Ratings based on 88 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Clean comfortable room, expensive breakfast

Posted Dec 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
Enjoyable stay and woke up to a relaxing ocean view. Clean and comfortable room. For a guest house, I feel that breakfast should always be included in price and felt that the breakfast was far to expensive. Also I found it quite annoying to pay for wifi per night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Lievefrom The Netherlands

Excellent guesthouse

Posted Nov 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Excellent guesthouse, very friendly owner. Knows exactly were to go and what the nice places are. Neighborhood is lovely, nice restaurant and lunch spots.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great stay

Posted Nov 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great stay. Friendly and accomodating staff. Convenient location to explore Kalk Bay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Pretoria

Great view, close to restaurants

Posted Oct 22, 2014
Pros: The view, the staff, the location and - for an added fee - a fantastic breakfast.
Cons: Our room did not have black-out curtains, so it was hard to sleep in with the light streaming through the massive bay windows.
Location: Chartfield sits up on a hill overlooking the water. There are restaurants, beaches and saltwater swimming pools nearby.
Chartfield has an excellent location with a beautiful view of the water. It's just a block away from some great restaurants and bars. Best of all, the price is very reasonable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Sehr sympathisches kleines Hotel in Kalk Bay

Posted Sep 30, 2014
Das Hotel liegt in ruhiger Hanglage in Kalk Bay mit tollem Blick auf die False Bay. Während unseres Aufenthalts konnten wir sogar beim Frühtücken auf der Terasse den Walen in der Bucht zusehen. Hervorzuheben ist außerdem das supernette und hilfreiche Personal und das tolle Frühstück. Von der Ausstattung natürlich kein Luxushotel, was für den Preis aber auch nicht erwartet werden kann. Insgesamt ein sehr angenehmer Aufenthalt mit unschlagbarem Preis-Leistungsverhältnis.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Francinefrom England

Fantastic introduction to South Africa

Posted Apr 20, 2014
Pros: Views from the terrace and the breakfast.
This guest house was our first stop in SA and was way above our expectations. The staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfast was wonderful. The only thing to note is that this guest house is on quite a steep hill and there are a lot of stairs. Being very near Kalk Bay station provided easy and cheap access to Cape Town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Excellent value for money stay in Kalk Bay

Posted Apr 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
We had excellent rooms at this very well positioned hotel. Within easy walking distance of the harbour front and with spectacular sea views. I would also recommend the excellent breakfast.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by koketsofrom north west Ganyesa

Posted Apr 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
Honestly i doubt if it's a four star, maybe three star.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Kendalfrom London

Kalk Bay, gorgeous stay

Posted Mar 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
We loved Chartfield's- fresh and funky home away from home. Great room, comfortable bed, lovely view. Breakfast was amazing even though the town had a blackout and the team were cooking with gas and candle light! Would stay again in a flash. Kalk bay is a must and we'd especially recommend a morning swim at one of the tidal pools (very refreshing!) such a beautiful setting.