Ratings based on 89 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Hessen

Sehr schönes Hotel mit super Ausblick auf das Meer

Posted Apr 26, 2015
Pros: Das Personal und das Frühstück.
Cons: Geschwindigkeit des Internets.
Location: Wenn Ihr Kalk Bay besucht, geht unbedingt ins Olympia, in Muizenberg ins Tigers Milk.
Sehr liebevoll, charmant geführtes kleines Hotel. Wir haben uns wie zu Hause gefühlt. Besonders ist das Frühstück zu erwähnen. Das war einfach spitze. Immer frisches Obst, Smoothies, diverse Eierspeißen ....bis zum Abwinken. Von der Terrasse hat man einen tollen Blick aufs Meer. Lisa und Camou, danke für Alles!!!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Beachside Concrete View

Posted Apr 7, 2015 on Hotels
They didn't tell us we were not getting a room in their main house. Nor do they advertise that they also use another property across the way. We were stuck in a small room with no privacy and a view of a concrete wall.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from United Kingdom

Great place to stay

Posted Mar 21, 2015
We had the most amazing stay at Chartfield, the staff were brilliant. I can not recommend this place enough, the guesthouse and it's location worked so well for us, we felt safe and very welcome. The staff were amazing and the guesthouse is run so well with a great team. If you are looking for a well run, comfortable and well presented guesthouse in a great location, Chartfield Guesthouse is the place to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Beautiful little spot in a stunning location

Posted Mar 15, 2015
Pros: The style, the view, the location
Location: Olympia Cafe - fab fab food, Nordhoeven beach, Camps Bay, Chapmans Peak drive
We adored Chartfield, our room was simple and lovely, the owners clearly have good taste. Very comfortable bed, large bathroom with a corner bath and separate shower. Everything spotlessly clean. The hotel is in a lovely, quiet, safe, residential area and has views of the ocean and harbour. Breakfast was delicious, everything you could want and they even do a good flat white. All the staff I met were very friendly and helpful. If you are a party-lover then this might not be the spot for you, but if you like a calm, serene, beautiful environment then I would definitely recommend, but I would suggest hiring a car if you want to go into Capetown itself on a regular basis as taxis would add up - 300-350R per journey.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Sabelo from Johannesburg

Rating was exaggerated

Posted Feb 16, 2015 on Hotels
I thought that the hotel rating of 4 stars was exaggerated. The guest house is 3 star quality. The beds were very uncomfortable. The breakfast is also very expensive for local travellers. We had to pay R120 per person for breakfast. We opted to go to Wimpy and spend R150 for two people.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Beautiful views of the Indian Ocean!

Posted Jan 31, 2015
Pros: The views are spectacular.
Location: Kalk Bay is a quaint harbour town with a lot of interesting places to see and things to do.
It was a lovely place to stay. The staff were friendly and helpful in all aspects of our trip.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from st leu

Très bel hôtel centre ville mais calme

Posted Jan 26, 2015
Pros: La proximité du centre et surtout la vue.une jolie déco.
Cons: Une bouilloire dans la chambre. Un accès wifi libre. Dommage pour le rideau de douche 1er prix qui colle à la peau. Ménage pas toujours bien fait.
Location: Centre ville en hauteur. Port et magasins à proximité. Restaurants. Proche de bouliers pour voir les pingouins et le cap de bonne espérance. Super.
Chambres blanches et claires. Spacieuses. Calmes. Très bien situé. Personnel très serviable et tres accueillant. Par contre pas toujours facile de stationner à proximité. Attention, il y a beaucoup de marches pour descendre en ville. Il faudrait Une bouilloire dans la chambre même si l'hôtel offre une boisson par personne de 7h à 9h. Attention si vous demandez un thé supplémentaire meme pendant cet horaire vous devrez le payer. Le lit enfant est en supplément et n'est pas donné. Cependant on nous a appliqué le tarif indiqué sur le site alors que le prix avait augmenté. La wifi est également en supplément.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 21, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from nice

Hotel proche de la plage,quartier très calme!

Posted Jan 15, 2015
Dommage que le ménage soit vite fait il ne faut pas regarder en détail ,le personnel sympathique les premiers jours ,et surtout regarder en détail la note et moi j'ai eu une chambre très bruyante,odeur d'humidité et les serviettes éponges très usées .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC, Canada

Disconnect Comfortably

Posted Jan 8, 2015
Pros: Location Staff - friendly, helpful, well-trained Breakfast - excellent selection and well-prepared
Cons: Parking - though not an obvious solution since this is a general issue not limited to the guesthouse
Location: Restaurants - wide range available a short walk away. Outdoor activities - the guesthouse is close to many activities, including surfing and scuba
We stayed at the guest house for a week before Christmas 2014. The guesthouse was selected on the basis of its listing on Expedia and it more than lived up to its description. Located on a hill overlooking Kalk Bay, the guesthouse is the ideal (for us) combination of a quiet retreat within a very short walk of the harbour and a wide range of restaurants. The owners and staff are always available and helpful, but never hovering. A most pleasant stay and we would be most pleased to stay there again.