Ratings based on 180 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Towson, MD

Overall Awesome

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Great location. Room was perfect. Everything was clean. The Coastal Blue restaraunt where we had breakfast one morning had rough staff but could be because we visited out of peak season. Other then that I have nothing to complain about here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Lindenhurst, NY

Girls Weekend

Posted Oct 17, 2014
Pros: Loved everything about the hotel, the retro d├ęcor, the rooms, the kitchenette and the view, outdoor heated pool and a restaurant on site.
Cons: The only thing that would have made it even better was perhaps a slightly higher bed, felt it was a bit to low to the floor, I'm used to a much higher
Location: In season I'm sure there is plenty to do, being in the Wildwoods, but was there off season, so spent much of our time in nearby Cape May.
My girlfriends and I went to Cape May for the weekend, stayed at Hotel Icona, what a great retro hotel. The room was very well equipped with fridge, 2 burner cooktop, microwave and dishwasher. Balcony looking out at the beach, what more could one want. The rooms was a 2 room suite, clean and nicely decorated. There was a nice restaurant in the hotel, really nice breakfast. The staff was informative and helpful. Had a great time would definitely go back, already told my husband about how nice it was, so he has put it on the list of places to stay near Cape May.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

End of summer stay

Posted Oct 1, 2014
Pros: Location away from hustle and bustle of the boardwalk; staff
Cons: the restaurant and HVAC controls
Location: Easy access to the Wildwood boardwalk and Cape May
pleasant end of summer stay. Staff were very pleasant and helpfull. Rooms spacious, clean and comfortable. Nice balcony with ocean views. Vouchers were provided for free breakfast for the course of our stay, however, food and service was lacking.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northampton, PA

WE WERE "WOWED"!

Posted Sep 28, 2014
Pros: THE STAFF was outstanding...THE ROOM was amazing. THE "HAPPY HOUR" - happy!
Cons: Nothing on our agenda of "needs"
Location: Close to Cape May with many fine restaurants and activities given the time of year of our visit. But the Hotel itself had a great restaurant.
From the moment we entered the lobby of this classy yet casually elegant hotel and were greeted by soft yet upbeat music and welcomed by the gracious and charming staff, our five night "sisters" escape was perfect. Every staff member from Management , Desk Reception, Restaurant and Bartender, to Housekeeper & Maintenance went beyond our expectations to make us feel like royalty. Friendly, Smiling, and "available"! Our room was upscale, casually chic, and clean, clean, clean with plenty of fluffy pristine towels and yummy amenities...including a Kuerig Coffee Maker.....even the windows sparkled, which is hard to maintain in an ocean front property. I've spent MANY years in this beach community and surrounding areas, but never did I feel as warm and welcomed as I did at Icona. Although the "sister" week was fun....I can't wait to go back with my husband for a romantic adventure. . .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PA

Beautiful ocean front hotel!

Posted Sep 27, 2014
This hotel was beautiful and we had an ocean view room to top it off! We appreciated the free breakfast vouchers we received as well as a discount on dinner! The only thing I was disappointed with was the comfort of the bed. It was a king size bed which was great but, the mattress was on the thin side.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful!

Posted Sep 25, 2014
Pros: Location, beach, pool, amenities, staff, restaurant, bar - the list goes on and on...
Cons: Nada!
Location: Gorgeous beach, close to iconic Wildwood and Cape May. Two different types of fun!
This hotel is located on majestic Diamond Beach. Fantastic location! Hotel is great - they have thought of your every need and provided for it. Staff could not do enough for you. Hotel sets itself apart from the Wildwood area norm. Truly not to be missed. Right in between Wildwood and Cape May - wonderful something for everyone!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Right on the Beach, terrific view of the ocean

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Pros: see above
Cons: see above
Location: see above
Overall a very good experience. Very nice remodeled facility. Most problematic was the restaurant's breakfast service or lack thereof. On our first morning they ran out of both wheat & multi-grain bread and orange juice (they knew the hotel was fully booked but said they had a lot of outside visitor). The second morning there was a 40 minute wait and we elected to eat elsewhere instead of the free voucher breakfast at the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel all rooms have ocean view.

Posted Sep 19, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: Spend the day at the beach. Cape May is only 10 minutes away and a lovely twon.
We were delighted with our mini-vacation at this hotel. The staff was extremely friendly and the rooms were clean. This facility is a cut above other hotels in the area. It's more like renting a condo as the living room/kitchenette is separate from the bedroom. Best of all, it was very clean and updated. Restaurant and bar are added features. Ocean view from both living room and bedroom and we just had a standard room. The beach is private and beautiful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lancaster, PA

Quiet Location & All the Basics Covered

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Pros: Location, very peaceful.
Cons: Very noisy fan running on room outside patio. Wouldn't shut off even trying 'how to' instruction twice.
Location: Dining, hiking, swimming, biking, sand games, nearby beach bar and souvenir shop.
Hotel was modern and clean. Room was larger than expected and nicely updated. Gorgeous little kitchenette stocked with basic dishes/utensils. Fitness room, mini convenience store, outdoor pool and restaurant on site. Quiet neighborhood and private beach access. Convenience location to land preserve with smaller (1-2 mi) trails.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Albany, NY

Good choice for a first time visit to Cape May are

Posted Sep 8, 2014
This was our first visit to the Cape May area. Due our late decision during high season, couldn't find a room in one one the old victorian B&Bs. Hotel Icona was highly rated and available so we booked it. The ratings were spot on. The location is convenient to Cape May, and away from the boardwalk madness of Wildwood. The private beach is clean and uncrowded. The room was large, sleeps 6, with a functional kitchenette...could be cleaner though. (a few spots on carpet near the kitchen, and some makeup spots on some of the bed linens). The staff was gracious when asked for replacements. The only real negative is the on site restaurant, Coastal Blue; poor service, lousy food, high prices. It is useful for bar service when you use the pool, but plan to eat elsewhere.