Ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Pam from hertfordshire

Quiet location

Posted May 1, 2014
This hotel was ideally placed for our needs being close to the sheltered housing my elderly mother lives. Normally we only go down for a day but it was good to be able to stay a few days and catch up with old friends. The room was clean and comfortable and the breakfasts were good. We will probably go there again when we want to stay over night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasant place to stay.

Posted Apr 6, 2014
Only stayed for one night. Would stay there again. Quiet, clean, warm and comfortable.
1 out of 5
by D from London

The worst place I have stayed so far this year!

Posted Mar 7, 2014
Pros: Nothing at all.
Cons: Everything, the rooms were basic, I needed somewhere to rest my head for a while, it did this but nothing else. The whole place needs an upgrade.
Location: I don't know, I just stayed so I could visit a local school so didn't really look anywhere else.
This hotel/B&B is definitely not one I will be revisiting. I had originally booked it for two nights, I am so glad I cancelled one of them!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Rick from Devon

Cheap and cheerful

Posted Feb 1, 2014
Pros: Friendly owners. Good food. Pleasant stay
Cons: Quality of furniture (Wardrobe ropey and a tad bashed) and a little more attention to detail with the condition of the fixtures and fittings
Location: Set on edge of a fleet (salt marsh) the local wildfowl honk all night. There are an abundance of foxes and if you don't see one I'd be surprised.
Had a couple of issues with the room. The sink took ages to drain and it was loose on the wall. Let the owner know and to be fair he did attempt to fix it. Owners very flexible about breakfast. I needed to leave early every morning and they kindly had my hot food ready dead on 7am. If you just nest a warm room and bed with little frills then this is good enough.
2 out of 5
by JMR from Gloucester

Name suggests a hotel when it's actually a B&B.

Posted Aug 22, 2013
Pros: Good breakfast
Location: On a housing estate
Very disappointing. Room not very clean - rather dusty with an obscured window therefore felt claustrophobic
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Andy S from Stayed ON 7th May 2013

Nice breakfast & owners were social hosts!

Posted May 11, 2013 on Hotels.com
Stayed in a single room that was tired looking however the bed was comfortable & warm & adequate for my needs. Towels provided & the shared bathroom was very close so that did not present me a problem. The showers all worked as did the sinks in the rooms so no complaints there. Would gladly use this B&B again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

ok as a pass through not a long stay

Posted Apr 30, 2013
needs updating i would not class as hotel more like bed and breakfast
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kens from North west England

Good B&B

Posted Apr 16, 2013
Pros: Quietness and breakfast
Cons: Tv and wifi
Location: Quiet ,the occasional plane but canvey is located on flight path,I lived there over 30yrs ago dident bother me then and doesn't now.
It should be classed as a B&B really as that is what it is,John and Julie are a lovely couple Very polite and curtioues and the breakfast was first class. The room was clean and basic and ok for what I required,the bed was ok ,got two good nights Sleep on it so can't be that bad. The only thing that let it down was the tv was old and dident work properly and I couldn't Pick up wifi from my room,if Expedia could explain this to John & Julie then I have no problems with staying there again. All I can say to advise others is if you want a hotel with all amenaties then it's not for you,on the other hand if you want somewhere to get your head down and have a good breakfast then it' is for you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Margaret from Hamilton

Posted Apr 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
Good value, excellent breakfast and hosts very friendly and helpful
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Disgusting

Posted Mar 6, 2013 on Hotels.com
This has to be the most disgusting hotel, cant call it that really. This is the most disgusting place I have ever had to put one of my staff, be warned stay away, the mold, the hair, the stains and the toilet, my god how bad was that toilet. My staff member said he dare not even eat there, if the cleanliness of the bathroom and rooms is the same as the kitchen then the risk is not worth taking.