Ratings based on 9 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Canada

Nice guest house

Posted Jan 18, 2015
Nice guest house in a very colourful and unique part of town, compared to the more touristy areas. Modern accommodation among the narrow cobblestone streets. Along with some of the benefits of this truly South African area, some danger lingers. Sunlight is your friend. Great dinning near by.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 20, 2015 by Bruce, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our guesthouse. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Kind regards, Bruce
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Lovely place to stay!

Posted Oct 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
The Rose Lodge was a great place to stay while visiting Cape Town... What was nice about the house on Whale Street was that we were able to serve ourselves to breakfast at our convenience. The guest house is clean, and the service personel is very friendly. Beware not to be out on foot around this location looking like a tourist. The security around the guest house is questionable. The guesthouse itself is recomendable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 10, 2015 by Bruce, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our guesthouse. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us :) Kind regards, Bruce
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Amarjivafrom new delhi

comfy beds but no Reception

Posted Aug 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
it is good but the absence of Reception in the Hotel is annoying and very difficult at the time of checkout! Even check-in is hard as the hotel is in no. 22 but the check-in staff sits in another building numbered 28! And, there is no clue of it!! I was lucky as I arrived in day time to drag my luggage in the four buildings in neighborhood to find the exact place and person who will guide me to the hotel room at 22!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 10, 2015 by Bruce, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We notify all our guests that reception is at 28 Rose Street and are sorry to hear you were not aware of this. Thank you for pointing it out to other guests. Apart from thst we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Kind regards, Bruce
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Montreal

A friendly place well-situated in Bo-Kaap

Posted Jul 21, 2014
We were very well received by Edward, who gave us good advice and information for exploring the area, booked our taxis, and made tasty muffins and croissants. The room was small but cosy. The kitchen area was clean and the choice for self-made breakfast was good. There is a closed garden where guests may smoke. The location is convenient for exploring Cape Town, and a few blocks from Long Street where you will find restaurants (Africa Café is even closer), and can hop on the sightseeing double-decker. It is also within a comfortable walking distance from the Castle of Good Hope and District Six Museum, and you can go to the V&A Waterfront or Table Mountain cheaply and quickly by taxi.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 1, 2014 by Bruce, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our B&B. We are so happy you liked our accommodation and look forward to your return visit ! Kind regards, Amanda, Daniel, Edward & Bruce
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Great location, comfortable environment

Posted May 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
This is a great bed and breakfast. The communal kitchen area is a great idea... It's essentially a self-service communal space where you've got tea, coffee and snacks. The apartment itself is clean and tidy. It's directly behind a mosque... So you'll get woken up singing fairly early. We didn't mind it as we've stayed in a Muslim country before, but I can see that this may irritate some people. (They guy has a nice voice though!)
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2014 by Bruce, Hotel Management
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Kind regards, Bruce
2 out of 5
by renate

B&B datato e buio

Posted Apr 9, 2014
Pros: La posizione.
Cons: Tutto
Location: Ottima posizione. Consiglierei di prenotare il rose lodge molto carino e luminoso. L Il proprietario e' lo stesso.
Camere minuscole, assolutamente solo per viaggiatori singoli. Colazione self service scadente con prodotti da discount. Transfert oganizzato da hotel arrivato con mezz'ora di ritardo in apt.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2015 by Bruce, Hotel Management
Siamo molto dispiaciuti che non erano soddisfatti del vostro alloggio. Vorrei che tu ci avessi detto quando siamo andati dentro deposito o il pagamento non era stato fatto e si potrebbe avere cancellato la prenotazione senza penale. La colazione a buffet non è certamente di qualità sconto, ma è self-service, come è reso chiaro al momento della prenotazione. Posso solo scusarmi se il trasferimento organizzato da me non era in tempo. Io uso una compagnia di taxi locale che di solito è molto puntuale. Ci scusiamo per gli eventuali disagi che avevi. Cordiali saluti, Bruce
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Alexfrom Nairobi

A Good Place in Bo-Kaap

Posted Apr 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
We stayed here during an impromptu getaway from Nairobi. Great location, not too far from the Waterfront, in the quaint Bo-Kaap area. It is near a mosque that does the call to prayer during the day, even early in the morning. It was much louder than we thought it would be, but after the first time, we mostly slept through it unless we were already close to being awake. We were in 22 on Rose, which I think is a little different from the other guest houses. It has a refridgerator and microwave, so you can heat up food, which came in handy. There is no common area besides the kitchen, but our room was quiet cozy. It was normally quiet, though when there were people in the kitchen, we could hear it and the lights from the kitchen lit up the staircase to our room. Our room had a frosted glass window into the staircase, so a few times, this woke us up, but normally was very nice and pleasant. We enjoyed the balcony off of our room, which had a nice view. Breakfast is very simple, but with access to a fridge, you can make due quiet well. Had a great time and would definitely stay again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2014 by Bruce, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are so happy you had a pleasant stay with us. Part of the charm of the Bo-Kaap are the mosques which can be disturbing but it's part of this unique quarter. It's good you point it out to others. We look forward to hosting you again ! Kind regards, Bruce
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Vakantiegenieters

Prima

Posted Mar 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
Verblijf op prima lokatie in de stad. Op loopafstand van Greenmarket square, Company garden en long street gelegen. Kamer met bed en douche, eenvoudig maar erg netjes. Perfecte uitvalsbasis. Veilig auto parkeren, door aanwezigheid van lokale straatbewaker, aan straatzijde van de kamer. Continentaal ontbijt staat klaar voor zelf gebruik.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2014 by Bruce, Hotel Management
Dank u voor de tijd neemt om een recensie te schrijven. We zijn erg blij dat u genoten van uw verblijf bij ons. Met vriendelijke groet, Bruce
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 30, 2011 on Hotels.com