Ratings based on 98 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

3 Day Break in Cannes

Posted Jul 19, 2014
In respect to hotel, it's sadly lacking investment in decor & facilities (stayed in nicer 4 star hotels). Hotel Staff on the other hand were fantastic, great recommendations on restaurants and activities. Need to book beach seats in advance as unable to obtain on the day!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from LONDON

Group visit

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Pros: The position
Cons: The room The service The breakfast The attitude of the reception staff and the billing
Location: It enjoys the advantage of a location on The Croisette a pool and a beach - they charge you for sitting at the hotel pool and the beach
Unfriendly and bossy reception - who were not initially prepared to listen about my desired allocation of rooms or order of allocation. There was hardly a warm welcome! No attempt to help me to the room with a heavy case. My so called deluxe sea front room had no bath - just a cramped bathroom with a shower Overcharged on bills - both to individuals and to me - for example more beach chairs charged for than persons who went on the beach. I can understand charges for the beach - just - but charges to sit at the hotel pool are a bit much! Breakfast at the standard of a 3 star hotel - no fruit and the charge of 40 Euros was excessive given the poor quality and rotten service - for example no top up coffee offered, cold milk instead of hot etc. Good concierge Overall way way below the standard on my last stay. The chief advantage was the position - but I was very disappointed and would not wish to return in a hurry. My opinion was that this was lacklustre compared with other "palaces" on The Riviera. Indeed, I felt that this was not a palace and I wish I had opted for the obvious rival hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 13, 2014 by Romain Persic, Hotel Management
Dear Sir, First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to leave a review and your comments that are always helpful to improve our level of service. We shared your comments with our teams and would like to apologize for the inconveniences. Access to the swimming pool is free of charge, for all our hotel guests; but the sun loungers at the swimming pool are indeed, during High Season, paying. The reason is simply arithmetic as we have approximately 50 sun loungers at the swimming pool and during July & August, always more than 400 guests in the Hotel. The charge for the sun loungers has been decided just to have a smooth regulation of the requests. On our Website, it is very well stated that starting 15th of June, sun loungers have a rental fee. Please rest assured that the comfort and the satisfaction of our guests are our first preoccupation. We thank you for your understanding and for helping us to improve the quality of our service. We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again at the Hotel Martinez. Best regards. Romain Guest Relations Manager
4 out of 5
by Susan

I'm a tough critic. Grain of salt required

Posted Jun 15, 2014
Pros: It's history.
Cons: Get an interior designer and architect to give this place some character. And offer reasonable prices for the beach and spa.
Location: Nice shopping. Beautiful view of sea.
I went to this hotel to celebrate my one year anniversary of surviving cancer. Dreams about relaxing at the Riviera were what kept me alive during chemotherapy last year. This hotel cannot be faulted for anything. It is spotlessly clean and all the things you'd expect from an American franchise 5 star hotel are in place. The only complaint I have is that it has no character and the concierge was not very nice. This hotel was renovated a few years ago. I was hoping for some of the character of Hercule Poirot and Art Deco. It does have that history. But instead it is a very bland, un-inspiring big American franchise hotel - with absolutely no character. Also, the front desk concierge was very dismissive with me when I asked him to make me a reservation for the beach. He rattled papers around and huffed about how a big group may be coming in and there would be no place for me. He looked down his nose at me and snorted something about how it would cost a lot. He promised to call me if he found an opening. He never called. So I decided to try the spa. Unless you want to spend $3,000. - $5,000. for a spa day you had better find another place. The prices at the hotel spa are absolutely stupid. Then, I only learned there was a hotel swimming pool on my last day. So while I cannot fault the quality of the room, I must say I left very disappointed with my time there. I only had a weekend and I really wanted to relax at the beach or go to the spa. Alas ...
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 18, 2014 by Romain Persic, Hotel Management
Dear Susan, First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We took notes from your comments and shared it with our teams and our Concierge Desk Manager. Regarding the renovations a the property, kindly note that the hotel is currently under renovation and the biggest part of the work will start this winter and last for the next three years. Hyatt is fully aware of the needs of the hotel and will do what is necessary to better match your expectations. We are glad to read about your recovery and sincerely hope to welcome you back to the Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez, to show you our improvements and assign you a better room. With all our very best regards. Romain Persic Guest Relations Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chris from London

Most Rimantic Stay Ever

Posted May 31, 2014
Great setting for the hotel , the staff were super friendly especially the concierge ( Gaël ) advised us of an amazing restaurant -Eden Roc where I proposed for my girlfriend and upon my return to our room we found a nice bottle of champagne waiting for us courtesy of the hotel and arranged by the concierge
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 1, 2014 by Romain Persic, Hotel Management
Dear Chris, First of all we would like ot thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are delighted to read about your satisfaction and your engagement and will share your compliments with Gaël. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez. With all our very best regards. Romain Persic Guest Relations Manager
5 out of 5
by dany from beirut,lebanon

a warm hotel

Posted Jan 17, 2014
Pros: i liked the whole atmosphere and the lobby
Cons: the finishing in the rooms is old and needs refurbishing
i enjoyed the stay very much with my friends,great atmosphere and cordial surroundings made our trip enjoyable>>we will definitely go back when we visit cannes again
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 14, 2014 by Romain Persic, Hotel Management
Dear Dany, We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave a review and are extremely pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Martinez. Your satisfaction and your comments are an encouragement to us in the pursuit of making each stay a memorable one. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez. With all our very best regards. Romain Persic Guest Relations Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 7, 2014
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Stay after marathon

Posted Nov 12, 2013
Pros: View and location
Really beautiful hotel, excellent staff and a view to die for
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by jon girodes from New York City

Great Hotel in the South of France

Posted Nov 11, 2013
Pros: Very classy and upscale.
Cons: nothing!
Location: took pictures and went to restaurants, night clubs and lounges.
Very upscale. Very Good. Great staff..... A++++ Rating. This is the hotel you want to stay in when visitng Cannes France.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Mary from new york,New York

Best hotel in Cannes.

Posted Oct 24, 2013
Great staff beautiful rooms and very clean!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rachel and Alan from Surrey, England

An amazing 2 Days To Remember For Always.

Posted Oct 4, 2013
The Martinez is by far the best 5 star hotel in Cannes. The rooms are exquisite, the check and service is exceptional, the piano bar was a warm and fun experience. The only small improvements that I feel would have made my experience feel more valued as a guests would have been to actually have a king sized double bed and not two very large and comfortable singles pushed together. We booked a delux sea view view with king sized bed, which i would highly recomend. Secondly I would recommend not to charge guests €38 to use the sun lounges, this feels too much like you are taking advantage of guests, especially in October when there is only a few hours of hot sun a day. However my memories of Cannes and the Martinez are beautiful and will stay with me forever! Thank you.