Ratings based on 125 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New York

Great vacation spot

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Pros: Space, cleanliness, comfort, details like the swinging bench in front, and the picnic table in the backyard (oh yea it had a backyard).
Cons: Better hours/access to front desk. Also didn't know there was a pool across the street we could've accessed until we were leaving.
Location: Beach, bars, restaurants, bike rentals,
Close to the beach, perfect for a quick mid week getaway.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mike from New York, NY

Nice hotel, needs a tune up.

Posted Apr 20, 2014
Pros: Good light, pleasant staff, well located.
Cons: Fix the toilet, please.
Location: Beach, biking, food.
Lights in bathroom blew out on arrival, but staff quickly fixed fuse. Flush handle on toilet fell off every time we flushed. It became a running joke. You can hear EVERYTHING in hall. If a mouse sneezed out there, you would hear it. Overall acceptable but quirky.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

cute

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Our room had a little kitchenette, and it was perfect. I could have lived there for a while! I had a couple of problems, bed had some broken bits, and my doorknob fell off! But the staff could not have been better, and fixed things right away, and really, isn't that what you want in the end? It's an older hotel, and I like going to places that have a little history. I would definitely go there again, or to any of the hotels that this company owns. Your also across the street from Congress hall, so you can enjoy all the amenities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ron from Hamilton, NJ

Great Intro to B&B Experience

Posted Mar 30, 2014
The Star Inn was perfect for a long-weekend getaway. We stayed in the main guest-house (rooms 1-8) which, for us was a great segue to B&Bs. It has all the charm but it's not actually in someone's house as you check in at Congress Hall. It was a great way to have the amenities of Congress Hall but your own secluded place to chill. I would highly recommend the Star Inn...I honestly feel you can't beat the value.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ellen from Sag Harbor, NY

Cozy, romantic inn.

Posted Mar 24, 2014
Pros: Charming and historic atmosphere.
This is a wondrously private and beautifully maintained annex to the fabled Congress Hall. You have all the amenities of Congress Hall but the escape from all of the activity when you want to.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

famous seaside beach resort in off season.

Posted Feb 1, 2014
Pros: the setting - right on the ocean.
Cons: as stated above. but understand it is off season and I get the issues with off season seaside resorts.
Location: from their literature- a rich history as a summer seaside resort. couldn't tell you much about anything from my experience except ferry was cool !
lovely property - and I'm sure an exceptional experience in the summer. However, don't expect much in the winter! I'm not one to need or want much help but it would have been very nice to have a "heads-up" about certain local matters. Like: do you need or want directions to the ferry (I had asked about distance to it - so they knew I was headed there) , do you need or want to know whats open around here for eats, gas, etc. Also- I was put up on the 3rd floor - walkup - on a bitter cold day - and had to repack my stuff so as to facilitate a quick and easy get away the next morning- NOT an easy thing to do 3 floors up , in the bitter cold , and I don't think all the other rooms below were full! Again- no questions asked, no advice or help offered. The room was very nice and cozy- comfy - even in the winter - and despite all that , I would have loved to stay and explore and would have been fine with it. Travel plans were very tight and the weather just awful so no dice there but I was a bit perplexed on the lack of attention I received there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by D & S from CT

Lovely visit to Cape May at the Star.

Posted Jan 27, 2014
Pros: Very peaceful, great access to the Congress Hotel and the beach (one block away), walking distance to restaurants and shopping, roomy and clean.
Cons: --
Location: Although a bit cold, we still visited the Light House and took the two mile nature walk. Good food at the Lobster House, Congress Hall and George's.
The Star Hotel was a perfect spot for our mid-winter (and first) visit to Cape May. It was part of the Congress Hall group (200 yr old major hotel across the street which we had access to) yet it was it's own cozy inn. We loved the living room and kitchenette space, The bedroom with the king size bed was perfect. With nice weather, the outdoor sitting area (front porch and back garden) must be very pleasant.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

wedding tasting

Posted Jan 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
The Star Inn is as close to Congress Hall as possible. The room was clean and pleasant, but tiny!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not what I expected from a Cape Resorts hotel.

Posted Dec 24, 2013
Accomodations were good if you were looking for a quick get away and needed a place to stay. Doors to the room lack security and do not have good sound barriers to them. Housekeeping staff in the AM leave laundry all about the small hallways and is very noisy