Ratings based on 180 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lisa from North Yorkshire, UK

Nice hotel located close to the seafront.

Posted Feb 19, 2014
Pros: The hotel staff were helpful and friendly and there is a good range of facilites on offer including the hotel pool, two bars and a rooftop restaurant.
Cons: The hotel rooms need a little freshening-up as the decor is rather dated and the bathrooms would benefit from some refurbishment work too.
Location: The Ritz is ideally situated, just a short walk from the seafront and coast road. There are plenty of shops and restaurants in the Sea Point area.
This location at Sea Point was perfect for us. It took just 30 minutes to walk to the V&A waterfront from the Ritz hotel. In 2010 new buses were introduced to Cape town's coastal routes which will take you wherever you want to travel safely and cheaply so no need to hire taxi's. The revolving rooftop restaurant of the Ritz hotel is excellent, serving good food at reasonable prices and offering fantastic views over Cape Town. We found both shopping and eating to be much less expensive at Sea Point than the more costly waterfront area and there are a good array of shops, bars and restaurants to choose from in this area. We found car hire to be inexpensive and a great way to see some of the beautiful bays, beaches and wildlife that South Africa has to offer.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 7, 2014
Pros: Location is great
Cons: A proper working air con. Updates required in most of the hotel.
Location: Location is the best thing about the Ritz. Close to walks along the Ocean, Tennis courts, Shopping and transport
The location of the hotel is perfect for what I wanted to be close to. On arrival I was told it was overbooked. I explained that I wasn't going to be relocated to downtown. After waiting for a while was given a terrible room that looked more like a youth hostel. We went back to reception and complained the staff were nice and quickly gave us a better room. The room was pleasant, we had a view of the ocean which was great. The temperature of the room was always too hot and the air conditioning was very poor and never really cooled it down to a comfortable level. Breakfast buffet was good. The Ritz has been around for a while and it looks like it. It is pretty run down in places. My experience wasn't too bad but I would not go back.
2 out of 5
by Anonymous

Stay at Ritz,Cape Town

Posted Jan 5, 2014
Cons: The entire property needs to be updated.
Location: Hotel was not located in a decent neighborhood. Not recommended for families especially with young children.Very unsafe especially in the evenings.
The Ritz in Cape town is a very old and out-dated property.The hotel's AC was practically non-functional and we barely got any sleep on the nights when temperatures were soaring. It was terribly warm inspite of leaving the windows open. The hotel staff were well aware of this problem but pretended to get the room AC serviced and cleant. They later explained to us that because of the heat, the air conditioning was not capable of cooling the whole property. They need to invest in refurbishing and maintaining this property instead of putting the guests through so much discomfort.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dee from Romford, Essex

Nice hotel, close to the beach & quiet environment

Posted Oct 23, 2013
Quiet environment, reliable public transport, to the city approx 10 minutes, friendly & helpful staff. The food is good & served hot.
1 out of 5
by dan from new york

very bad hotel

Posted Sep 30, 2013
Pros: nothing
Cons: change of managment
dirty rooms, many children, a lot of noise. do not go there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Apostle from Kenya

Good hotel for bussiness persons

Posted Jun 3, 2013
Pros: Revolving Roof top restaurant
Cons: Staff that should change my room on my request
Location: God location
It was good, especially the break fast and the cleaning of the room. I asked for another room but the staff on duty did not give it to me. The revolving roof top restaurant was a fantastic experience.
2 out of 5
by Pam from Phoenix Arizona

Centrally located in Sea Pointe

Posted Mar 26, 2013
Pros: View from the bar
Location: location is good. Centrally located in Sea Point
The hotel is a little tired looking. Room is o.k. but we had to ask for Tea and coffee and also shower gel etc. they did not put it in the room. Only 1 teabag was there. The vent for the fan in the bathroom was filthy, The staff were not very friendly. The breakfast was terrible. !! It does have a lovely view from the bar but I would not stay there again.!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A ROBERTSON

RITZ SEA POINT

Posted Nov 20, 2012 on Hotels.com
Hotel in good location fairly safe although we did not go out very late Some good pubs and restaurants nearby. Also close to the sea and within walking distance of VA Waterfront and but stop for hop on hop off bus which is worth a trip, Hotel also organizes various tours. Only slight niggle was there was not much in the way of shower gel or soap also shower was quite old and seemed to have a mind of it's own . However the breakfast was excellent. Would probably consider going back there if i am ever in Capetown again.
1 out of 5
by Jon E

Disgusting

Posted Oct 15, 2012
Pros: It was close to the great restaurants on the streets..Richards was really good.
Cons: Everything about this Hotel
Location: New York
PLEASE DON'T NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL EVEN IF ITS FREE. The bathroom was nasty, hotel food was yucky, front desk agents very rude...all of them. Everything had an odor including the elevator. Please don't not stay here.