/early evening. I understand that there may be a need to lock the club house after hours, but I do not understand why the outdoor playground had to be fenced off and inaccessible after 5 pm. Another thing to note is that both rooms we had seemed a tad bit musty. I am not quite sure whether that was due to the hotel condition or just because we had extremely humid weather during our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles, CA

Overall a great stay. Stay here to relax.

Posted May 17, 2015
Great place to relax. The staff was helpful and courteous. Our room was clean and well stocked with complimentary water bottles. If on a budget, the lagoon view is just as beautiful as the ocean view and the ocean is right there anyways. There were an abundance of open seats to choose at the pool and ocean side. Great, calm atmosphere. The service was excellent!! Thank you for a great vacation. My only negative is that the front desk only accepts American Express or local currency. Made it tricky to checkout. But even with that, it was a great stay. Thanks again to the concierge, service and front desk staff.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom M

Property largely in disrepair

Posted May 15, 2015
Pros: Great beach access and beautiful views Excellent staff- very friendly and great service Gym was nice (but gets very humid) Cons: Property is outdated and in need of many repairs. Everything from broken stone tile floors/ walkways to in room A/C and dresser drawers. Towels and sheets so worn and no longer "heavenly" Very basic spa facilities and again very worn- from towels to equipment to relaxation beds with stains Just about every piece of upholstered furniture was worn and stained Food at the restaurants was just ok and there are not many options within walking distance (closest is a taco stand "19.5 km" which was EXCELLENT!) Overall not what I would expect for a Westin experience. With so many other options that offer the same beach/views with great service, I can't find a reason I would come back or recommend this property.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Atlanta

The stay was very nice.

Posted May 13, 2015
Pros: Location, quality and good price
Cons: Nothing
Location: No comments
This stay was perfect! This stay was perfect! This stay was perfect! This stay was perfect!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London, UK

Nice hotel very close to beach

Posted May 11, 2015
Pros: Large rooms and lots of places to eat
Cons: There was no fridge just a cooler... a fridge would have been more useful in the heat
Location: The hotel is at the end of the Hotel Zone so not much to do without having to travel, if all you want is a pool and beach in the day time its perfect.
We arrived and were instantly upgraded to the Royal Beach Club. Staff were very helpful and always happy to help.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

EL SERVICO,LA ATENCION DE SU PERSONAL EXCELENTE

Posted May 8, 2015
Pros: LAS INSTALACIONES EXCELENTE, Y SU PLAYA
Cons: EL SERVICIO DE COMIDA EN EL DESAYUNO
Location: MUY BUEN LUGAR PARA DESCANSAR Y DE LAS ACTIVIDADES MUY POCAS.
MUY BIEN EL UNICO DETALLE ES LA COMIDA PREFRENTE EL DESAYUNO NO HABIA VARIEDAD DE PLATILLOS,PERO EN LO DEMAS NO HAY QUEJA ,SALUDOS
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Yorkville, IL

Amazing Hotel right on the ocean!!

Posted May 6, 2015
Pros: Everything, it was all amazing. Beautiful grounds and landscaping, very quiet and peaceful. Very relaxing. Very attentive staff!!
Cons: Maybe some entertainment at night. But everything else is fantastic.
Location: There is a lot to do in Cancun. Flea markets nearby. Swim with the dolphins just 5 minutes down the road. Bus trips to the Ruins.
I would absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone. It is located at the end of the peninsula so it is very quiet and peaceful. Water is an amazing turquoise blue and the beach is fantastic. We really enjoyed are stay, in fact we didn't want to leave. The hotel staff; from the front desk to the maids, the waiters and the bartenders were so nice and friendly and so helpful. They waited on us hand and foot!! They were always making sure that you had everything that you needed. I had an issue with a skin allergy while we were on vacation so I visited the Spa for some advice. The ladies were absolutely so caring and concerned with my allergy and were a great deal of help in keeping my allergy under control. I cannot thank them enough for all of the help they provided to me. I am very grateful for everything that they did. We also took advantage of a massage while visiting the Westin and I would highly recommend that. Will will definitely return to the Westin.