Ratings based on 95 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 26, 2015
Pros: All staff were extremely pleasant and helpful, as ever
Cons: Could there be a few rooms adapted for those with limited mobility issues, but not fully disabled - eg grab rail next to a toilet?
We returned to our favourite hotel for a 7 night stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Australia

luxury

Posted Apr 16, 2015
Pros: everything. The garden art was terrific.
Cons: nothing
Location: Central to cape town, grounds were big enough to not think you were in a main city
great way to relax and finish a 2 week holiday of South Africa. Good position, spacious, everything you need, spectacular service, especially the head concierge, apology for forgetting his name, who got us tickets to Test Kitchen. Large well equipped gym, spa terrific, breakfast we had trouble leaving every morning. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortabel Prima Staff

Posted Mar 18, 2015
Als vanouds De overname door de Belmond Groep heeft niets afgedaan aan de charme en comfort van dit klassehotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Historical artefact

Posted Feb 22, 2015
The hotel was 5 start comfort all the way. Every amenity and nothing too much trouble for the attentive staff. Very enjoyable. Would definitely recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom london

Wonderful city centre idyll

Posted Feb 9, 2015
Brilliant from start to finish, a full 5 star hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom london

Luxury close to town.

Posted Feb 7, 2015
We ate well and relaxed in beautiful surroundings. The staff were very helpful and attended to our every need.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York,NY

A Jewel of a Hotel in British Colonial style.

Posted Dec 14, 2014
Pros: Everything!
Cons: In some of the annex buildings which have only stairs,it might not be a bad idea to install elevators. It could also start a shuttle to CampsBay.
Location: It is within easy reach from the V & A Waterfront. A shuttle service takes the guests every three hours up till 6:30pm to this beautiful mall.
From the minute one steps into the elegant 19th century British Colonial style Lobby ,both the Reception and Concierge give a loyal returning patron a genuine welcome back and make him feel so throughout the stay. The tea sessions in the "salon" of this hotel are unforgettable for the detail,the service,the quality,the presentation and could be easily compared to those of the finest five star hotels in the United Kingdom. The gardens surrounding and leading up to the pool are just too beautiful to describe in a few words for their breathtaking variety of flora. The views from the rooms are diverse ,though I personally prefer the "old colonial style" decor. I have stayed in this hotel several times and every single time it has fulfilled all my expectations. It is extremely well managed and each Staff member goes out of his way to try and be accommodating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Cecilia

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 30, 2014 
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Meganfrom Zürich

Lovely place!

Posted Nov 26, 2014 
Lovely hotel in colonial style! Breakfast were fantastic, more of a brunch, served until 11, chefs cooking freshly made omelettes or crepes on demand, plenty of fruit, youghurts, cereals, baskets and baskets of bread and pastries, quiches, meats, cheeses, fish and fresh scones with cream, delicious! Gym has a few treadmills, concept 2, weights machines, free water, gym balls, dumbells and kettle bells of good weight range Concierge really helpful, lovely location off kloof street with free v&a shuttle until 6.30. Visit kloof street house for dinner, the concierge can book you in!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Another excellent stay!

Posted Nov 24, 2014
This is the 3rd time I have stayed at the Mount Nelson and I cannot see myself staying any where else when in Cape Town.