Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Boston, MA

I would recommend this guest house to most people

Posted Apr 24, 2015
Pros: Small and cozy. The other guests were pleasant to talk to at breakfast. The staff was hard working. The location was convenient to everything.
Cons: Our room was over the kitchen. The staff would make a lot of noise preparing breakfast at 7AM. The WIFI should reach the bedroom. Nicer towels maybe
Location: The Waterkant had nice restaurants, bars and shops. Table Mountain was worth a visit. Make sure to visit wineries and the botanical gardens.
We were in "the suite" in rose lodge (28 rose st) for five nights. We arrived around 2PM and there was no street parking available. The staff looked for the key to the back gate but couldn't find it so we had to park illegally until the street cleared out at 5. After 5PM there was plenty of parking. If you do park on the street, do not leave anything in your car. The room was bright and comfortable, but the bathroom was open to the room (except for the toilet). If you are sharing the room, you will see your roommate naked. There was a separate tub and large shower but a small pedestal sink. The shower had a raised pebble floor that might be an issue for sensitive feet. The bed was a comfortable king with 4 pillows, 2 regular and 2 square. The safe was so far under the desk that it wasn't too useful. There was plenty of shelves and hanging space. The wifi did not work well in our room but worked fine in the dining room. Breakfast was good enough for our needs: Toast, yogurt, muffins, croissants, eggs, juice. The Bo Kaap neighborhood is very interesting. There are quite a few homeless people that conjugate near Rose st and Strand during the day. Other than aggressive panhandlers, we did not have any incident. The hotel is 3 blocks from the Waterkant which is a trendy gay neighborhood with excellent restaurants and shopping. I would recommend this guesthouse if you are an experienced traveler and comfortable in a city environment. We had a nice stay at Rose Lodge.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Portland, Oregon

Nice place. Good location

Posted Feb 14, 2015
Pros: Location and facilities were great. Staff were helpful. They arranged a pickup from the airport and it went smoothly.
Cons: Would have been nice if staff were closer to the rental unit.
Location: Very easy to access downtown and restaurants and tourist activities.
If I had known I would have stayed longer. Staff were very helpful. The price was very reasonable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Emeliefrom Jönköping

Fina Bo Kaap!

Posted Feb 1, 2015 on Hotels.com
Vi stannade här i 4 dagar och var nöjda över boendet! Rummet är relativt litet, med ett fräscht badrum och självcatering vad gäller frukosten vilket vi tyckte var bra. Bra område med nära till det mesta!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Canada

Nice guest house

Posted Jan 18, 2015
Nice guest house in a very colourful and unique part of town, compared to the more touristy areas. Modern accommodation among the narrow cobblestone streets. Along with some of the benefits of this truly South African area, some danger lingers. Sunlight is your friend. Great dinning near by.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 20, 2015 by Bruce, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our guesthouse. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Kind regards, Bruce
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Patrikfrom Visby

Januari 2015

Posted Jan 12, 2015 on Hotels.com
Vi blev riktigt positivt överraskade. Rummet vi fick var superfint och personalen var jättetrevlig. Saknade lite grönsaker och pålägg och så till frukost - men det skulle nog vara det enda vi tänker kan bättras. Det var lätt för oss att få parkering på gatan efter ca 17 - och den var gratis!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 21, 2015 by Bruce, Hotel Management
Tack för din recension. Vi är glada att du haft din vistelse hos oss så mycket. IUnfortunately är det ibland svårt att tillgodose allas "frukost smaker :) Vänliga hälsningar, 22 på Rose
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This is not a good experience .

Posted Jan 12, 2015 on Hotels.com
This is a house turned into a 3 rooms "hotel" which located on a very tough street. I felt depressed as soon as I turned into the street. Bars on the entrance doors. Homeless people on the street. Street parking. It is not safe to walk on the street after sunset. The room has very small space. The closet remodeled to the bathroom. No kitchen to provide real "free breakfast". Only hot food is the microwave cooked egg . A man left right when he arrived. He said " This is like a jail." I kinda feel the same. The guy works there named Edward told me "We only change towels every 3 to 4 days". I said "I have to use the towels dried the floor, my towels are wet". He answered "Well what we can do is dry your towels". I don't understand why would you put dirty towels in the dryer. Overall, I wouldn't recommend this place as your vacation accommodation.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 21, 2015 by Bruce, Hotel Management
We are very sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. Yes, this is an old Cape Malay home in an historic district of Cape Town with 3 en-suite bedrooms and a dining area for our guests. It is not a large anonymous hotel. We can only accommodate up to 6 guests in each of our 3 houses. It is not a prison. You must have noticed the high security everywhere when in SA. It is there for a reason. The security bars and gates are a precaution to protect you our guests. Unfortunately there are homeless people everywhere in this country and you are bound to see them. We have a security guard on duty all night from 7pm to 7am. We change towels when necessary but not every day which you will find in most hotels today concerned about our environment. We do not put dirty towels in the dryer. Kind regards, 22 on Rose
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Good Breakfast and Location but Service Lacking

Posted Dec 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
I had an ok stay here. I was really insistent on staying here due to the location despite my friend's reluctance. I will say that the location here is outstanding and is walkable from a lot of good points throughout Cape Town's City Center. PROS: -Great and convenient location. It was in Bo Kaap within walking distance of Cape Town's greatest landmarks. It was also really safe in this area and quite secure. Walking around was safe and easy to navigate around. -Breakfast was good. They provided eggs, brown bread, muffins, yogurt, juice, fruit, and coffee tea that you can eat/make at your leisure. This was very convenient considering my mornings were very early and I was able to eat a solid breakfast before my daily excursions. -Great price -They have hot water and no troubles with the shower at all -New towels daily CONS: -I felt the service was a bit lacking. I was not warmly greeted by staff and everything felt like a business transaction rather than an inviting stay. -In a perfect world, quiet hours would be observed. however, on my last night here you could literally hear everything from the kitchen as the other guests were not respecting the quiet hours. This was in the middle of the night and caused a sleepless night for me. The walls here are thin here, so hopefully your neighbors can respect quiet hours when you're here. -Wi-fi was lacking or non-existent. The service was poor.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 21, 2015 by Bruce, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our guesthouse. We apologize if you found the service not up to your expectations. We will try to improve :) Kind regards, 22 on Rose
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Lovely place to stay!

Posted Oct 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
The Rose Lodge was a great place to stay while visiting Cape Town... What was nice about the house on Whale Street was that we were able to serve ourselves to breakfast at our convenience. The guest house is clean, and the service personel is very friendly. Beware not to be out on foot around this location looking like a tourist. The security around the guest house is questionable. The guesthouse itself is recomendable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 10, 2015 by Bruce, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our guesthouse. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us :) Kind regards, Bruce
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Amarjivafrom new delhi

comfy beds but no Reception

Posted Aug 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
it is good but the absence of Reception in the Hotel is annoying and very difficult at the time of checkout! Even check-in is hard as the hotel is in no. 22 but the check-in staff sits in another building numbered 28! And, there is no clue of it!! I was lucky as I arrived in day time to drag my luggage in the four buildings in neighborhood to find the exact place and person who will guide me to the hotel room at 22!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 10, 2015 by Bruce, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We notify all our guests that reception is at 28 Rose Street and are sorry to hear you were not aware of this. Thank you for pointing it out to other guests. Apart from thst we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Kind regards, Bruce
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Montreal

A friendly place well-situated in Bo-Kaap

Posted Jul 21, 2014
We were very well received by Edward, who gave us good advice and information for exploring the area, booked our taxis, and made tasty muffins and croissants. The room was small but cosy. The kitchen area was clean and the choice for self-made breakfast was good. There is a closed garden where guests may smoke. The location is convenient for exploring Cape Town, and a few blocks from Long Street where you will find restaurants (Africa Café is even closer), and can hop on the sightseeing double-decker. It is also within a comfortable walking distance from the Castle of Good Hope and District Six Museum, and you can go to the V&A Waterfront or Table Mountain cheaply and quickly by taxi.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 4, 2015 by Bruce, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our B&B. We are so happy you liked our accommodation and look forward to your return visit ! Kind regards, Amanda, Daniel, Edward & Bruce