Ratings based on 138 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ian H from London/JHB

Pleasant surpise

Posted Mar 24, 2014
Pros: Views and large windows
Cons: Pool area
Location: Great location in eas yreach of Sea Point (wlaking) and easy drivin gdistance to Green Point, V&A and Camps Bay.
The ambience is modern and simple with the best views in town - from the restaurant, the pool deck, your room or the bar/coffee shop across the road. Room was comfortable and well appointed with fabulous large windows to take in the view and changing colours. The breakfast and the sushi in Koi was also fabulous! I will be back to stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Carolann from UK

Fantastic views of the Ocean

Posted Mar 8, 2014
Pros: The View
Location: Camps Bay is very close, also a scenic drive Chapmans Peak
We received a warm welcome from the staff and efficient check in. The room allocated to us was at pool level and therefore we couldn't leave our curtains open so we requested to move and we were put up two levels which mean't we had a great sea view. The room was small and the bathroom you couldn't swing a cat but it was clean and tidy. The only downside of a sea view room is the noise of the ocean crashing on the rocks below, it was really noisy! We didn't eat in the restaurant but it was always busy & seemed popular. The hotel is an easy 30min stroll to Camps Bay and 10mins into Bantry Bay Main Street and they offered free valet parking.
3 out of 5
by Chris

Friendliest staff in Cape Town

Posted Feb 24, 2014
Pros: The friendly staff were magnificent. Justice, one of the gentleman parking cars, gave us the warmest welcome we've had in years.
Cons: Wifi was too slow for work, the breakfast arrangements were disappointing and the bathrooms needed a once over.
Location: Good location.
We booked this Hotel, because it is sentimental to us, we celebrated my wife's birthday there nearly 20 years ago. The reason we will return is the friendly staff. We had a wonderful room overlooking the ocean, which made for an excellent experience. We were disappointed by the slow wifi (hardly reaching 0.06mbps), the slightly mouldy showers and flying insects in the bathroom drain (appeared to be living in the drain). We were also quite disappointed with the breakfast arrangements. We requested, months in advance, a breakfast table booking for my wife's birthday. We received no response, but after telephoning, this was confirmed. Arriving at the Hotel, the table was not booked and we were informed that tables could not be booked for breakfast, only to see a table booked for breakfast the next day. If guests could have breakfast in their rooms or by the pool (without having to pay for a full breakfast if breakfast is included in the price), or book 20 mins slots for a good table for breakfast, this would improve the experience significantly. The friendly staff, always smiling and cheerful, made up for it all and will be why we will return. It is important to know that the Hotel appeared to host events quite frequently in the afternoons and evenings, which meant the restaurant was closed and music was quite loud for rooms close to the restaurant. Didn't bother us at all and food could still be ordered at the pool or from rooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Incredible View!

Posted Feb 19, 2014
Very enjoyable stay and would happily recomment this hotelto all. Choose a sea facing view and enjoy the astonishing sight of the sea in all its glory.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Andy from UK

Pleasant stay in Ambassador with my partner.

Posted Feb 10, 2014
Pros: see comments above
Cons: Get a good speed wifi provider!
Location: If you have a car, you have nothing to worry about the location. Very ideally located and you can drive to everywhere in no time.
The hotel location is superb. Very close to Camps Bay, Beach Road etc. The hotel has a complementary valet which was absolutely amazing. The Koi restaurant was definitely a highlight of the trip. The food provided by the hotel restaurant was amazing, although it is frequently fully booked so get in early. It is right next to the atlantic ocean hence a great view to the sea. Downside will include the snail speed wifi, you literally can not stream any vedios! The bathroom is absolutely tiny considering the main room is decent sized. The reception was helpful but not very friendly to me! Overall, a good hotel to stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by steve from london

A medium sized hotel with great location

Posted Feb 5, 2014
Pros: Staff, location, views, price
Location: Located between Sea Point and Clifton with easy access to the beach and Camps Bay
I have stayed at the Ambassador a number of times and have always found the staff friendly and very helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Views!

Posted Jan 16, 2014
Pros: The room was so light and comfortable!
Cons: No channels on the television except local basic, basic channels. Not even CNN!!!!
The hotel was fine, there is a nice pool deck and plenty of comfortable seating. The staff were not very bright and inattentive for a hotel in this price range.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by M & J Melbourne from Australia

Great location, bathrooms claustrophobic.

Posted Jan 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel room adequate, view was fantastic, however some staff put their requirements before guests'. For example, cluttered corridors with cleaning carts and hotel lift monopolised by cleaning/service staff. Bathroom appears to be designed for persons of short stature with the washbasin hardly higher than my knee and the size of a postage stamp. Koi restaurant highly recommended for dinner.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 19, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Drew from Chicago, Il

Soothing sounds of the waves right out our window.

Posted Dec 5, 2013
Location: beautiful view of the ocean, close to Camps bay and convenient to the waterfront.
We stayed at the Ambassador Hotel for four nights, Accommodations were clean and well maintained, the staff was fantastic and consistently helpful. We were sad to leave at the end of our stay. The pool and view of the ocean was incredible, service at the pool was a bit slow but extremely friendly and helpful. Great drinks and good pricing for food and beverages.