Ratings based on 1,691 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Duxbury MA

LOVE this place.

Posted May 21, 2015
Pros: Rooms clean and beautiful. Food outstanding. Drinks awesome. SPA beyond beautiful. Golf course/golf course restaurant breathtaking.
Location: No need to leave resort.
Service is fantastic, Food is amazing. Went April school vacation but no worries, no lines and phenomenal service. As you probably know by now, the only thing lacking is the ocean, which is not really swimable, however the beach is still beautiful to walk, and everything else makes up for this. Went with two teenage boys, so much to do and eat! Like three resorts in one, so much to do and see, also plenty of spaces to relax. Highly recommend for active people!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom louisiana

Very large resort with little entertainment

Posted May 20, 2015
This resort is a place to relax at the pool only! If you are looking for beach time, shopping or constant entertainment this is not the place for you. The beach water is not pretty at all but the pools are awsome! Their is one shop in each resort lobby and everything in there is extremely expansive! (Example: a $7.00 bottle of lotion I brought from home sales for $28.00 in their shop! The food is a hit or miss. Don't think you will eat real nachos as the cheese is runny like water everywhere it is served. I only seen guacamole for breakfast 1 morning and it was more like blended baby food! I basically ate fresh made omelettes all week and steaks or hamburgers for lunch and supper. I was not wowed by any of their food they served. Oh and don't think that just because you put a tag outside your door that says please come back later that they won't enter you room because they will!!! They have a good bit of construction going on but nothing that would cause your visit to be unpleasant. Overall the Moon is very clean and the staff is perfect but resort would need to have live bands at the pools and more options of things to do. All they had was a nightly show that started about 8:45pm and lasted about 1 hour!!! I would recommend this resort only for pure relaxation!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom m

Really great hotel with an excellent staff

Posted May 13, 2015
Pros: Excellent Staff: cant say enough nice things about them Good for families: outside of a couple of people who had way too much to drink, I would recommend this resort for families. Its also nice for couples but would recommend the party crowd to go elsewhere. The resort is off of the major hotel strip and as such a bit quieter. Cons: Rooms are a bit cramped: but by no means NYC cramped. Get alot of upselling: Meaning your resort credit is limited per activity. So for example of the $1,500 resort credit you can only spend an x amount on for example: getting a massage or golf. There is also a 16% tax that you have to pay on the credit that you use, in addition to the remaining balance of the activity (ie post application of resort credit). But you can always say no to activities. Overall: Excellent staff, wonderful resort, good for families.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel but to much effort

Posted May 12, 2015
Pros: All inclusive
Cons: Sort out all administrative sides to the resort.
Location: I wouldn't recommend doing anything nearby, you pay so much to stay here at the all inclusive and there are so many things at the resort to see and do
We stayed at Moon Palace Golf and Spa Resort for one week for a wedding. Confirming the booking and organising a day's activities in advance via email and phone was painful. The place itself was lovely but our room was no where near anyone else at the wedding (you had to catch the resort bus to see anyone). The food and wait service very nice but the administrative service just seems to be way harder than it should be. Lovely resort and I would stay again but not if I was paying for it.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom england

Hotel was ok.

Posted May 10, 2015
The beach was ok but you couldn't swim in the sea due to seaweed. All the staff wanted to do was sell you a vacation package. ( timeshare ). Wouldn't go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Mexico DF

Muchas actividades

Posted May 10, 2015
Pros: Muchas actividades, y el buen estado de las instalaciones
Cons: La playa es pequeña y no tiene los tonos que en Cancún.
Location: Cerca hay parques muy buenos para hacaer actividades. Nosotros fuimos al Xplor. Fue un dia intenso, pero le gustó a toda la familia.
El hotel es muy grande y tiene muchas actividades divertidas para los niños. La playa no es buena, pero tiene muchas albercas, actividad de surf, tobogán, golfito, etc. Muy recomendable para familias.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Iowa

Wonderful, after you check in!

Posted May 8, 2015
The check in process was awful. It took an hour and it wasn't even overly busy. After you finally get your key, no one tells you where to go, the hotel is so big and different buildings that we had to flag down a random employee to see where to go. I asked to adjoing rooms, but didn't get it. Some guys were having a party next door at 1am, not fun! The food is good, lots of stuff for kids to do, pool was awesome, even the public bathrooms by the pool were super clean. One thing that annoyed me a lot at the restaurants is that waiters would start picking up unused plates and utensils as we were still sitting and eating. It is very interruptive. Aside from a rough start, the rest of the vacation was good. They just gotta improve the check in procedures.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel

Posted May 7, 2015
Very nice Allinclusive facility. Breakfast was excellent and over all food was good.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Lincoln, NE

Not our cup of tea

Posted May 6, 2015
Pros: The food.
Cons: A LOT.
Location: Other than the other 2 Moon Palace resorts, you had to take a cab anywhere else.
First I must say, in all fairness, my husband has a bad back and I have a desk job and am not used to getting any exercise. With that being said, this resort was NOT for us. Because we are not "owners" and I opted for the cheapest available room on Expedia, our room was as FAR away from the lobby as it could possibly get, which literally was about 6 city blocks. They said there is a golf cart to take you back and forth, but we only saw it TWICE. Hot water in the shower smells TERRIBLE like sulfur. I asked for a King bed and we got two doubles, which after calling the front desk they said they could push together. (we did it ourselves). The beach was terrible and the ocean smelled awful. This is not our first rodeo, but this will be our only rodeo to this resort. There were baby lizards climbing the walls all over outside our room after it rained and the grass was really long. Found 2 dead bugs in our room upon arrival, but hey...at least they were dead! Saw a long, black snake on a golf-cart ride to the spa. Resort credits are A JOKE!!!! You can only use them on certain things, there is a limit on how many you can use, and you still pay a 16% tax on top of that. Other people were complaining about this too. Ok, that was the negative. The plus: awesome food, found plenty of desserts (previous reviews said there was a shortage.) The lobbies are beautiful. Pool-side drink service was really good. Most employees speak pretty good English. We won't go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Portland OR

Nice hotel, good food, crapy beach, bad room

Posted May 6, 2015
Vacation started off bad asked for a king bed but got double beds for me and my wife. They didn't care to work with me either after two days finally got a room with a king bed. That kinda set a bad mood for the vacation. It got better though the food was good, lots of variety and it was tasty. The hotel was nice but you would get bad smells every so often from the sewer. The home is really far spread apart lots and lots of walking.