Ratings based on 1,697 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Austin, TX

Wonderful family resort

Posted Apr 28, 2015
Our first time in Cancun and we were so happy that we made the right decision to stay at Moon Palace Resort. Great restaurants, excellent service, great entertainment. Room is super clean. I wished the bed were updated and the pool were cleaner. Overall a wonderful experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego, CA

What a great resort!!

Posted Apr 26, 2015
Pros: I loved the variety of restaurants
Cons: Better bartenders to make drinks.
Location: When we went to Isla Mujeres we paid our taxi guy $50 to take us on a tour of the island. Its not very big but they know all the good spots
Moon Palace was just beautiful! The restaurants were delicious and there were so many to choose from. We were given 1500 resort credit and used it on the spa, Chichen Itza, swim with the dolphins and Isla Mujeres. This made the activities much less expensive. The service was great also. What made this trip even better was that we went after all the spring break craziness so the city nor the resort was crazy crowded. The only negative thing to say was that the water was not clear here, we took a bus to their other resorts in Cancun for free to see the turquoise waters. Also their bartenders need to be trained better. some drinks were to weak and some were to strong. Those were just minor things but our trip was wonderful. O and the weather is great in mid April. We have a huge king size bed, our own little bar, our own jacuzzi and hammock. Make sure to take your own little jbl speaker to listen to your music, there is wifi everywhere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Halifax, NS

Vacation in Paradise

Posted Apr 21, 2015
Pros: Service was exceptional - what more can I say?!?
Cons: Rooms could be updated but not necessary. Beach front is not great, lots of seaweed, rocky shore line, but pools more than make up for it.
Location: No need to leave the resort, everything you could possibly think of was within a short walk or shuttle. Disco, Golfing, Pub, Lounge, Mini Golf, etc.
Was initially not overwhelmed by the hotel facilities and room (compared to one other stay in Mayan Riveria) but service, variety and features far surpassed any expectations. Service was exceptional throughout the resort (pool, buffet, restaurants, spa, etc). So much variety, pools, food choices, activities - no need to leave the resort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Denver, Colorado

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Pros: The staff is exceptional, the food is good and the resort is very accommodating.
Cons: The brands of whiskey at the bars could be improved - only a few select bars had Jack Daniels.
Location: The location is just 5-10 minutes from the airport which is super convenient on travel days, but it is also 15-20 minutes away from the city.
Moon Palace is always very accommodating and the staff is exceptional. The only complaints I had was with other guests being noisy super early in the morning and the fact that the pool didn't have enough chairs/space for everyone - both matters are out of the resort's realm of control. We've stayed here three times and are definitely planning on going back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Bismarck, ND

Best All-Inclusive Everything!

Posted Apr 19, 2015
A truly all-inclusive resort! All you can eat in restaurants, room service, limitless drinks wherever you go, including a stocked fridge and bar in your room. No extra charge for wine or champagne, either. This is our 4th time at the Moon Palace and we've never been dissatisfied. We've stayed at all 3 (Sunrise, Nizuc, and Moon Grand) and this last time my son upgraded to a suite at the Moon Grand and it was fabulous!!! We will continue to go back every chance we get!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Fargo, ND

Posted Apr 19, 2015
Great scenery, amazing white sand beaches, plenty of pools and restaurants and bars and nightly activities. Room amenities are top notch, and the staff is friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Connecticut

Great facility with beautiful grounds.

Posted Apr 18, 2015
Pros: I liked being on a large property. Large variety of places to go and things to do. Wonderful, welcoming staff. Great food thoughtfully prepared.
Cons: Early morning phone calls from the resort were quite annoying. Happened twice. Double beds seemed small, difficult to sleep in for 2 people in a bed.
Location: Resort is perfectly located. Remote enough for great privacy, yet close enough to major attractions.
Our stay at Moon Palace exceeded our expectations in just about every way. The grounds were beautiful. The quality and variety of the food was impressive for an all inclusive resort. The staff was courteous and always aiming to please. They went above and beyond what was necessary and seemed happy to do so. There seemed to be great attention to detail. From a refreshing drink and cold towel upon arrival, to chocolate covered fruit delivered to the room the night before departure. The layout of the resort made everything convenient even considering it's massive size. The staff was very organized moving everyone from one area of the resort to another. We were very pleased with our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 18, 2015
Pros: What they lack in beachfront, they make up for in customer service. All the people serving you are tremendously friendly.
Cons: All the credit points. This is an absolute joke. To long to explain all of it. Beach front is bad...not much they can really do about this.
Location: Highly recommend going to Beach Palace and enjoying their absolutely beautiful beach! Also enjoy the town why you are there.
Great overall experience. Excellent food and service at all locations. This is our 8th trip to Mexico and our 2 time to Moon Palace. The food quality and taste is the best of the many large resorts along with a great staff of happy people eager to make you stay memorable. Rooms are a bit small...Jacuzzi Tub in every room is a nice touch, but for a family of four, takes up to much room. Would rather have bigger beds or a couch in place of tub.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom San Jose, CA

Perfect resort for families

Posted Apr 18, 2015
Pros: Many different pools around the resort Food availability around the resort Jacuzzi in each room Hammock in each balcony Kids club(included)
Cons: Better transportation from rooms to the lobby Time sharing push
Location: Many pools around the resort Flow rider and Water slide Mini golf
Definitely recommend for families with kids. I don't think there are any better places than Moon Palace for families with kids to stay in Cancun. My kids had so much fun, they asked if they can come back to Moon Palace next time. Kids clubs (Included in All-Inclusive) are available until 9:30PM for adults to relax too. When I walked into the lobby, I was little bit skeptical. It seemed outdated and almost had looks of 4 star hotels in Reno but luckily that was the only downside in terms of quality of this resort. Our room was clean and amenities were very nice and clean too. I read many people complaining about food but it was way better than my expectation. We actually enjoyed their buffet than their fancy Italian restaurant that required a reservation (Also included in All-Inclusive). My family is very picky when it comes to food so set your expectation low and you will be surprised. The only complaints I had was the distance between our room and the lobby where they have the main restaurants. (They do have food available in different areas close to pools). My advice is to learn the routes where their employees drive their golf carts around the resort so you can hitch hike and ask for rides whenever you are going to the lobby. This was our first All-inclusive resort and we had a great time at Moon Palace. All you have to pack is your swimming suites, one polo shirt and a trouser (required for reservation only restaurants) and $1 bills for tips.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great stay and truly all inclusive...

Posted Apr 16, 2015
I was extremely impressed with this property and the fact that the liquor and food was not skimped on under the premise of "inclusive". All the staff were extremely friendly and welcoming. The massage at the spa was amazing. Opportunities: Wifi was spotty and the resort credits are pretty restrictive in application to the spa and other key items. Overall I will look to come back with my kids (this was a girl's weekend) as it was family friendly.