Ratings based on 184 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cleveland, OH

beautiful hotel with amenities for all ages.

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Pros: own private beach; walking distance from downtown Chatham. Luxurious hotel.
original room was very small; hotel front desk changed our rooms. Upgraded for reasonable fee to the Spa Suite.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 5, 2014
Loved this place! Beautiful, we'll run with excellent service & provided nice touches. Location is perfect!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MA

great location but overated

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: Its location and beach
Cons: no tea in rooms just coffee, get some good staff, Weddings take the priority so many faculties are not available at weekends so make this clear
Location: town is full of tourist type shops., take the trip to go fishing, go to the outer bank beaches see the seals, whales and pristine beaches and crystal
for a world leading hotel it left a lot to be desired. I was mislead in the description of the room, it was not really a sea view but over looking the back of fish dock and storage plant. Hotel main restaurant was not available due to wedding. When I complained they did change my room to what was aligned with what I had booked but it was one day later. Staff were pleasant but not competent lots of staff are from outside US so some misunderstandings occurred. Location is fantastic, take the free boat out to the outer bank beaches. Food is so, so nothing special in quality or menu not what you expect from such a high end hotel. overall I was very disappointed
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful location, walk to town or beach.

Posted Apr 28, 2014
Pros: Pretty much everything.
Great place from which to explore the town, lots of shopping or walk by the ocean. Lots of amenities and activities, very comfortable rooms, and very pleasant staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Great hotel; check-in time was very late

Posted Jan 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Check in time is 4 p.m., which is late for a beach hotel. Then the room wasn't available until 4:30. Then the room had a problem. Finally I got a different, fabulous room at 5:30 p.m. The rest of the stay was just perfect. Check out was 11 am, so I didn't have too many daylight hours to enjoy the hotel. But it's a great place anyway.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Clauds from North Country, NY

Staff couldn't have been nicer!

Posted Dec 31, 2013
Pros: Comfortable, beautiful old building. Temperature control was excellent, which is not always the case in winter.
Cons: Closet space was tight for winter clothes.
Location: Right on the beach a few blocks from down town Chatham.
My husband and I stayed at the Bars over Christmas and enjoyed it very much. The staff was so helpful and friendly. Room was a little crowded with king bed, small table, comfy chair and dresser. A little less furniture would have made it more functional. It was lovely to look at and the view from the main lobby is gorgeous.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Carrie

Most romantic hotel even in the winter

Posted Dec 31, 2013
Pros: Best service; you can be casual or dressed up and they treat you very well. The cottages are adorable and have all of the amenities
Cons: Absolutely nothing. The place is perfect!
Location: Walk into town and walk around; go to the beach; relax on the deck
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lori from Boston, MA

Perfect Winter Retreat

Posted Dec 31, 2013
As a Christmas present to myself I booked several days at CBI. I'm a bit bipolar about vacations. I yearn for time in unspoiled nature but want to stay in beautiful hotels. Winter at CBI fills the bill. My vacation was beautiful and serene, with plenty of time for daily hikes and long breakfasts gazing at tides and sunrises. On weekend mornings a naturalist will take you out to Monomoy Wildlife Refuge and talk through the botany and changes in landscape. Honestly, aside from the sumptuous breakfast buffet at the Stars restaurant, those morning walks were the highlight of my stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful views, quaint decor, great beach.

Posted Dec 31, 2013
Staff was friendly and extremely helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by EM from Rhinebeck, NY

Charming But be aware

Posted Dec 2, 2013
Stayed in the Seaview building first floor. Could hear many activities above me. Other than that, a nice place