Ratings based on 82 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortabel Prima Staff

Posted Mar 18, 2015
Als vanouds De overname door de Belmond Groep heeft niets afgedaan aan de charme en comfort van dit klassehotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Historical artefact

Posted Feb 22, 2015
The hotel was 5 start comfort all the way. Every amenity and nothing too much trouble for the attentive staff. Very enjoyable. Would definitely recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom london

Wonderful city centre idyll

Posted Feb 9, 2015
Brilliant from start to finish, a full 5 star hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom london

Luxury close to town.

Posted Feb 7, 2015
We ate well and relaxed in beautiful surroundings. The staff were very helpful and attended to our every need.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York,NY

A Jewel of a Hotel in British Colonial style.

Posted Dec 14, 2014
Pros: Everything!
Cons: In some of the annex buildings which have only stairs,it might not be a bad idea to install elevators. It could also start a shuttle to CampsBay.
Location: It is within easy reach from the V & A Waterfront. A shuttle service takes the guests every three hours up till 6:30pm to this beautiful mall.
From the minute one steps into the elegant 19th century British Colonial style Lobby ,both the Reception and Concierge give a loyal returning patron a genuine welcome back and make him feel so throughout the stay. The tea sessions in the "salon" of this hotel are unforgettable for the detail,the service,the quality,the presentation and could be easily compared to those of the finest five star hotels in the United Kingdom. The gardens surrounding and leading up to the pool are just too beautiful to describe in a few words for their breathtaking variety of flora. The views from the rooms are diverse ,though I personally prefer the "old colonial style" decor. I have stayed in this hotel several times and every single time it has fulfilled all my expectations. It is extremely well managed and each Staff member goes out of his way to try and be accommodating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Meganfrom Z├╝rich

Lovely place!

Posted Nov 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
Lovely hotel in colonial style! Breakfast were fantastic, more of a brunch, served until 11, chefs cooking freshly made omelettes or crepes on demand, plenty of fruit, youghurts, cereals, baskets and baskets of bread and pastries, quiches, meats, cheeses, fish and fresh scones with cream, delicious! Gym has a few treadmills, concept 2, weights machines, free water, gym balls, dumbells and kettle bells of good weight range Concierge really helpful, lovely location off kloof street with free v&a shuttle until 6.30. Visit kloof street house for dinner, the concierge can book you in!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Another excellent stay!

Posted Nov 24, 2014
This is the 3rd time I have stayed at the Mount Nelson and I cannot see myself staying any where else when in Cape Town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Darlafrom Yorba Linda

Old world charm in a bustling modern city

Posted Nov 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great location near the center of the city near the Company Gardens and the museums. Easy walk to Long Street. Fsbulous High Tea and the epitome of elegance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom London

A lovely old style hotel

Posted Nov 1, 2014
Pros: The location, buildings, grounds and atmosphere are very good
Cons: The wireless network in the hotel is very poor
Location: The location is great but you may not want leave the grounds as they are so good. There are 2 lovely pools, tennis courts and lovely lawns.
A lovely old fashioned hotel. Beautiful layout and superb grounds. The wireless network in the hotel though is very poor and drops out constantly