Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
5.0 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York City

Beautiful hotel close to everything

Posted Mar 10, 2015
If you ever see this hotel on expidia, just get it and don't think even twice about it! This place is absolutely charming. Rooms are beautiful, species, very clean and they get a lot of daily light. I loved the shower. Beds are very comfortable. All the stuff is incredible and very friendly. Ursula and Michael really made me part of a family, helped me get around and provided me with an excellent sight seeing. I will definitely come back to this city and this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Suffolk, UK

Wonderful hotel, walk to City.

Posted Jan 28, 2015
The hotel is small and Owner so welcoming. The rooms all 'unique' very good size and everything is so clean. Breakfast is excellent with nice choice of 'healthy' or cooked breakfast. Ursuline, the owner is so helpful and can arrange all needs from taxi, tours, restaurants (some very good within a block or two). I will always return to 'Rouge' when in Cape Town, never a 'plastic' 5 star again. Guess the only problem this place is popular you need to book in good time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful stay

Posted Jan 17, 2015
Wonderful stay, luxury hotel and great friendly staff always willing to help.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Kennethfrom Encinitas, CA

Such a great find

Posted Nov 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
Best hotel!!! Perfect location...downtown, close to many great restaurants and bars. Super stylish hotel with a lot of charm....big beautiful rooms a staff that makes you feel so much at home and will help you with just about everything.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Very nice, but...

Posted Oct 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
I had the Deluxe Suite which features a large bed with airco right above it, a table with 4 chairs, 2 lounge chairs, a large bathroom (no door, mind you) with a very large bath and a walk-in shower with rain shower. There was also a fridge with 2 complimentary small bottles of water and a small safe. The room looked beautiful and I was super excited to spend a few nights there. Positive : - Nice room - Plenty of space - Nice bath/shower - OK neighborhood, although you still have to be careful - Super friendly hosts - Good breakfast (5 items to choose from + juice + coffee/tea) Negative : - Windows are single-paned glass and with the room being on the corner, it gets noise from both streets. It isn't just cars and people shouting at night, there's a mosque nearby which has loudspeakers asking people to pray... at 5am in the morning! - No power socket near the mirror in the bathroom - Wifi is spotty at times (although the host told me they were getting fiber soon) - In-room safe is small, good enough for a photo camera or small tablet, way too small for a laptop - Housekeeping decided to ignore the 'do not disturb' sign one morning when I was working in the room - Mattress was really hard. I ended up using 2 pillows as extra cushioning. If the noise problem can be resolved, this hotel gets a 5 star from me.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom saudi arabia

Awsome ;)

Posted Oct 9, 2014
I went there with my wife spend 3 days ; the place was good and neer to every thing ; the stuff there was very kind and helpfull ;) but i request to do late check out at 3:00 pm when i did my reservation they ignore it !! Actully they ask me to go even early at 12:00 pm :( in kind of bad way .. It makes me really desapinted but the son of the awner wasnice man he keept my backages in the save room till i comes back and toke them .. Over all nice place and designe ; nice to try it ,)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom DubaI

Amazing hotel, highly recommended

Posted Oct 3, 2014
Pros: Everything, but mostly the warm welcome and the decoration
Cons: Have more rooms to allow more people to experience this atmospher
Location: Almost central and walking distance to main points Green market Water front V&A mall Sea point Castle of good hope
Amazing experience, starting from the nice greeting of the owner, to the amazing decorations that mix a modern style with an old simple ones, a very nice breakfast, and strong wireless connection, international plugs, microwave, kettle, coffee and tea, and cooking equipment all in the room, it was more like I am in my own apartment back home.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Atlanta, USA

A little gem in the middle of Capetown

Posted Sep 3, 2014
Pros: I liked the location, easy access to every highway and sightseeing. The Hotel staff was beyond fantastic. Breakfast something to write home about.
Cons: We stayed on the third floor room and the wireless was not great, to actually get better service we had to go down to the lobby.
Location: Close proximity to highways, waterfront, Long street and cable mountain.
Being more than avid travelers, I can highly recommend The Rouge. Small cozy hotel with unique rooms and an absolute fantastic shower...The sheets. oh the sheets... Ursula and Michael were fantastic, felt more like a distant relative than hotel staff. Breakfast is made to order, with fresh ingredients and fun choices. Breekie being my favorite. Loved the pomegranate juice. It is nice to find a fantastic hotel like that in the midst of all big hotel chains. If you are looking for an experience more like home away from home, The Rouge is were you need to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Funky boutique hotel with incredible staff

Posted Aug 28, 2014
We only stayed at Rogue on Rose for one night, but we wished we had stayed longer. The place was located in the colorful and vibrant Bo Kaap neighborhood, which was conveniently located near attractions, restaurants, and bars. The charming hosts Ursula and Michael provided us with excellent suggestions for sight seeing. It was a top-notch and very unique little gem of a hotel.