Ratings based on 190 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great all inclusive for the whole family

Posted Apr 22, 2014
Our kids, 4 and 8 years old, just loved this place. Great pools, nice beach, good restaurants though make sure to reserve in advance, generally good service. The facilities are very new and the rooms are really nice. Our 1 bdr suite had two full baths and full kitchen, plus laundry. Kids slept on a Murphy bed in the living room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Adriana from Chicago, IL

Great Service

Posted Apr 20, 2014
Pros: Staff and facilities
Cons: Clean more often the seaweed to make the beach more attractive
Location: Nothing around since it is too far from the main Hotel area.
All staff is really friendly, facilities are in great conditions, food: Delicious!! different pool options, fun activities, my only complaint: The beach water is not the classic Cancun wonderful clear and awesome beach because of the seaweed but, you have the option to take the Ferry next to the hotel for around $2.50 to Isla Mujeres and enjoy the awesome beach and peaceful that the place offers.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful vacation!

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Great hotel. Food was good for all inclusive. Didn't like the sushi much, but ceviche and other seafood items were awesome! Took a short ferry ride to Isla Mujeres and the beaches and water there was even more beautiful!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Nice low key resort. Great for kids.

Posted Apr 9, 2014
Pros: We loved the amenities. It was really nice. The staff were mostly all very friendly and personable. And very accommodating.
Cons: The food could be better. It was good, but not amazing. There was also a bad smell every time we walked out of our room.
Location: We did not leave the resort. They had daily and nightly activities, there.
We went for our honeymoon. Most everything was great. Definitely a great place for the price. We did all inclusive and that was a great idea. We definitely got our monies worth.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Penny from Chicago, IL.

Very nice property for all inclusive

Posted Apr 5, 2014
Pros: Very good dining choices and the pool area is very nice.
Cons: Easier transportation options & easier all inclusive program for those not interested in time shares. Would not use expedia again.
Location: Snorkeling is the only reason for a trip to island of Isla Mujeres & check the forecast ahead! Shopping selection is poor & so are the prices.
Very well kept resort with plenty of dining & pools to choose from. No other worthwhile services are nearby though and the beach is pretty to look at but not as nice as the Cancun hotel zone beaches for waves, sand, & clear water. VDP has several strict policies to keep everyone's accommodations & meal plans in order which sometimes becomes a hassle since not everyone on vacation likes to be reminded of the business arrangements. Excellent food and beautiful resort grounds. Good value. Spa was very nice but sometimes hard to get reservations which was also an issue for some meals.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Dan from Chicago, IL

Well worth the trip!!

Posted Apr 2, 2014
Location: Take the ferry over to the island
I recently stayed with my family for 7 days. I was very impressed with the whole experience during my stay. The room was always kept clean and was very accommodating for my whole family at the same time. The food was outstanding to the point I was tired of eating by day 5. The seating options on the beach and by the pool were very inviting. My only issues were the beach was a little rocky the first 10 feet or so heading out into the water.
3 out of 5
by Heidi from Atlanta, GA

Nice resort Front Desk Staff HORRIBLE

Posted Mar 25, 2014
Pros: Property was beautiful.
Cons: The entire front desk staff, time share workers should not treat you any different if you have no interest in sitting in the time share presentation
Location: There was nothing except the ferry to take you over to island by the hotel
Everyone can see that the property is beautiful. Front desk staff is ignorant, disrespectful and not willing to try to work with you on the language difference. The time share people haunt you (Gabriella). From the time of check in, we told her we were not interested. She called our room later that night and asked if we received our check in packet. We told her no and she asked me to come back down. I told her that I was in my PJ's, she said that I needed to come down for at least 10 minutes to get the packet that had the property map in it, where breakfast was, and all the activities scheduled for the week. I went the next morning to get it and felt black listed. From that point forward it was like they listed our room and received crap service from the tiki bar and restaurants once they received our room number. There was no entertainment at ALL from 9:15 PM on. In the hallways there was a sign no noise after 9:30 PM. Would not recommend this hotel to any of my friends. .
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel but high pressure sales. Disappointing

Posted Mar 16, 2014
Pros: Most things except the concierge team.
Cons: Get rid of the high-pressure sales team and replace with a true concierge desk.
Location: The location was limiting.
The hotel is very nice. Rooms, pools and facilities are all very nice. However, beware of the fact that you will be accosted by the concierge desk about attending a 1.5 hour seminar on joining the hotel membership club. The 'concierge' team (a.k.a., high-pressure used car sales people) hit us up immediately upon check-in. We successfully put them off. When we called the next morning to inquire about breakfast options, the concierge desk aggressively tried to book us into a breakfast seminar and when we declined, they said all the information about the hotel was at their desk - meaning we had to go hear them out. After figuring out breakfast on our own, we did stop by the concierge desk to inquire about activities and excursions - all of which were priced based on our attending the seminar. When we told them we were not at all interested in membership or even attending the seminar, they stopped being helpful. We took to the internet ($10 per day per device charge, I might add) and found a catamaran cruise and swimming with the dolphins package on our own. The last straw came when a few days later heading out the door to catch a cab, we were chased down by someone at the concierge desk who demanded to know where we were going and said we really needed to sit down with her and hear her out. When we firmly declined, her reply was that she was only doing her job. Bottom line, the concierge is to be avoided and their job is not to help, but to sell.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel for family with small children

Posted Mar 12, 2014
The hotel is beautiful and so are the grounds. The children's pool is always shaded which is great not to worry about sunscreen all the time. Also, the pool is always 91 degrees! There are also other pools which are very nice. The restaurants are great and the food is very good. The staff are all friendly and smiling, very happy to help. The only problem we had was that we did not have a crib we requested the first night. The manager let us know that a request does not ensure a crib. Thankfully we were able to get a crib the next day. The beach is beautiful, and yes, there is seaweed always. They try to keep it clean, but it naturally comes to shore again. It did not bother us, but if you want seaweed free beaches this is not the place for you. There is also a pier with a ferry boat that leaves for day trips to Isla Mujeres multiple times during the day. It walking distance from the beach, so convenient. Another thing we liked is that it is quiet after 10pm. All entertainment is over, which is great if you have small children, like we do!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Fred from White Salmon, Wa

magnificent hotel

Posted Feb 26, 2014
Pros: The incredible design, for views, structure, landscaping, pools awesome engineering and architecture
Cons: aerobic exercise in pool, lower sound level and somebody have a mic on the deck above pool. It was very difficult to hear the instructor in the pool
Location: The trip to the small (4MILE LONG ISLAND) off shore was a real kick riding all over on the 4 wheel devices
It doesn't get any better. Price point, quality staff, friendly, activities, dining.