Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent

Posted Apr 17, 2015
The hotel and staff were perfect. Very safe and good location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by E Goldfrom Boston, MA

centrally located to everything

Posted Sep 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
African Villa was a great location bc it was not situated right in the touristy part of the town. It was centrally located to all the sites (waterfront, table mountain, easy access to motorway to go to vineyards and other day trips). It was in a hip, quiet neighborhood with great "foodie" restuarnats within walking distance. Louis was fantastic....upon arrival he provided us with a Capetown 101....clearly there has been alot of thought put into every detail of the hotel and experience. Also we rented a car and street parking was relatively easy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by julio carrerafrom newton ma

well appointed in quiet, convenient location

Posted May 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
An African Villa offers a homey and relaxing experience. Cozy fireplace, sherry and port for evening conversation in the hotel lobby, a fridge that guests can use, fruit in the bedroom, and cake you can help yourself to in the kitchen. Our room was well lit, roomy, comfortable and had a porch where we sat for quite reading. The staff were so helpful and polite, and breakfast was delicious! It's also in a quiet neighborhood and within walking distance from the Company Gardens and Long Street.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Super Guesthouse

Posted May 4, 2014
Pros: Die Gute Lage und das nette Personal
Location: Das Hotel befindet sich am Fuss des Tafelbergs.
Wir hatten 13 Nächte gebucht und waren sehr zufrieden. Die Betreiber sind sehr freundlich und hilfsbereit. Sie haben uns geholfen verschiedene Ausflüge zu buchen, haben uns Restaurantempfehlungen und andere Tipps gegeben. Das Frühstück ist lecker und frisch zubereitet. Die Lage ist sehr gut. Nur wenige Gehminuten entfernt sind nette Restaurants zu finden. Vielen Dank für die schöne Zeit!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Josee Pfrom Florida

Loves it!

Posted Apr 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
The African Villa is a great place to stay. I picked it because of all the good reviews and was not disappointed. My husband doesn't like the bed and breakfast type accommodations, but he loved this place. Located in a safe, plush neighborhood, it is in walking distance from the many eateries and shops. The decoration inside the hotel is very African by design and the whole atmosphere is overall relaxed and welcoming. The rooms were very clean, comfortable and included all modern amenities, even Wifi. The staff was incredibly helpful. And the breakfast, made to order, was all we needed to start the day. As a bonus, it was warm enough to eat outside! What a pleasant stay, highly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Megfrom Bothell

Close to Green Market Square and Long Street

Posted Mar 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
LOVED our 3 night stay. We were welcomed upon our arrival at midnight. Hot breakfast served at the table the next morning with overview of the city. Lovely room on the main floor was convenient for complimentary sherry or port in the evening. Hotel staff very friendly and helpful, felt more like family then a guest. Owners took the time to sit down and visit with guests, their dogs were a gentle reminder of home. Convenient walk to shopping area or inexpensive o take a cab. Like minded traveling at The Villa made it enjoyable in the evening to visit with other guests in one of two sitting areas that were comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sonyafrom Melbourne, Australia

Oasis in Cape Town

Posted Feb 3, 2014
Pros: Rooms, bed, breakfast,location,owners and staff
Location: Great location walking distance to restaurants and shops. Can walk to Waterfront or else bus is nearby.
Loved my stay here. Friendly and helpful owners and staff, beautifully decorated and comfortable rooms, delicious breakfast and great location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Stevefrom Topeka, Kansas, USA

Perfect location for exploring Cape Town!

Posted Nov 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
This place was perfect! Location, ambiance, service, not to mention our view of Table Mountain and Lion's Head every morning when we woke up! I don't know how it could have been any better.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Bill and Mary Ann Gfrom North Carolina

Exceptioanl service and value!

Posted Oct 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
We have never stayed anywhere ( including much more expensive 5 star resorts) with such exceptional service and support! Keith went to extraordinary lengths to help with the retrieval of a lost piece of luggage from Zambia. The help from Keith and the other owners with arrangements for car rental, recommendations for site seeing and restaurants, and every other question we had was exceptionally good. The furnished cooked to order breakfast was consistently great. The room was spacious, clean, and very comfortable. We would definitely stay here again - indeed we would not stay anywhere else in Cape Town!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Sehr schönes und individuelles Hotel

Posted Oct 16, 2013
Das Hotel "An African Villa" hat uns den viertägigen Aufenthalt in Kapstadt absolut angenehm empfinden lassen. Die Besitzer und das gesamte Personal waren sehr aufmerksam und höflich. Es gab ein tolles Frühstück und die Zimmer haben uns ebenso völlig zufrieden gestellt. Insbesondere die geschmackvolle Einrichtung der alten viktorianischen Häuser, aus denen sich das Hotel zusammensetzt, muss hier erwähnt werden. Wir werden auf jeden Fall wieder kommen!