Ratings based on 54 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 22, 2014
Outstanding hotel...the staff was exceptional. loved it. Would definitely stay there again. If I go back I will return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

.

Posted Feb 28, 2014
..........................................................................................................................................................................
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by SJ from Surrey

Great hotel to finish of your tour of Cape Town

Posted Jan 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great hotel with an exceptional level of service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Malcolm from West Australia

Lovely hotel gardens, huge comfortable room

Posted Nov 18, 2013
Pros: The relaxed atmosphere, the gardens and the breakfasts
Location: Not near to shops but not far to get a cab anywhere, would rather have this location with the beautiful surrounds than be close to shops
When next in Cape Town, I will be staying at the Mount Nelson, I have stayed at most of the other favourite 5 star hotels and the Mount Nelson is the one that stands out in all aspects.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 11, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel service was outstanding-from the concierge's quick response to my e-mails, to the very short waiting time when I called to request the hotel courtesy shuttle pickup, to the incredible room service breakfast (included in my room rate.) Breakfast in the dining room was wonderful, too, and the grounds and lobby area were beautiful. However, I felt that the rooms could use updating. (The first one I was assigned in an exterior building had spots on the carpeting, the air conditioning did not seem to work and some of the furniture could have been in better condition. When I mentioned this to Reception, I was immediately assigned to a much nicer room in the main building that was very comfortable for my whole stay and was told one building was closed for renovation, hence my assignment to a room that would not normally have been used.)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel, nothing was too much trouble

Posted Sep 2, 2013
Amazing hotel, pricey but worth every penny if you want a treat and top notch service
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Hightower77 from Plymouth, UK

Honey Moon start in South Africa

Posted Jun 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
If you ask anyone in Cape Town where they would love to stay locally, it's always the "Nelly" (Mount Nelson). Its location on the slopes of Table Mountain and Grand Entrance make you feel excited before you even get the the check-in desk. My wife and I have a balcony suite in the old part of the hotel with amazing views of Table Mountain. Our room was faultless in every way (amazing bed, big spacious bathroom, good in room facilities such as a hair dryer, dressing table, desk...). The breakfast sat out on the terrace is a great way to start any ones day, the famous afternoon tea (with finger foods, sandwiches and cakes) is there waiting for you so the morning is a good time to go to the spa. My wife and I had the couples massage package during the morning at the spa which includes afternoon tea. In the evening the Planets restaurant is an experience in itself, go for the wine sommelier package with your meal, Clive is a wealth of knowledge and for my wife and I made the whole evening that bit more special. The service through out our stay was faultless from all staff at the hotel. My wife has now informed me that we will always be staying at the Nelly when in Cape Town, and I can not think of anywhere else I would rather be.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Antoine from LONDON ENGLAND

Why Mount Nelson would be top of my list.

Posted Mar 8, 2013
Pros: Great room, good service, lovely gardens and first class swimming pool.
Location: North of the shopping area and city gardens but near enough for walkers but if not courtesy cars and taxis always available.
A great way to finish our holiday in South Africa. Friendly welcome, nothing too much trouble. Good experience at reception with helpful information. the staff on duty at the main entrance who dealt with car, suit- cases and so on helped enormously especially after a trying car journey. I only wish we had booked for longer as we came feeling absolutely relaxed and pleased that for once a top of the range hotel lived up to and in fact exceeded our expectations. This really a beautiful oasis in busy Capetown and I would recommend very highly. The planet restaurant and bar are so good, that you needn't go out all!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by carol s

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 8, 2013 on Hotels.com