Ratings based on 164 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pa

Posted May 29, 2015
Close to beach and historic sites. Hotel staff was friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phila, Pa

Pleasant short get-away

Posted May 9, 2015
Our first time at The Star. We were in the main house, room #5 which was immaculate when we arrived. Several large windows (unfortunately view is of a roof with lots of wires & the fire escape) very bright. Large room, comfortable bed and very spacious bathroom. Nice, shared front porch with cushioned chairs and benches to have a glass of wine and watch the passers bye.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Princeton, NJ

Nice place in a good location.

Posted Apr 21, 2015
Pros: Location, comfortable bed, nice linens, nice view of the beach.
Cons: The bathroom layout was strange. To use the sink, you basically were standing over the toilet. It also looked like the room could use paint job.
Location: It's close to the beach and also the main street with restaurants and shops.
I had stayed here before in a different room. It's a nice place in a good location. It's easy to walk to the beach or to the main pedestrian area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by John F. Donahue from Philadelphia, pa

title

Posted Mar 10, 2015 on Hotels
Generally fine but missed electric teakettle and mugs to brew tea or herbal tea anytime. Your hotel was first we stayed in many years without coffee or hot water in room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Nice clean historic Hotel.

Posted Mar 10, 2015
Attentive and friendly staff. Quick and immediate response to requests and housekeeping needs. We stayed at the Star Inn , comfortable, clean and a convenient location.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Ryan from NJ

Quaint.....and small

Posted Feb 16, 2015 on Hotels
We've stayed at The Star before and loved it. This time was just ok though. The Star Inn is made up of a small motel, carriage house, and what appears to be an old B&B. The rooms were clean and nicely furnished. However, both rooms were in what appeared to be the attic of the old B&B. Now I understand the need to capitalize on all available space, but one of the rooms was simply a shoe box. The other room did not have a bathroom in the unit and required you to exit the room into another hallway, enter a code, and then you could enter the bathroom. We called the front desk but we were told that the property was at capacity and all arrivals had checked in. These rooms should have been better explained on both hotels.com and The Star Inn's websites. We do have a slightly bitter taste in our mouths over the size and layouts of the two rooms we had but most likely will return....just not to Rooms 8 or 9!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Paul from Eastern PA

The Star is a Star

Posted Feb 12, 2015 on Hotels
Great location in Cape May. Near the beach and Washington St. Mall. The ocean view from the Junior Suite is very nice. We always enjoy our getaways to the Star!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by ALBERTO

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 1, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Anna from Dillsburg, PA

A wonderful experience!

Posted Jan 13, 2015 on Hotels
We had an excellent stay. The room was clean and bright. Rooms are different sizes...Ask for room #7 if possible. The only negative is that the wi-fi is a bit slow...but who needs that on a couple's getaway!? Everything else was perfect!!! Highly recommended!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Northern New Jersey

Quaint and quiet. Charming qualities

Posted Jan 4, 2015
Pros: The hotel was quaint and charming. The room had cute characteristics that made it stand out from the normal hotel.
Cons: The room could have used a coffee maker (as the coffee shop is closed in the winter).
Location: Congress hall has amazing restaurants and definitely check out Mad Batter for breakfast! The bloody marys are amazing
The Star inn was perfect for our needs. Having to check in at the Congress Hall was easier than expected and left the Star Inn much quieter with less people in the lobby. Room was spotless and had everything we needed. It was the top of the Inn, so the slanted ceilings could have been tricky to navigate, however, we are both not very tall people. The front desk was also very helpful when called about the code for the ice machine.