Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by O from Pretoria, SA

Great location; Superb View

Posted May 5, 2014
Pros: Location, view
Cons: Beginning to show age. Needs to be updated in order to justify top of the market pricing.
We stayed in the Beachside Penthouse Suite. The view was superb and the three bedrooms suited our family well. It's proximity to restaurants and the beach was also a huge plus. Beachside staff was helpful and available whenever we needed them. The property is starting to show some age and needs to be updated before it gets too far out of condition.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
This is a guest house not a hotel. I did not feel comfortable that a small key was only room lock and no phone in bedroom. Two blocks off main strip, but seems far at night. We didn't feel safe, I would book hotel on Bat front if I was returning to Cape Town and a hotel to offer assistance with arranging tours.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by J from Alaska

Posted Nov 22, 2013
Pros: 5 minute walk to Camps Bay restaurants/beach. Very large rooms, had A/C and staff was quite friendly. Awesome kitchen/common area.
Cons: A bit difficult to find (no fault of hotel). Our Garmin GPS did not take us there the first time. No real complaints.
Location: Eat at Hussar Grill (~$60 USD for an awesome dinner). Sample some of the restuarants along the beach. Drive to Simon's Town/see penguins. Visit V&A.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location but hotel disorganised

Posted Nov 16, 2013
Great location and very helpful initially. I was a little disappointed they forgot to book my taxi on arrival to Cape Town although at least they were honest about this fact. Upon arriving late they could have at least had the room prepared for me to stay in (I arrived at 20:00)
2 out of 5
by Alex from london

Old apartments situated above a shopping a mall.

Posted Nov 8, 2013
Pros: The shopping mall downstairs was convenient. The old lady at the reception was very sweet.
Cons: I think the apartments need to be refurbished and brought into this century.
Location: Could not establish if there was anything worth doing nearby. It's nowhere near the beach, I did not spot any nice restaurants nearby...
I like charming old, but this was just old old. 70s or maybe 80s style deco. I don't think these apartments have been refurbished since then. I checked in, tried to take a shower, went downstairs to get an internet voucher from reception and immediately searched for another hotel in Cape Town and left within an hour of checking in. There is no point in being miserable in a place as beautiful as Cape Town to save a few bob.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic (better than our) home away from home

Posted Sep 21, 2013
Pros: The high quality and modern decor, the feeling of staying in a home and not a hotel, and the fact the air con unit in the room also acted as a heater!
Cons: Nothing. When a place is five stars there is very little room for improvement.
Location: The location is great - it takes a few minutes to walk to the beach and there are a number of good quality restaurants nearby. Cape Town is close too!
After a long and tiring road trip from Pretoria down to Cape Town, we arrived in Camps Bay just as the sun was setting. We were shown around the entire guesthouse, which is actually more like a celebrity house you'd see on 'Cribs'. Everything was clearly explained to us and the communal kitchen, lounge and dinning rooms were all spotless, spacious and stunning. We were then shown to our room, which overlooked the ocean and mountains - fantastic! The fact that we were planning to eat out every night and be out during the day doing the usual Cape Town tourist activities, meant that this self catering guesthouse was perfect for our needs. Unfortunately we only stayed for four nights and so we didn't make full use of the kitchen - but you could easily fill up the fridge and cook a big breakfast every morning if you wanted. When we save up to visit Cape Town again, we will certainly try to get a room at Beachside again! I only wish the weather was warmer so we could have enjoyed the pool!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, Honest staff

Posted Jun 4, 2013
Great location close to beach with ample parking. Nice views from the 2 rooms we used. The large kitchen is part of the shared common area with dining tables and a sitting lounge. Great for self catering and groups and families. Good security and honest staff. We left a bag behind and called back in a panic that night only to find that staff had locked it up for us, safe and sound. The owner and manager live elsewhere in town but came to meet us when we came back after hours.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Arthur from New York

Pretty Good experience

Posted Apr 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
Overall the accommodation was pretty nice. Everything was clean and well kept. Pretty quiet unless there are noisy visitors the same time as your stay. There were 2 things that I didn't like. The bed was 2 twin beds put together. You could feel it in the middle. It was not as comfortable as other beds and I had some lower back pain when I woke up in the morning. Also there is not full DSTV in the house unless you book the penthouse. So you only have access to about 6 or 7 channels. Not fun since we wanted to watch movies and there was only 1 movie channel that kept replaying the same 3 movies. But otherwise a nice place to stay and have friends over. Very close to the beach and restaurants.
3 out of 5
by vida from West Midlands, UK

great location,facilities just okay

Posted Mar 27, 2013
Pros: location
Cons: pool location
Location: excellent
the villa is in a great location for camps bay however it needs investment to upgrade the outside. the rooms are clean and staff very good. however the bedrooms are easily overlooked by others on common balconies.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Rob

Lovely location and good accomodation

Posted Mar 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel is a lovely house that has been converted into short stay accommodation. Although lovely, the house does need some maintenance and the safe is far too small. Overall however, we really enjoyed our stay and for the price this is an ideal get away location and place to stay.