Ratings based on 395 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Auburn, CA

Historic beauty

Posted Mar 8, 2015
Fantastic experience, will definitely be back to this one. Beautiful historic hotel built in 1816. Very accommodating, lovely bar and restaurant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Delaware

Great Experience

Posted Mar 4, 2015
Pros: We liked the fact that it is rich in history. We did not have any idea about that when we booked our trip.
Cons: Nothing!
Location: There is an outdoor mall nearby with plenty of shops and taverns. It is directly across the street from the beach. Great breakfast diners close by.
This hotel is very rich in history. There are tours available for a very small fee. We had no idea about the history of the hotel, but you could feel it the minute you walked in the door. The staff is excellent, and there is plenty to do within blocks of the establishment. The rooms are comfortable and the nightlife was- blast. There is a very good piano player and acoustic guitar player that play in the brown room in the evenings. We highly recommend this hotel and will definitely be going back in the near future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel on the beach.

Posted Feb 8, 2015
Beautiful and comfortable. Would highly reccomended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom West Coast

One night stay

Posted Feb 3, 2015
This is a great old hotel that has been maintained impressively. Our room faced the ocean w/ a small balcony. The room was large. The bathroom was updated w/ some modern amenities but still had the old feel w/ the huge tub, original windows, half doors leading out yo balcony, etc. Bar downstairs w/ piano player, etc. Very quaint and enjoyable stay hotel and stay. We could definitely hear our upstairs neighbors when they came in at night and in the morning w/ the squeaky floors, etc, but that was to be expected in this old historic hotel. Recommended!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Jersey

Fine hotel for a winter weekend at a beach resort.

Posted Jan 26, 2015
Pros: I liked the mix of old and new. The hotel is a living museum. The slightly sloping floor in the room added to the charm.
Cons: The sink stopper in the bathroom sink didn't really stop the water from flowing out.
Location: A winery nearby gives tours and tastings, dinner with entertainment Friday night. Not much else going on in winter in Cape May.
This was a perfect hotel for a weekend's stay, even in winter.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

wow too much money for too lil room

Posted Jan 24, 2015
Pros: it has ambieance and character
Cons: make the rooms for comfort
very clean the fan from the heater actually would wake me up and had to adjust the tv for it was so loud.......the bath wow no non skid protection or handles to hold onto .....the room TERRIBLE
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Florida

Nice Hotel, But!

Posted Jan 14, 2015
Pros: The History and location.
Cons: Your Pricing! and in this case lack of consideration for guests arriving after a shut down.
Location: There is a nice town center right across the street and is on the Beach, But all was closed and not suitable for a cold January day.
This is a Nice Hotel, the rooms are OK, BUT the Bathrooms are fantastic. Our Stay started by being told that we could not check in until after 5PM. And this was because the hotel was closed for 3 days prior to our stay and the heat and all was just turned back on. This was difficult as it was very cold outside as well, and not knowing the area and where to go and wait was a large issue. Once Checked in the Hotel itself was very cold, we were freezing in the rooms until somewhere in the early morning when the heat actually started to overcome the cold in the building. I would have appreciated a heads up or some notification before arriving of what was in store for us that first day to be able to be better prepared or make other arrangements. The Restaurant and staff were very friendly, But I have to say I felt a bit overwhelmed when the Bill arrived, 2 persons have a couple drinks, and a dinner should not be well over $100 dollars in my opinion. I think they are a bit overpriced and if I were to stay again, I would eat outside.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Expensive but worth it. Beautiful building, nice room, beautiful view, great staff, etc.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 28, 2014
Pros: very clean.
Cons: no
Everything was great! Workers worked very hard. Rooms were clean!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great friendly warm homey atmosphere.

Posted Dec 28, 2014
Pros: The friendly staff, the in house shopping and great restaurants and tavern.
Location: You are right in the center of town, walking to all the great restaurants, shopping at Washington Mall is just across the street.,
When you arrive you just feel the warm family atmosphere that the hotel has on you. The Hall is decorated for the Christmas season, the fireplaces going in all the room. There are activities going on all of the time for all members of the family, you have the 'Winter Wonderland' in the back court yard to music and great drinks for mom and dad in the 'Brown Room'.