Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Beverley

Charming

Posted Jun 18, 2012 on Hotels.com
Very well run hotel. Property is charming and very clean. Staff was very professional. Pool area lovely. Walk to beach takes about 10 minutes. I wouldn't recommend this hotel for children. It's atmosphere is formal.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Astoria, NY

Perfect Cannes hotel

Posted Jul 5, 2011 on Hotels.com
Three family members (18 and older) stayed here for a week and could not have been happier. Very clean; friendly, helpful staff; beautiful, peaceful pool; great breakfast buffet. Our room had a terrace overlooking the pool. The Hotel de Paris is about 7 - 10 minutes from the beach and you get a discount at a great private beach if you're staying there. It is a little off the beaten path, but a 2 block walk puts you in a great shopping/eating area. Wonderful bakery/sandwich shop 1 block away. Very reasonable for what you get. I highly recommend it!
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Surinder from New Delhi, India

Comme ci comme ca

Posted Dec 13, 2010
Pleasantly surprised with hotel. Avoid top floor rooms as the balconies open to a big wall of the front facade and rooms are very small with hardly any space to move alongthe bed and you may bump your head on side ceiling. A flight of stairs from entrance to reception which is below the ground level is tough if you have heavy luggage. No free wi-fi and taxi hired through hotel way above expensive. The staff was however very cooperative.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from London

Nice enough

Posted Nov 9, 2010
nice enough. very friendly staff. great location - 1 min to train station and 3 min to city centre
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

TERRIBLE HOTEL!

Posted Dec 12, 2009
To start off the man at the front desk was extremely rude when we checked in, was not helpful at all. We then went to our room and as the door opened there was a horrible smell, I can't even describe how bad it was but it was completely unbearable. I went down to the front desk to ask if we could change rooms and again the man at the desk was rude (no surprise there) . In response to my asking to change to a room that didn't smell, he said "NO, just open the window" . I was appalled and asked if there was anything else he could do but he could have cared less. So it was freezing outside but we still opened the window hoping it would help a little. We had one of the most uncomfortable sleeping nights I have ever experienced in any hotel and I travel quite a bit. In all the hotels I have ever stayed this is the first review of a hotel I have ever written and this hotel is the reason, I felt compelled to write one because it was that bad. The room was incredibly small and out-dated, which I could have dealt with if the smell wasn't so bad and the service horrible. I had already pre-paid for 2 nights but there was no way I was staying a second night. The next day we checked out and found another hotel which I wish we would have known about before, it made up for the terrible Golen Tulip Cannes Hotel de Paris.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Newbury

Very impressed

Posted Sep 12, 2008
After reading may reviews on various websites I was apprehensive about staying at the Golden Tulip Cannes. I was however very pleasantly surprised. The hotel staff spoke very good English which was a bonus as my French is appalling and were very helpful with any request we had. We had a room overlooking the pool which is also on the side of the main road and the railway line. Which having read other reviews i knew about. I always travel with ear plugs but as it turned out they were totally unnecessary as with the doors closed you couldn't hear a thing. Not all of the room have balconies. The hotel has a private beach or shares one with other hotels you need to make a reservation for sunbeds but if you ask nicely reception will do that for you. I would definately stay here again and would definately recommend it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Two single beds pushed together does not constitute a double bed.

Posted Jun 15, 2008
I was looking forward to staying at the Golden Tulip in Cannes, the information and reviews on Expedia had made it sound appealing. I was disappointed to find that the double bed we had asked for was in fact two beds made up separately and pushed together. There were only 2 pillows and when we asked for more we were given 2 that had clearly been washed and come out in one big lump. The toilet paper (which was on a large reel in a dispenser, like those in public toilets)ran out and was not replaced - we had to ask at reception. Small soaps and lotions were not replenished in our 3 night stay and towels were rather small and thin- no face cloths. Breakfast was expensive , good choice of jams, poor choice of fruit, we would have done better to walk into the town and find a cafe. the pool was good , but the advertised private beach was run by another company and had an additional cost. For a 3* hotel that had apparently won awards it was not good.Parking was available but spaces were very tight.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from London

Very pleasant hotel

Posted Oct 5, 2007
The hotel was well located for the Croisette (designer shops end)- we did need to get a cab up to bars and restaurants for around 10 euros. Very clean and quaint, very good service, 24 hour bar! Only drawback was the layout of our room-there was a downstairs area which was small with the bathroom and the beds were upstairs but the ceiling up there was so low we could hardly stand up. Ask about the room before you go. But do go.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from London

Fantastic holiday

Posted Sep 9, 2007
I had a wonderful time in Cannes and enjoyed my stay at Golden Tulip. It is situated in a perfect location just outside main strip but only 5 mins walk away. The staff are friendly and room was very nice and clean. The swimming pool area was also very pleasent. Ideal for couples, families and friends. Cannes is a lovely place and one I would like to visit over and over again. Would definitely stay in this hotel again
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Great for European standards

Posted Mar 29, 2007
As americans we are spoiled when it comes to hotels. This is a boutique hotel. Very clean, and small. But we should expect this in Europe. For the price it is great. The location is one block from a main shopping street which is nice. Also it is only a few blocks from the beach. The bed is comfortable and the rooms are clean. We would recommend this hotel and stay there again.