Ratings based on 84 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good Hotel but is lacking in

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Stayed here for 4 nights in July 2014 it is a good basic hotel, the d├ęcor, bar area and restaurant area let this hotel down. Limited amount of spirits are available here i.e ( 1 type of Gin, 1 type of brandy etc) At first the staff in the bar and restaurant were disinterested in providing a good standard of service. Once we had spoken to what we find out to be a duty manager then things improved somewhat. The reception area and staff were excellent. It was a enjoyable stay and we had meals and especially breakfast on our last day, the English breakfast is really good. One disappointing note is that they advertise room service on a Sunday for meals but when we requested an order we were refused as we were informed that they only have a Carvery on Sunday so we went out to eat at the Hotels loss. Some of the staff made up for the poor services.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from West Midlands

Poor did not stay

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything!!!
Once I saw the room I did not want to stay, the bed looked that lumpy I thought there was actually someone still in it !!! Would most definite NOT recommend. Don't waste your money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by JC from SC, USA

Pleasant Stay

Posted Apr 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
Room was clean and comfortable, some noise heard from next rooms but no worse than most hotels. Staff were friendly and helpful. No complaints. Having read some other reviews of this hotel, I was dubious about staying here, now I have done I shall use this hotel again. I have recently stayed in local hotels charging double this rate for nothing better, the hotel is showing it's age but I had a good night's sleep, free WiFi, ample parking etc. for a very good price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

roman way hotel

Posted Apr 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
Was lovely had the best nights sleep on a long time x
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good place for a stopover

Posted Apr 19, 2014
Hotel was good for what we needed, we were on a 8 hot journey and needed somewhere to stop overnight, beds were comfortable, bathroom was clean, check in and check out were easy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Dave from Woodbridge

Week end visit

Posted Feb 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
I wa very impressed with the service and the food was great. The rooms are nice but could do with a make over. All in all an enjoyable stay. I have recommended to family and friends
2 out of 5
by geordie from easex boy

One night stand

Posted Nov 19, 2013
This place used to be the place to go in Cannock twenty years ago when I lived nearby. Unfortunately the hotel is very outdated and tired and has not changed in that time. To sum up how bad this hotel now is, the bedroom carpet looked to be a plain fawn carpet. However it didnt take long to spot that all around the edge of the room the carpet is patterned and it's quite simply just that old, battered, used on and faded that most of the carpet no longer has a pattern ! That sums the whole place up looks okay around the edges but once you're in you realise how bad it is.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Worse night sleep ever !!!

Posted Nov 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel is very tired, the bed & quilt was the worse thing ever, good location BUT !
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

nice hotel

Posted Oct 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
Overall the hotel was nice but found the room a bit grotty, signs of a previously forced open door on arrival to the room, grotty carpets and a dated bathroom suite but as it was simply a place to sleep I wasnt overly concerned. It had a shower, , kettle and tea, TV and a bed so was all I needed.