Ratings based on 110 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.5 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
2.6 Room cleanliness
2.8 Service & staff
2.3 Room comfort
2.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jordan from New Jersey

Good location, dirty floor

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: Location, kitchenette, 2 beds and a pull out couch, good ac.
Cons: clean the floors.
Location: Boardwalk, beach, water park, restaurants, could walk everywhere, Rite Aid.
The location was great. The kitchenette was great. With out shoes, the floor was slippery and felt like there was a layer of oil on it..Needed to be cleaned..Other than that, there were some ants on the counter. Everything else was nice..
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Relieved!!

Posted May 19, 2014
I read the reviews on google after I booked and was scared to stay there!! What a pleasant surprise to find a clean room, updated bathroom and a pleasant front desk clerk. Granted the hotel could use an overhaul but it was no where near the bad reviews I read. Happy to say that I checked for bed bugs before putting anything down and there were none!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Acceptable for the purpose.

Posted May 12, 2014
Pros: Location to convention center, clean bathroom, free parking.
Cons: Décor is not very attractive.
Location: Convention center, boardwalk, beach within a few minutes walk.
Needed a room last minute. Made last minute reservation online, hoping that would help me locate a hotel which would allow late check in, however the hotel front desk closed at 10:00 p.m, so even though my confirmation said your room is booked and there is no reason to call the hotel to reconfirm, I felt I needed to call because I was travelling almost 2 hours....and when I did call, they informed me that I had to make it there by 10:00 because they would be closed......and I was able to get there by 9:30, so it wasn't a big issue, but it wasn't pleasant feeling like I had to rush to get there, an hope there were no traffic issues. The hotel was well kept, décor is outdated but minimal. The bathroom was very clean and just freshly cleaned and smelled of bleach (woohoo, bleach!!) I had no issue with the hotel staff, they were very courteous. I was just in need of a place to sleep and wasn't looking for fancy. There was a small fridge, microwave, t.v. none of which I needed but good to know. Would recommend for the location to the convention center, free parking, 2 blocks to beach, and good price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by amazing from k

Really good prices an so close to board walk

Posted May 4, 2014
Great nite never saw the staff relaxed on the porch u get with each room and chairs were super comfy the nite was amazing comfy beds and close to rite aid and a few shops to get food local
1 out of 5
by Joan from NY

Are you kidding me?

Posted Apr 29, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
The first room they tried to give us had a missing window pane and an overwhelming smell of gas. The clerk was nice and shut the gas then gave us the room right above it. There were two towels in the bathroom. It was a two bedroom apartment. (4 adults staying) No toilet paper refill. The next morning we were told we should have come down they have plenty of towels and toilet paper,apparently just not in your room. The place needs a major update. Floors were sticky and in the closet in one room was a rolled up bedspread with the sheets inside it. I am assuming dirty I wouldnt touch them. The plumbing in the tub was slow draining so you were standing in the dirty water. Never again its a place for teenagers for the prom where no one cares.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 21, 2014 by Moh, Hotel Management
I'm sorry to hear you did not have an enjoyable stay here. We immediately moved you to a new apartment and remedied the issue with the initial one. Upon moving you, you were asked if there was anything else you needed. Your answer was no. Again, later on you were asked again if you needed anything, and you said no again. So, in our eyes you had all you needed. If you needed more towels, bathroom tissue, etc, we would be happly to provide you with some. It is standard to provide 2 sets of towels per room because it is an easy task to request more and have them bring more for you. We do appreciate your review and will use it to better our services for our guests in the future.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst Hotel/Motel EVER.

Posted Apr 28, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: I dont think anything.
This hotel was so bad, I actually had to rent another room down the street at the Bolero(much much better). The management at the Sea Foam was horrible, the owner or whatever he was, was rude, nasty. The room was disgusting, not clean at all, sheets stained, etc. I didn't care if i didn't get my money back. I would never recommend this hotel to anyone coming into town. Also, the manager was a liar when it came to Expedia and their policies/practices.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 21, 2014 by Moh, Hotel Management
I'm sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay here. The problems started when you brought additional guests to stay with you, despite your reservation saying only 2 people. After requesting additional money for the guests, it could be seen that you were not happy with that, despite it being a policy that additional guests on a reservation are an additional fee. I can assure you that all the rooms are cleaned thoroughly and all sheets and towels are cleaned in house. After some time passed, a guest of yours came to request a refund for the extra person fee, because they were staying with friends instead, and it was done so without an issue despite it not being a policy to refund after the fact. Then you came to say you had friends staying elsewhere and wanted to stay with them. We cannot offer a refund because you change hotels to see your friends. We do appreciate your review and will use it to better our services for our guests in the future.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Nikki from Nj

It's ok

Posted Mar 11, 2014
The room was clean and served it's purpose. Most places in wildwood are not great but I would stay here again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old and falling apart

Posted Feb 18, 2014
The owner started screaming at us we calmly asked about a few issues.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 18, 2014 by Moh, Hotel Management
Old Yes but very clan not falling 13 Yr in motel bus i am never screaming any guest stay in my motel I am very Sorry if scream at you
1 out of 5
Recommended
by TRUDY from STRATFORD

GROSSED OUT

Posted Feb 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
THE PICTURES ON THE WEB SITE WERE NOT WHAT THE ROOMS LOOKED LIKE. DIRTY, HAIR ALL OVER THE SHOWER WALLS AND BATHROOM FLOOR. USED SHAMPOO 1 TOWEL EACH FOR 2 PEOPLE 1 WASH CLOTH TOTAL, STICKY SOAP TO USE IN SHOWER AND SINK. NO CABLE NO INTERNET AS ADVERTISED. NO WORKING SMOKE DETECTORS. GROSSED OUT. THANK GOD WE ONLY HAD TO STAY ONE NIGHT. RUSTY WATER SO THE HAIR WAS THERE ALONG TIME. GROSS AND SHOULD REALLY GET A REFUND. HOTELS.COM YOU SHOULD TAKE THIS ONE OFF YOUR PAGE. IT WILL GIVE YOU A BAD NAME. I COULD GO ON BUT IM SURE ANYONE THAT READS THIS CAN FIGURE OUT WHAT IM TRYING TO SAY.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 21, 2014 by Moh, Hotel Management
I'm sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay here.This seems to be a very exaggerative review, as we do have internet and we definitely have cable tv as well. If additional amenities were needed, such as towels, a simple request would be immediately fulfilled. Our smoke detectors are tested on a regular basis, and can assure you they are in working order. Again, that is an issue that could have been brought to our attention to remedy if needed be. We do appreciate your review and will use it to better our services for our guests in the future.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 17, 2014 by Moh, Hotel Management
You make the housekeep open 10 rooms for you to see wetch room you like for one night and you get room #9 Ok , you happy house keep say after 3 houre later you ask me for refund .Sorry ( no refund)
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Lee from Baltimore

Not clean

Posted Jan 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel location js not good, no one at the front desk. Never visit again
Comment from Hotel Management
May 17, 2014 by Moh, Hotel Management
sorry we not open January