Ratings based on 1,668 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Minneapolis, MN

Nice for families, not for couples.

Posted Apr 3, 2015
Pros: The Pool
Cons: The Food!
My boyfriend and I recently spent a week at the Moon Palace - Sunrise. We are 28 & 30 yrs old and found the resort to be extremely family oriented, and not necessarily suited for couples who visit without children. First off, I have to mention that the beach itself is nice (the sand area), but the water is terrible. We attempted to swim in the ocean and it was like trying to walk through a jungle in the water, ew! However, the pool was beautiful and well maintained. Needless to say, we spent most of our time at the pool. As I mentioned previously, lots of families which means lots of children. Our relaxing time at the pool included screaming children the entire time. Not so relaxing. If you're traveling as a couple I would recommend Sun Palace instead of Moon Palace as it is adults only. We opted to use part of our resort credit for a couples massage (80 min). I have had many massages in the past stick with 60 minutes or less if you're going to book a massage. Food...Overall, we thought the food was okay, not great. Lunch options were lacking quite a bit. We were counting and the one I received at Moon Palace was good, but not great. They seem to get very repetitive after 60 minutes so on a taco bar, but instead found that the buffets served cold french fries and basic pasta. Not what we were hoping for. However, one of our favorites was Los Tacos on the Grand part of the resort. The tacos were delicious, especially octopus (surprisingly).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago

Great hotel, close to the beach. Great amenities!

Posted Apr 2, 2015
Pros: Lots of restaurants, activities and relaxing. You have access to other resorts as well.
Cons: The way people take chairs at the pool at 7am to "claim" them as their own takes them away from others who don't know the process to get a chair!
Location: We only left the property to go to the other Palace properties because we have been to Cancun twice before and we just wanted to relax during our time
We loved our stay at the Moon Palace. We took advantage of going to the other Palace Resorts and staying on their beaches. It was great to be able to go to other properties without leaving our "all inclusive". We will certainly be going back to the Moon Palace for another stay. Worth the money and great for our high school age daughter and her friends.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 2, 2015
This is definitely a place if you have teenage children are going with a group of friends. Finding a lounge chair every single day made the experience here worse than it should have been. Ridiculous system
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom boston

Great resort

Posted Apr 1, 2015
Was probably one of our best vacations. Staff was responsive and pleasant. They were always cleaning. Food was good. Great variety of restaurants. Make reservations at Italian restaurant at golf course when you arrive. It was the best of all. We would go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Spokane, WA

Great Hotel, awesome pools, beautiful beach

Posted Apr 1, 2015
Pros: Everything. Literally, everything.
Cons: The Pub could use a shuffleboard or two. The sport court could use a floor shuffleboard or two. There is no zoo. Those are the names of the buildings.
Location: Go to Chichen Itza! Listen to the tour guide, the things they accomplished were amazing! The buildings/temple are astounding!
Great hotel! The staff is amazing and friendly (and nearly all speak great english), the food is varied and delicious. Each dinner we ate would have easily cost over $100 for the two of us. If you're looking for booze, there's no end to the supply, with classy staffed bars around every corner. The pools are awesome, the beach is very pretty, the golf course is challenging but fun and beautiful. We were there for 7 nights and we didn't have time to do everything we wanted to. If I go back to Cancun, I will go back to this resort. Pearls of Wisdom: 1. Do not run out of golf balls, they are $25 for 10 rocks at the golf shop 2. Do not run out of sunscreen, it is $24 for a bottle of spray on sunscreen - it's cheaper downtown, but it costs $70 round trip to take a cab downtown. You can take the shuttle for free at 12 and 2. 3. If you plan to eat or drink outside of the resort, do be careful. Some 25-50% of people get travellers sickness when eating/drinking in other countries. 3a. Bring immodium (for diahrea) and do not run out, it costs $28 for 6ish pills at the resort - again this can be bought for cheaper downtown. 4. Do not golf twilight if it appears stormy, they will not give you a rain check and twilight is still very expensive. 4a. If you plan to golf multiple times (at least 3 times probably), it makes sense to convert your resort credit as you'll only pay the cart fee ($29/golfer/round). Overall, it is an amazing resort and we likely will go back (with kids). 3.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

last spring break vacation in usa

Posted Mar 31, 2015
Happy vacation with my family. Difficult golf course designed by Jack~~. I've lost my 10,000 balls.....@@@@@ XcelHa. I love seafood soup in there so much. better than other place in Cancun.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom North Dakota

Posted Mar 31, 2015
resort is great. Only bad thing was all of the seaweed on beach. Didn't spend much time on beach as we usually do. Other than that, resort was excellent
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

All-inclusive

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Pros: activities in the resort, hotel room
Wanted a quick getaway and why not Cancun? We stayed in the Villas part of Sunrise, loved having a golf cart to get around. Overall good food, nice pools, a few heated ones for those less than hot days, and good staff. Couple of mistakes that happened during our stay were went to see a show at another part of the hotel (the resort is divided into three parts) to find out it had been moved up an hour so we missed it, no notification and our first day there we headed to the pool around 1:30/2 PM and tried to get a towel but the lady said they were all out of towels. How the heck does that happen at a resort?!?! Didn't tell us to come back later or offer to get some towels from the hotel so we had to go to the front desk to get some. Location wise it's not in the Hotel Zone so we didn't venture anywhere. Everyone gets resort credit, you will be charged 16% for taxes though so book your excursions/massages/golf time early otherwise you'll leave with some leftover like we did.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The Moon Palace Resort is beautiful but...

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Pros: the lobby areas, pool and food and grounds.
Cons: Hotel rooms need to be updated.
The Moon Palace is a beautiful resort but here are my pros and cons, I will start with the pros: Pros: Beautiful Resort Amazing Pools Great food for kids and adults. All Inclusive (AI) was great. Room service was AI and was quick and very good. Hotel Staff was very nice Cons: Beach is terrible, hotel is on bay side. Hotel Rooms are dated. Need a little sprucing up. Overall room was kept clean Hotel Rooms are small for 4 people Hotel staff - language barrier was a little frustrating at times. We had an amazing time with our 3 kids. Overall we had an amazing time at the Palace Resorts.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Boaton, MA

Honeymoon

Posted Mar 29, 2015
We had an amazing 7 night stay at Moon Palace. We had a ocean front concierge level room in the Nizuc section. We'd highly recommend this resort to anyone.