Ratings based on 1,668 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Halifax, NS

Vacation in Paradise

Posted Apr 21, 2015
Pros: Service was exceptional - what more can I say?!?
Cons: Rooms could be updated but not necessary. Beach front is not great, lots of seaweed, rocky shore line, but pools more than make up for it.
Location: No need to leave the resort, everything you could possibly think of was within a short walk or shuttle. Disco, Golfing, Pub, Lounge, Mini Golf, etc.
Was initially not overwhelmed by the hotel facilities and room (compared to one other stay in Mayan Riveria) but service, variety and features far surpassed any expectations. Service was exceptional throughout the resort (pool, buffet, restaurants, spa, etc). So much variety, pools, food choices, activities - no need to leave the resort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Denver, Colorado

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Pros: The staff is exceptional, the food is good and the resort is very accommodating.
Cons: The brands of whiskey at the bars could be improved - only a few select bars had Jack Daniels.
Location: The location is just 5-10 minutes from the airport which is super convenient on travel days, but it is also 15-20 minutes away from the city.
Moon Palace is always very accommodating and the staff is exceptional. The only complaints I had was with other guests being noisy super early in the morning and the fact that the pool didn't have enough chairs/space for everyone - both matters are out of the resort's realm of control. We've stayed here three times and are definitely planning on going back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Bismarck, ND

Best All-Inclusive Everything!

Posted Apr 19, 2015
A truly all-inclusive resort! All you can eat in restaurants, room service, limitless drinks wherever you go, including a stocked fridge and bar in your room. No extra charge for wine or champagne, either. This is our 4th time at the Moon Palace and we've never been dissatisfied. We've stayed at all 3 (Sunrise, Nizuc, and Moon Grand) and this last time my son upgraded to a suite at the Moon Grand and it was fabulous!!! We will continue to go back every chance we get!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Fargo, ND

Posted Apr 19, 2015
Great scenery, amazing white sand beaches, plenty of pools and restaurants and bars and nightly activities. Room amenities are top notch, and the staff is friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Connecticut

Great facility with beautiful grounds.

Posted Apr 18, 2015
Pros: I liked being on a large property. Large variety of places to go and things to do. Wonderful, welcoming staff. Great food thoughtfully prepared.
Cons: Early morning phone calls from the resort were quite annoying. Happened twice. Double beds seemed small, difficult to sleep in for 2 people in a bed.
Location: Resort is perfectly located. Remote enough for great privacy, yet close enough to major attractions.
Our stay at Moon Palace exceeded our expectations in just about every way. The grounds were beautiful. The quality and variety of the food was impressive for an all inclusive resort. The staff was courteous and always aiming to please. They went above and beyond what was necessary and seemed happy to do so. There seemed to be great attention to detail. From a refreshing drink and cold towel upon arrival, to chocolate covered fruit delivered to the room the night before departure. The layout of the resort made everything convenient even considering it's massive size. The staff was very organized moving everyone from one area of the resort to another. We were very pleased with our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 18, 2015
Pros: What they lack in beachfront, they make up for in customer service. All the people serving you are tremendously friendly.
Cons: All the credit points. This is an absolute joke. To long to explain all of it. Beach front is bad...not much they can really do about this.
Location: Highly recommend going to Beach Palace and enjoying their absolutely beautiful beach! Also enjoy the town why you are there.
Great overall experience. Excellent food and service at all locations. This is our 8th trip to Mexico and our 2 time to Moon Palace. The food quality and taste is the best of the many large resorts along with a great staff of happy people eager to make you stay memorable. Rooms are a bit small...Jacuzzi Tub in every room is a nice touch, but for a family of four, takes up to much room. Would rather have bigger beds or a couch in place of tub.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom San Jose, CA

Perfect resort for families

Posted Apr 18, 2015
Pros: Many different pools around the resort Food availability around the resort Jacuzzi in each room Hammock in each balcony Kids club(included)
Cons: Better transportation from rooms to the lobby Time sharing push
Location: Many pools around the resort Flow rider and Water slide Mini golf
Definitely recommend for families with kids. I don't think there are any better places than Moon Palace for families with kids to stay in Cancun. My kids had so much fun, they asked if they can come back to Moon Palace next time. Kids clubs (Included in All-Inclusive) are available until 9:30PM for adults to relax too. When I walked into the lobby, I was little bit skeptical. It seemed outdated and almost had looks of 4 star hotels in Reno but luckily that was the only downside in terms of quality of this resort. Our room was clean and amenities were very nice and clean too. I read many people complaining about food but it was way better than my expectation. We actually enjoyed their buffet than their fancy Italian restaurant that required a reservation (Also included in All-Inclusive). My family is very picky when it comes to food so set your expectation low and you will be surprised. The only complaints I had was the distance between our room and the lobby where they have the main restaurants. (They do have food available in different areas close to pools). My advice is to learn the routes where their employees drive their golf carts around the resort so you can hitch hike and ask for rides whenever you are going to the lobby. This was our first All-inclusive resort and we had a great time at Moon Palace. All you have to pack is your swimming suites, one polo shirt and a trouser (required for reservation only restaurants) and $1 bills for tips.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great stay and truly all inclusive...

Posted Apr 16, 2015
I was extremely impressed with this property and the fact that the liquor and food was not skimped on under the premise of "inclusive". All the staff were extremely friendly and welcoming. The massage at the spa was amazing. Opportunities: Wifi was spotty and the resort credits are pretty restrictive in application to the spa and other key items. Overall I will look to come back with my kids (this was a girl's weekend) as it was family friendly.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom San Antonio Texas

Not a great hotel and I visit Cancun a lot

Posted Apr 15, 2015
Pros: Not much I paid for a concierge room which was a little more then my kids room and I did not see a difference.
Cons: For me most of the restaurant the food was ok but not great like other Cancun hotels I have stayed at.Also one representative should take of all needs
Location: It was close to the airport which was nice
As soon as I arrived I was give limited info and was give a $1000 dollar resort credit which I used about half of it. When I tried to use the rest of it I had to pay a taxes which was fine but the taxes cost all most as much as the items them selfs. I was suppose to receive a fruit basket and I did not I was also suppose to receive a candle light dinner for two and did not. When I arrived they tell me what I needed to do to get what I paid for but they have you running around to two or three places just to complete what's suppose to be yours. They should have one person or representative to take care of this. I also received a wedding dinner with a wedding cake which the cake was plain with no wedding anniversary on it. The dinner itself was terrible the food was horrible for it being a five star restaurant it was not good at all also receive a breakfast for the morning after the wedding which I received but like 10:30 a.m lunch starts at 11 a.m a little to late in my opinion. If I rate this hotel by the star method from one to five I rate it a 2 star hotel. I would like to add I would not recommend this hotel to to my friends or family.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 15, 2015
Very expensive fee (16%) to use the free point. I paid $12.00 service fee for a $75.00 free point/ 250mg lobster.