Ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Just a few minutes away from CT with stunning views and great people
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from San francisco, CA

Perfect location to experience Cape Town

Posted Apr 27, 2015
Pros: The breakfast was perfect ( best pancake ever!) and if you can , stay for dinner : The chef is amazing!
Location: Clifton Bay, Table Mountain , V&A, Woodstock .
Amazing hotel with an unbelievable view of the city. The staff was more than helpful. We really felt we were invited in a private home . Interior design was beautiful and very tasteful. After a full day walking and discovering Cape Town , it was a pleasure to come back and relax to the hotel. A place not to be missed! Beyond our expectations.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Henley

Small cliff top boutique hotel with stunning views

Posted Mar 17, 2015
Excellent personal service from the managers. Follow their restaurant recommendations!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Heaven on a hillside

Posted Mar 8, 2015
Pros: Quality of property, the food, GREAT coffee/tea, "sundowner" evening drinks, friendliness of all staff
Cons: The WiFi a little slow (but this seems to be a South African thing) and the air con very strong on minimum setting but these are minutiae/nitpicking
Location: Very affluent area of Cape Town nestled into the hill. Superb walk of Lions Head and Signal Hill straight from the front door. VERY safe.
I cannot underplay how superb this hotel is. Obviously, small/private hotels won't be to everyones taste but De Wet adds such a personal service that you'll be glad you avoided the larger properties. Russell and Marnie (British) are incredible hosts - Russell a superb cook and Marnie an encyclopaedia of what to see and where to eat. They both bend over backwards to make you feel welcome, book restaurants etc and serve great sundown drinks on the terrace. The house is immaculate and feels like living on a film set. The pool is small but there were only ever a maximum of 10 guests in the house so more than adequate. And that view...... wow. The rooms were very nicely furnished with a large bathroom (we had a deluxe sea view with terrace) and it more than lived up to expectations
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

100% happy to have stayed here

Posted Feb 18, 2015
I loved everything about my 5 day stay at 52 de Wet. The staff is so welcoming and helpful and the views are to die for. Even though you are in a house, you don't really feel like you are around other people all the time. The amenities are great and the rainfall shower and extra large bathtub are major pluses. The breakfast is delicious and you can't beat looking out at that ocean!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Judith from London

Great find in Bantry Bay

Posted Feb 5, 2015 on Hotels
Relaxing base in Cape Town before flying back to UK. Stayed for 5 nights. Marnie and Russell and their team were super efficient, helpful and very welcoming. Excellent choice and superbly appointed. Great views. Excellent breakfast and hospitality. Would love to return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Agnès from Grand Baie

magnifique!

Posted Dec 9, 2014 on Hotels
les chambres n ont pas de grandes fenêtres mais sont très spacieuses. Par contre, le penthouse au dernier étage est fantastique...! La vue est à couper le souffle!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Köln

durchschnittliches Hotel

Posted Nov 15, 2014
Pros: Wenige Zimmer und Persönlichkeit , Hilfsbereitschaft der Mitarbeiter.
Cons: Ja, vielleicht einmal bei anderen 5 Sterne Hotels vorbeischauen und schauen was die Kollegen anbieten !
Location: Das Hotel befindet sich in einer sehr guten Lage.
wir waren bei unserer Reise durch Südafrika in verschiedenen Hotels . Wir haben das Hotel wegen der besonders guten Bewertung gewählt . Das Hotel entspricht jedoch nur 3- 4 Sterne Haus.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Windsor UK

Excellent from start to finish

Posted Nov 11, 2014
Pros: Wonderful laid back welcome. Russell's cooking. Marnie's help recommending restaurants. Breakfast. Views...
Cons: Nothing...
Location: 'Carne' restaurant, Hussar's restaurant, Cod Father's restaurant.
Marnie, Russell and their team were fantastic. The location and the view are second to none. Great spot to sea sunset literally around the corner (200 yards)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Karin

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 10, 2014 on Hotels