Ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Western Cape, ZA

Best hotel experience in Cape Town.

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Pros: Everything!
Cons: If anything, service in the dining rooms and the bar was slow. We missed a sundowner experience because of that.
Location: Just Google Camps Bay...need I say more?
Absolute fabulous from start to finish. A huge thanks for the reception staff that had the savvy to figure out that we were a family booking into 2 rooms and although Expedia does not afford the luxury to book a minor separate in a room, the hotel staff had put my wife and I in the suite and my daughter in the adjacent room. Great ambiance, great food, great grounds, great walks, great fire places, great staff. We will be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 27, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oxford

Traditional yet modern with great service

Posted Apr 24, 2015
Pros: Staff, food, service, location, facilities...
Cons: When we stayed there was a crane building something in front of the hotel but that wasnt their fault...other than that not a lot really...
Location: Camps Bay beach, bars, restaurants, Robben Island, Table Top mountain; Stellenbosch vineyards; Nordhoeck beach....Cape Town city centre...
Stayed 4 nights with my 19 year old son in a twin in one of the deck rooms so not main hotel - loads of room, modern facilities, large outdoor, private patio with chairs and sun loungers with spectacular views through the trees over the far right hand side of Camps Bay and the beach. Our room was accessed by a rope bridge over a canyon which was great fun. We ate twice in the evening at the hotel - both times excellent food, reasonable prices and great service and divine surroundings in a portico patio at the back of the hotel with views over the gardens and on over Camps Bay - great place to have a beer and watch the sun set...Breakfast was included and small buffet but beautifully done - choice of fresh fruits, yoghurt and cooked - but not your average cooked dishes - Benedict Blondie was a poached egg with bacon on a muffin and a divine sauce... Staff were great wherever encountered - at reception; in the bar for a beer or Jamiesons or in the morning for a legendary 'Lloyd-o-chino' - a cappucino made by Lloyd....always smiling always helpful I wouldnt hesitate in recommending this well kept secret Camps Bay Retreat (and nor would my son!)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Peter from Wokingham, UK

Enchanting boutique hotel minutes from Camps Bay

Posted Jan 26, 2015 on Hotels
Absolutely delightful and exceeded our expectations. The location is outstanding. You wouldn't know you were so close to Camps Bay being as you are in a huge garden. Can't wait until we return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Incredible hotel in perfect location

Posted Dec 29, 2014 on Hotels
The hotel is tucked away from the main road but its just a 5 minute walk through the gardens of the hotel to the beach which is really handy. Our room, in the main house, was huge and the decor was great with a classic feel. The breakfast was really good and the service was brilliant - lots of good recommendations of what to do and where to go both in Camps Bay and the wider area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best hotel ever stayed in

Posted Dec 19, 2014
Hotel is in a beautiful spot with the main house but I'm pleased that I stayed in the deck villa which is accessed via a rope bridge over a gorge. Everything was great from the location, very helpful staff, excellent food to the quality of the room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Hertfordshire, UK

Peaceful hotel in heart of the Cape

Posted Oct 18, 2014
Pros: Location, tranquility, frindliness
Cons: Drop the references to dogs in the literature. Put us off but in reality were not an issue.
Excellent facilities in a quiet hotel in the centre of Camps Bay with evening sunsets across the Atlantic.. Friendly and helpful staff and excellent food. Will return.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 30, 2015 by Kirsti Naude, Hotel Management
Good Afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to review Camps Bay Retreat. We appreciate the wonderful feedback and rating and are glad to see that you enjoyed all the aspects of the property. We hope to welcome you back soon. Regards Kirsti Naude Manager
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 30, 2015 by Kirsti Naude, Hotel Management
Good Afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to review Camps Bay Retreat. We appreciate the wonderful feedback and rating and are glad to see that you enjoyed all the aspects of the property. We hope to welcome you back soon. Regards Kirsti Naude Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Paul from Ireland

Really really great

Posted Mar 27, 2014 on Hotels
Can't say enough about this lovely place . We can't wait to return and wouldn't stay anywhere else in future when visiting capetown
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 30, 2013
Pros: Magical setting, beautiful gardens, historic building, great atmosphere
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ashley from Albuquerque, NM, USA

Amazing place, great location

Posted Nov 29, 2013 on Hotels
Outstanding!