Ratings based on 33 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Baltimore, MD

In the heart of town and quite lovley

Posted Nov 3, 2014
Pros: Location and staff
Cons: New elevators are needed
Location: Parliament, the National Museum, the National Art Gallery, the Company Gardens, and Long Street are all within a 3 min. walk
It was newly renovated and I loved it for the price. The staff was very helpful and our room was cleaned twice a day. I would stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Joefrom Waltham, MA

Good introduction to South Africa

Posted May 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
This was our first trip to South Africa and staying at this hotel quickly introduced us to the contradictions of this country. Located across the street from Company Gardens and just blocks from the St George Mall (great gift shopping), it provided a great base of exploration. Our room was small but adequate, and secure parking was less than 50 yards away. Breakfasts were excellent, but the concierge staff were not very knowledgeable, though they tried. Despite our fears (due to negative pre-visit publicity about South Africa) we felt quite safe.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Karenfrom Adelaide, South Australia

Nice hotel with fabulous views

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Pros: The location and large room size.
Cons: Power points in room sometimes woudn't work.
Location: City and Green markets are within walking distance. Beautiful gardens and museum opposite hotel.
Excellent value hotel close to most facilities. Hop on Hop off bus stop across the road, very convenient.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Seln 1from Texas

A good hoel that is well worth the price.

Posted Apr 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
It is close enough to the eating places up and down long street as well as convenient to government buildings. It is well priced and the people are nice. If you don't count getting stuck in the old elevator for 50 minutes while waiting for someone to et the elevator working, it was a really good stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by DCfrom DC

Great for price

Posted Mar 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
Central and very pleasant. It is a boutique hotel so doesn't offer all the bells and whistles of a larger hotel and it feels a bit 'lived in' - but that gives it charm. Very helpful staff, nice breakfast, nice little restaurant and central, perfect for this trip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lornafrom Niagara on the Lake.

Great Location opposite the Company's Garden with

Posted Feb 12, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff, great location and lovely comfortable room.
Cons: the pool area could be updated.
Location: Company's Garden and Long Street restaurants and night life.
This was a great place to stay especially if you can get a front room. The other rooms probably face into another building.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Glendyrrfrom KNYSNA

A relaxing haven in the city center.

Posted Feb 3, 2014
Pros: Good service,great food ,and a comfortable bed.
Cons: Nothing, I loved the fact that it was mix between classic and contemporary.
Location: Close to the Iziko Museum ,and very close to city center.
I enjoyed staying at the Cape Town Hollow,as the staff were friendly and efficient .My room was very comfortable ,and I enjoyed the food ,breakfast was superb,and the menu are very affordable .I was amazed that there were no traffic noise as it was close to the city center .
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to food and nightlife.

Posted Dec 28, 2013
Staff told us it was safe to go to Long street at 1am walking. It is not. Concierge referred us to reception when asked about tour booking. Air conditioning broke in our room and took telling 4 people before they attempted to fix it and ultimately moved us. Wifi connection was terrible at any time of day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Sandra& Anton Smithfrom Heidelberg & Sydney

Return every year

Posted Dec 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
We have been staying at Cape Town Hollow for a few days every year for a long time and found the hotel consistently good. The location is ideally central for visiting all parts of Cape Town, the rooms are lovely and the staff always helpful and warm. One suggestion: the breakfast is generally very good but too much oil in the preparation of eggs prevented us from enjoying our breakfast. The fresh fruit platter was excellent though. Highly recommend this home away from home.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jasonfrom London

3* Hotel with 5* view

Posted Nov 5, 2013
Pros: The view was immaculate. Bed comfy. Room clean. Breakfast generous.
Cons: The staff could be just a little bit more on top of their game, and a refurb wouldn't hurt too much.
Location: Very handy for Long Street, and if you've got a car it's trivial to get over to Camps Bay and up to Table Mountain.
We stayed 3 nights in the Cape Town Hollow Boutique Hotel, and if pressed for a review we'd probably say "It's a hotel". Certainly nobody at the front desk or in the breakfast room would ever be described as a Service Industry Professional - nothing bad, per se... just a string of bewilderingly average things. The hotel itself is a little rough around the edges, but perhaps "boutique" in this context means "not too polished". However the key feature of any room in this place is the stunning view of Table Mountain, and though it's not really a landmark easily missed in this town, every glance out of that window makes you forget anything going on inside it.